Samsung GALAXY S4 OFFICIAL THREAD Ver.1, MALAYSIA OFFICIAL LAUNCH AT 27 Apr!

-kytz-
post Apr 27 2013, 06:52 PM

12,573 posts

My SIII's black level is decent, but no where near able to display pure black. Seems like S4's black level is much better.

S4 users try to go into a completely dark room with no lights whatsoever and display a black wallpaper, see if it's as black as your surrounding tongue.gif

I'm curious to see if the new generation AMOLEDs are able to display pure PITCH BLACK or not. The only panel capable of displaying PITCH BLACK is afaik the Kuro Plasma of 2008. Still unbeatable until today...

http://barnezy.com/2011/01/08/the-greatest...-made-the-kuro/

I’ve mentioned “black levels” a few times already and most of you probably don’t know or don’t even care what that means.  Does it really matter?  Well Pioneer thought it mattered enough to name their TV after this fact, and as we’ve already established, they made the best TV’s of all time.  Black levels basically means the ability of the TV to create total blackness.  The Pioneer Elite KURO created the absolute darkest blacks of any TV ever created.  You could have the TV on a pitch black scene in a dark room and you wouldn’t even know the TV was turned on.  Most LCD’s created a dark grey or a glowing “black” appearance on black scenes, but the KURO could create almost an “infinite black.”  One of the biggest selling points of TV’s these days is the “Contrast Ratio”, meaning the range from darkest black to brightest white.  The best LCD TV’s now produce 1:5,000,000 contrast ratios.  They achieve this by making their TV’s brighter.  Don’t get me wrong, LCD/LED’s produce decent black levels, but because the KURO’s black levels were so dark they contrast ratio was “unmeasurable”  stated as being “near infinite.”  The black levels are the canvas of any picture and darker blacks create an environment for better color accuracy and more realistic picture quality which the KURO possessed as well.  Now days, the KURO has become something of a legend.  If you walk into an electronics store and ask a specialist if they have a TV as good as the KURO, they’ll usually laugh and say something like, “I wish!”  This TV has recently sold for over $10000 used on Amazon and $12000 new on eBay.  That’s right, it’s brought over double its original MSRP.  The last time I was in Ultimate Electronics I even asked the manager where I could buy the best TV in the world and he stated simply, “eBay!”

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 27 2013, 07:06 PM
-kytz-
post Apr 27 2013, 07:21 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(6@9 @ Apr 27 2013, 07:18 PM)
Can asomeone explain to me why we can get cheaper s4 by registering a package with celcom, maxis or digi? We still need to pay in advance which in total will come to the same price if we get the phone wthout the contract
They basically want you to tie up with them for 12/24 months. The advanced payment is advanced payment for your future monthly bills. Depending on telco/phone and duration of contract, the amount needed to pay in advanced varies.
-kytz-
post Apr 27 2013, 07:22 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Apr 27 2013, 07:20 PM)
Most of the upfront payment is returned back to you via the form of monthly rebates. So it is slightly cheaper.

Also, long time users of a particular network are normally exempt from paying most upfront payments.
Oh yes, I found out about this when enquiring about a phone package from Maxis. Minimum 1 year of using Maxis Postpaid is required or something hmm.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 27 2013, 08:05 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Apr 27 2013, 08:00 PM)
Just now at lowyat plaza,see Samsung shop full of people trying galaxy s4,just because its "Samsung" logo
What are you trying to imply?
-kytz-
post Apr 28 2013, 04:21 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Apr 28 2013, 03:17 PM)
Phone's speaker...
Well you can't expect tiny speakers with tiny drivers to do miracles eh? Go pair it up with an IEM/headphone or something smile.gif

QUOTE(joytest @ Apr 28 2013, 03:56 PM)
To all who see large blocks of rubbish postings in the owners' list, please ignore as it is our friendly super troll trying to gain some atttention. It will get cleaned up periodically.
Who are you talking about?

Btw, good job on the Note II thread, very nice info and comprehensive guides on the first page. Are you getting the S4? Anyway, S4 TS should learn a thing or two from your thread wink.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 28 2013, 05:43 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ericchan @ Apr 28 2013, 05:09 PM)
Just now try out a demo unit @ Samsung Low Yat Plaza and found out that lagging,sound system poor,cheap plastic for the casing.
The only best thing i found on this S4 is the Screen is Fantastic and the Camera works well.
For demo phones, I don't usually scrutinize on the smoothness/laginess since they've been handled by many people already and who knows what have been done to them smile.gif
-kytz-
post Apr 28 2013, 06:00 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 28 2013, 05:49 PM)
Actually I had try 3 units, one at DiGi shop, one at Celcom shop and lastly at Samsung Shop.

All same, it was pretty fast open anything, but......... no buttery smoothness in animation. All frame cut issue at S III appear at S4 Exynos edition.

What really impress me is the screen only, it was the best AMOLED screen I seen so far.
Animation smoothness as in the transition effect when opening the browser from home for example? Or when jumping between apps?
-kytz-
post Apr 28 2013, 06:16 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 28 2013, 06:06 PM)
Example, pinch to zoom at full widgets page at launcher, also when at App drawer widget page. This two part is the most obvious seen the smoothness issue.

Also, frankly said, certain apps when opening, got not smooth issue as well. I forgot which app I open already. (It was extremely fast opening, it just the animation part issue).

That why I said, most issue at S III is present at S4.
And so, based on your experience, is this Samsung's fault in their programming or is it due to the flaw in Android's basic architecture?
-kytz-
post Apr 28 2013, 06:45 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 28 2013, 06:40 PM)
This rumour long time liao...can't find the link, actually around 1 month+ already tongue.gif

//forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2776225&view=findpost&p=59720959

Another rumour is flexible display. You wait and see brows.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 28 2013, 06:46 PM
-kytz-
post Apr 29 2013, 01:48 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Apr 29 2013, 01:12 AM)
I'd recommend spigen's ultra oleophobic screen protectors
http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...-steinheil.html
You should go for the Ultra Crystal....it has the highest light transparency among all Spigen Screen Protectors. Besides, for the SII, there was a known defect that the oleophobic layer would wear out in a matter of weeks. I'm not sure whether this is still inherent in the current batch.
-kytz-
post Apr 29 2013, 09:48 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(mixologist84 @ Apr 29 2013, 09:12 PM)
from this buyer here - http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2788738&hl=

the seller confirms the authenticity . the lead time is 2-3 weeks
Imitations lah. And please don't go to LYP to shop for them either, that place full of fakes sweat.gif
QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 29 2013, 09:29 PM)
I doubt is genuine as similar price range are imitation through ebay
Original from spigen is rm70+ n dont understand how 3rd party can sell cheaper unless is imitation . Check ebay plenty such imitations rm40-50 range
I concur.

-kytz-
post May 1 2013, 01:47 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(kukukakikukaku @ May 1 2013, 01:38 AM)
After 4 days, I can say that I'm really impressed with the battery life. I unplugged the charger at 7 am, til now still have 40% left, with more than 4 hours of screen time and all day mobile data switched on.
lai lai come poison with screen shot brows.gif brows.gif
-kytz-
post May 1 2013, 08:54 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ May 1 2013, 08:09 PM)
Bought it online straight from SGP's website weeks ago before the S4 was released and they were giving out cheap discount codes haha. The oleophobic coating is good so far, makes the screen easy to wipe clean and doesn't lower image quality though previously, there have been been talks about the coating becoming ineffective after a few weeks on their previous SPs, so to know that, I guess I have to just wait and see.
Please do update. I'm interested to see how's SGP's QC now smile.gif
-kytz-
post May 1 2013, 09:04 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(gruddzr @ May 1 2013, 08:44 PM)
sigh , went to digi alamanda and wish to get S4 for RM999 (i'm a loyal digi maa) but get upset when told out of stock T-T

just in curiosity , SPigen ori and not ori , beside the price, any different ?
I really LOL-ed at your question there laugh.gif

Then why don't you go buy a fake Samsung S4?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: May 1 2013, 09:10 PM

0.0435sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:15 PM