10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Lenovo Z400 vs Y400, discussion for purchase!

raeimad
post Apr 11 2013, 12:12 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(cooller1314 @ Apr 11 2013, 12:50 AM)
can i knw z500 gt 645 and z400 gt740 gt big different ? which one better
Not a very big difference.
But GT740M is better than GT645M
GT740M is equal to GT650M but the 700 series is newer and from what I know improves battery life (uses less energy).

But as you know, Z500 is 15.6'' and is has a numpad while Z400 is 14'' and doesn't have a numpad.
TSEclipse123
post Apr 11 2013, 01:21 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ Apr 11 2013, 12:12 PM)
Not a very big difference.
But GT740M is better than GT645M
GT740M is equal to GT650M but the 700 series is newer and from what I know improves battery life (uses less energy).

But as you know, Z500 is 15.6'' and is has a numpad while Z400 is 14'' and doesn't have a numpad.
Z500 is worth to get is you don't mind carrying extra 300-400g compared to Z400.

Z500 is only 2.3 or 2.4kg. it's fairly light for a 15.6''
cooller1314
post Apr 11 2013, 01:49 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Eclipse123 @ Apr 11 2013, 01:21 PM)
Z500 is worth to get is you don't mind carrying extra 300-400g compared to Z400.

Z500 is only 2.3 or 2.4kg. it's fairly light for a 15.6''
icic. but the performance is z400 win is it? just strong in graphic card. all the spec almost same, just the graphic card got different.
TSEclipse123
post Apr 11 2013, 01:59 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(cooller1314 @ Apr 11 2013, 01:49 PM)
icic. but the performance is z400 win is it? just strong in graphic card. all the spec almost same, just the graphic card got different.
I don't know if Lenovo Z500 is going to have the GT740M, they MIGHT have it in the future.

But GT740M is slightly better than the GT645M
nexus2238
post Apr 11 2013, 02:22 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ Apr 11 2013, 12:12 PM)
If GT740M is based off the same GK107 (same as GT650M), then it will not use less power smile.gif It just clocked differently. (don't think GT740M is based of the newer GK208 hmm.gif )

Also GT650M has DDR3 or GDDR5 spec, the same thing is applicable to GT740M as well. The card with GDDR5 will outperform that with DDR3 quite significantly.

The main difference between GT7xx and GT6xx actually is the GPU Boost 2.0 tech, (you can google to find what this do), basically it just allow the GPU to ramp up more as long as temp is under-controlled.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 11 2013, 02:23 PM
mfitri77
post Apr 11 2013, 02:37 PM

1,167 posts

Problem is sometimes a single class gpu from NVIDIA can mean a lot of different specs. The 630M for example.

Wz10
post Apr 11 2013, 05:53 PM

66 posts

Does anyone think the i5 variant of y400is coming to Msia? That would probably kill off most competition.
raeimad
post Apr 12 2013, 10:31 AM

213 posts

Guys, update on the battery. Seems that you guys aren't screwed even if you accidentally leave your laptop on over night (unless it gets really heated up) with it plugged into charging. I found out that on the energy management settings, if you put the battery option as *Optimized Battery Health* instead of *Maximum battery life*, it stops charging the battery at one point (not really sure at which point, maybe around 50%-55%).
The *Optimized Battery Health* provides the longest battery life span while *Maximum battery life* gives you the most battery life.
Here's a screen shot

This post has been edited by raeimad: Apr 12 2013, 10:31 AM

ytlay
post Apr 12 2013, 11:16 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ Apr 12 2013, 10:31 AM)
Guys, update on the battery. Seems that you guys aren't screwed even if you accidentally leave your laptop on over night (unless it gets really heated up) with it plugged into charging. I found out that on the energy management settings, if you put the battery option as *Optimized Battery Health* instead of *Maximum battery life*, it stops charging the battery at one point (not really sure at which point, maybe around 50%-55%).
The *Optimized Battery Health* provides the longest battery life span while *Maximum battery life* gives you the most battery life.
Here's a screen shot
Can you help to post the screen for GPUz and 3DMark11. notworthy.gif
How long will the battery last for web surfing with "optimized battery health"?

raeimad
post Apr 13 2013, 10:18 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Apr 12 2013, 11:16 AM)
Can you help to post the screen for GPUz and 3DMark11.  notworthy.gif
How long will the battery last for web surfing with "optimized battery health"?
The battery life would be around the same on both options. But depends on what power plan you're using.
Power saver would last around 4 hours on a full battery, not sure about the res since I haven't had time to try those out yet.

I've been busy with assignments and stuff since I got that lappy, so I'll post em in a few days if I get the time. smile.gif
TSEclipse123
post Apr 14 2013, 04:37 PM

340 posts

I got a question guys.

Im in lowyat now and most resellers told me if i add ssd it will void my warranty.

My question is does z400 have an extra slot for intel 120gb ssd?

And if it has an extra slot. Will it void my warranty since i want to prolong my warranty period.

Thanks guys. Urgent!!

I got quoted at 2569 for 120gb ssd with i5 z400 gt740m edition.

Urgent guys!
-kytz-
post Apr 14 2013, 05:23 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Eclipse123 @ Apr 14 2013, 04:37 PM)
I got a question guys.

Im in lowyat now and most resellers told me if i add ssd it will void my warranty.

My question is does z400 have an extra slot for intel 120gb ssd?

And if it has an extra slot. Will it void my warranty since i want to prolong my warranty period.

Thanks guys. Urgent!!

I got quoted at 2569 for 120gb ssd with i5 z400 gt740m edition.

Urgent guys!
Z400 with touch or what?

Assuming without touch, it should be priced at RM2099:

Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate

a 120gb SSD typically costs around RM360+ ...

You won't void warranty if there's no sticker on the screws, It will usually say "warranty void if tampered". From my experience with another Lenovo Y480, the HDD can be easily changed (no sticker on screw so it's safe) but not sure about the Z400
TSEclipse123
post Apr 14 2013, 05:45 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 14 2013, 05:23 PM)
Z400 with touch or what?

Assuming without touch, it should be priced at RM2099:

Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate

a 120gb SSD typically costs around RM360+ ...

You won't void warranty if there's no sticker on the screws, It will usually say "warranty void if tampered". From my experience with another Lenovo Y480, the HDD can be easily changed (no sticker on screw so it's safe) but not sure about the Z400
Hey man. thanks for your reply.

Ya, its the non touch edition.

So it basically wont void if i upgrade it to ssd right?

But my other question is that if it has an extta slot for my ssd? Means if i get the ssd, i will have 1TB hdd + 120gb ssd.

No one at lowyat plaza can answer my question -.-
-kytz-
post Apr 14 2013, 05:54 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Eclipse123 @ Apr 14 2013, 05:45 PM)
Hey man.  thanks for your reply.

Ya, its the non touch edition.

So it basically wont void if i upgrade it to ssd right?

But my other question is that if it has an extta slot for my ssd? Means if i get the ssd, i will have 1TB hdd + 120gb ssd.

No one at lowyat plaza can answer my question -.-
Didn't get my hint on posting the price, that the one you saw at LYP was overpriced? tongue.gif

Like I said, it won't void if there are no stickers on the mounting screws. This goes for most computer components smile.gif

1TB HDD +120GB SSD I don't think is viable for that laptop. You can check whether it has a removable optical drive or not (DVD drive)

http://blog.superuser.com/2011/05/04/best-...ur-optical-bay/

See 0:50

The HDD mount is exactly the same as Y480 and I'm sure pretty much most Lenovo laptops. Can be easily switched with SSD smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Apr 14 2013, 06:00 PM
TSEclipse123
post Apr 14 2013, 06:23 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 14 2013, 05:54 PM)
Didn't get my hint on posting the price, that the one you saw at LYP was overpriced? tongue.gif

Like I said, it won't void if there are no stickers on the mounting screws. This goes for most computer components smile.gif

1TB HDD +120GB SSD I don't think is viable for that laptop. You can check whether it has a removable optical drive or not (DVD drive)

http://blog.superuser.com/2011/05/04/best-...ur-optical-bay/

See 0:50

The HDD mount is exactly the same as Y480 and I'm sure pretty much most Lenovo laptops. Can be easily switched with SSD smile.gif
Oh, i know what you mean about the pricings. Its really overpriced as i get better prices at digital mall and also sunway pyramid.

So basically, i cannot get the 1TB hdd + 120gb ssd on my lenovo z400? sad.gif
TSEclipse123
post Apr 15 2013, 11:31 PM

340 posts

sifus, just to reconfirm with Z400 resellers/owners.

the Z400 DO NOT have an extra sata 3 port for an additional SSD right?

Or does it have?
descendant
post Apr 19 2013, 09:52 PM

329 posts

any z400 users here?
how is the display on the z400? is it sharp? brightness level? the glaring level?

and how about the sound quality? is it good?
kingkingyyk
post Apr 21 2013, 02:45 PM

15,694 posts

The display is pretty good, slightly yellowish. Have to do some colour adjustment. Brightness is not a problem. The main issue lies on TN panel, the viewing angle is bad as usual.

The sound is rather dull. Not as crisp as other mainstream laptop, but bassy.
raeimad
post Apr 21 2013, 03:55 PM

213 posts

Yeah, viewing angle is not good. But for the speakers, loud as hell, even though it's not the clearest xD

But adjusting the EQ for each song makes the sound better.
TSEclipse123
post Apr 21 2013, 03:59 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Apr 21 2013, 02:45 PM)
The display is pretty good, slightly yellowish. Have to do some colour adjustment. Brightness is not a problem. The main issue lies on TN panel, the viewing angle is bad as usual.

The sound is rather dull. Not as crisp as other mainstream laptop, but bassy.
QUOTE(raeimad @ Apr 21 2013, 03:55 PM)
Yeah, viewing angle is not good. But for the speakers, loud as hell, even though it's not the clearest xD

But adjusting the EQ for each song makes the sound better.
If im a moderate gamer (around 2-3 hours per day)

Which would fit me best?

the Z400 or the Y400/GT750M?

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0812sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:23 PM