4,133 posts

Any more questions ?

This last one is some one idea of a joke

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: May 3 2013, 01:55 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post May 3 2013, 02:00 PM

4,133 posts

Caution: Don't ever ever I repeat ever own a car brand you cannot pronounce.

Why? do u need to ask?

EnergyAnalyst
post May 3 2013, 04:25 PM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 3 2013, 03:57 PM)
My car? oh I just bought a Piujet  rclxms.gif
that makes 2 of us rclxms.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post May 3 2013, 04:39 PM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ May 3 2013, 04:33 PM)
Yes actually, unanswered question. When a Msian conversing/talking in English or Malay or Mandarin/Hokkien/Cantonese/whatever or Tamil/Urdu (not in deutch lah put it simply) and then suddenly pronounce 'Volkswagen' the german-way 'folks-wah-gern', do you think he'll sound like a fag? Bcoz I don't hear people say it in normal day-to-day conversation.
that cannot be help, e.g. try ask mat salleh to speak malay, they can never get it right mostly, and some how mother tongue affected their intonation. So they too sound like fag. SO if we try too hard, you can imagine, it can by the same token really sound like a fag too.

EnergyAnalyst
post May 3 2013, 04:41 PM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(sudha @ May 3 2013, 04:17 PM)
Thanks for the videos bro  thumbup.gif great stuff!

Well, there may be merit to it but I am also seeing some heavy American influence in some of the intended pronunciations. Anyway, I have a German friend who keeps pronouncing Porsche as Pour-she...and I dont think he is getting it right.
the whole German language never sound natural to me, try ACHTUNG , i have a fren who learn German and he said it makes his throat sore every time doingit, the German must have developed a thick throat tongue.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post May 4 2013, 12:43 PM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(sudha @ May 3 2013, 04:48 PM)
Hahahahhah!...maybe thats why some them like soft sweet beer!
I can use a German beer now and drink to that
EnergyAnalyst
post May 4 2013, 12:56 PM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ May 4 2013, 12:41 AM)
Toyota = tow your car biggrin.gif
Porsche is totally wrong. Porsche ends with a schwa... like about. Porsch-eeh also can.

Volkswagen, again, is wrong. Haiya. laugh.gif

At around 0:25 you can hear it. Though I wouldn't say it that fast... (In this ad the 2 in the Citroen are making fun of the family dad as he is loading stuff into his MPV (MPVs have a bit of a bad reputation in Germany... only men who already have children (life has ended at that point...) drive them)). In any case, typically Germans would not say Volkswagen, they'd say VW. Fau-weeeh (e as in the English letter a, perhaps a bit lower... similar to Porsche). In Volkswagen there is no r.

Peugeot sounds wrong too... more like how an American would pronounce it. IMHO (from what little I remember of the French lessons) it'd be peuh (un peu...) schoo.

Audi is Latin btw. The founder of Horch (to listen in German) was bought out or kicked out of his company or something like that, so he founded a new company... and called it Audi (to listen in Latin). Smart.

Btw. I did comment here, twice. Weirdly enough the comments didn't appear... sad.gif

In any case I don't think it is good to use the real pronunciation in a foreign country that generally uses a different pronunciation... it just makes people go "huh?".
I always find the people in the tv ad always say car brands in a purposeful funny way, hey it is an ad , and it is supposed to leave an impression.

So the 1st VW Saran ad has the same fancy smancy way to say VW.

But back to regular folks, I can understand TS's point that if you try to pronounce as correct as those add, u 'll probably raise some eye brow and met with questioning glance that says "say it again, what was that???,"

Peushoo? I bet it will definitely met with the same reaction

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: May 4 2013, 12:57 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post May 4 2013, 02:12 PM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 4 2013, 01:41 PM)
This is why local carmakers should never name their cars with difficult to pronounce European words (difficult for some, at least)

When a customer walks into a Proton showroom and announces to the nearest SA "I mau tengok tu Proton Preef!" I died a little inside.

Died a little because my inside was laughing so hard. Tru story, when the car was newly launched whistling.gif

Sad part is, until today my sister still calls it Preef. doh.gif
Hey you eye brows do raises...I mean your avatar, hahaha

Preef? At least it is not pervert
EnergyAnalyst
post Apr 3 2014, 04:30 PM

4,133 posts

how do pronounce this
http://www.koenigsegg.com/

koenigsegg

corn need shack?
EnergyAnalyst
post Apr 3 2014, 08:27 PM

4,133 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Apr 3 2014, 05:55 PM)
I love this thread!!
This sort of thread is exactly what has been missing in FnF lately, pure fun stuff and educational
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 15 2015, 08:53 AM

4,133 posts

Found myself coming back to this thread now n then ...miss this kind of fun
EnergyAnalyst
post Sep 8 2017, 01:02 AM

4,133 posts

https://www.google.com/amp/s/blog.vroomvroo...-names.html/amp

Lancia is pronounced Lancha?! i
EnergyAnalyst