Cycling V6 - Cycling season begins, General talks on Racing/road bikes

mrjgx
post Apr 23 2013, 11:16 AM

59 posts

the only wheel that is capable of doing what you want would be the mavic cosmic slr and mavic rsys slr... both has the exalith aluminum rims and the rsys is almost as light as the 303FC tubulars and both are clinchers... the tub versions don't offer much weight savings.. pricey though...still has to adjust pads if you intend to swap wheel...

mavic rsys slr do tempt me with it's all black colors which suits my bike..but that would be a climbing wheels, just like my FR0. Choices are limited! but that surely will reduce some grams.

FR0 dark label but still not dark enough...i hate the shining chrome on my bike, it looks like a sore thumb sticking out from the stealthy look ..the same goes to the braze on clamp which is in silver! I tried to look for the black one from Campy at Godzilla but they are run out of stock hmm.gif

i dont have the weight scale yet at the moment but at most with my guesstimation i can reduce:

FRO - Rsys SLR = 135 grams ------ wth, i might skip this option.
Carbon cages = 40grams
carbon seatpost = 110 grams
carbon handlebar = 100 grams
seat = 104 grams
skewers = ~80 grams

total = 569 grams

7.9kg - 569g = 7.3kg

So to make it sub 7kg I have to further do this things..

change pedals = 130grams
change to lighter groupsets = maybe 300-400grams?? Im not sure about this

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Apr 23 2013, 11:18 AM
mrjgx
post Apr 23 2013, 02:39 PM

59 posts

Never heard of before the brands butthead suggested but im sure it's going to make my wallet lighter!

Enve looks nice but not available in the lbs...
mrjgx
post Apr 23 2013, 05:29 PM

59 posts

Wait until u see Lightweight with the white spokes..forgot la the model.

What do u guys think about Vision wheels? Around rm4500 only, the aero wheels

I was planning to get 404fc as the aero wheels for flat route and my FR0 for climbing but haveto change brakepads everytime and adjust the angle..maybe sell mu FR0 and get a do-it-all wheelset..the 303FC or 202FC?

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Apr 23 2013, 05:31 PM
mrjgx
post Apr 24 2013, 01:27 AM

59 posts

7.7kg? lets dip it below 7kg! tongue.gif
mrjgx
post Apr 27 2013, 02:50 PM

59 posts

I'm feeling blue rclxms.gif

mrjgx
post Apr 27 2013, 09:28 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 27 2013, 05:19 PM)
hhaaaaiikkkkkssss... my eyes hurt...even the blind is going "that is so loud"...

did you photoshopped your tire or did you just mount the sickest looking tire in the history of bicycles???
aye captain..
That is the blue Tacx specific trainer tyre. It is more silent and easy to mount than my PITA Dunlop trainer tyre.

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 27 2013, 08:04 PM)
What is with mrjgx's group set... Is it a SRAM Force with Red Crank? Why the choice, can share?
QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 27 2013, 08:44 PM)
not enuf money to buy red but can afford force... but want red irregardless..

so, buy the biggest piece of component tat has red plastered all over it
I could go all the way Red or Force..my Allez is way below my budget at that time..if I go all Red, I know I'll be banging my head because Red 22 is released shortly after. If I go for all Red and Sworks SL4, I know I'll be banging my head should SL5 make it appearance at the end of this year..

So I settled for the new 2013 Allez Race E5. I'm pretty pleased with the purchase though..I guess the geometry suits me really well..saved my budget nearly half, and still can fulfill the lusts wub.gif

mrjgx
post Apr 28 2013, 10:40 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 28 2013, 12:29 AM)
haha... i was jus filling in the blanks till you come and clarify it yourself...

btw...the blue tire does really suck...see also pening...

for much of the reason.. force is actually pretty close to red if you don't mind losing the blackbox ceramic bearing and some more exotic materials the components is made out of...in fact only force and red is has bb30 cranks in the entire sram line up...
SRAM Force is good enough for me..I'm loving the double tap..until now no upgrade so far..

QUOTE(ryanconferido @ Apr 28 2013, 01:18 PM)
Hey guys

Just would like to seek some advise from you all.
Much appreciate wink.gif
I bought a new road bike, very basic with left & right gear, few hundred bulks. Actually I don't know how to use it? Especially I try to climb the hill. Please can you all share the knowledge? Because read thru the article via others websites, it still very much confusing me.
I mean, the combination like 1 - 2,3,4; 2-3,4,5; 3-4,5,6 and so on... I did try but failed to climb and fall down from the bike when climbing the hill this morning(not exactly hill, just a bit steepest).

The worst experience was last Thursday, when I was cycling around the house area, here and there, I was suddenly vomit and almost fainting; can't control breathing... Sigh!

Can you all shed a light on how to use the gear & how to increase the stamina? Energy drink or food before and after cycling?

Thanks in advance wink.gif

Ryan
Dude, you might wanna check your health condition first with a doctor, see whether you can do strenuous activities or not. Fainting on a bike on the road could be fatal hmm.gif

QUOTE(ryanconferido @ Apr 28 2013, 08:11 PM)
The bike front chain always on smallest cog?!
Ya, I was riding from Permaisuri 1 - > Permaisuri 2 (actually I want to ride to TBS), I failed at Jalan Budiman, where the hill at. It quite steepest though.
Maybe you can talk a look on the photo below.

Your advise is good. I also have a same thought, to ride on flat road for couple weeks to see whether I could catch up later for the hill.

My left leg now pretty painful, but I believe I had have extream sporty outdoor. Haha...

Please come more suggestion, I love to know more what you all have been done before.
I live there. Used to cycle your route also..ok lah can sweat a bit riding there, mostly on weekend morning when there's not many cars on the road..want a steeper climb you can try the residential area going to Tesco, I forgot the name of the place.
mrjgx
post Apr 29 2013, 11:44 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(ryanconferido @ Apr 28 2013, 11:16 PM)
you mean Taman connough? Come on, I try to ask how to get up hill... Sigh! Lot of feedback doesn't help. I mean more specific, that's why I am here.
But, I appreciate.
I had have chat with my doctor, my health definitely fit for cycling, nor any activity. I also know why I got vomit and black out experience.
Never mind dude, I am on my own.
Good night!
I used to live there..buy a trainer and build your fitness there safely. Then go out and see the sun.
mrjgx
post May 3 2013, 04:13 AM

59 posts

did a short ride yesterday when I saw a local amateur cyclist wearing the infamous team jersey powering up a short climb. I latched to his rear wheel and stick along, when suddenly the rider gave me a good taste of the massive difference between an amateur and a casual rider like myself. He dropped me when my heart is nearly at my throat just to stay with him until the top and left me in the dust...and he isn't anywhere near the pro status level.

if you guys play dota, I felt like he is at level 25 and me at level 3...sad
mrjgx
post May 3 2013, 10:33 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ May 3 2013, 09:01 AM)
Why infamous..live strong jersey?
Max heart rate just to stay with him, got smoked when L25 power on. tongue.gif
Obviously L25 has got a nice program along the lines of "EPO time"

To compensate, level 3 needs better(lighter) equipment and sub 7kg for a start then go on to sub 6kg to level the playing field.
But level vin-Ann will not be happy! Either way...jia lat!
Here : www.frankies.ae

Cannot compensate..they could have been cycling for a zillion years than me..I watched the member's strava, this year alone he's already did more than 6300km...
mrjgx
post May 4 2013, 01:26 PM

59 posts

it was very windy yesterday, strong headwind, when a caucasian rider overtook me i drafted him (wheelsucked him for a good 8km).

He knew I was there behind him, happily shielded and doing 35kmh thanks to him. Inappropriately, he sneezes out and spitting just to make me away. At one point he gave up sneezing, he steer left hard and stop at the roadside.

So the question is, whose the unethical one here? Is drafting a stranger is a complete no-no?
mrjgx
post May 4 2013, 05:46 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ May 4 2013, 02:14 PM)
One on one, what will be the effective drafting distance?
I did manage once, latching on to someone at about 2 bikes length, manage to add 5 kmh from the usual effort.
I knew these strangers wouldn't be pleased when I did that, so when they slowed down, out of curtesy, I did the lead until I couldn't anymore and signaled adieu.

Q, will our latching to them caused them extra effort....?
It was 2-3 bikes length initially until I think what the hell..just nearer, maybe a wheel gap from his rear wheels should be fine.

It's like unwritten rules not to draft others unless you are in a group ride. When people drafted me all I did was to slow down a bit, not spitting or sneezing to chase them away.

mrjgx
post May 4 2013, 06:50 PM

59 posts

http://www.unrealliving.com/hand-made-recycled-tube-wallets/

mrjgx
post May 5 2013, 03:03 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ May 4 2013, 09:18 PM)
personally and i have to say this is only my view...i think the answer lies in the person taking advantage... if the person in front dislikes you tagging onto his wheel and you understand his hints... you should know what to do rather than annoyingly soldiering on until he does something extreme like telling you off.. either you drop back further or you just overtake...

the fact is there is no rules to say that you can't draft someone on the open roads whether you know or you don't know that person, i understand that.. but some people just like their personal space or they want the peace of mind that you are not going to run into them and stuff like that... just let them be...

it is like you are peeing in the toilet and i stand real close to you at the back... not peeking over your shoulders or any or those sort.. but just standing there real close and doing nothing... you get annoyed too and you will try to get rid of me...or someone driving real close to your rear bumper...it's just annoys the person in front if you get what i am trying to say...

some people just likes to ride in peace... he might have been a bit extreme in trying to get rid of you...

even if the person does not mind... etiquette says that you should still take a couple of pulls...if you just sit in his slipstream, dun blame the person in front if he holds a grudge on you... what you can do is just simply ride up to his side and ask him if you can help take a pull or two or sometime eye or hand signals would suffice...sitting in someone's slipstream is jus very unpleasant if you do nothing to help...

usually for me, i do one of the 2 things...

if i am in front and i don't mind getting drafted

1) i flick my elbow to ask the person at the back to take a turn
2) if he does not understand or refuses...  swing off your lane safely and drop speed massively to force the person behind to the front and force him to take a pull

if i do mind,

1) give him some hand signals to signal him to pass
2) slow down and let him pass
2.5) if the rider slows down with me, try to shake him loose and if the rider behind die die follow your accelerations... give him another hand signal and slow down at the same time while giving him the look (this is what i already consider very rude in my position and practically a move to show him that he is a massive a~hole.. practically a GTFO)
depends on the size of the object blocking the wind... half to one bike length you still can feel the effects while maintain a safe distance...

they are expending the same amount of energy themselves if they ride alone... so, physically... it doesn't exert them anymore than they face the wind alone... mentally, that is another case... subconsciously... they might feel that they get more worn down and stuff like that...
riding alone you will ride at a stable pace... when you try to accelerate away... you are just wrecking your pace and expending more energy...if i were you.. i'd just flag him through unless you want to play cat and mouse with him...
just to clarify...not in a homosexual way...but i don't see why not...
Well that's a good and sensible way of how to tackle wheelsuckers. Will try it out on my next ride. Just finished my 40km base building ride, slow and steady until on my last finishing lap of the circuit, I overtook 3 guys..maintained 40kmh for the last 1km when suddenly their white front lights started approaching me and I could hear them breathing (that's how close it is). What's wrong with all these people!

mrjgx
post May 5 2013, 03:05 AM

59 posts

I wonder if riding here in UAE will make me stronger when i'm back to Msia for good. The headwind is crazy, most of the time I can only cycle at 20kmh due to the strong headwind..but when there's no wind, 35kmh-40kmh seems easy breazy. Not so few years ago. Making me wanna buy that wind cheating wheels. Perhaps it will make life more easier, slicing the wind and whatever BS they claimed, but it comes with scientific facts and figures so I'm sold! Start saving money now! rclxms.gif

A pros sharing their training tips. I shared it here for the others benefit.

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-gb/news/a...sessions/16653/

Giant rider Matt Bottrill is currently enjoying a 9 race unbeaten win streak, in his latest blog post he talks us through his Top 5 Training Sessions and how he uses power as part of his training routine, over to Matt;

Part two of my rider blog and I am revealing my top five training sessions, I use these regularly as part of a programme set my my coach and sponsor Bob Tobin at www.cyclepowermeters.com. My training is based on power which Ihave found is the best way of optimising my training and recovery time. If you are interested in racing and training with power and selecting the right power meter the Tri Radar website has a great article about power based training and power meters, right here.

Over the years I've found the key to not letting your training get stale is variety. If you're short on time and looking to add some variety to your training routine then try riding on different roads or adding different intervals, my top 5 are detailed below.

Training Zones - Heart Rate (Based on 190bpm Max Heart Rate)
Recovery: 114 - Active recovery
Zone 1: 114 - 123 - Long steady rides of up to 6hrs
Zone 2: 123 - 142 longer rides of up to 4hrs
Zone 3: 142 - 155 - Medium intensity rides of up to 2hrs
Zone 4: 155 - 169 - Sweet spot up to 1hr intervals
Zone 5: 169 - 178 - Race pace & 10min - 20mins efforts
Zone 6: 178 - 190 - Vo2 MAX 10 secs - 1 min intervals

Training Zones - Power
Zone 1: Active recovery
Zone 2: Endurance
Zone 3: Tempo including sweetspot
Zone 4: Threshold
Zone 5: Vo2 Max
Zone 6: Anaerobic capacity

For a much more indeath look at training with power, here's a useful link to an Andrew Coggan article on TrainingPeaks.com

My Top 5 Training Routines

1 - Sweet Spot Training
The zone just below threshold, if you're new to the sport try blocks of 10 minutes and if you're really keen and fit you might even be able to do blocks of 1hr. But sweet spot is a great way of building your fitness.

20 mins warm up @ L2, 10 - 20mins @ sweetspot, 20 mins L2, 10 - 20 mins sweet spot then 20 mins cooldown.

Try this twice a week and you will be flying. (Try altering your cadence eg: 20 mins 100 revs, 20 mins 70 revs, to add variety)

2 - Micro burst intervals

Warm up 20 mins, 20 mins - 1hr @ Level 2-3, but then every 5 mins do a max interval of either 10-20-30secs - or if you're super fit 1 minute sitting in the saddle riding as fast as you can, 20 mins cool down.

This session is great for increasing you lactic tolerance.

3 - Threshold intervals

10 - 20 mins to better you time trialing & top end power.

20 mins warm up, 10 - 20 mins @ level 5, 20 mins recovery, 10 - 20 mins @ Level 5, 20 mins cool down - if that's too much do 3 x 10 mins @ level 5 with 10 mins recovery

4 - Sub threshold power intervals

1 - 4 mins level 5 - 6 - Vo2 Max

Warm up 20 mins then do 4 x 4 mins if fit or 1 x 4 mins if not so fit @ level 6 with 5 mins recovery between each, 20 mins cool down

5 - Power based intervals - for increased strength

Find a climb of around 4 - 5 minutes.

20 mins warm up high cadence, don't concentrate on power or heart rate, start the climb at 70 revs, eg 53 x 17, then each minute drop it down one sprocket, descend the climb and repeat, keep doing the intervals until you can't take anymore!

My week in Training (based on power)

Monday - 2hrs Level 2

Tuesday - 15 mins L2, 1hr sweetspot, 15 mins recovery

Wednesday - Rest

Thursday - 20 mins warm up, 4 x 4 minute level 5 intervals

Friday - 15 mins L2, 1hr sweetspot, 15 mins recovery

Saturday - Race

Sunday - 90mins Level 1-2 recovery ride.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: May 5 2013, 03:14 AM
mrjgx
post May 7 2013, 01:05 AM

59 posts

bought 3T ergonova team carbon stealth black. the thing is, i felt more comfy with the old specialized handlebar.

le butthead, how high can i position the sram shifter? i mean, the placement of the shifter clamp.

mrjgx
post May 7 2013, 03:07 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ May 7 2013, 01:52 AM)
sram recommends holding a something like a buble level on the bottom of the drop and the brake lever tip jus touches the gauge... lemme find the vid tmr...remember it is on utube

but the shifter can be run very high... depending on how you like it... tilting it up so much comprimises brake lever reach on the drops...while tilting it too low causes pain in joints...

google some berty pics and you can see how he or armstrong position their shifters which is quite high

some people like it low so the top of the handlebar extends out onto the lever
i believe the mechanic set it up wrongly which is not to my fitting, and I guess your explanation is spot on. I've felt my arm is extending further to the front when riding on the hood which cause discomfort, and I started to think how it could possibly be as my stem length is the same. Now I know why.

The thing is, I can't rest my wrist on the drop as it is now not flat enough to hold all my bodyweight on the drop (now it's a bit slanted so my wrist a bit cocked up). Adjusting the handlebar angle will make my shifter too low, hence the question of how high I can position the shifter up so I can have my drop level.

mrjgx
post May 7 2013, 11:20 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ May 7 2013, 09:57 AM)
the video from sramtech is no longer available... i think they removed it and replaced it with the new red shifter set up...

but the ruler method is actually not as good if you like your shifter tilted up... the ruler method is a sort of middle ground where your reach for the brake levers from the drops is well covered while the shifter is not tilted up so much...again, what bars you use affects a lot on how the shifter transition feels from bar to hood..

for your case... i think you have to adjust the bars to where you like it... especially the drops where you hold them..and then unwrap your bar tape and move the shifters up further and re-wrap again... a bit trial and error until you get it dialed in...
thx bro..I will do that tonight!

I tried to do base building session last night, was planning to gain 100km but ended up doing only 50km due to no discipline. I should stick with my own speed, but it was tempted to tried to overtake others and left them..in the end, i stop at 50km mark because too hungry to pedal more. it would be a lot easier if I ride in a group but I chose to ride solo, so the wind.....the headwind...is something that I curse everytime..it's a gale! life as a cyclist in desert like this would be more enjoyable if there's no such wind cry.gif
mrjgx
post May 7 2013, 11:47 AM

59 posts

I got so much time, im not a students so no homework or studying maa. The 8km loop track is just 10mins away from my house and i just got my driving license so i went there on a daily basis..30-50km everynight.

It's just the wind, although im getting used to it, it is just too much..
mrjgx
post May 7 2013, 12:04 PM

59 posts

Haha trust me when I said it's like a gale, it is REALLY like a gale..to the point if you want to talk to your ride buddy you have to scream your lungs out to be heard.

0.0658sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:20 PM