Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

Agito666
post May 21 2014, 01:48 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ May 21 2014, 12:13 PM)
At this point, one does wonder if they're being baited.
My Roxanne IEMs have big soundstage. So technically everything you said above does not apply. So do you really know what soundstage means? wink.gif
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 21 2014, 12:52 PM)
Dude, you said you know what a soundstage is but still asks whether it's involves lesser bass or sound isolation.

As explained, soundstage is that closed room or wide room feel when you listen to headsets. Thats it. Nothing more to it. Also, wide soundstage is not exclusive to a certain headphone type. IEM can have wide soundstage. A high end open back headphone can have wide soundstage. Closed headset can have wide soundstage . It depends on how much or a degree you want it to be.

Too wide and it feels like the instruments are too far away and you cant enjoy it, unless that's what you're looking for. Too narrow and it feels 'in your face ' and claustrophobic.

So its important that you actually try or audition a headset before buying one.
okay i get it (from the bold sentence i highlight) , so soundstage does not limit / affect any product hardware design.

just i wanna hear generic design the pro and con for designed soundstage thingy...

something like ,let say in camera term:

anyway thanks for the answer, so what i get is this:
Also, wide soundstage is not exclusive to a certain headphone type. IEM can have wide soundstage. A high end open back headphone can have wide soundstage. Closed headset can have wide soundstage . It depends on how much or a degree you want it to be. smile.gif

by the way soundstage you mean are hardware tuned? i know software can do that but duno what you guys say it is fake/ artificial or not. (by random clicking realtek built-in software sound emulation profile there unsure.gif )
so any difference of...

a) narrow soundstage headphone/IME + software enabled wider soundstage
b) originally already wide soundstage...

EDITED: i will go visit E1's shop once i got my kaki go with me sad.gif since i don't want go test alone

This post has been edited by Agito666: May 21 2014, 01:49 PM
Agito666
post May 21 2014, 02:43 PM

11,861 posts

okay i should know what is that already. it is not limited/affect to any characteristic. (end case smile.gif )

yeah i will test myself in weekend.(with friend )
just asking that because i saw that "term" in sales thread smile.gif

well i was stated rm300 is my budget, however if value is more worth if spend more, i actually can up to rm500... since ATH pro5v can last me like 6 years (or more i lost my count)

but my parents will kill me or not that is another story tongue.gif

update my requirement for protable headphone, actually i was thinking foldable option is not really a problem because i can just put on my neck, just the wire part need to be not too heavy like Pro5v haha...

Cup size wise i tested ES7, andfind it kind of small, not sure if use in KTM/LRT will hear outside noise or not... since i want to get better noise isolation portable headphone ... (also plan to use in home without air con for longer time, so confortable need to think carefully to choose)

currently using PRO5V in office, since i use in aircon condition so it is not a problem there.

This post has been edited by Agito666: May 21 2014, 02:43 PM
Agito666
post May 21 2014, 11:36 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ May 21 2014, 09:57 PM)
If you want isolation in public transportation, I highly recommend using IEM instead of portable on ear headphones. I own an S500 which has a ton of bass quantity+quality. In bus and trains, the low pitch rumble of the engine and ambient will diminish all bass response. It's also bad when you're walking and there are cars around with their rumbling engines and tires hitting the pavement.

Get a Shure SE315 maybe, spend the rest of the money on tips.
i got very old IEM that is sony MDR EX52, however i only can use smallest size of the bud to penetrate my ear unsure.gif
however for longer time i use, sometimes it is really pain and somehow my ear wet wax (even i cleaned sometimes, but after 1-2 days it is got back again) also pushing the thing go off. so i need to push in the thing for every few minutes...
Also it is very dirty... sweat.gif need to clean sometimes ... so i rather get headphone for that case....

just now look at M40x and M50x... M50x damn sexy yohhh drool.gif

i dont mind that big headphone carry on street, just worry the cable they offer, the shortest one is very long.... unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: May 21 2014, 11:37 PM
Agito666
post May 24 2014, 10:12 PM

11,861 posts

i just come back from E1's shop, tried the ONE CUSTOM's can...fuuyoh poison.
Agito666
post May 25 2014, 01:22 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(joshuachew @ May 24 2014, 11:25 PM)
How was the soundstage?
can't listen well... compare with err M50x ...

m50x is more like all rounder with slight boost bass & treble? while custom one can having more bass once max it...but voice also slightly covered from bass...hmmm

then got test a while DAC +sound car... Fio something... just feel soundstage wider a little and sound sharper/ more define... unsure.gif
Agito666
post May 26 2014, 11:13 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Ameerhazo @ May 26 2014, 10:40 PM)
Ath m50x vs beyerdynamic COP ?
Beyerdynamic COP? since price is cheaper now because the limited time offer brows.gif
Agito666
post May 29 2014, 05:40 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(yang2910 @ May 29 2014, 05:38 PM)
Solid bass, you can consider Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro. I think its at promotion price now and ending soon. Better grab it fast  laugh.gif
also need to buy and carry with your own bag to get the discounted price brows.gif
Agito666
post May 29 2014, 06:00 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(MuhdYusri @ May 29 2014, 05:53 PM)
Any other alternatives? Bcause I don't really like Custom One looks and design  tongue.gif
go to jaben or E1's shop test one by one is the best. i using M50x but i m not audiophile XD

i was using ATH PRO5V (rm 275 that time) and it is very tight and hurt my ear a lot, after change tm M50x.... confortable a lot... tongue.gif
Agito666
post Jul 2 2014, 09:16 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Jul 1 2014, 10:53 PM)
Thanks for the explanation!
Monitor headsets seems very interesting but I think most of them are out of my price range rclxub.gif just did a brief check on Sennheiser HD650 and it costs around rm1.4k sweat.gif
you have any recommendation for me? Or just the best headset you think that have a budget around 400~500. Thanks biggrin.gif
i using m50x...not sure suit you or not unsure.gif
or just go jaben or E1's shop test in one by one brows.gif
Agito666
post Aug 8 2014, 11:17 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Aug 8 2014, 01:24 AM)
Can also consider Superlux HD330. It's a Taiwan brand that produce headphones at cheap price but with good sound quality. I used to recommend it to my composers and musicians friends. Compare to other Superlux models, it's harder to drive but overall the sound is more balance. Suitable for sound monitoring.

If slightly over your budget, can consider AKG K240S. It's a very famous sound monitoring headphone that being used in music production and widely used in the world. It's slightly darker sound than other typical AKG headphones. If she is into music production later on and mixing own music, this is a good option.
what is darker sound? i don't know sound got colour biggrin.gif
Agito666
post Aug 9 2014, 12:42 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ Aug 8 2014, 07:17 PM)
The revised line up for Audio Technica monitoring headphones was released this year. So I don't think there should be any reviews about durability of M50X, but it seems solid enough to last a long time  thumbup.gif
+1, thought i own M50x like 2-3 months i think. XD

but i owned PRO5v for 6-8 years, beside changed the pad everything works well (just design sucks because it is too tight)
Agito666
post Aug 15 2014, 03:57 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 15 2014, 01:11 PM)
The pro series suffer from mediocre clarity. Unless he's really prioritize bass over everything.
Pro5v is bad because it is too tight for me, i think i using V1...using that like 6 years before i get my M50x
Agito666
post Aug 18 2014, 01:31 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 18 2014, 01:01 PM)
Jaben @ Subang or E1 Audio @ Sungei Wang.

For your iem selection, may I know what is your music preference?  smile.gif  smile.gif
add on NU sentral also got Jaben can play with brows.gif

Agito666
post Aug 20 2014, 10:18 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ Aug 19 2014, 06:47 PM)
Audio Technica ATH-IM50  thumbup.gif
You try it out at E1 Personal Audio @ Sungai Wang  smile.gif
add-on:
or try at other's environment see the noise isolation is good or not haha

since the he mentioned use for jogging/ walking at outside XD
Agito666
post Aug 23 2014, 08:00 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(rexksviilow @ Aug 23 2014, 07:50 PM)
Hello, i want to buy a in ear headphone.

budget: around RM100
purpose: daily normal use.
music genre:All type of music

(No need heavy bass)

as far as i know, there are not very good in ear headphone around RM100, but i dun need very good one. The sound quality not bad then is ok for me. The previous one i use is an Edifier H285. Sound not bad, built quality also good, the problem is the wire itself.

Any recommendation around this price?
xiao mi ear-bud? since previous post got mentioned and quite worth i hear unsure.gif
Agito666
post Aug 25 2014, 11:21 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(ronron @ Aug 25 2014, 10:41 AM)
I see. My local shop doesn't have any demo gaming headset for me to test. Mostly only refer to reviews and recommendations in lowyat forum here.
I am wondering what is the different between normal stereo headset like Edifier K820 (RM69) vs CM Storm Ceres 300 Gaming Headset (RM89)? hmm.gif  besides the gaming headset looks more attractive, detachable mic.  cool.gif
not sure, but what i hear from my friend he said gaming headset sounds more FLAT than normal headphone due to gaming headset designed more on "distace" "direction" sounds for game.... so yea... i m not sure.

i use normal speaker only for game haha, even for dota2 there is no need direction for that.

maybe this is wrong info because i never own that and test that for compare music and game experience.

This post has been edited by Agito666: Aug 25 2014, 11:22 AM
Agito666
post Aug 29 2014, 04:42 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(rexksviilow @ Aug 29 2014, 03:13 PM)
i also have see this but it only available in delivery method. But i not always at home, so it not very suitable to use delivery method for me.
and buying online also have warranty issue...
or put your office address for delivery , that is what i do normally
Agito666
post Sep 9 2014, 03:11 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(daamxlaws @ Sep 9 2014, 01:57 PM)
well my budget around $300 not RM300 tongue.gif
no one knows $ is what currency is that. is that Argentina Peso? whistling.gif
http://www.xe.com/symbols.php

so many possibility there whistling.gif