Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

liquidgal
post Feb 16 2014, 06:21 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(ezpoir @ Feb 16 2014, 11:06 AM)
Hey guys,

What are your recommendations for any over the ear IEM's except for the Shure SE215?

My budget is below RM500!
Vsonic GR07 MKII or BE.
Good details and balance sound.
liquidgal
post Feb 16 2014, 06:29 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(applekido @ Feb 14 2014, 01:32 AM)
- Your rig  (Laptop, Ipad &Ipod)
- What type of usage (music, movie)
- File format used in your source (mp3,flac)
- Genre of music you listen to (all)
-Budget (rm300 max)
- Headphone type (Over the ear)
-Other requirements: Comfort

Was looking at ATH M30, any other suggestions?
QUOTE(cyh03176 @ Feb 14 2014, 04:20 AM)
creative aurvana live
Agree. Go for CAL instead of M30. I owned a M30 previously. The sound is very much focus on mid, lack of bass and the treble part, though the sound is comfortable, but you can have much better choice at this price range.

This post has been edited by liquidgal: Feb 16 2014, 06:29 PM
liquidgal
post Feb 16 2014, 06:31 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Feb 16 2014, 06:00 PM)
Sorry headphone noob here. Not sure whether it is alright to ask this question here.

I have recently purchased a ATH-M50, and accidentally ran it on full volume with UD110 USB DAC without any amp for about 5 seconds (luckily i wasn't wearing the headphone). Will the headphone be damaged? The headphone sounds fine though after that. So far no distortion. Sorry for the noob question.
Just listen to the headphone then you will know whether it is spoilt. lol biggrin.gif
Since you checked, no distortion nothing, then should be fine.
For new headphone, burn in using half of the normal volume that you listen to then slowly increase it over 3-4 days.
liquidgal
post Feb 16 2014, 06:36 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(kreyl @ Feb 15 2014, 02:25 PM)
hi..I need a recommendation for earphone..

my rig:    smartphone & laptop
type of usage :  music & movies
file format used:  mp3 & FLAC
genre of music:  all genre
earphone type:  IEM or ear bud
budget:  around rm150 - rm200

thanks in advance :-)
QUOTE(afieQ @ Feb 16 2014, 12:18 AM)
Hey guys, I need help too.

my rig: smartphone & laptop
type of usage : music
file format used: mp3
genre of music: all genre and bass oriented, give me two choices, one normal and one for bass, because sometimes I like to listen to electronic music and let my ears get raped
earphone type: strictly IEM, would like to try headphone too if its good, but I've been an IEM user since forever, not sure if I'd like a headphone
budget: under 150. the most I've ever spent is 80-ish, now I would like to splurge more although its not much.

Thanks!!!
For bass head, I am not so sure, but can take a look at vsonic gr06. Good punch and good details at this price range.
liquidgal
post Feb 18 2014, 12:58 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Mayoi @ Feb 18 2014, 06:37 AM)
Your rig - laptop
What type of usage - music, movie and gaming
File format used in your source - mp3,flac
Genre of music you listen to - anime music and jpop
Budget - RM 500 (max RM 700)
Headphone type - Closed / Circumaural (wireless)
Other requirements - need conceal sound when max volume
anime music and jpop, ATH would be your best friend ya. haha.
If wireless is not necessary, can consider ATH M50 is legend within this price range.

If you can accept supra-aural, and prefer brighter and sweeter treble, can consider ATH ES700. It's the upgrade version of the legend ES7.
liquidgal
post Feb 19 2014, 01:02 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(eLLe_Caladhiel @ Feb 18 2014, 04:16 PM)
HELP MEH~~~~

- Your rig: laptop/iPhone
- What type of usage: Priority - 1. Music / 2. Movies / 3. Gaming
- File format used in your source: mp3
- Genre of music you listen to: Classical, pop, instrumental, jazz, rock.
- Headphone/ earphone type: Anything besides IEM and ear buds.
- Budget: Max RM300 (am a poor student rawr)

TQ~  biggrin.gif
Creative Aurvana Live!
This model has many good review ya. Its units are same with the famous Denon D1001/D1100.
Overall not quite good. Suitable for different music genre.
http://www.head-fi.org/products/creative-a...live-headphones

liquidgal
post Feb 20 2014, 01:57 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Feb 20 2014, 01:28 PM)
- Your rig - laptop, handphone
- What type of usage - music
- File format used in your source - mp3
- Genre of music you listen to - rock, pop, classical
- Headphone/ earphone type - IEM
- Other requirements (if any) - I previously use a Crossroad Mylar X3i which i like a lot, looking for similar sound earphone
What's your budget?
Below RM150, Vsonic VSD1 or VSD1S are very good choice.
Neutral, clean, and slightly warm sound.
liquidgal
post Feb 20 2014, 02:57 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(SoulRex @ Feb 20 2014, 02:44 PM)
hi all sifu had increased my budget, so need more opinion of alternative now =)

Your rig - laptop, samsung s3, ipod
What type of usage - music, movie and gaming
File format used in your source - mp3,flac
Genre of music you listen to - dubstep, trance, house music, mostly bass heavy music
Budget - RM 300 (at most RM350)
Headphone type - IEM
Other requirements - prefer heavy bass which go deep down and not compromising detail
"heavy bass which go deep down and not compromising detail"
A little bit difficult to get a "deep bass + Good details" within RM350 ya. haha smile.gif

Vsonic flagship product - GR07 bass edition is quite good. But out of your budget.
liquidgal
post Feb 20 2014, 03:47 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(SoulRex @ Feb 20 2014, 03:15 PM)
any iem jus for the deep bass?
Denon AH-C710 is slightly cheaper, around RM400.
This model got very deep and punchy bass, details not bad.

Or you can try Sound Magic. I'm so familiar with this brand and its sound signature. According to some reviews, its bass quality is not bad. Try to google it. smile.gif

ATH IM70 recommended by E1 is quite good too. Forgot this model just now~haha. smile.gif

This post has been edited by liquidgal: Feb 20 2014, 03:59 PM
liquidgal
post Feb 20 2014, 05:01 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Feb 20 2014, 04:34 PM)
Oop did not mention budget

- Your rig - laptop, handphone
- What type of usage - music
- File format used in your source - mp3
- Genre of music you listen to - rock, pop, classical
- Headphone/ earphone type - IEM
- Budget - RM300~400
- Other requirements (if any) - I previously use a Crossroad Mylar X3i which i like a lot, looking for similar sound earphone
HiFiMAN RE400, which has soft, warm and comfortable sound.
It won't show you a bright treble and deep heavy bass which can let you feel excited. It just show the sound naturally, let you to enjoy the music whole day and won't feel tired.

Vsonic Gr07 Mk2 or Bass edition is another good choice. It sounds more directly and punchy. Expansion is better than RE400. Both are neutral and balance, not thick sound.

Can consider ATH IM series too.

ps. Not sure about Crossroad Mylar X3i sound signature. haven't tried it before. smile.gif
liquidgal
post Feb 21 2014, 12:31 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(SnaCkxZ @ Feb 20 2014, 10:47 PM)
- Your rig: desktop, smartphone
- What type of usage: movies,games(less priority) musics
- File format used in your source: mostly flac
- Genre of music you listen to: classical, jazz, indie, pop (require lesser bass i suppose?)
- Headphone/ earphone type: IEM
- Budget: probably just RM200 +/- too cheapskate to buy a pricier 1.
Below RM200, VSD1/VSD1s are always my favourite choice. smile.gif

This post has been edited by liquidgal: Feb 21 2014, 02:40 AM
liquidgal
post Mar 3 2014, 09:08 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(project68 @ Mar 3 2014, 12:56 PM)
I tried Sony MDR-1R at sony store yesterday and it impress me alot, but at that price range RM950 is there any other headphone that can perform better?

i listen to anime & english music...and sometimes movie...
What kind of sound signature do you prefer?
If portable, this price range can consider AKG K550 and ATH M50 too.
If you have an amp, can try AKG K271 mk2. It has very very good potential if pairing with an amp.
Many people won't use a good amp to drive K271 because its prices are quite cheap. But k271 will really impress you if you use an amp to release its potential. The treble and mid are very sweet and lively.

I've tried both big cans above (MDR-1r, K550, M50, K271, DT770...). My favourite is the cheapest K271. haha.
liquidgal
post Mar 4 2014, 11:23 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(project68 @ Mar 3 2014, 09:20 PM)
i prefer balance...please tell me why you prefer k271 over mdr-1r other than the price? i just casual user so i didnt bother with amp or anything...just want good quality sound...
Erm...It's quite difficult to definte what is "balance". haha.
In my opinion, Most of the Sennheiser, AKG, Beyerdynamic...etc headphone are balance sound. They just use different ways to show it.
Many sound enginners use them as a monitoring headphone too.

Besides, the sound signature of headphone will influence by whole hifi/headfi system. Even the quality of electrical source will influence the sound. For example, HD800 will sound very weird and unbalance if you connect it with a cell phone. biggrin.gif

Actually most of the sound signature of computer or mobile phone are very "unbalance". It's quite difficult to find a balance, neutral, accurate sound if you use them as a music source. smile.gif

I've compare K271, MDR-1r and K550 at the same time. Music source is Fiio X3 and Sony PCM-D50.
I don't like K550. The connection between treble, mid and bass is not natural enough. Treble and bass are not bad, and I feel that the mid is very empty, like there is a big hole between treble and bass. haha.
MDR-1r is better than K550, the connection between treble and bass is smoother. If you dun't have an amp, I think MDR-1R is already good enough. It's quite easier to drive.
But compare to K271, I feel MDR-1R is not clear enough. Treble is a little bit blur. The sound of K271 is very clear and refined. I love the sweet treble and mid. Bass is not more than Sennheiser or Beyerdynamic, but more than K6XX/K7xx series. Considering it is a close-back headhone, its sound stage is very wide, but still can't compare to HD600/HD650, K612/712 or Beyer 880/990... smile.gif
liquidgal
post Mar 4 2014, 06:05 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Mar 4 2014, 04:19 PM)
Your rig = PC
- What type of usage = Game, Music, Movie
- File format used in your source = Anything
- Genre of music you listen to = Kpop, Jpop
- Headphone/ earphone type = earphone (prefer the ones where its just stuck to the ear like traditional ones. Currently own a ss siberia v2 but sometimes its just too bulky
- Other requirements = White colour! ( not really necessary but prefer tho)
- Budget = Below RM200
Can consider Superlux HD681 evo or HD661.
The former has more bass, the latter has sweeter and brighter treble.
liquidgal
post Mar 4 2014, 09:19 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(legenderycity @ Mar 4 2014, 08:24 PM)
Hi my friend is looking for a super comfortable headphone for watching anime and some average things only. He is not very enthusiastic so don't need those heavy bass, surround sound etc etc. Budget around RM500, more expensive one can be considered, but must be comfortable enough, probably using for long hours. Sound quality must be good also. Thanks in advance
If your friend have an amp, can consider AKG K271, K240s, Beyer DT770.
Without amp, can consider Sony MDR-1R, AKG K550, ATH M50.
liquidgal
post Mar 6 2014, 12:49 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(legenderycity @ Mar 5 2014, 08:48 PM)
Sorry guys is it possible to recommend something around RM500? From those that I checked only the ATH M50 is around that price. Others are like 1k+ sweat.gif
Yup. AKG K240s, K271 mk2, ATH M50 are around RM400~RM600. smile.gif
liquidgal
post Mar 6 2014, 03:29 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(suikod3n @ Mar 6 2014, 12:54 AM)
Hi guys , can give me some headphones recommendation. Looking for some full sized headphones for comfort and awesome clarity. Bass will be an added bonus but i mostly focus on vocal/soft pop.

Main use : Home / Office
Usage: Movies & music.
Format: mp3 / lossless
Genre : Pop mostly
Earphone : Closed Back / Full size .
Others : Preferably fold-able since i will carry it around . No vented design pls.
Budget : Around 200-300 will be perfect

Atm, looking at ATH-M35 but i'm not familiar with headphones . Not sure what is the best for my price range.

had some bad experience when buying my first rm300 headphone , not sure about the type but the sound can go through earcups easily like vented. Result , the bass totally sucks and doing worse than my old walkman's iem.

thank you in advance  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I guest you bought a open-back or semi open headphone.
They are not suitable for portable ya. smile.gif

Can consider:
1. Creative Aurvana Live! I

2. ATH ES500

Both are closed-back, quite suitable for soft pop. Supra-aural (on ear) design, not circumaural (full sized)
ES500 is foldable. Brighter sound.
liquidgal
post Mar 7 2014, 02:33 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Jensonz @ Mar 7 2014, 01:23 PM)
anyone...? i may top up my budget a bit if needed.. sad.gif
Vsonic VSD1 or Sound Magic E10, around RM100.
The former's sound signature is more balance and neutral, the latter has more bass. biggrin.gif
liquidgal
post Mar 25 2014, 10:35 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(m3lover @ Mar 24 2014, 03:08 PM)
Hello sifu,
I'm new to audiophile, hope to seek your profession to advice on below;

TQ

My rig : Smartphone, portable gaming devices
- Budget : RM250 & below
- What type of usage : Music & Gaming
- File format used in your source : Mp3
- Genre of music you listen to : classical, jazz, & etc
- Headphone/ earphone type : IEM ? Earphones
At the moment, i found below fall under my categories @ Jaben.Online Webpage
- Beyerdynamic XP3, XP2 & XP1 Earphone
- Sennheiser CX300-II Earphone
QUOTE(thewalaoguy @ Mar 24 2014, 05:03 PM)
Your rig: samsung galaxy s4, lenovo y500
- What type of usage: music
- File format used in your source: mp3, youtube HD audio
- Genre of music you listen to: all except for dubstep and metal. rock is still acceptable ( imagine dragon - radioactive ) but i prefer vocal.. more on emo songs... i do listen to pop songs too.. but i still prefer vocal and instrumental. ( not a bass heavy guy but i do listen to techno too xD )
- Headphone/ earphone type: earphone. IEM
- Other requirements (if any): looks classy(if any) for example: final audio heaven ii. i prefer buying from jaben..
budget : rm 300..... only in very very very very very terdesak situation i can strech to rm350

extra question:
do i need a dac? if yes can suggest 1 below 50 rm de a? xDD
QUOTE(dragnus @ Mar 24 2014, 10:06 PM)
Hey, a recommendation would be helpful

I'm looking to buy a pair of earphones

My rig : Smartphone
- Budget : Around RM300
- What type of usage : Music
- File format used in your source : 320kbps Mp3\ FLAC
- Genre of music you listen to : Rock, Club (Bass Heavy music)
- Headphone/ earphone type : IEM

I was thinking of getting the Shure SE215

I also want to buy a On Hear headset and was thinking of the V-Moda M80 for about 800RM.

Any pieces you think are better? And could you please point me to where I could buy them. Thanks in advance.
Around RM300, can consider Vsonic Gr07 classic.
It is the latest released version if GR07, but is much cheaper than GR07 mk2 and bass edition. Sound quality is at the same level.
MK2 and bass edition is a very competitive models around RM500, now the price of classic version is much cheaper. Really worth to try.
liquidgal
post Mar 27 2014, 12:01 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(BrutalLegend @ Mar 26 2014, 07:33 AM)
Hello, I haven't been on here for a while but the last time I was recommended to purchase my Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro.

In any case, I'm looking for a new pair of headphones and here's my requirement info:
Budget: Anything Under RM5000
Rig: Home entertainment system, Ponoplayer, laptop, desktop, MP3 players, Sansa Clip Zip, etc
Usage: Music, gaming, movies, etc
File Format: FLAC (16 bit, 24 bit, etc), MP3, WAV, etc
Genre of music: Rock, classical, house, acoustics, vocals, heavy metal, trance, basically everything.
Headphone: Circumaural headphones (but not too heaty, as my ears sweat easily with the Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro)

Thanks in advance!!
If you have such budget, probably you can look into upgrading your DAC and amp at once as well. Every headphone needs a good analog signal to improve their sound quality, and this is the DAC job.
For high range headphone not mentioning Sennheiser HD800, beyer T1 or Hifiman HE500, even HD600, K701 are hunger for amp. Of course you can choose lower impedance headphone. But to "drive them well", actually in the market, amp that is designed for low impedance is very few and yet expensive.

So I would suggest you to go for one level up first. You can consider the headphones at the below, depending on the sound signature that you like. They are around the same level.

Sennheiser HD600/ HD650 ~HD650 is the later released version but in terms of sound quality, it is at the same range with HD600.
-HD650 as compare to HD600, is darker sound, bass is more punchy, mid is thinner, treble expansion not as good as HD600
-HD600 treble is brighter and sweeter, mid is thicker (for vocal, I personally prefer HD600)

AKG K701/ 702/ 712 pro/ 612 pro/Q701
For typical AKG sound, I would recommend K701. It's more refined, brighter, neutral and thinner sound than HD600/HD650. For music position wise, Sennheiser is slightly more forward sound than AKG. In terms of dynamic, Senn still better in presenting classical or big production.
K702 treble is quite bright though details better.
Q701/ 712 pro/612 pro are being released after US company took over AKG. So, they are more pop sound, more forward and sound stage slightly smaller than the earlier version, bass is more punchy.

Beyerdynamic DT880/990 250ohms
DT880 focus more on mid while DT990 more on treble and bass. They are good dynamic headphones and more direct sounding. Suitable for fast beats music. Sound is not as thick as Senn, close to AKG.

Other options can also consider Denon D2000, Hifiman HE400

DAC/amp wise, desktop unit would be good for you. Electrical power supply is very important for audio equipment. At the same SQ level, usually portable unit is at least double or triple the price. Moreover portable unit is only up to certain level.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:25 AM