Posts missing in Finance - Credit Card Section, UOB credit card thread

cfa28
post Aug 29 2013, 10:36 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Aug 5 2013, 07:48 PM)
Is this the attitude of the Admins of LYN?  Promised to look into the matter but never did even after weeks.  Cannot set a good example but expect the members here to behave, totally nonsense!
Hi sis (or is it Bro).

I can feel your pain but unfortunately, since this is a free forum, not much u can do about it. Just continue posting and if its deleted, just PM the person your views / comments.

To say that u want to delete how to waive GST cos there is no regulation is just as good as telling people that u cannot ask for a better Interest Rate for your Housing Loan and just pay the price quoted.

Everybody knows that Banks are willing to waive GST for selected customers depending on your usage pattern.

OCBC Titanium is automatic waiver if annual usage is above a certain amount. Its in their T&C.

I managed to ask Public Bank to waive for me as I was a good customer. Citi, CIMB, Hong Leong refused to waive, so I cancel.

This forum belongs to [Se7en] and he is actually not answerable to us, cos we pay nothing. However, he is very polite not to repeat the famous UMNO mantra,

Kalau Tak Suka, <insert>, but I suspect, if u push him too hard, he may just say that.

Happy posting and mods, happy deleting moderating.

To add on, those who say that the RM50 GST is legally required, there is a difference between "Tax Planning" and "Tax Evasion".

Asking Banks to waive GST is Tax Planning cos the Govt still gets the RM50, just not directly from your pocket.

Tax Evasion is different. You cannot evade the RM50 GST other than to cancel your CC. So, no crime is involved here and although I am not a Lawyer, I will challenge anyone to prove otherwise.

That said, since I don't pay anything, I have no issue to my post being deleted. Just wondering how long this post will remain.

This post has been edited by cfa28: Aug 29 2013, 11:41 AM
cfa28
post Aug 29 2013, 11:00 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 29 2013, 10:48 AM)
OCBC is offering RM50 as Annual Usage Bonus and it should not be perceived as automatic waiver for anything. No mention of waiver in their T&C. It is up to the customer to use the RM50 to offset or pay for the GST or he/she can spend it on other things.
NO. My Annual Statement and my wife shows an GST amount and the corresponding Waiver and my detail T&C Sheet says that GST will be waived if Annual Usage is at least x amount.
cfa28
post Aug 30 2013, 01:49 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 30 2013, 01:40 PM)
b00n, cherroy, and I have come to a consensus to allow discussions of "GST Waiver". The term may be technically incorrect (depending on your perspective), but it is not illegal and not morally wrong to discuss it.

Let's put this matter to rest now.
Its good that the Owners / Staff / Moderators of LYN are open to members feedback. To those who fought for this cause, congrats, but please refrain from further name callings or victory parades and lets move on for the next 'just cause' to champion.

0.0148sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:59 AM