Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V21, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMC3

benny888
post Apr 26 2013, 06:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(afzal_m @ Apr 26 2013, 05:48 PM)
Hi Guys,

I have not really been active as much as I would like in this thread, but I have some questions to ask with regards to Mobile Odin.

Let's say that after updating my firmware with PC Odin, I then rooted my phone using Chainfire's Auto Root. As a result, I will be left with stock recovery. I read Uncle Benny's posts about overcoming this disadvantage of having stock recovery by making use of Mobile Odin to flash the TWRP img.tar file.

My questions are, are you only limited to flashing TWRP with the img.tar file, or can you still install TWRP if you downloaded the .zip file?

I know in Mobile Odin, there are 2 'options' to open the file. 'OTA/Update ZIP' and 'Open File'. Based on common sense (hahaha), the img.tar file needs to be opened using the 'Open File' option, while the .zip file needs to be opened using the 'OTA/Update ZIP' option. What I did for mine is that I chose the 'OTA/Update ZIP' option and chose the TWRP zip file that I downloaded, and install from there.

It works, but I noticed my Mobile Odin will be 'gone' after the phone reboots. By gone, it means that it's not showing as 'Mobile Odin' in my applications drawer, but it is showing as 'eu.chainfire.somethingsomething' with a green Android icon hahaha. This is usually no issue for me, since I'll just restore my Mobile Odin via Titanium Backup.

However, to set my mind at ease, I need to ask about the 'Everroot' section inside Mobile Odin. If you are only installing a .zip file like this TWRP, do you tick all 3 options under 'Everroot'?

Based on Dr Ketan's guide, you do not have to choose 'Inject Mobile Odin', so I am wondering if there are implications in selecting all 3 choices under Everroot, or leaving the last option (Inject Mobile Odin) unchecked?

Sorry for the long post. I just wanted to be as specific as I can (>_<)
I normally use Mobile Odin to ONLY flash rom files ( in tar format), modem files ( modem.bin format), recovery files ( img format) , kernel ( tar format). I always extract the zip files first to these formats and copy it to phone internal memory or external Sdcatd. Flashing directly the zip file is a , sorry to say "lazy man" method and sometimes will bring funny results and especially with flashing kernels/modem can soft brick your phone
You select only "Inject Mobile Odin" and "Ever-root ( to maintain root) only when you want to flash rom. It is not necessary for flashing any other stuffs
It is a good practice though to only select wipe dalvik cache flashing other stuffs besides rom. For rom flashing - it is your choice whether you want to select wipe data ; select wipe dalvik cache is recommended
benny888
post Apr 26 2013, 09:05 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Off topic : I think our old friend KuLi has reincarnated as JKShin - his words are so similar to KuLi

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry59955488

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 26 2013, 09:06 PM
benny888
post Apr 26 2013, 11:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Apr 26 2013, 10:44 PM)
All,

Was browsing S3 thread. Seems this code can display some stats on the motherboard and emmc chip revision for the S3. Will it do the same for Note 2?

*#12580*369#
Yes; I have tested it before on the Note 2. Go and try it
benny888
post Apr 26 2013, 11:19 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Apr 26 2013, 11:17 PM)
I can't do any of these codes as it always gives me an MMI Code error.
How come ? My phone is rooted and no problem too

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 26 2013, 11:22 PM
benny888
post Apr 26 2013, 11:30 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Apr 26 2013, 11:26 PM)
Ugh, I wonder why KuLi doesn't visit this thread anymore? :/
You missed him ?? PM him and invite him
benny888
post Apr 27 2013, 03:49 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(afzal_m @ Apr 27 2013, 02:40 AM)
Thank you so much for this! I will never again use the 'lazy man' method of just flashing the zip files directly haha.

Uncle Benny, after you flashed Chainfire's auto root, you used Mobile Odin to install TWRP. When you flashed TWRP, did you choose any of the selections under 'Everroot', or did you just leave everything un-checked?
Leave everything as default except select wipe dalvik cache
benny888
post Apr 27 2013, 07:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Apr 27 2013, 07:01 AM)
How can SME set comes with 2 pin plug?
You have so many doubts on this mudah seller n still interested to get from him?
Is his price very much cheaper?
Don't end up penny wise but pound foolish
benny888
post Apr 27 2013, 07:53 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Apr 27 2013, 07:51 AM)
When is s4 going to be sold in malaysia?
Sales already since yesterday. Today is the official starting sales day
benny888
post Apr 27 2013, 09:26 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Apr 27 2013, 08:54 AM)
why? miss him? waged war against him some time back and permabanned him and his almost 2 dozen dupes
Lately reincarnated as jkshin !! Samsung CEO mobile division
benny888
post Apr 27 2013, 11:24 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SnailWithFingers @ Apr 27 2013, 10:58 AM)
hey, my mum just picked up her note 2 just now from samsung center, they repaired it and replaced the motherboard and what icing dunno what's that

i played with it, it doesn't heat up and becomes warm anymore, very smooth  thumbup.gif

and i played with s4, omgosh it is so amazing man! my hands are so itchy wanna buy it de, but my mum makes this face dry.gif  T_T
I thought you posted several days back your dad already gave you rm3k
benny888
post Apr 28 2013, 10:33 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(happyshirt @ Apr 28 2013, 09:32 AM)
Apologies i've tried looking around but can't find a solution. i can't boot my phone into recovery. vol up+home+power has the screen scrolling with the NT7100 logo and then black screen.

How do i fix this plse?
Release all the 3 buttons simultaneously after you see the second Samsung splash logo on screen
benny888
post Apr 28 2013, 01:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Blackthorn @ Apr 28 2013, 01:46 PM)
need help asap..

yesterday I dont know why my phone suddenly stucked at Samsung Logo.. I didnt flash anything at all.. just suddenly feels laggy.. so I rebooted it.. and it stucked at Samsung Logo with Blue LED lights up..

tried enter Phil Touch Recovery ... failed.. flashed another recovery TWRP 2.5 ..fail to enter recovery n boot OS.. flashed newest firmware DMC3 via ODIN.. but still stucked at Samsung Logo..

Tried mskip toolkit.. able to boot into recovery using option 22 (boot option)..
>> delete partition
>> delete dalvik cache
no wipe has been done yet since stucked.. coz I need my data urgently!!..

any ideas? some said gotta wipe all.. and install new ROM via KIES..

urrgghhh... sad.gif cry.gif
After you flash the stock rom if hung boot to recovery mode n wipe cache n data. Phone should boot well
benny888
post Apr 28 2013, 08:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 28 2013, 08:04 PM)
Guys, I greenified my fb messenger and whenever I receive sms the messenger seems to auto start up without my consent as stated by greenify. I disabled the sms feature in messenger already but still got prob. Any ideas?
Why you guys want to complicate stuffs using such apps. The Note 2 has EXCELLENT battery life - using such apps is not going to increase battery life say 2-3 hours extra ! If it can increase so much than is worth it
Overnight over 7 to 9 hours ( with 3G on , wifi n GPS off , active FB and mail refresh ) my battery drop is still consistently most 2-3 % only, sometimes only 1% drop only
benny888
post Apr 29 2013, 09:22 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 29 2013, 08:56 AM)
Today the FB app is driving me crazy. Logged out because the newsfeed wasn't refreshing, who knows can't login anymore. doh.gif

It keeps showing: "Login Failed. An error occurred during sign in. Please try again later."

I can login from my laptop. Tried Friendcaster also not possible, error connecting to server.

Tried with my WiFi and DiGi network is still the same...

Anybody knows why? sad.gif

Have cleared data, uninstalled and reinstalled but still the same.
Maybe your connection problem
Was on friendcaster past 30 mins n just tested facebook - no issues on my note2

benny888
post Apr 29 2013, 10:51 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Apr 29 2013, 10:40 AM)
Ok, added link to the master ROM list in post 7 under 4. Getting ROMs

For all flashoholics, and would be flashoholics

Master ROM list, listing versions and release dates
Joytest - I really appreciate these efforts you have put in compiling such stuffs. Even though I am a retiree and with plenty of time ( ..always say the only best thing I have on hand now ) , I will just be too plain lazy to go into doing such stuffs. Great job and do keep it up
benny888
post Apr 30 2013, 07:22 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 30 2013, 06:56 AM)
I found the source to my mediaserver wakelocks/stay awake. Its audioout_2 . Any ideas?
Please read page 1 where wakelocks are discussed. I have also share my experience on this audioout_2 wakelock specifically
benny888
post Apr 30 2013, 07:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Apr 30 2013, 05:15 AM)
I dont like third party task managers as thet often conflict and drain battery. Whats wrong with in built task managers? All roms shud have em what
Some users still think n use it like windows
The more they try to tackle it , it only get worse n back to cycle of trying to find the best task manager
Just allow the system to manage
benny888
post Apr 30 2013, 05:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Apr 30 2013, 04:49 PM)
hahaha... well, not sure la if your black card is not genuine. It is the camera shop in lowyat, beside the escalator guy who told me. My dad went and bought 2 tablets from them, so he try to sell his micro sd also 32GB at RM120 (2 tone sandisk). When I said others were cheaper, he told me that.
Market price not exceeding rm99 for 32gb sandisk. Never buy cards from camera outlets as always more expensive
benny888
post May 2 2013, 09:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ May 2 2013, 08:46 AM)
Based on what S4 have right now..be prepared for more bloated Note3..lolz

All these special gesture make the ROM bigger and bigger. So do nearly all Samsung native app.
exp: Video Maker on Note is only 25MB but Video Editor on S4 it comes with 102MB..!! rclxub.gif
S4 rom size is 1.6gb vs 980+ mb of Note2
Samsung I feel had overdone it this time with S4. Usable memory only 8.8gb vs 11gb of Note2, S3
Too much stuffs is never good n proven in S4
I have ranted at some of the gimmicks n unrefined tw stuffs in the S4 thread. Infact I disabled most of it
I hope Samsung refine n test those additional stuffs before putting in Note3. Looks like a rush job in the S4
benny888
post May 2 2013, 11:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ May 2 2013, 11:23 AM)
just wondering, which modem is the most latest and shiok to be used?

- NEDLK1
- UBDMA1
- DDDLK6
- UBDLL3
- XXDLK7
- XXALJ2
- DDALJ1
- DXALJ1
- DXDLK5
- UBALJ1
- XXALIH
- XXDLJ2
- UBDMB1

calling all flashoholics
I have tested the latest DLK5, DLK7 and DMB1. I find DMB1 best for me. Test yourself - lah. It is easy to flash modem. Flash back your original one if you dont like the newer modem. No data is removed with modem change

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0507sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:54 PM