SUSnm7
post Jun 22 2014, 01:02 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 20 2014, 03:17 AM)
im looking for +35 8jj... sini tadak...

282mm prelude rotors with nissan r33 4pot calipers

140tw...heard about the bulging...i dont travel much so not much of an issue with me i guess... bought it over a year ago n thread is still at about 90-95% laugh.gif
Buddyclub p1sf...+32 though..

http://www.buddyclubuk.com/acatalog/Buddy_club_SF_.html
SUSnm7
post Jun 22 2014, 01:05 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 19 2014, 01:20 AM)
pelik... im currently on 205/50 with 7jj... love how it is now... havent tested 195 on the 7jj yet though...
Wont 195 on 7jj look a bit too stretched? On 8jj then it looks like rota rims adi...but 15" have high sidewalls ..maybe dun look so bad
SUSnm7
post Jun 23 2014, 09:19 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 22 2014, 12:45 PM)

then mine quite cham edi? laugh.gif

i've got friends running 205 tires on 10.5jj but then again that one is more of a show stance car sweat.gif

If you're feeling adventurous, why not try some 275's on 15\"? brows.gif

https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hpho...751387315_n.jpg 
https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hpho...291698440_n.jpg 

Baru la yeng! These are Nitto NT555 and if not mistaken they got tire sizes up to 325/50/15 brows.gif

sweat.gif rolleyes.gif doh.gif
SUSnm7
post Sep 10 2014, 04:39 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 10 2014, 03:16 PM)
see how la, so far won't be retuning anything yet
"see how la" is a another term for "sooner than you think"...

i see that you have banyak video haram on your youtube account... dangerous nih...

This post has been edited by nm7: Sep 10 2014, 04:39 PM
SUSnm7
post Sep 10 2014, 05:25 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 10 2014, 05:01 PM)
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by nm7: Sep 10 2014, 05:26 PM
SUSnm7
post Sep 10 2014, 05:29 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 10 2014, 05:27 PM)
sad.gif
you must be responsible for your own actions...
SUSnm7
post Sep 10 2014, 05:34 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 10 2014, 05:30 PM)
sad.gif
OKOK

usable only right after you drop your soap in the shower....
SUSnm7
post Sep 10 2014, 05:47 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 10 2014, 05:43 PM)
shakehead.gif
haih... nothing satisfies you...

anyways... was your car washing out previously without the yokos?

maybe the sidewall stiffness coupled with your stiff setup is not working well... put in more negative camber la...
SUSnm7
post Sep 10 2014, 06:17 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 10 2014, 05:53 PM)
previously no, and my setup is actually soft while the tire being stiff. it doesn't push the tires to the road enough especially during road imperfections.

during the video, camber was at -2.6-2.7 lol.
inner is definitely more utilized as it's showing 50celcius as opposed to the outer tire 40 celcius (using infrared thermometer gun)
it can't be that much on your compression/rebound settings since it worked well with the previous tires...

have you suspected the tire pressure? if you have colder outer tire that means that the tire is not evenly contacting the ground while it is heating up on the insides because it is being driven around with the insides contacting the ground more.... might want to try minimizing the camber and see if that helps..
SUSnm7
post Sep 10 2014, 06:30 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 10 2014, 06:19 PM)
yeap that is definitely the plan, and playing around with toe settings, as well as tire air pressure, be it hot/cold nod.gif
it looks like your initial turn in seems to be fine and it starts to drift wide after you turn in....(i am not in the car... so, it's hard to tell by watching the video only without being able to look at the steering actions)

i usually prefer to have 0-0 toe on the fronts as it's more neutral...
SUSnm7
post Sep 11 2014, 10:31 AM

192 posts

fuuuh... either you own a tyre shop... or you memang tak kira spending those money trying to get things right....
SUSnm7
post Sep 22 2014, 10:05 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 18 2014, 01:43 PM)
Soft dampers actually give you more grip. Harder dampers do not necessary give you more grip, it does give you more control to push it to the limit on a SMOOTH track.
Soft dampers does not necessarily give you more grip...it's a matter of adjusting the rebound / compression damping on the shocks...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 18 2014, 01:54 PM)
well that's what RCS is been telling me for my dampers, overall it's the combination of the tires and dampers. if i want to run these tires, i need harder dampers to push the tires to the ground more to deal with road imperfections.

to give an idea, softer tires (particularly sidewall) can deform to road imperfections (lets use a rock as an example), and stay firm on the ground. harder tires like these ad08r has steel plate reinforcement on the sidewall to make it very damn stiff, road imperfections will cause it to "bounce/hop" off from the road and when that happens, that's good bye to grip/traction already, even if it's only for a split second.

not to mention, if it isn't pushed to the ground hard enough, there will be a point where the weight shift/damper rebound will exceed the softer dampers limitations, while you may not realize it as you're having a false sense of grip due to the much grippier r spec compounds the ad08r offers.
it'll be a dangerous situation where you'e still having firm grip and then out of a sudden your car is sliding non stop.

you'll probably never see such situation happen in my videos as i have stability control system to limit the car's power/correct any traction lost via braking modulation. However the screeches despite "not so fast" cornering speed (definitely something the ad08r by right should EASILY handle) should be a dead giveaway.

tldr/summary/lesson learned: soft or hard dampers, coilovers with extremely stiff springs, extreme tires (like the ad08r) or semi slicks, you'll need a good overall combination to make things work and not simply dumping the best/most expensive piece and expect miracles to happen. nod.gif
actually... the dampers should be doing it's job... however the wheel is moving, it should be controlling the actions to keep the wheel as planted as possible...that is the role of the suspension system in racing applications...

and it's also the best not to keep damper travel too short as it will limit how much the wheel can traverse... if it's too short and the damper tops out... you will have situations where the wheel cannot maintain contact patch on certain road conditions like wavy ones... this is why the better absorbers use body shift to control car ride height instead of playing with the spring seats to lower or increase ride height...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 18 2014, 01:54 PM)
well that's what RCS is been telling me for my dampers, overall it's the combination of the tires and dampers. if i want to run these tires, i need harder dampers to push the tires to the ground more to deal with road imperfections.

not to mention, if it isn't pushed to the ground hard enough, there will be a point where the weight shift/damper rebound will exceed the softer dampers limitations, while you may not realize it as you're having a false sense of grip due to the much grippier r spec compounds the ad08r offers.
it'll be a dangerous situation where you'e still having firm grip and then out of a sudden your car is sliding non stop.
when it comes to damper setup... depending on which aspect of motorsports you do is to always get your weight transfer correct so when you fling your car into a corner (depending on how ganas you are lar, smooth is always better)... it will help gradually shift weight over rather than fling the whole bulk of it over to one side of the car causing the tire to start slipping from all the extra load it has to carry on top of trying to slow or accelerate the car...

of course, it's better if your damper has separate damping adjustments for low / high speed compression and rebound damping... that way you can setup you dampers more specifically rather than have a knob that tunes all damping settings at one go...

This post has been edited by nm7: Sep 22 2014, 10:17 AM
SUSnm7
post Sep 22 2014, 10:20 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 22 2014, 10:12 AM)
my current damper have no knobs to tune laugh.gif
ok lar... just a bit more troublesome... even if you get adjustment knobs... it's only within a certain range of minor adjustments you can make...

i like the dampers that do not have knobs... cheap, and no unique parts to f@ck up... imagine the rod koyak on those models... sure habis kena potong kaw kaw when you require it to be replaced....

i also remembered you said something in regarding your video that the situation improved after a short while and stopped washing out as badly after you start giving it the stick... shock oil is also one major factor in shock performance where you want it to be as consistent as possible as it goes through the heat changes... so, when it's colder when the shock is not being pummeled as hard as when you are giving it it the beans... it might react in one way and it will change characteristics when the oil heats up as it changes viscosity... this is why even when a shock is to be ran through a damper dyno... it has to go through a warm up workout first before the series of test begins in order to make sure they do not get the wrong readings...

of course, if you can spend like how you are willing to pay for doing alignment and camber adjustments... you can ask your shock maker to see if they are willing to let you bring your own shock oil (silkolene, motul, any brand you prefer) when you revalve or change settings and let you have the readings from the damper dyno for referential purposes...

it's all about narrowing it down to the settings that you want... so, you need to lock down all the variables that can play havoc with your shocks like the brand of oil being used... best is always to get the shock dyno readouts so you know how to adjust or replicate it back the next time it requires a revalve...

This post has been edited by nm7: Sep 22 2014, 10:26 AM
SUSnm7
post Sep 22 2014, 11:53 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 22 2014, 11:33 AM)
i got my shocks from RCS, feel free to contact them for your suggestions lol:
http://www.rcs-suspensions.com/Contacts.html
https://www.facebook.com/RCS.suspensions
afaik they on silkolene anyways
i am just saying lar... you as the customer can demand mar since the shocks are not those mass manufactured stock units anyways... just whether you have that experimentative mentality or not only...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 22 2014, 11:33 AM)
also, im not sure why you're surprised on the alignment/camber spending, because i only spent like less than rm40 for alignment/camber adjustments.
i don't go sunway or something and spend rm100-150 (or more) per adjustment lol.
i am not surprised... but it sounded like you are willing to go do alignment or camber so frequently like it's going to the arcade center like that... RM40 once done over 4 times per month just to get it spot on means it's RM160 adi....

of course with absorbers it's harder lar.. you have to pay to get it unmounted, hang the car somewhere or put back the stock units while it gets serviced and then pay again to unmount the stock to re-install the serviced ones... (and then repeat again if you boh syiok with it)

got RM100 dollar alignment service charge in sunway one arh??? wah!!! ganasnya dia punya calculator...
SUSnm7
post Sep 22 2014, 12:26 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 22 2014, 12:03 PM)
as much as you can demand, they do charge for re-tunes/re-valving as they aren't titan lol (tune by feel, not by calculations/extensive testing)

per revalve/retune iinm is ~800-1k++
compared to say, rm40 for alignment.
the choice was pretty obvious lol
RM40 vs RM800... mana wa tau you ohh... maybe you dun mind leh...

i know lar they charge for re-tuning... but some shock makers don't let you choose or bring the fork oil of your choice... let alone let you see their dyno results... so, if they willing... then pick their brains and get involved in the process la... that's wat i am trying to say only....

not to mention, if i revalve the dampers to suit my ad08r, comfort will be gone, and that's not something i'm readily willing to compromise for a daily driven car.
actually... i have sat in cars which is very contradictory to what we have always been thought to believe.. as we are not on smooth surfaces like a track... it doesn't require a hard setup all the time to get the car to behave well... as i said earlier, trying to manage weight transfer and keep the car within the traction circle is more important... again, it is really a case of driver preference and technique because it's a thing with mentality...

i have sat in a Mivec'ed wira before going for a whack in ulu yam... the car was setup to be only slightly lowered and surprisingly a lot of damper travel and not hard like the entire car is bouncing all over the place or unsettles with the slightest un-evenness (if that is a word, spell check is mind f@king me) on the road... so, the car still pitches and rolls quite a bit and doesn't quite stay flat through the turns... but it just hooks on and the driver can step on it mid-turn to get it out of the turn (helped no less by an LSD la)...it's still no stock damper setup but it's soft by today's usual damper setups

the thing is that quite a lot of cars are setup so hard that they got brainwashed that it is the way to go and it gives you a sort of feel that you are driving a fast car... any hints of the car pitching automatically unsettles the drivers nerves...

that ride in that car totally turned my beliefs inside out...

and yeah, sunway horsepower street is filled with customers willing to splurge, no surprise they charge a premium for pretty much anything, everything.
car wash?

This post has been edited by nm7: Sep 22 2014, 12:29 PM
SUSnm7
post Sep 22 2014, 02:27 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 22 2014, 02:05 PM)
it's definitely not something i'll look at for the time being, main reason is still money and im really hurting on that of late.

RCS have warned me if i were to revalve, comfort will be sacrificed. and even the current setup it's no doubt less comfortable than the original stock (inspira stock dampers/spring are REALLY soft and comfy) but that's a small price to pay for a lot of performance gains.
again, just not willing to pay more (whether in money or comfort) just to squeeze a little bit more to further utilize my tires.

and despite being stiffer, the spring rates would probably still remain (4k front 3k rear) as RCS mentioned that there isn't much point to go for stiffer spring rates for my car unless i am converting it into a track only car. so you're *probably* misunderstood on the harder/stiffer that RCS has spoken to me.

It's not that it's the end of the world as the main issues are still on road deformities which is almost non existent on a proper race track like Sepang.
well, it's your car and it's your butt... definitely your wallet too...

i dunno where or wat hard we are talking about now... but going up to higher spring rates is not gonna make the car extremely harder... i've sat in a k-car with 12k linear springs up front, it's survivable ... it's not the spring rate that shakes your lung out... but the compression damping... with a higher spring rate, your absorber has to work harder to dampen the rebound...

i too need to save some money to buy my swift springs... DAMN!!!

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 22 2014, 02:05 PM)
also there are car washes that cost rm2-3k+, and yes it's in Malaysia, no joke.
it isn't in sunway though laugh.gif
i was talking about RM8 car wash lar...

This post has been edited by nm7: Sep 22 2014, 02:28 PM
SUSnm7
post Sep 22 2014, 03:58 PM

192 posts

this is growing to become a complicated subject
SUSnm7
post Sep 23 2014, 10:24 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Sep 22 2014, 07:35 PM)
Dialing a car in to driver preferences is always complicated subject and there are no right way to do this
Everyone have their own way of doing it
dialing in a car is pretty much the same... in terms of methods...

it just what kind of "feel" the are looking for that inspires confidence in them to push it harder... it's just like pasta, some (mostly asians) likes it more cooked while some likes it al dente... it can be the same pasta, same cooking liquid, same method but slightly different cooking time just to get the different results....

0.0278sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:29 PM