What is the powerbank?, Updated with Xiaomi Powerbank
joytest
Aug 13 2013, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 12:48 PM) that;'s why I said from that 5V going into the phone circuit will be reduced back to 4.2-3.7V charging.. the capacity wont be just 2072mah.. think in terms of WH, 2800mah x 3.7 = 10.36WH at 5V it'll still be 10.36WH when it goes back into the phone battery of 3.7V it'll still be 10.36WH (less conversion inefficiencies) so i guess the proof will be in the empirical testing? You can test your bank charging and see whether it's x0.9 (as you say 3.7>5.0>3.7) or x0.75 (3.7>5.0 x efficiency).
joytest
Aug 13 2013, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 01:12 PM) there is a reason why powerbank say 10000mAH charge 3000mAH battery 3times.. cos you can ignore that USB 5V thing.. it steps up to 5V then IC controller in the phone steps it down to whatever the battery needs. (cos it assumes storage is same type of battery like the phone battery 3.7V type.) the more accurate way is state the WH rating.. cos if cross comparing different chemical batteries then using WH is more proper. I have an 11200mah battery and it can only charge a little less than 2.5 times. There's a seller on ebay for Pineng powerbanks, which has got some literature BY PINENG themselves explaining that it is 3.7/5 x efficiency and that works out to about 0.7 or so x mah rating.
joytest
Aug 13 2013, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 01:21 PM) so maybe 11200 battery to your battery is only 0.7 efficiency when charging battery to battery lor.. what has that got to do with step up or step down voltage via USB interface losing 30% of the power? those up n down function using ICs are in the range of 95% efficiencies Well as I said, you can test your own powerbank and verify the numbers. TS did his own testing and has data to show for it. Theoretically it's 90-95% efficiency from the datasheet. Practically?
joytest
Aug 13 2013, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 01:32 PM) definitely there is gonna be losses.. but where are those losses coming from, dont just say oh it's because 3.7 change up to 5V USB interface where 30% losses went there.. so just calculate as 3.7/5 ? This is from Anker, a reputable powerbank manufacturer in the US. http://www.ianker.com/download.php?file=do...26%20-%20V2.jpgRead Notice no.4. This is in line with test results and what I said about Pineng's literature as well.
joytest
Aug 13 2013, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 01:44 PM) yes notice 4 says total losses "including" heating and voltage conversion.. it doesnt say 30% loss formula is derived from 3.7/5 figure did it?  So tell me what's a feasible empirical formula to arrive at 30% ? Did you read the first few posts?
joytest
Aug 13 2013, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 13 2013, 02:15 PM) 1st post empirical means derived real readings from tests.. so go ahead and use a resistor n discharge your powerbank and get the real readings lor. say empirical but still use theoretical formula? which as you know differs from brand to brand.. heck even same brand different batches will have different cell quality.. You are a circular reference.
joytest
Aug 25 2013, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(ManyGer @ Aug 25 2013, 02:10 PM) i think u got it wrong with ur calculation,... 4.93VX0.94A=4.6342Watt , not watt hours,... = power 4.6342Watt x 7.33 hours = 34 watt hours...= actual energy used rated energy suppose to be: 5V x 11200mAh = 56 watt hours (how come u use 3.7V when the actual output is 5V ??) so the efficiency shud be only 34/56= 60.71 % instead of 82% This is interesting. I believe it's coz the battery is 3.7V and the capacity of each cell is 2600 or 2800 mah. When added in parallel, the voltage is the same but the capacity gets summed. 11200 = 2800x4@3.7V So I think TS is correct. Marketers will always take the highest number they can spin.
joytest
Aug 25 2013, 11:31 PM
TS, I wonder if this will help since people are confused by3.7V or 5V. This is from some sellers who sell Pineng powerbanks, and I guess this is literature written by Pineng. I can read it with some comprehension, but the main thing is that there is conversion loss, and the conversion factor of around 70% is reasonable.
This post has been edited by joytest: Aug 25 2013, 11:52 PM
joytest
Aug 27 2013, 02:07 AM
QUOTE(TOROBO @ Aug 26 2013, 10:38 PM) Hi,I wanna ask,can I reuse the battery from dead laptop? how do I test each of it if it is still in good condition? You can try...I charged mine up then opened it up and tested each cell with a voltmeter. 2 were at 3.6V and the other 2 were around 2.5V. I don't see a reason why it can't be repurposed into powerbanks, but it can be tough to remove the weld tabs on batteries, as they are electro-welded on the battery.
joytest
Sep 1 2013, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(x-treme @ Sep 1 2013, 10:15 PM) i have this and i think no. Hi bro, any specific reason why no? Where did you get your 18650s as well?
joytest
Sep 16 2013, 11:38 PM
joytest
Sep 26 2013, 11:49 PM
All, I have a question.
Anyone tried this:
1. Charging the powerbank via A/C 2. Connecting the STILL CHARGING powerbank to CHARGE your phone.
I have found that none of my Yoobaos can do this. It's either charge the powerbank or charge the phone.
Appreciate feedback on brand and model.
joytest
Sep 27 2013, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(x-treme @ Sep 27 2013, 06:03 PM) My pineng unit also can't do this. It has higher priority to charge the phone than A/C charge your powerbank. Thanks for answering correctly  Ok so I must look for something that does both...thinking of making a solar charging setup.
joytest
Oct 8 2013, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(nghj @ Oct 8 2013, 12:40 PM) Nice one and thanks. I do dislike this though: Can I replace the internal batteries of the A-Series? The A-Series is not designed to be taken apart, nor are its components designed to be removed, modified or replaced.
joytest
Oct 27 2013, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(vuetnam @ Oct 27 2013, 09:30 PM) Any seller in Lowyat Plaza or Amcorp Mall sell cheap powerbank? Preferably around RM 40-100 Cheap ones from reputable brands are about 3000 - 5000mAh for that price range. Any larger capacities will likely mean shady goods.
joytest
Oct 31 2013, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(mi-g @ Oct 31 2013, 04:38 AM) My custom powerbank Made from LUC charger + 2x 18650 batt   what's a LUC charger? Where can you get one, and where did you get your 18650's ? Thanks
joytest
Oct 31 2013, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(mi-g @ Oct 31 2013, 09:58 PM) i'm a vaper (e-cig) so this setup is necessary to my hobby EFEST LUC i bought the charger from a seller at Old Klang Road area. 18650's can be purchased from various e-cig seller http://legadgets.com/batterieshttp://www.vapebrothers.com/accessories-parts.htmlLowest price for 18650 i ever see is RM15 apiece https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=101..._count=1&ref=nfWell...this is surely a good find, and an unlikely place. BTW do you own any Samsung S3/Note2/S4/Note3 device? If you do could you test if the USB port outputs sufficient current?
joytest
Nov 1 2013, 01:51 AM
QUOTE(mi-g @ Nov 1 2013, 01:47 AM) yes my wife do have a Note 3.. will test it for you. maybe report back in 2-3 days. Great....install the program Galaxy Charging Current Lite from Play store. When plugged in, run the app. If the LUC is good, it should show a reading of at least 1000. Anything above 1000 is a bonus.
joytest
Nov 1 2013, 01:59 AM
QUOTE(mi-g @ Nov 1 2013, 01:56 AM) currently it shows 800. does it takes time to get accurate reading? 800 means the incoming current is 800mA. It normally doesn't fluctuate. Well, I guess good enough in a pinch if it can charge a Note 3. Max rating is 1800, which will charge a Note 3 in 2.5 hours. Thanks for the info.
joytest
Nov 3 2013, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(toranino @ Nov 3 2013, 08:52 PM) I have a 30,000 MaH that isn't in use and would like to know it's true capacity. Was wondering if you could do a test for me? Why don't you use it? If it's REALLY 30k, at worst it will be 20k effective. That's enough to charge a Note2/3 at least 6 times. An ipong could probably get charged 10 times.