5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[WTA] DISADVANTAGE OF APPLE I-POD, just wanna know

ezralimm
post Apr 22 2006, 11:09 AM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

well, it is cool. But then again, it does sync with what is arguably the best jukebox software out there: iTunes.

Ive tried everything from MusicMatch to Winamp and nothing comes close to the simplicity of iTunes.

It just works. Btw, 8hr+ batt life is ok laa.. how long do you listen in one sitting anyway?

Its easily scratched (mine looks like brushed metal now.. i dont use any covers) but unless you are dumb enough to put keys in your pocket (with your ipod), it shouldnt be that big a deal. Wit the nano its even easier to just slip it in your shirt pocket. IMO, covers ruin the design of the iPod.
dsiew
post Apr 22 2006, 03:13 PM

715 posts

the silicon casing is ok ma.. still maintain the design
prasys
post Apr 22 2006, 03:21 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

i still think its good

once you put the songs inside you can transfer back..its just that you need some special software to do it !
ezralimm
post Apr 22 2006, 03:24 PM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

hahaha yeah.. not that any of our songs are protected with DRM (Apple's Fairplay) cuz no one pays nuts to the iTunes store here in Malaysia.
dsiew
post Apr 22 2006, 03:50 PM

715 posts

how do u do that ???
THTgadgets.com
post Apr 22 2006, 05:35 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(ezralimm @ Apr 22 2006, 03:24 PM)
hahaha yeah.. not that any of our songs are protected with DRM (Apple's Fairplay) cuz no one pays nuts to the iTunes store here in Malaysia.
Eh, i thought that Malaysia is not yet listed as one of the countries that can access the iTunes Music Store?
jassacake
post Apr 22 2006, 06:13 PM

111 posts

Average battery life ~ close to neglegible, since you'll be plugging in to usb at least once a day. Besides, Apple encourages you to do so.

Easily scratched ~ which gadget doesn't? Get a case/protective. And you're not gonna use an ipod like swiss army knives rite?

So-so earphone ~ keyword: "bundled". Dont expect a beauty eh. Just change it to a better one whenever you can.

Cant copy music from ipod to pc ~ no problem(really). Use 3rd party software. Theres a lot of them out there.

No radio ~ with thousands of songs, radio is dead, literally.

Pricey ~ if you like it so much, you'll eventually buy it. Once you've owned it, you'll by whatever means justify it against the amount you pay.

"What? Only five buttons?" ~ Yes. Do you really expect a keyboard?

"I hate iTunes" ~ well then, i rest my case.

Oh wait, there's Anapod!

@clienut: yah, except if you have an iTMS account of the available countries, or use someone elses a/c, then you can buy the songs.

This post has been edited by jassacake: Apr 22 2006, 06:19 PM
Criptonox89
post Apr 22 2006, 09:48 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ Apr 21 2006, 08:09 PM)
easy 2 get scratches!
yeah....but...if u're managed to buy ipod...why not get an iskin or screen protector instead.....

QUOTE(1zR4eL @ Apr 21 2006, 08:25 PM)
battery is not user replaceable
that's not a disadvantage....u never replace the battery always......

QUOTE(kinfei @ Apr 21 2006, 10:52 PM)
for me is the accesories that are too pricy and the battery life isn't as good as i expect
haha...its worthy is partially for its design and its function.....
Criptonox89
post Apr 22 2006, 09:52 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(jassacake @ Apr 22 2006, 06:13 PM)
Average battery life ~ close to neglegible, since you'll be plugging in to usb at least once a day. Besides, Apple encourages you to do so.

Easily scratched ~ which gadget doesn't? Get a case/protective. And you're not gonna use an ipod like swiss army knives rite?

So-so earphone ~ keyword: "bundled". Dont expect a beauty eh. Just change it to a better one whenever you can.

Cant copy music from ipod to pc ~ no problem(really). Use 3rd party software. Theres a lot of them out there.

No radio ~ with thousands of songs, radio is dead, literally.

Pricey ~ if you like it so much, you'll eventually buy it. Once you've owned it, you'll by whatever means justify it against the amount you pay.

"What? Only five buttons?" ~ Yes. Do you really expect a keyboard?

"I hate iTunes" ~ well then, i rest my case.

Oh wait, there's Anapod!

@clienut: yah, except if you have an iTMS account of the available countries, or use someone elses a/c, then you can buy the songs.
TOTALLY AGREED~!

~only 5 buttons

what u still need?
dun forget...there's still a click wheel that many mp4 player without of it.....and.....the click wheel is complete with two function....aaaaaaaall the buttons are totally useful to control ur whole ipod....it;s not a problem.......simple, elegance, useful and....i never regret after bought it...
geejun2
post Apr 23 2006, 05:39 PM

ipod-freak
951 posts

hahaha
i think so far... oni ppl start to get addicted to it...
who doesnt? when u flash it in public... u get stares....
hehehehe
wink.gif
ezralimm
post Apr 23 2006, 05:43 PM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

.. i dont show it around in public. its usually in my pocket. Ive even learnt to control it by feel (yes by feel) through the cloth of my pants.

The only thing you see me wearing is a pair of SOny Earbuds (MX71)
dsiew
post Apr 23 2006, 10:34 PM

715 posts

QUOTE(ezralimm @ Apr 23 2006, 05:43 PM)
.. i dont show it around in public. its usually in my pocket. Ive even learnt to control it by feel (yes by feel) through the cloth of my pants.

The only thing you see me wearing is a pair of SOny Earbuds (MX71)
haven't tried the koss ksc75?
geejun2
post Apr 23 2006, 11:58 PM

ipod-freak
951 posts

hahaha
not everyone managed to get it frm alamaklor...
hehehe
me the few lucky oness... they are damn nice...
it is less bassy than the ex71 but the clarity is like...
fuiyooooo
4agze
post Apr 24 2006, 08:53 AM

SwaggeR
783 posts

bro, everything has advantages and disadvantages, it is just the price that makes us malaysian whether to buy or not. ipod is not consider a richman accessories it is because we buy it so expensive in malaysia. imagine that i can buy 120pounds in england for ipod nano, yes it is in pound sterling, but if you work there for 1500pound a month, i dont feel it is expensive.

well, i would like to say that once you get your Ipod, no matter what video, photo, U2 special edition, nano, etc.. you'll love it and never feel regret to go back nor never think of getting a sony mp3 walkman! biggrin.gif
dsiew
post Apr 24 2006, 09:08 AM

715 posts

QUOTE(geejun2 @ Apr 23 2006, 11:58 PM)
hahaha
not everyone managed to get it frm alamaklor...
hehehe
me the few lucky oness... they are damn nice...
it is less bassy than the ex71 but the clarity is like...
fuiyooooo
been dying to get try it with my nano...
can't seem to get my grubby hands on one..
guess i need to keep my trusty grados for awhile...
marquis
post Apr 30 2006, 05:09 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

Anyone here owns a fourth gen? I was thinking of getting one. Currently using a Zen Micro. Nothing wrong with the micro, it's just that I can't live with the small capacity! tongue.gif

So anyway, about the fourth gen. I've read quite a fair number of reviews and oppinions. It really varies. Some ppl says it days the moment it reaches a year. Some says it's been two years and it's still up and running.

And the battery life. It's quoted to be 12 hours. A review tried it for 14 hours. While some users claim 8 hours at most. So this is starting to make me really see stars rclxub.gif

Do I have to send it back to apple to get the batts changed, or can I somehow open it up on my own? Oh, and what's the average price you guys pay to get the batts changed? Geejun has kindly told me via pm it cost abt RM 200. But I thought I'd ask you guys anyway. And I've bothered him enough blush.gif

Final question for now: What's the worst battery time you can get?
Oxigen
post May 1 2006, 02:12 AM

Need Help Newbie®
1,532 posts

kene jaga extra careful supaya tak calar on the back-surface!
hopfully iPod will cool little bit and not to release number of models in short-notice period.
buy at malaysia damn expensive!!!! i just saw today 60GB is selling at SGD748!!!! cry.gif

-cheers-

THTgadgets.com
post May 1 2006, 10:40 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Thats the sad thing... The latest gadgets and iPods are available everywhere in Malaysia but too bad the price is prohibitive!

But one thing's for sure, i never regretted my investment in the mini... Best MP3 player i ever had (not forgetting the shortfalls also!)...
arsnl
post May 2 2006, 12:59 PM

385 posts

A 4th gen user here.. Just came back from trip up north.. 12 hrs.. battery life just nice.. The selection of accessories available here is not that much compared to what is actually available.. Price wise, both for the iPod n accessories sucks big time.. Just yesterday, saw the new iPod HiFi, retailing @RM1999.. shocking.. apart from that, I'm quite happy with overall performance.. I did consider getting Creative n iRiver..
marquis
post May 2 2006, 03:00 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

So the battery life really is about 12 hours and not like 8 hours or something like that?

That's nice to know smile.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:13 AM