Hardware Official Microsoft Surface Thread V1

jchue73
post Apr 23 2014, 06:51 PM

2,496 posts

I've been looking around for a smallish but powerful notebook with tablet features for convenience. The Surface Pro fits the bill but cannot be found anywhere at the RM 1899 price.

Current US prices for Surface Pro 2 with 128GB SSD and 4GB memory is USD 999 (RM 3,270) and Surface Pro 2 with 256GB SSD and 8GB memory is USD 1299 (RM 4,250). Thinking of asking somebody to buy and hand carry it for me.

Worth the price for the specs and features? Would appreciate some feedback. I'm a little rusty with current available notebook specs and their prices and what's available out there. Thanks.
jchue73
post Apr 24 2014, 05:30 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 23 2014, 09:03 PM)
Specs and features wise, you can get a similar windows ultrabook at a lower price. One of the main reasons for buying a Surface Pro is wheter or not you prefer the small, lightweight, 10" form factor.
Thanks for the feedback. Yeah, I thought the small form factor and weight is quite difficult to find in other ultrabooks and those are the features I'm attracted too.
jchue73
post Apr 25 2014, 12:33 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 24 2014, 10:20 PM)
Do try it out before buying and see wheter you can handle the 1080P resolution on such a 10" screen though.
I have no doubt that 1080p resolution would be fine on it and that the 10" screen is able to output 1080p. Must be super small. It would only be useful if I output to an external screen which I plan to do.

As for 1080p video playback, my old lowly dual core Celeron 1.2GHz with lowly built-in graphic is able to handle 1080p, the i5 should not break a sweat.
jchue73
post May 2 2014, 02:57 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ May 2 2014, 12:37 AM)
wahai Surface Pro owner.. have u guys encounter this bluetooth mouse lagging problem?  u'll feel it more if output to external monitor + downloading sumething from internet. Quick solved it by turn off Wifi and suddenly feel butter-smooth mouse movement. Check microsoft forum this is because the chip for wifi n BT is sharing together. this problem are still not solve on Surface Pro 2 since it using the same hardware.
If you have the option to use 5GHz spectrum of the WiFi, that would probably solve your bluetooth mouse lagging problem.
jchue73
post May 2 2014, 04:51 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ May 2 2014, 04:46 PM)
hmm i dun think the wifi router provide from TM is 5ghz capable right?
The DIR 615? Nope.

0.0615sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:11 AM