belkin surgemaster, still protecting? Help!!
TShs_clover
Apr 9 2013, 10:31 AM, updated 13y ago

Few months ago, my dad bought Belkin Surgemaster for my tv connection, saying that it can protect the tv from lighting
then recently, my modem got struck by lightning. Hence, he bought another one for pc and modem,which connected to the phone line also.
but now, i realized that the protected LED of Belkin Surgemaster for my tv doesnt light up anymore, and the one for pc has the earthed LED blinking. does these mean that the device is no longer protecting the electronic devices connected?
This post has been edited by hs_clover: Apr 9 2013, 10:52 AM
kenysl
Apr 9 2013, 02:03 PM
probably just led problem... but for safety's sake, i will change the surgemaster..
gkl83
Apr 11 2013, 12:36 AM
can consider on Cal-Lab, simply cost u Rm25 maximum to get another working protector unit for lifetime rather than buy a new unit again...
dirk_diggler
Apr 11 2013, 04:32 PM

Belkin surge protectors are fakes. They do nothing to protect your equipment from harm. My laptop power supply and blu-ray player were damaged beyond repair even though they were connected to the Belkin surge protector during a lightning storm. The warranty of replacement of damaged equipment is a lie. I went through a lengthy process but the claims were rejected with lies and unsubstantiated explanations. Hope you all don't get cheated by Belkin, and these surge protectors are not cheap.
faezfahmi618
Apr 12 2013, 07:52 AM
QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Apr 11 2013, 04:32 PM) Belkin surge protectors are fakes. They do nothing to protect your equipment from harm. My laptop power supply and blu-ray player were damaged beyond repair even though they were connected to the Belkin surge protector during a lightning storm. The warranty of replacement of damaged equipment is a lie. I went through a lengthy process but the claims were rejected with lies and unsubstantiated explanations. Hope you all don't get cheated by Belkin, and these surge protectors are not cheap. so which protectors has a good customer support?
cucubud
Apr 16 2013, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Apr 11 2013, 04:32 PM) Belkin surge protectors are fakes. They do nothing to protect your equipment from harm. My laptop power supply and blu-ray player were damaged beyond repair even though they were connected to the Belkin surge protector during a lightning storm. The warranty of replacement of damaged equipment is a lie. I went through a lengthy process but the claims were rejected with lies and unsubstantiated explanations. Hope you all don't get cheated by Belkin, and these surge protectors are not cheap. Can you explain why they rejected your claim?
Jcsy
Apr 16 2013, 04:30 PM
and what u did to prove lightning, and where u claim from
dirk_diggler
Apr 22 2013, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 16 2013, 05:30 PM) and what u did to prove lightning, and where u claim from There was a lightning storm one night, and I could hear a series of pops like firecrackers. Both the laptop power adapter and the bluray power supply units were damaged even though they were on the surge protector. Belkin will ask you to surrender all damaged equipment and the surge protector for analysis. The technician at the collection center did a quick check and told me the surge protector is damaged. When I checked a month+ later, the damaged power adapter and the bluray player were still with the collection agent while Belkin only collected the surge protector. Add another 1-2 months and 20 emails later, Belkin just said, their surge protector is fine and okay and my equipment caused their own damage.
Jcsy
Apr 22 2013, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Apr 22 2013, 12:04 PM) There was a lightning storm one night, and I could hear a series of pops like firecrackers. Both the laptop power adapter and the bluray power supply units were damaged even though they were on the surge protector. Belkin will ask you to surrender all damaged equipment and the surge protector for analysis. The technician at the collection center did a quick check and told me the surge protector is damaged. When I checked a month+ later, the damaged power adapter and the bluray player were still with the collection agent while Belkin only collected the surge protector. Add another 1-2 months and 20 emails later, Belkin just said, their surge protector is fine and okay and my equipment caused their own damage. maybe your hardware was memang at fault and no lightning hit your surge protector sounds like that to me
SUSMatrix
Apr 22 2013, 08:11 PM
Buy cal lab from gkl83...i kena lightning strike like 8 to 9 times the last 2 years...all my equipment safe.
-kytz-
Apr 22 2013, 08:59 PM
I have both 4 socket and 6 socket Belkin Surge Protectors on both my rigs and no issues during the past 1 year. 1-2 times it hit my house but only my modem kena fried because it wasn't connected to the surge protector...because it being unifi's optical fibre cable. My two rigs were completely safe
dirk_diggler
Apr 23 2013, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 22 2013, 09:03 PM) maybe your hardware was memang at fault and no lightning hit your surge protector sounds like that to me They were connected to the surge protectors and both damaged during the lightning storm, and the technician confirmed damage to the surge protector as well during the pre-check. Still Belkin HQ denied any responsibility.
Jcsy
Apr 23 2013, 08:56 PM
wah liao wei =.=
i bought that 8 plug also... to protect like 10k worth of EQ
=.=
leongsem
May 24 2016, 02:00 PM
can this one put at tv cabinet? will it look ugly?
Mr.7
May 24 2016, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(leongsem @ May 24 2016, 02:00 PM) can this one put at tv cabinet? will it look ugly? The shape is ugly though. Protection wise I recommend cal-lab.
Kitty_catts
Aug 16 2019, 02:07 AM

I just realised my earthed light is blinking faintly. How do i make sure it is led problem or wiring problem?
Momo33
Nov 21 2020, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(Kitty_catts @ Aug 16 2019, 03:07 AM) I just realised my earthed light is blinking faintly. How do i make sure it is led problem or wiring problem? most probably your have a earth ground wiring issue . check if you have same blinking issue on another 13 A power socket in your home. check that all your wiring is secure tight . may have some loose contacts . open them up to check and secure them tight. if all above still have the problem ... the power strip maybe be faulty . This post has been edited by Momo33: Nov 21 2020, 04:21 PM
jusbella
Nov 22 2020, 12:58 PM
Sorry to bring this up.
Yesterday just happened big thunderstorm and my belkin 4 socket earth and protected light off, but still functioned.
So means I only need to get cal lab and use back existing belkin will do?
Momo33
Nov 24 2020, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(jusbella @ Nov 22 2020, 01:58 PM) Sorry to bring this up. Yesterday just happened big thunderstorm and my belkin 4 socket earth and protected light off, but still functioned. So means I only need to get cal lab and use back existing belkin will do? your belkins if protected led is off means the protection is dead . cos by the power surge by lightning. just buy a new one . if your area is prone to lightning strikes get a power surge protector SPD TYPE 2 . the hager one is good . install in the DB box to get whole house lightning protection . This post has been edited by Momo33: Nov 24 2020, 01:28 AM
Momo33
Nov 24 2020, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(jusbella @ Nov 22 2020, 01:58 PM) Sorry to bring this up. Yesterday just happened big thunderstorm and my belkin 4 socket earth and protected light off, but still functioned. So means I only need to get cal lab and use back existing belkin will do? About cal lab . i have been reading their site for protection details but sad to say they only claim much with words. but NO technical specs details like belkins , SPD type 2 , etc. i dont buy a product base on words . I need to evaluate the technical specs. if Anybody here have the technical specification details please do educate us. thanks. for now am just KIV cal lab. http://www.cal-lab.com/index.php?act=info-...let-clli-110616This post has been edited by Momo33: Nov 24 2020, 09:26 AM
Momo33
Nov 27 2020, 08:09 AM
QUOTE(hs_clover @ Apr 9 2013, 11:31 AM) Few months ago, my dad bought Belkin Surgemaster for my tv connection, saying that it can protect the tv from lighting then recently, my modem got struck by lightning. Hence, he bought another one for pc and modem,which connected to the phone line also. but now, i realized that the protected LED of Belkin Surgemaster for my tv doesnt light up anymore, and the one for pc has the earthed LED blinking. does these mean that the device is no longer protecting the electronic devices connected? router , modem are sensitive to lightning Surge . they are the first to get fry . in your case both your belkins maybe nearly dead due to too many strikes. I suspect your house have a grounding earth system /rod issue. your earth ground may be faulty with high resistance/impedance. get it check . you maybe living in a more lightning prone area . KV https://www.cnet.com/how-to/unplug-during-a...sentially%20fry. This post has been edited by Momo33: Nov 27 2020, 12:42 PM
abhipraaya
Apr 6 2022, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(Kitty_catts @ Aug 16 2019, 02:07 AM) I just realised my earthed light is blinking faintly. How do i make sure it is led problem or wiring problem? Mine is blinking faintly too. Any idea is it a defect in the unit or something else in your case? Did you claim warranty if it was a defect?
@r3|4^2
Apr 6 2022, 10:40 AM

tumpang thread; if i use AVR, can it protect my equipments from lightning surge as well?
Momo33
Apr 6 2022, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Apr 6 2022, 11:29 AM) Mine is blinking faintly too. Any idea is it a defect in the unit or something else in your case? Did you claim warranty if it was a defect? does this happen on other plug socket within your house ? if no then you may have bad contact , contact not secured tight . or possible your house earth system is compromised. try do this test in a friends house to verify the blinking . ys possible too the belkin is faulty .
Momo33
Apr 6 2022, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(@r3|4^2 @ Apr 6 2022, 11:40 AM) tumpang thread; if i use AVR, can it protect my equipments from lightning surge as well? the best device for lightning surge is a surge SDP installed at the DB box. as your whole house is protected. ys AVR can protect but cant beat the SDP . AVR main function is to provide a stable 240 V .
qsub
Apr 6 2022, 11:04 AM

Don't expect warranty claim in Msia. We don't have consumer power compare with US.
adamtayy
Apr 6 2022, 12:28 PM
i'm using Apc,
So far so good
Bought @ harvey norman
@r3|4^2
Apr 6 2022, 12:31 PM

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Apr 6 2022, 12:28 PM) i'm using Apc, So far so good Bought @ harvey norman how long have u used it? the battery still working?
Skylinestar
Apr 7 2022, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(adamtayy @ Apr 6 2022, 12:28 PM) i'm using Apc, So far so good Bought @ harvey norman Which model?
Rainings
Apr 7 2022, 04:47 PM
1. Belkin new surge protector no longer provide lifetime warranty. 2. Belkin Malaysia will not entertain u if ur surge protector broken and require RMA, u need to go back to the seller. If the seller closed shop, then good luck.
I got 2 of their surge protectors failed. One, I am getting a new replacement, the other one seller refunded me. Belkin design are so bulking and really takes up a lot of space compares to APC. After getting my refund, I bought the APC surge protector, so far so good and it comes with 3 yrs warranty.