Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V21, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMC3
benny888
Apr 22 2013, 09:20 AM
Gadget Freak
aspire2006 photos shows tablets 7 inch and greater those guys uses as phone. I never use my tablets to make phone calls. Is only a bonus that the tablets can make phone calls Following the trend of some guys who doesn't mind using tablets - ASUS has released its FonePad ( 7 inch display phone which happens to be a tablet secondary) and is darn cheap at RM700+ only. Of course the specs are not that high end but not mediocre either The trend of using even tablets as phone will pick up. I remember everyone was shocked that the first Note was considered even too big to be used as a phone Anyway I did a cardboard cut out of the upcoming Note 3 ( assuming is 6.3 inch display n size specs) and I'd say the size is not much bigger than the present Note 5.5. I'd say I'd feel comfortable using it as a phone
This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 22 2013, 09:21 AM
benny888
Apr 22 2013, 09:25 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jakgelap @ Apr 22 2013, 09:04 AM) Yup, samsung tablets have a wide bezel. 4 inch vs 5 inch, the difference are huge. But for owner of note 1 and 2, 5 inch is still small  . RIGHT ON ! After having used the Note 2, using even a 5 inch phone I find too small already ( eg Xperia Z and Butterfly) I thought the Xperia Z could replace my Note 2 but I was wrong. At the end after 2 months, I bought back the Note 2 at RM 100 more than what I sold off the previous Note2 . Now the Xperia Z is just a spare phone , which I take out for my morning and evening exercise
muctabucta
Apr 22 2013, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 22 2013, 09:25 AM) RIGHT ON ! After having used the Note 2, using even a 5 inch phone I find too small already ( eg Xperia Z and Butterfly) I thought the Xperia Z could replace my Note 2 but I was wrong. At the end after 2 months, I bought back the Note 2 at RM 100 more than what I sold off the previous Note2 . Now the Xperia Z is just a spare phone , which I take out for my morning and evening exercise looking forward for your review on htc one vs s4...thinking of buying either one for my wife..dilemma..
waveweaver
Apr 22 2013, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(muctabucta @ Apr 22 2013, 09:30 AM) looking forward for your review on htc one vs s4...thinking of buying either one for my wife..dilemma.. If only for wife..better get HTC1. Look much nicer. If for ourself (kaki flashing/mods)..get S4...lolz
muctabucta
Apr 22 2013, 09:42 AM

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Apr 22 2013, 09:34 AM) If only for wife..better get HTC1. Look much nicer. If for ourself (kaki flashing/mods)..get S4...lolz agree with you on dat..but since it's for her usage..flashing/mods ain't key criteria..her concern is mostly casing since htc casing isn't widely available (the cheapo one)..the seller did say that the htc body is scratch proof..but is it drop proof?.. it would be such shame hiding that beautifully design uber body but safety first I guess..
waveweaver
Apr 22 2013, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(muctabucta @ Apr 22 2013, 09:42 AM) agree with you on dat..but since it's for her usage..flashing/mods ain't key criteria..her concern is mostly casing since htc casing isn't widely available (the cheapo one)..the seller did say that the htc body is scratch proof..but is it drop proof?.. it would be such shame hiding that beautifully design uber body but safety first I guess.. No phone is scratch proof. I think you can get a transparent TPU casing for HTC1. Already in market if i'm not mistaken. Or teach her on using pouch.  I myself prefer pouch than casing..
TSjoytest
Apr 22 2013, 09:59 AM
Hehe good morning all. Talking about big phones already. Bujal.x did a quick review in the vega 6 thread. Uncle benny's should be more in depth. Furthermore any seller that says a phone is scratch proof is simply talking bs. Unless it's a vertu  w sapphire glass and titanium body. Aluminium bodied phones are far worse at handling drops. I dropped my mediapad from waist height and there's a gash already  QUOTE(muctabucta @ Apr 22 2013, 09:42 AM) agree with you on dat..but since it's for her usage..flashing/mods ain't key criteria..her concern is mostly casing since htc casing isn't widely available (the cheapo one)..the seller did say that the htc body is scratch proof..but is it drop proof?.. it would be such shame hiding that beautifully design uber body but safety first I guess..
muctabucta
Apr 22 2013, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Apr 22 2013, 09:49 AM) No phone is scratch proof. I think you can get a transparent TPU casing for HTC1. Already in market if i'm not mistaken. Or teach her on using pouch.  I myself prefer pouch than casing..  noted..although knowing her..the pouch will ended being left somewhere..for sure lah! QUOTE(joytest @ Apr 22 2013, 09:59 AM) Hehe good morning all. Talking about big phones already. Bujal.x did a quick review in the vega 6 thread. Uncle benny's should be more in depth. Furthermore any seller that says a phone is scratch proof is simply talking bs. Unless it's a vertu  w sapphire glass and titanium body. Aluminium bodied phones are far worse at handling drops. I dropped my mediapad from waist height and there's a gash already  hihi..I am just being polite in front of the seller..but I know when people talk kok when I hear one..hihi..
sai86
Apr 22 2013, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(muctabucta @ Apr 22 2013, 10:06 AM) noted..although knowing her..the pouch will ended being left somewhere..for sure lah! hihi..I am just being polite in front of the seller..but I know when people talk kok when I hear one..hihi.. juz get flip case like zenus or etc. great at protecting the phone and wont be left out
lemond
Apr 22 2013, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 22 2013, 09:25 AM) RIGHT ON ! After having used the Note 2, using even a 5 inch phone I find too small already ( eg Xperia Z and Butterfly) I thought the Xperia Z could replace my Note 2 but I was wrong. At the end after 2 months, I bought back the Note 2 at RM 100 more than what I sold off the previous Note2 . Now the Xperia Z is just a spare phone , which I take out for my morning and evening exercise I have to agree with that uncle..last night I went to The Garden too look for a new phone,5 inch because I feel my note 2 is kinda bulky..tested the Xperia Z and HTC Butterfly..suddenly feel like the screen and the icon is too tiny for me..damn u note 2  ..i cant switch to another phone and stick with my note 2 atlast
PeeEl
Apr 22 2013, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(lemond @ Apr 22 2013, 11:02 AM) I have to agree with that uncle..last night I went to The Garden too look for a new phone,5 inch because I feel my note 2 is kinda bulky..tested the Xperia Z and HTC Butterfly..suddenly feel like the screen and the icon is too tiny for me..damn u note 2  ..i cant switch to another phone and stick with my note 2 atlast Not that I am disagreeing with anyone. Being pragmatic, I think it is a matter of getting used to it. And that requires time. However, like I have always said and I have never deviated, it depends on one's preference.
TSjoytest
Apr 22 2013, 11:22 AM
antt00
Apr 22 2013, 11:24 AM
There is a new xposed framework apk to change themes like AOSP roms. But i think it will need a dedicated theme for each device.
PeeEl
Apr 22 2013, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(joytest @ Apr 22 2013, 11:22 AM) Again, IMHO, it's one of those which I say would be no definite conclusion as on the face of this earth we live, there is such a diverse cut of demographic that no 2 humans are alike which would then invite differing opinion.
sklchan
Apr 22 2013, 11:44 AM
wow... new jepun tipu rom... http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2242505This post has been edited by sklchan: Apr 22 2013, 11:45 AM
TSjoytest
Apr 22 2013, 11:57 AM
This will go in hall of fame: http://www.phonearena.com/news/Infographic...es-most_id42185Are you the type of person that breaks or misplaces their smartphone? Chances are you are not alone. What is also rather interesting is that if you are the type that breaks their stuff, or falls victim to it being stolen, take it to heart that such things happen regularly and what is even more interesting is how these incidents occur, and whom they occur to. For example, we have all heard a story about someone dropping their smartphone in the toilet. Well, it turns out that men are 57% more likely to drop their smartphone in the toilet, although most damage incidents in the bathroom overall happen to women (by 41%).
antt00
Apr 22 2013, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(sklchan @ Apr 22 2013, 11:44 AM) Dam funny when i saw that rom posted.
disasternero
Apr 22 2013, 12:09 PM
Today i discharged my phone at 100% battery level and leave it about 26 min..suddenly it drop too 93% and my phone quite warm...see battery usage Go SMS Pro using it about 91%..anyone know what happen.?i restart my phone and after that it became normal...
This post has been edited by disasternero: Apr 22 2013, 12:09 PM
TSjoytest
Apr 22 2013, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(disasternero @ Apr 22 2013, 12:09 PM) Today i discharged my phone at 100% battery level and leave it about 26 min..suddenly it drop too 93% and my phone quite warm...see battery usage Go SMS Pro using it about 91%..anyone know what happen.?i restart my phone and after that it became normal... The Go suite of products tend to have some issues here and there. I used Go SMS on my Note 1, and for a little while when I got Note 2. Felt that it sucked, so have stopped ever since. They originally allowed you to save XML SMS backups to your gmail but then they switched to backing up to their cloud, so another minus for me. You meant "recharged" right? This post has been edited by joytest: Apr 22 2013, 12:12 PM
cyberloner
Apr 22 2013, 12:12 PM
s4 or note 2 ? a lot phone buyers will headaids