Which social class are you?, Are you staying in overprice house?

EddyLB
post Apr 9 2013, 08:27 AM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 8 2013, 11:29 PM)
Folks,

IMHO, there are only 2 social classes:

1) You are not RICH enough.  Hence, you need to CARE how people think of you.

2) You are RICH enough to live your life INDEPENDENT of how people think of you.

Dreamer
QUOTE(edyek @ Apr 8 2013, 11:35 PM)
Dreamer boss, Im having the same mindset as you do the moment I read through the post.  biggrin.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
I agree with both bosses laugh.gif But with exceptions.

"Rich" to different people have different perception. When you are contented with what you have, usually you will feel rich. The number of zeros in your bank account does not matter to define "rich"

But to a greedy man, he will never feel rich.

I involve a lot in business associations. Thus I know a lot of businessmen friends in a few industries. In general (maybe 90%), these rich businessmen do CARE about how people thought about them. And mind you, their businesses are worth tens of millions or hundreds of millions. Some are Datuks and Tan Sri who own a few listed companies. Are they not rich enough ? They drive fancy cars. If a new model is out, they are the first ones to drive and show off to everyone. They wear those expensive watches. They always boost about their overseas trip that cost hundreds of thousand. Children education, wife's designer bags/cloths and even how many mistresses and which famous model became their mistresses ! They always compete against each other. If one friend says out loud his car/watch is not good enough, the friend become his enemy immediately. What does that tell us ? Because they CARE about how people think of them. Are they not rich enough ?

But 1 thing I observed, although they are "monetarily rich", most of them are not really happy laugh.gif
EddyLB
post Apr 9 2013, 11:55 AM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Apr 9 2013, 09:07 AM)
Boss depends loh... My mentor has 10k+ acre of plantation land, tonnes of development land and raw land, conservatively value at RM 5k per acre is already 50mil, have not included in his business net worth, building net worth and cash in hand).

He drive a fckin lousy 1st generation land cruiser when he goes to work. He has driver who fetches only his high net worth business partner and friend not himself.

He still lives in his old bungalow house.

And he still eats mee kampua at kopitiam with me. He only eats at 5 class restaurant/hotel for business purposes.

So yes, he do not care what people think about him. General public recognize his company logo more than his face. And he is happy as far as i'm concern. icon_rolleyes.gif

But I think most of his kind are as what you says lah... They do mind what people say about them due to Face. So my mentor kind is endangered kind.
Yes, actually it is a matter of personal choice. Some rich people don't care what others think about them, whereas other rich people do care a lot about what others think of them

I am just responding to the statement "1) You are not RICH enough. Hence, you need to CARE how people think of you." It is a sweeping statement which generalise the mentality of rich people. In real life, it does not apply to all rich people

EddyLB
post Apr 9 2013, 11:57 AM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 9 2013, 10:49 AM)
EddyLB,

Those people NEED to impress OTHERS in order to stay in business.  Hence, they are NOT FREE.

Path to happiness is contentment...  The ability to say ENOUGH....

<<Are they not rich enough ?>>

They believe they are not rich enough.  Hence, they are still in the rat race...

Many of my family members are millionaires.  They DO NOT CARE to be known outside of their circle of friends and families...

Dreamer
Boss, as per my reply to edyek, there are 101 type of rich people. Some do CARE about what others think of them...
EddyLB
post Apr 9 2013, 08:52 PM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 9 2013, 08:11 PM)
EddyLB,

<<whereas other rich people do care a lot about what others think of them>>

All the examples that you stated, those people believe they NEED to care about what others think of them.  They had NO CHOICE.  In my definition, they are NOT RICH...

<<It is a sweeping statement which generalise the mentality of rich people. In real life, it does not apply to all rich people>>

Your definition of RICH People is on what they earn and own.  My definition of Rich People is on their degree of FREEDOM.  Your definition is an generalizaton too.  It is COMMON DEFINITION use by AVERAGE people.  It is NOT necessary a definition use by Rich people to judge each other.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maslow%27s_hierarchy_of_needs

See above.. When a person has ENOUGH WEALTH, their need is DIFFERENT from NORMAL people.

Dreamer
Dreamer Boss, google "the richest people in the world". The criteria Forbes, Business Times etc use is $ and nothing else. Too bad they don't measure those billionaires' using FREEDOM as their criteria. Or else you must be THE RICHES MAN on Earth. Maybe Mars too laugh.gif

If you want definition, lets google it :

rich
[rich] rich·er, rich·est, noun, adjective
1. having wealth or great possessions; abundantly supplied with resources, means, or funds; wealthy: a rich man; a rich nation.
2. abounding in natural resources: a rich territory.
3. having wealth or valuable resources (usually followed by in  ): a country rich in traditions.
4. abounding (usually followed by in  or with  ): a countryside rich in beauty; a design rich with colors.
5. of great value or worth; valuable: a rich harvest.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/rich

In NO WHERE is the definition of RICH mention a tidy bit of FREEDOM

I think you are going more into PHILOSOPHY. If your definition of "RICH" is more into philosophy, then rest assured I understand what you said icon_rolleyes.gif
EddyLB
post Apr 9 2013, 09:12 PM

1,864 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 9 2013, 08:44 PM)
Folks,

When a person has ENOUGH wealth, he / she realizes something.  Life is TOO SHORT.  He / she only live once.  Time is more precious than money for that class of people.  Hence, he / she spend more effort to live their own lives in the way that they want.  They couldn't care less about how that fit into any social norm.  Those are what we call a TRULY RICH person.

That kind of person is the MASTER of their wealth.  They do not work for money.  They use their money to pursue happiness and freedom.

Dreamer
Dreamer boss,
I hope you do realise you are in a property investment forum where we are trying to make money / profits.

What you preach is "life is short", "time is more precious", "master of their wealth" kind of philosophy.

Are you sure you are in the right forum arrr.... laugh.gif

0.0844sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:16 AM