Videography Sony A57 or A58?, please help to choose

TSricgan
post Apr 27 2013, 12:55 PM, updated 13y ago

238 posts

hi , i am currently interested to get a sony a57, however i also realized that the new sony a58 already came out and both of the price are quite similar to each other , so some opinion is needed for me to make decision .

lets talk about whats the upgrade on a58 compare to a57
1.e-viewfinder lcd replaced with OLED
2.follow focus
3.better body design for more comfortable holding
4.megapixel upgrade
5.second generation 18-55 lens (i dunno whats the different)
6.noises performance upgrade on high iso
7.auto object framing
8.standard hot shoe(i defines this as an upgrade cause standard hot shoe is a need for me , but this is not a big deal as converter can be found everywhere.)

and then lets see the downgrade :
1.main Lcd from 3.0inch 921k dot to 2.7inch 4.6k dot, this is the main reason stopped my steps on getting the a58
2.Full hd video downgrade from 1080p 50i 28mbps to only 24mbps

the price that i currrently found is RM1550 for sony A57 and A58 still rrp which is RM1999.

RM450 price different , a58 has quite lots of upgrade but downgrade also , so i need some opinion on which one should i choose.
also , if youre a seller of both of this camera , pls quote me your best price in pm tongue.gif

The main reason i am getting this a57 is for video recording , i think this a57 is the best "video camera" in the market so far in this price range with full hd quick af and can attach alots of external acc like mic and etc.

dont ask me why am i not getting a dv for video , i went everywhere and chk for dv in this price range , it's all just rubbish , with small sensor size and no ext acc can be attached.

This post has been edited by ricgan: Apr 27 2013, 12:55 PM
mumeichan
post Apr 27 2013, 01:28 PM

4,152 posts

Lol auto object framing.
TSricgan
post Apr 27 2013, 08:33 PM

238 posts

new prices update , i called to a camera shop and asked for both a57 and a58 price.

suprisingly , the a58 has a cheaper price than a57.
i asked why , and the answer was come over and try on the real camera then you'll find out the answer .

lol , does that mean the a58 is actually very terrible?
Rice_Owl84
post Apr 27 2013, 09:44 PM

603 posts

Well don't know much about Sony. Did a quick read on the web. Read that the a58 has an upgraded sensor but alot of things downgraded to the a57. It was all done because a57 is suppose to be that good that it kills a65's sales (a65 has same functions but just a better sensor). So the downgrade quality and downing the price of the new a58 is to seperate it from a65.

Just what I read from dpreview forums.

Interesting but can't confirm it because I'm not that familiar with Sony. But in marketing terms if this is the case it does makes sense in why Sony is doing what they are doing. Its just better marketing to have a product line being more diverse.
TSricgan
post Apr 28 2013, 12:09 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 27 2013, 09:44 PM)
Well don't know much about Sony.  Did a quick read on the web.  Read that the a58 has an upgraded sensor but alot of things downgraded to the a57.  It was all done because a57 is suppose to be that good that it kills a65's sales (a65 has same functions but just a better sensor).  So the downgrade quality and downing the price of the new a58 is to seperate it from a65. 

Just what I read from dpreview forums. 

Interesting but can't confirm it because I'm not that familiar with Sony.  But in marketing terms if this is the case it does makes sense in why Sony is doing what they are doing.  Its just better marketing to have a product line being more diverse.
so in conclusion , a57 is actually a better choice to get ?
Ryou
post Apr 28 2013, 01:05 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(ricgan @ Apr 28 2013, 12:09 AM)
Since the planned a38 was called off before the launch, Sony wished to replace supposedly entry level a3X series with the a58, so it wouldn't be surprising it many things seem to be downgrading when compared to a57. That's why it's cheaper also.

Well, in terms of image quality and some very specific elements, the a58 seems to be superior, but I believe Sony will launch a new model to "properly" replace the a57.
Newbieeeeee
post Apr 28 2013, 03:22 AM

:)
1,286 posts

QUOTE(ricgan @ Apr 28 2013, 12:09 AM)
I still think it is. The A57's pricing and specs are just out! Specs too close to A65, price too far from it. It was a mistake I believe. Of course, if budget allows you, A77. Prefect camera.

*perfect may be personal but at least to me it is.
TSricgan
post Apr 28 2013, 12:13 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Apr 28 2013, 01:05 AM)
Since the planned a38 was called off before the launch, Sony wished to replace supposedly entry level a3X series with the a58, so it wouldn't be surprising it many things seem to be downgrading when compared to a57. That's why it's cheaper also.

Well, in terms of image quality and some very specific elements, the a58 seems to be superior, but I believe Sony will launch a new model to "properly" replace the a57.
yea , i Choose to Believe That the a58 Is the Actual Model To Replace The a57, This level of Camera Should have This price And Specs As a57 specs Is way Too Close to A65 but Price Is Too far Away From each other .
This Should Be a Marketing strategy That Sony Trying to Maximize The different between A5x And A6x . In order to Ensure that the a6x sales wont Be affected .

I Posted in Few Forum and Seem Like everyone Is Saying That the a57 Is Better . Seem like I can Make decision Already . Haha. However, i Will Proceed To the shop And Look at the real camera and Only Decide .
Anyway, thanks Bro wink.gif
TSricgan
post Apr 28 2013, 12:19 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Apr 28 2013, 03:22 AM)
I still think it is. The A57's pricing and specs are just out! Specs too close to A65, price too far from it. It was a mistake I believe. Of course, if budget allows you, A77. Prefect camera.

*perfect may be personal but at least to me it is.
Yes , i agree With you that this should Be The actual A5x specs and price range .

But a77 is a lil Too Over For Me As the Main Reasons I am getting this Sony translucent is because of the high Speed auto focus and Full Hd Movie Recording . A57 And A77 Videos Function is somehow The same , So Yea . For Photography i have a Fujifilm X100 And Was Planning to get a nikon d7100 but seem Like This Should be Postponed since i've choosen To get A A57 first . Haha
Ryou
post Apr 28 2013, 05:59 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ricgan @ Apr 28 2013, 12:19 PM)
Yes , i agree With you that this should Be The actual A5x specs and price range .

But a77 is a lil Too Over For Me As the Main Reasons I am getting this Sony translucent is because of the high Speed auto focus and Full Hd Movie Recording . A57 And A77 Videos Function is somehow The same , So Yea . For Photography i have a Fujifilm X100 And Was Planning to get a nikon d7100 but seem Like This Should be Postponed since i've choosen To get A A57 first . Haha
I see no points of getting an a57 and D7100 separately for still and motion pictures. Getting the a77 will fulfill your demands. smile.gif
TSricgan
post Apr 28 2013, 09:16 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Apr 28 2013, 05:59 PM)
I see no points of getting an a57 and D7100 separately for still and motion pictures. Getting the a77 will fulfill your demands. smile.gif
a77with lens is like RM5000+ this is way too far from my budget. okay , at least it is to a not very pro player like me .
my maximum budget for a camera is always RM3000+ only . as this is only a hobby , not smth i use to earn money nod.gif

for D7100 it can be postpone with no problem as i still have a nikon D80 to use now .
i need to get a camera with good video quality as i've a project to shoot on the coming 20th may .
i've been using canon 600D (borrowed from my brother )for my previous video production , however , 600D doesn't support AF during video recording , so when i use stabilizer to perform steadycam effect , i dun have any extra hand to control the focus (i know this is causes by my lousy skill ), and it always causes the video turn out to be out of focus. rclxub.gif

so yea , i'll try on a57 and if it can actually fulfill both of my demands of videograph and photograph then thats it , no more camera in the coming few years, icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ricgan: Apr 28 2013, 09:18 PM
kamarms
post Dec 25 2013, 09:03 AM

21 posts

SONY A58 - sharing my experiences

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry65381399

This post has been edited by kamarms: Dec 25 2013, 09:07 AM
ezyfoto19
post Dec 25 2013, 11:41 AM

52 posts

bought Sony A58K from this seller few weeks ago. it indeed a best deal up to date

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2892794

0.0182sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:32 AM