Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 Or Ford Kuga 1.6 Eco Boost. 2, 2013 models

TSconvict
post Apr 23 2013, 12:43 PM, updated 13y ago

90 posts

hi guys,

Were thinking of getting a proper SUV this years. ( currently been driving Hilux 3.0 VNT)
Purpose is for long trip to up north Thailand (plan to do an epic trip to ChangRai) so my family can enjoy the ride a little more comfortable.
Would be great if you sifu can share your opinion within the two SUV. Budget 180k.

please don't talk about resale value.

thanks in advanced

This post has been edited by convict: Apr 23 2013, 12:50 PM
theanswer
post Apr 23 2013, 12:46 PM

1,024 posts

kuga diesel kah? for long distance..better fc and power..i'd choose santa fe.
TSconvict
post Apr 23 2013, 12:49 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Apr 23 2013, 12:46 PM)
kuga diesel kah? for long distance..better fc and power..i'd choose santa fe.
http://ford.net.my/kuga/
bakkutt3h
post Apr 23 2013, 02:20 PM

153 posts

been through thailand with suv santa fe 7seater.

i'd choose santa fe for long journey....smile.gif

This post has been edited by bakkutt3h: Apr 23 2013, 08:29 PM
theanswer
post Apr 23 2013, 02:26 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(convict @ Apr 23 2013, 12:49 PM)
from what i know, we going to get ecoboost 1.6.
sanadi
post Apr 23 2013, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(convict @ Apr 23 2013, 12:49 PM)
http://www.ford.co.uk/Cars/All-New-Kuga/Performance

Ecoboost is petrol
Duratorq is diesel
ajaibman
post Apr 23 2013, 02:31 PM

233 posts

Don't bring your Hilux to LOS.. easy target for thief or carjacker... (STILL A HOT Model in there)...

both are great car, but I would suggest to go for Santa Fe, offered bigger space and more torque (Diesel).

Ford Kuga is nice for soccer mom .. (CRV equivalent)
azfamy
post Apr 23 2013, 05:05 PM

55 posts

Since you're used to diesel's torque, turbocharged petrol may feel underpowered, especially at full load. More spacious cabin should also translate to more comfort (higher freedom of movement) during long trips.
MR_alien
post Apr 23 2013, 05:06 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

santa fe wins
but santa fe's outlook doesn't nice ....the kuga looks better
azfamy
post Apr 23 2013, 05:14 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 23 2013, 05:06 PM)
santa fe wins
but santa fe's outlook doesn't nice ....the kuga looks better
Isn't TS referring to the new un-launched Santa Fe? That one looks good.
MR_alien
post Apr 23 2013, 05:16 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Apr 23 2013, 05:14 PM)
Isn't TS referring to the new un-launched Santa Fe? That one looks good.
he just say 2.2
so not sure cuz new and old still uses same engine
if new thn santa fe wins hand down
TSconvict
post Apr 23 2013, 05:48 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 23 2013, 05:16 PM)
he just say 2.2
so not sure cuz new and old still uses same engine
if new thn santa fe wins hand down
I did mention 2013 models:)

And I did agreed with you guys, I'm kind lean toward Santa FE with it new look.

This post has been edited by convict: Apr 23 2013, 06:10 PM
jwrx
post Apr 23 2013, 06:43 PM

515 posts

im going overseas next week, and have rented a 1.6 ecoboost kuga for 1 week as our transport, i will give my review when i get back smile.gif

i picked the kuga for rent cos im also thinking of buying one, so 1 week of testing should be enuff to decide

TSconvict
post Apr 23 2013, 06:56 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Apr 23 2013, 06:43 PM)
im going overseas next week, and have rented a 1.6 ecoboost kuga for 1 week as our transport, i will give my review when i get back smile.gif

i picked the kuga for rent cos im also thinking of buying one, so 1 week of testing should be enuff to decide
Lucky you:)

will wait for your review. have a safe trip.

cheers

sudha
post Apr 23 2013, 07:32 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(convict @ Apr 23 2013, 12:43 PM)
hi guys,

Were thinking of getting a proper SUV this years. ( currently been driving Hilux 3.0 VNT)
Purpose is for long trip to up north Thailand (plan to do an epic trip to ChangRai) so my family can enjoy the ride a little more comfortable.
Would be great if you sifu can share your opinion within the two SUV. Budget 180k.

please don't talk about resale value.
thanks in advanced
Bro, both cars are a different. The Santa Fe may be a larger option compared to the Kuga and since you are looking for long journeys I am guessing you need comfort. I have no qualms that both Kuga and Santa Fe will be able to offer you that.

Also, if you need a vehicle with a frugal consumption, Santa Fe's diesel engine maybe a good option although the Kuga's 1.6 ltr Ecoboost will do the job for u.

But if space is what you are looking and especially the third row seats, dont think the Kuga offers that and not sure if the new 2013 Santa Fe has that too.

It appears the new Santa Fe will be available in two wheelbase length and we are getting the shorter wheelbase version. Dont fret, it's actually the same size as the current Santa Fe with the third row seats. so you may have an option to custom order the third row seats if available.

Read about the 3rd Gen Santa Fe, it'll give you an idea what to expect in the new Santa Fe. I would go for the Kuga based on the specs alone. But if you are looking for size...well go with the Santa Fe.

Cheers!

allenultra
post Apr 23 2013, 08:05 PM

9,027 posts

New Santa Fe 2.2 diesel shall price above 190k, I do think Santa Fe is a good buy if you dun mind the price difference.
Alan
post Apr 23 2013, 08:10 PM

413 posts

I'll pick any turbo diesel for big size suv, due to good torque.
TSconvict
post Apr 23 2013, 09:24 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(sudha @ Apr 23 2013, 07:32 PM)
Bro, both cars are a different. The Santa Fe may be a larger option compared to the Kuga and since you are looking for long journeys I am guessing you need comfort. I have no qualms that both Kuga and Santa Fe will be able to offer you that.

Also, if you need a vehicle with a frugal consumption, Santa Fe's diesel engine maybe a good option although the Kuga's 1.6 ltr Ecoboost will do the job for u.

But if space is what you are looking and especially the third row seats, dont think the Kuga offers that and not sure if the new 2013 Santa Fe has that too.

It appears the new Santa Fe will be available in two wheelbase length and we are getting the shorter wheelbase version. Dont fret, it's actually the same size as the current Santa Fe with the third row seats. so you may have an option to custom order the third row seats if available.

Read about the 3rd Gen Santa Fe, it'll give you an idea what to expect in the new Santa Fe. I would go for the Kuga based on the specs alone. But if you are looking for size...well go with the Santa Fe.

Cheers!
I couldn't agree with you more. thanks for the feed back.

And yes, I seen the paul tan blog... that's why I was excited wanted to see the real car in person.
The 2013 CRV is huge disappointment interm interior.

kadajawi
post Apr 23 2013, 10:16 PM

544 posts

In terms of ride quality the Ford could very well be better. Hyundai isn't exactly known for a good and balanced suspension setup, Ford is.
tishaban
post Apr 23 2013, 10:37 PM

3,615 posts

I own a 2011 Santa Fe 2.2. I can comment on the engine since it'll be the same on the 2013 Santa Fe as well. The R-series is nice and torquey and moves the heavy SUV very well. It's no BMW diesel, the power band is noticeably narrower and feels it but the 6-speed auto box is very happy to downshift and you'll never feel the narrower power band unless you're doing a century sprint.

The exhaust is noticeably cleaner than the BMW diesel, there's no noticeable smoke coming out at all. Maybe there's a DPF in there (?) or maybe it's because I tune the hell out of my BMW diesel biggrin.gif

I get around 10-11l/100km for mostly in town driving, around 7.2-8l/100km for long distance. If you're driving up to Thailand I'd borong some Euro 4/5 diesel from up there to bring down as well. biggrin.gif

0.0249sec    1.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:15 PM