Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V9, ask options here

liquidgal
post Aug 7 2014, 01:54 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Aug 6 2014, 11:34 PM)
I understand that you're not really a bass lover that's why i recommend you to get the RE400 since they are neutral in their regards. You'll probably prefer it more.
If you wanna try out the VSonic, you can contact liquidgal.  nod.gif
QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Aug 6 2014, 11:38 PM)
Thanks a lot bro. I guess I will try Hifiman RE400, FAD Heaven II and VSonic GR07 before I decide which one to go for.
Vsonic and Hifiman nod.gif Both available.

QUOTE(hensen @ Aug 7 2014, 12:45 AM)
Liquidgal place really far for me.
Planning to try those earphone before buying them.
Only know jaben and lowyat plaza.
Can you suggest other places through pm?
Staying at chinatown and prefer places that can be reached by public transport
The only public transport that can reach me is KTM tongue.gif
liquidgal
post Aug 8 2014, 01:24 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Aug 7 2014, 06:43 PM)
My daughter is learning the piano (using digital piano at home). Please recommend me a reasonable quality headphone for her to practice at home without disturbing the neighbours.

It has to be wired and not sure whether this is important but the headphone jack is the big one - not the 3.5 mm type. I suppose I can use the adaptor to change from the smaller jack to the bigger one.

Budget around RM200 - 300. The cheaper the better but reasonable quality for her to learn the piano properly.

Thanks for helping.
Can also consider Superlux HD330. It's a Taiwan brand that produce headphones at cheap price but with good sound quality. I used to recommend it to my composers and musicians friends. Compare to other Superlux models, it's harder to drive but overall the sound is more balance. Suitable for sound monitoring.

If slightly over your budget, can consider AKG K240S. It's a very famous sound monitoring headphone that being used in music production and widely used in the world. It's slightly darker sound than other typical AKG headphones. If she is into music production later on and mixing own music, this is a good option.
liquidgal
post Aug 11 2014, 03:30 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(Mussolini @ Aug 9 2014, 08:46 PM)
Hi audiophiles sifus, need your recommendations:

Rigs: Nexus 5, occationally laptop.
Usage: listening to songs inside LRT, watching movie on laptop
File format: mp3
Genre of music: Pop, jazz
Earphones: IEM
Other requirements: adequate sound isolation as i use it in the LRT often, preferably with built in mic and audio controls compatible with android.
Budget: below RM150

I'm not a serious audiophile, so my requirement also not very high. Currently looking at Xiaomi Piston or Apple earpods, are they good? And are there any better choices out there? Thank you
If mic is important to you, then xiaomi piston is not bad. Auditioned it before. But if you do want to prioritise sound quality, you can check out these few models:
Superlux HD381 series (price around the same with xiaomi, SQ is a steap ahead, build quality wise xiaomi is much better)
Vsonic VSD1 or 1S ( good details IEM with neutral and balance sound), which I think the SQ is quite suitable for pop and jazz.
Sound magic and Xiaomi is towards more bass (large quantity) if compare to Superlux and Vsonic.

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Aug 10 2014, 11:37 PM)
erm... even if its 320kbs mp3, still not good enough? flac takes up a lot of space. haha
Actually I would think that your music source and DAC would play a more important role than the music file quality smile.gif
Can consider getting a DAP or DAC/amp in the future when you are upgrading.

QUOTE(Schampoo @ Aug 11 2014, 12:22 AM)
- Your rig : mp3 player

- What type of usage : music

- File format used in your source : mp3, flac

- Genre of music you listen to : country, ballad

- Headphone/ earphone type : earbud

- Other requirements : for jogging, durable

- Budget : below rm150
Can try Vsonic VSD1/1S.
liquidgal
post Sep 1 2014, 09:16 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Sep 1 2014, 08:19 PM)
did check out most of the info right after the recommendation of the ostry earplugs, thing is I'm completely new in this thing, so i couldn't really understand the "feel" or "experience" they had with the headphones/earplugs they reviewed  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
audition it yourself is the best smile.gif
liquidgal
post Sep 1 2014, 11:29 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(azothshock @ Sep 1 2014, 08:05 PM)
I'm actually just a student so I don't have much cash but recently after some odd jobs here and there I have around RM100-150+- extra and I'm looking to at least get  a decent pair of headphones for that price range.. I kinda want something that does not leak a lot of sound because sometimes I listen to songs in the library
What I'm looking for is : Over ear / around the ear / full size / circumaural and I think the term is closed back ( less noise leak?) Do listen to a lot of genres but these days mostly bass heavy like drum and bass , glitch hop and dubstep  ahaha would be nice if you could also give the location of the shops that carry said headphone  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

(tl;dr)version
Your rig (Phone and laptop // Jack = standard 3.5)
- What type of usage : music
- File format used in your source (mp3)
- Genre of music you listen to ( drum and bass , glitch hop and dubstep  )
- Headphone/ earphone type (closed/ Full size around the ear)
Budget 100-150
For the price, I would say Superlux. But for the music genre that you listen to, probably hd681 evo is more suitable. More bassy and warmer, but it's not close back.
For close back, can try Superlux HD669, slightly over your budget can consider HD631 DJ

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Sep 1 2014, 08:31 PM)
I'm pretty damn new myself. But one thing I do know is that I dislike high treble, the high notes that will pierce your eye tongue.gif

And I like emphasis on mid range and slightly on bass so that it sounds more lively biggrin.gif That's why I went with the warm signature, I purchased the Yamaha EPH-100 which is in shipment to my place already. Can't wait!!

Here's a good guide: http://theheadphonelist.com/earphone-buyers-guide/

You can take a look at the vast reviews he makes for so many IEMs: http://www.head-fi.org/t/478568/multi-iem-...-08-21-14-p-958

Feel free to ask him as he's quite helpful smile.gif
Not sure if I got it right. If you like emphasis on mid range, warm sound, less treble, slightly on bass, you can also try out IEM with typical England sound like HiFiMan RE400 or RHA MA750i if got chance. They are smooth, fuller mids, and musical. smile.gif
I personally haven't auditioned EPH100 though.

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Sep 1 2014, 09:04 PM)
Thanks for the link!

Same as you i'm more into warm tones myself (most probably due to the rock genre), and i am a drummer and bassist myself so I appreciate/listen to the tones of instrument more.

But due to the limited budget i guess i'll just go for what the sifu's recommend  sweat.gif
Understand where you are coming from. But I guess what you need, is not only a bassy warm tone IEM, you need also an IEM with good quality of bass that clearly present the details of the lower mids and bass. can give KC06A a try though.

QUOTE(facade88 @ Sep 1 2014, 10:06 PM)

What are you thoughts regarding to Ostry KC06A vs GRO7 Classic and IM50?
Haven't auditioned IM50 before.
can check out my short review about KC06A and GR07 classic.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3335753

This post has been edited by liquidgal: Sep 1 2014, 11:30 PM
liquidgal
post Sep 3 2014, 11:15 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(azothshock @ Sep 2 2014, 11:26 PM)
Oh thanks for the suggestions... o.o does the HD681 Evo leak a lot? I don't really turn up my music a lot.. Also I'm really considering HD681 Evo cause it apparently comes with velor pads?
no matter how much it leak, i think if you use it in the library, others might get annoy. but anyway you can still try it first if you want. it does come with velour pads.
liquidgal
post Sep 8 2014, 12:09 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(trade99 @ Sep 7 2014, 06:56 PM)
should I go for AT- M50x or DT 770 Pro-80 ?
Ya i know few hundred RM different... but need suggestion
If you plan to direct plug in to computer and hand phone, I would say get an easier to drive headphone. M50x + E18 is not bad. (E17 stop production). If you don't mind desktop unit, can also consider Aune T1 mk2 as dac cum amp.
M50x is not consider a bassy headphone actually. The SQ is quite decent at the price range and easily sounds good.

I'm not sure whether you want quantity or quality. Custom one pro though is a portable headphone, it has stronger needs in amp among other portable headphones. Direct plug in, the quantity of bass is actually quite a lot but very loose and blur and not solid. So when you mentioned the bass is not enough on COP, I am not sure whether the quantity is too little or it's not tight and solid.
If you use to Denon, you can go back for Denon. It's one of the headphone company that produce headphone with good bass.
If you are willing to try new headphone, can consider sennheiser hd598 as well. The bass is different from Denon. The bass with better surrounding, more loose and soft, overall is more warm and rich.

DT770 is higher range than M50x if drive well. A lot of musicians use DT770 for music production. It's quite accurate sound but hard to drive. It's won't be easier to drive than dt880 and dt990 actually. You definitely need an amp for it. Direct plug in might be a disaster tongue.gif

QUOTE(psychoactive @ Sep 7 2014, 09:25 PM)
ATH-M50X has higher price/performance ratio.  biggrin.gif
That's only on the condition without a decent amp smile.gif

liquidgal
post Sep 9 2014, 01:44 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(trade99 @ Sep 8 2014, 01:06 PM)
Yes, im agree what u said. Custom one pro bass not solid compare to m50x.  what if  DT770 + hippo cricri ?
any model from denon recommend ?
"Custom one pro bass not solid compare to m50x" This is only when COP is not being driven well actually.
If drive well, COP will sound solid and with good details. Overall its SQ is a step ahead than M50x.

Not sure how far do you plan to go. To me, DT770 needs amp that cater for big cans. At least a RM500 portable amp like Shonyun 306a or desktop amp like bravo ocean is needed. Or at least an audio interface. To get a good sound, what you need is not only an amp, but also a dac since it's the first point to provide sound signal. If you only have budget for the headphone and amp, then probably you can consider another easier to drive headphone and spend your budget on a DAC cum amp.

Not sure which model you have in the past. But the price for Denon D400 is very low now. Can consider it.

*just manage to audition Philips M1 today. I think you should also consider it. The bass is real good and easy to drive. Overall sound is more rich and meaty, with more punchy, tight and large quantity of bass compare to M50. Details wise, might be slightly muddy compare to M50, but very comfortable sounding.

QUOTE(yusuke22 @ Sep 8 2014, 08:20 PM)
can anybody recommend best audio syst earphone under rm100...im using it for laptop, hp n mp3 player
There isn't any so call "best" earphone, all depends on your personal preference. If you like IEM that focus more on details, can consider superlux HD381 series. Slightly over RM100, can consider Vsonic VSD1.

QUOTE(daamxlaws @ Sep 9 2014, 12:30 PM)
Rig : ASUS K43SA
Usage: Music Only
Format: FLAC & ALAC
Genre: Progressive Rock/Metal/Heavy Metal/Power Metal/Symphonic Metal (J-Rock & Visual-Kei)
Type of Headphone: Closed Back
Budget: $300

I need specific audiophile headphone for that genre with the current budget. thank you smile.gif
If you like warmer sound and large piece of bass, around RM200+ can consider JVC HA-S500.
If you prefer a bit more on details, clean, direct with punchy and tight bass, around RM300+ can consider Beyerdynamic DTX501p
liquidgal
post Sep 10 2014, 01:11 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Sep 9 2014, 03:56 PM)
Any recommendations for an IEM that is equal or better than SE215? Mine's starting to show age and I plan to get a successor for it within <600 price range. I prefer warm sounding IEMs (like SE215 obviously).
Can try out HiFiMan RE400, and RHA MA750.
RHA is more warm sounding and typical England sound. More to mids, smooth and rich. The strength is not on separation, positioning and details. It's with very mature and comfortable sound tuning.

RE400 is clean and refined. Not so warm, also more to England sound. It's also focus more on mids. The charming part is when the music flows out like feather, soft and smooth.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0245sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:19 PM