Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

cyh03176
post Feb 6 2014, 01:36 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(wan_109 @ Feb 5 2014, 10:35 PM)
My goodness that's very pricey haha.

I'm looking for something between rm20-rm30.
Then easy la, go pasar malam and buy
cyh03176
post Feb 8 2014, 04:59 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 7 2014, 08:32 PM)
Anyone know if major Airplane nowadays have a standard single audio jack ? Or still 2 audio jack the old days ? Heard in some cases, for the double audio jack, one is for noise cancelling and the other for normal audio where we could plug and still get audio.
i want to know as well as the one comes with ue900 is single audio jack. i tested it with my amp, it limits the volume output. and people said in head fi that it is to prevent the sudden pilot announcement which is substantially louder than whatever we are listening to (movies or radio on the plane)
cyh03176
post Feb 8 2014, 05:27 AM

476 posts

- Your rig: xperia z->fiio e12
- What type of usage: music
- File format used in your source: spotify and flac files (spotify most of the time now)
- Genre of music you listen to: buying this headphones for classical music ONLY
- Headphone/ earphone type: closed and over ear
- Other requirements: best if comes with mic and does not need amplification, otherwise, no mic also okay and can be driven by fiio e12, this headphones are for portable use
- Budget: 1500+-

My hands are itchy to get some new gear but actually im unsure whether i should buy a new dac and amp (fiio e18 or beyerdynamic a200p, fiio e18 is out i guess because it cannot be stacked with my phone because xperia micro usb output is on the side sleep.gif)

otherwise, im looking for a pair of preferably headphones (close and over ear) or earphones for classical music ONLY

this is because i found that ue900 mid is veiled and has an echo effect which is nice for vocals but not for instruments sleep.gif like piano, every note is like played with sustain pedal stepped on all the time

thanks very much
cyh03176
post Feb 8 2014, 01:50 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Feb 8 2014, 09:23 AM)
what you do need is a pair of monitoring grade ear/headphones and not musical nod.gif

this will do well for you  whistling.gif

what about Etymotic ER-4PT with the P to S cable?
cyh03176
post Feb 8 2014, 06:40 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Feb 8 2014, 02:08 PM)
Sennheiser Momentum? Does well in both classical and vocals.
IEM maybe FAD Heaven series or Sony H3, Dunu DN1000, Cardas, 1964 V3
this is why i post my question here because i have way too many choices when it comes to headphone, below are the headphones im considering

1. sennheiser momentum
2. kef m500
3. focal spirit classic
4. b&w p7 (maybe, but way too expensive comparing to others because no discount)
5. psb m4u2
6. nad viso hp50

and so on.........

maybe beats studio 2013? XD
cyh03176
post Feb 8 2014, 09:44 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Feb 8 2014, 07:41 PM)
you seems more brand conscious than performance  sweat.gif none of those mentioned here actually produces headphones except for Senns  sweat.gif
QUOTE(pltan @ Feb 8 2014, 08:11 PM)
Those are all headphones, what are you talking about?
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Feb 8 2014, 09:08 PM)
with the exception of Senns, the rest of the brands are not headphones manufacturers but simply branding.
i read a lot of reviews on head fi, but most of them are audiophiles and do not test all headphones mah, that's why i ask for opinions from sellers here

i know these are new to headphones, but they had been making high end speakers for years, like focal
cyh03176
post Feb 9 2014, 02:21 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Feb 8 2014, 11:19 PM)
All the models you've listed were given favourable reviews. Best if you can test them yourself.
yea but i am buying them online so cant test. too bad.

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Feb 9 2014, 12:26 AM)
If it is only for classical music, try to look for headphone focus in in treble and bass rather than mid. Focus in mid is good for vocal but may make the instruments sound blur. To me, classical music like orchestra and vocal are 2 different area to cover.
And classical music needs big sound stage to perform well. Headphone like beyerdynamic DT990 perform quite well in classical music but it's definitely not for portable and it needs better amp to drive as well. 
Understand that you need it for portable use, but even if you spend all RM1.5k budget on headphone, your hand phone as a dac is a limitation.
This really depends on whether you want to upgrade in the future. If yes, then get a good headphone and upgrade other gears later on.
Else I rather you just grab a ATH M50 + fiio x3 /x5.

Sennheiser momentum and emperor are said to be easier to drive version of HD25-i-ii. With good amp, hd25 is definitely a better choice. (Or beyerdynamic DT1350, more refined kindly of sound.)
Sennheiser momentum to me is not a very balance sound headphone. Quite focus in mid, mid is slightly forward, bass is not very punchy, treble expansion is not so much. Suitable for pop and vocal but not big production.
Sennheiser Amperior is more suitable for classical, powerful with good dynamic. Mid bass is quite rich. Probably can go for this. I'm not sure how good E12 can drive it. I just tried it on other set up.

The rest of the headphone listed, KEF is a quite decent headphone but don't think you should go for it as you need headphone that has lesser needs in amp.
i know source is important, that's why im considering to upgrade the dac/amp to replace the e12 also. i want to use my phone as source because i like spotify lol

just dug out my m50 to test, it is not balanced, the lower mid sounds... separated and weird for me, like it's not smooth and i don't like the soundstage either, it's too intimate. basically, i love my ue900, it's just the echo-ey mid drives me mad. i love my q701 the most when it comes to classical music and orchestra, however, it's open and too big for portable use.

amperior is on-ear so straight away it is out of my list.

i acknowledge the amp requirement that's why those headphones in my list are all designed for portable use, except the focal spirit classic (but they includes a mic cable with it anyway and it still has a low impedance)

QUOTE(Jien23 @ Feb 9 2014, 01:44 AM)
Looks like you've done your research. Those are all very favourably reviewed closed headphones in the same ballpark in terms of prices. Not sure what some others are referring to. I might be able to help you, as i've auditioned some of those.
Tested the momentum, psb m4u, and hp50 side by side back when i was looking to purchase. (Personal!) impressions below :

thanks for your feedback, i think i will probably buy the viso hp50 since it knocked the momentum off the innerfidelity's wall of fame. i am also interested in its room feel thing (i guess it feels like listening to q701?)
cyh03176
post Feb 9 2014, 02:56 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Jien23 @ Feb 9 2014, 10:30 AM)
Still advice that you try out both first, not for sound but for fit(which affects sound, anyway). It is quite an investment after all.. Like i've mentioned, the fit of both headphones is abit hit-or-miss. I had problems with the viso hp50 while wearing my older glasses which had a thicker frame. Couldnt get a seal at the back of my ear near my neck, probably due to the rectangle shape of the earcup. This reduced the bass response. If you wear glasses anyways, suggest you test the hp50 first.
Don't know what exactly the roomfeel does, but anyway the soundstaging is somewhat intimate with good imaging.
doh.gif i think many audiophiles will envy me because i have small ears so actually momentum fit my ears very well. haha!

i don't wear glasses as well tongue.gif
cyh03176
post Feb 10 2014, 12:15 PM

476 posts

Any insight of when Philips Fidelio L2 will be released? I can't find it anywhere.

In addition, is there anyway I can purchase the straight cable of soundmagic hp200 to replace hp100's bulky coiled cable?

I am eyeing these 2 right now. =x
cyh03176
post Feb 10 2014, 02:24 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Feb 10 2014, 12:57 PM)
understand that there is a proprietary locking mechanism on the cable, can you upload a picture of it  hmm.gif
hp100

hp200

both looks the same
cyh03176
post Feb 10 2014, 09:35 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Feb 10 2014, 09:20 PM)
Budget : Rm100

any brand
any function
any pattern

just want something that's either in ear or over ear headset for my friend.
Fake beats studio Lamborghini edition
cyh03176
post Feb 11 2014, 02:03 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Feb 10 2014, 10:02 PM)
whats the best IEM out there? looking foward to Sennheiser IE800 and AKG K3003i. Don't want custom made IEM and weird-shaped IEMs, and don't want transparent ones too (for female,thats ugly for them).

Wondering towards the AKG K3003i because that stupid thing doesn't work on android phones and I'm afraid that its non- disassembleable, so I can't re-cable upon failure, or seeking for better sound quality. but, review says that K3003i's are 1 level better than the IE800's.
Jh audio Roxanne universal
cyh03176
post Feb 12 2014, 09:57 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(liquidgal @ Feb 9 2014, 12:26 AM)
If it is only for classical music, try to look for headphone focus in in treble and bass rather than mid. Focus in mid is good for vocal but may make the instruments sound blur. To me, classical music like orchestra and vocal are 2 different area to cover.
And classical music needs big sound stage to perform well. Headphone like beyerdynamic DT990 perform quite well in classical music but it's definitely not for portable and it needs better amp to drive as well. 
Understand that you need it for portable use, but even if you spend all RM1.5k budget on headphone, your hand phone as a dac is a limitation.
This really depends on whether you want to upgrade in the future. If yes, then get a good headphone and upgrade other gears later on.
Else I rather you just grab a ATH M50 + fiio x3 /x5.

Sennheiser momentum and emperor are said to be easier to drive version of HD25-i-ii. With good amp, hd25 is definitely a better choice. (Or beyerdynamic DT1350, more refined kindly of sound.)
Sennheiser momentum to me is not a very balance sound headphone. Quite focus in mid, mid is slightly forward, bass is not very punchy, treble expansion is not so much. Suitable for pop and vocal but not big production.
Sennheiser Amperior is more suitable for classical, powerful with good dynamic. Mid bass is quite rich. Probably can go for this. I'm not sure how good E12 can drive it. I just tried it on other set up.

The rest of the headphone listed, KEF is a quite decent headphone but don't think you should go for it as you need headphone that has lesser needs in amp.
Bought the amperior, had been using it for an hour, the sound is thin out of the box, maybe needs burn in? The sound is balanced and detailed though
cyh03176
post Feb 13 2014, 05:09 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Feb 13 2014, 10:12 AM)
Hi people. I need a HEADPHONE recommendation.

I listen to metal, rock and all its sub-genres. I want it to be portable as well. I also don't listen very loudly. Rarely do I reach 50% volume for any music player I use.

My sound preference. I already own a Shure SE215-SPE and an AT ATH-IM50 for IEM. I don't listen analytically when I'm out and about, and for my headphones I would like them to be bass monsters compared to my IEMs. So I got many choices open for me. I'm even tempted to buy things I won't normally look at. So I have a few in my mind but I would like your opinion and any other suggestions.

- V-Moda Crossfade LP (if possible LP2)
- V-Moda M80
- Audio Technica M50

For the M80 I do need to let go of one of my IEMs (the IM50 I think), but it is an over-ear. I prefer around-ear but I've had a Grado SR60i before and it was alright. Also it is portable and sounds comparable to the less portable M50 (or so people say).

Nothing touching the RM800 price please. So basically a lot of bass, but with enough detail to let me listen at moderate volumes. Kinda like a Future Sonics Atrio (which I also used to own) but in headphone form.
QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Feb 13 2014, 04:59 PM)
Thinking of getting the ath m50x to compliment my triplefi10 with westone cable, iem otg and headphones at home

I have a klipsch image one, but planning to leave it around, as i'm buying this to take overseas with me

Can any sifu advise what other headphones around rm600 which might be a better compliment? Thanks
sennheiser amperior tongue.gif i got it for RM715++ new from ebay uk yesterday

@VagueConcerns, amperior is on ear and i found it to be very uncomfortable, but now it is very comfortable after i clamped it on the box it came in overnight smile.gif it sounds very thin at first after after 4-5 of usage, it becomes very enjoyable. bass is punchy and the sound is balanced across the whole sound spectrum

@vanhui95, m50x is way more expensive than rm600. you can only get m50 with rm600. so, give the sennheiser amperior a try tongue.gif
cyh03176
post Feb 13 2014, 05:54 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(TtFIRSTZxX @ Feb 13 2014, 05:41 PM)
Can anyone tell me is there any decent headphones store in LY Plaza?

And what would you guys introduce for
<200
Only smartphones and laptop
Prefer Japanese brand, or any model from any brand which emphasis mids like the Japanese brand does.

I tried before Beyerdynamic XP series. IMO the bass is too strong even for XP3.
ground floor tong lee, but im not sure if they sells any japanese brand but for mid you can try shure, but of course it is <400
cyh03176
post Feb 13 2014, 11:37 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(nisbahmumtaz @ Feb 13 2014, 09:06 PM)
I expected as much...
I can't believe that wanting merely decent but durable cans require such a large amount of money.
How about I bump it up to 300?
RM300? now we are talking

Creative Aurvana Live - RM310

there are a lot of good reviews about this, go google
cyh03176
post Feb 14 2014, 04:20 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(applekido @ Feb 14 2014, 01:32 AM)
- Your rig  (Laptop, Ipad &Ipod)
- What type of usage (music, movie)
- File format used in your source (mp3,flac)
- Genre of music you listen to (all)
-Budget (rm300 max)
- Headphone type (Over the ear)
-Other requirements: Comfort

Was looking at ATH M30, any other suggestions?
creative aurvana live
cyh03176
post Feb 14 2014, 06:29 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(adriantbk @ Feb 14 2014, 05:10 AM)
- Your rig: Alienware X51 R2
- What type of usage: Mostly for music/movies & gaming. Not meant to be portable. Will only use at home.
- File format used in your source: mp3(mostly), FLAC
- Genre of music you listen to: All types but mostly EDM

I have a few choices, (all sennheisers) but now cut down to only two. I'm looking for either HD598 or HD600, but can't decide. So far right now no plans for getting DAC/AMP, maybe in the future I will. Which one would be best suited for direct plug in without amp? Or should I get the HD600 and wait for future amp upgrade? Coz the HD600 impedance quite high... Another factor is the integrated soundcard of the X51, will it be pointless to buy those cans above with it?

Another one question would be, how good is the SQ of RS180 compared to HD598s? I know wireless will never be good as wired but Headfi seems to compare RS180 with HD598. Is it even worth it?
I am not sure if HD600 is a good choice for EDM because it is neutral, personally I never use HD600 so I cannot comment on that. However, I had HD650 before and it is good for EDM and gaming. About driving these headphones, don't worry about amping because I can tell you even g53sw laptop and ipod classic 5.5gen could drive HD650 and Q701 to louder than normal listening level, it is just that the headphone's full potential isn't unleashed.
cyh03176
post Feb 14 2014, 01:03 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(adriantbk @ Feb 14 2014, 09:11 AM)
Hello there. Thanks for the reply. How about the HD598s then? Will it be fine for the criteria above? By the way i scrapped the idea for RS180. Been reading too many complains about hissing and stuff over the net -.-
Never use 598 before, but from the reviews my impression for it is rich and warm sounding (not guaranteed, go read reviews in head-fi)

I remember reading someone said something about only RS220 sounds good in the wireless line

hell why am i explaining all these, go read "mad lust envy's headphone gaming guide" in head-fi, i got q701 after reading his reviews and not regretting my decision tongue.gif

QUOTE(munak991 @ Feb 14 2014, 09:27 AM)
I think for gaming, try get enclosure headphone, but it wont be nice to wear la.

If on budget, Grab ATH Ad-700. My epxerience is,u can even heard footsteps
he also says he listen to edm, ad-700 is famous for not having bass lol
cyh03176
post Feb 16 2014, 04:31 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(ezpoir @ Feb 16 2014, 11:06 AM)
Hey guys,

What are your recommendations for any over the ear IEM's except for the Shure SE215?

My budget is below RM500!
audio technica ath-im50 or ath-im70

their review is here: Review

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0634sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:46 AM