I am driving a 2011 308thp 6 speed. From the first month after getting the car until now... I have met with plenty of problems. Mainly are with the service center.. and how they handle the problems. Most of the time are really frustrating. So make sure you are a very very patient person if you intent to buy this car. Before I bought this car, I have researched well enough, this is not a car that is easy to maintain... and there are few issue with those older model. But I still continue to buy the car because how of how deeply I am poisoned at that time. I thought with free service and 3 years warranty, I do not need to worry much. I was wrong.
Through out the last 3 years, I have been sending my car to SC endlessly, sometime a few days, sometime few weeks, there are other time, for a full whole month. See, the real main problem is that, the official SC handle these cases badly... timing wise. And in terms of spare parts, they never try to fix the "small" thing.. but instead... they change every "BiG" parts. Maybe they must stick to their procedure.. But each repair, is costing a few k to 10k. It is scary if the car is not cover by the warranty.
A good example is this.. I have my side mirror broken by a passing motorbike. I send it to sc to quote the repair...Rm 1200. cause they need to order the whole side mirror. I went to a shoplot car accessories shop. They just open up the side mirror.. find the loose screw, and screw it back in.. done. work like new. total damage Rm 10. I gave him rm 30 instead. The cost is x120 times more expensive if I stupidly fix it in SC.
The final few months before my 3 years warranty over, I have tried to fix a few major things in SC.... engine error message, engine decarbonise, engine knocking, turbo leaking etc... end of the days, none of these are really sorted out. And a month after my warranty finally expire, all these problems are coming back. And since I do not know any thirdparty workshop, I continue to go back to the authorised sc. Have my car serviced, and pay over a thousand ringgit. They changed my front breakpad as well, says they are wearing off. And with engine knocking, they said I need to send in for decarbonise... (AGAIN????) I had just Decarbonise my car a month ago! And I have left my car there for a week! But they said in their system, there is no record of my car doing the decarbonise.. WTF is going on...
From that day onward, I never return to any authorised sc. I went to a workshop outside, recommended by a friend. It took the mechanic a whole week to identify all of my car problems. I have changed a few sensor, I have change a few parts. Turbo leaking... instead of changing the whole turbo (Sc will sure want me to change the whole turbo system for rm 4-5k), he only change the plastic tube that caused the leaking, saving me a few thousand more. It was a nervous time.... but in the end, all of the problems are fixed... cost me rm 3k in total.
Been driving the car for 4 months now and everything seems positive. So far happy with it. But a month ago I start to realise screeching sound coming from my front break. Remember earlier I said the SC changed my front breakpad, it costed me rm 300+? That is back in Feb 2015. Early this month, I brought my car to tyre shop do alignment and balancing, and ask them to check my break. And to my surprise, my breakpad has totally wore out!!! The new front breakpads are fully wore out in just 3 months! The tire workshop told me, that is because my break rotor are already damaged and rough, so the breakpad will be quickly wear off. I have burned my rm 300+ breakpad in just 3 months. The peugeot authorised SC never inform or check the rotor for me, causing me to spend on unnecessary replacement.
Anyway, I have to spend another rm500 to replace my front rotor, and another rm 280 to replace the new breakpad. Since I am no longer need to stuck with Authorised Sc, and my car no longer in warranty, I can choose not to use back the original parts. I go for Brembo and is even much cheaper than the original. And this is when I get really surprised! After changing the thirdparty rotor and breakpad.... my car drive so much better! I mean seriously even better than when I first got the car. It breaks much more gradually, and there are less breakdust in my rims. The original breakpad+rotor, has this "on/off" feel... and if I am to break suddenly, it will feel like I am throwing myself and my passenger out from the car. I have to be very careful when following behind a car on a highway... and is extremely exhausting experience both driving and sitting in this car. To make sure passenger wont feel "car sick" I have to drive extremely careful and break with extreme precision to avoid the "thrown out of car" feeling....and to make sure there is enough distance from the car in front of me.
Now all this has changed! This car drives like a complete new car. I feel like a complete idiot for not realising this, over the last 3 years and I should have change to third party breakpad once I got my car. It will be a much better driving experience from the beginning. I am now enjoying this car a lot more than before. Such a big difference.
When I am about to give up on this car, I end up starting to love this car even more. The lesson I learn so far, is that never trust the authorised SC. don't ever think they are the best... same thing goes with original parts. In fact, they are the one causing this car to have such a negative user experience in Malaysia. I used to be angry when I found out they offer 5 years warranty/services a few months after i bought this car. Now I feel blessed cause I am able to break free earlier from their "control", otherwise I am sure to be stuck miserably with them for another 2 more years.
I really hope this car can continue serve me without any major problems. Since the car value is extremely bad, I am not going to sell the car anytime soon. So I can only hope my love for this car will continue to grow from now on. It drives so well that I am starting to think of improve my car performance, do new coating and pamper it a lot more than I used to
Sorry for the long post. I think I am writing this for my own record... and at the same time, hope the post can benefit any potential 308 buyer... and what to expect from this otherwise very good car. Thanks.
This post has been edited by clivengu: May 17 2015, 02:21 AM
May 17 2015, 02:11 AM

0.0240sec
5 queries