6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Yokohama Advan Neova AD08R tires, brand new just released in Japan

TSQuazacolt
post Apr 18 2013, 01:50 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Apr 18 2013, 12:53 PM)
I'm interested on 2 pcs 185/55/R15 and 2pcs 205/50/R16. Where you order the tyre? I checked with YHI Malaysia they only have stock on June. If your order can arrive earlier will be great.
i believe kent (LYN nestum) may have ready stocks, can pm him

not joining our bulk instead? (have to wait though) lol
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 19 2013, 07:49 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Apr 19 2013, 11:32 AM)
I can't find LYN nestum, any link?
When your bulk is starting and when can get the tyre? Any link?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=112111

haven't officially create a bulk thread yet... if can get a few more confirmed interests then ill go ahead on it lol
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 20 2013, 08:41 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Apr 20 2013, 06:51 AM)
how much will it cost?
bro if you interested, may proceed towards this thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2781201
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 20 2013, 03:10 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Ridt_Henshin @ Apr 20 2013, 02:40 PM)
damn must try...even for s-drive i think grip is good!
these are Yokohama's flagship tires (Advan series, their top of the line tires)
so they are definitely better than s drive.

as keyser above poster, in addition to being much more expensive, the tires will also wear out faster as they are using soft racing compound very similar to semi slick tires. these are however not semi slicks and are very much street legal while Yokohama A048 or A050 are the full racing semi-slicks tires (and the A00x series would be their full slicks).
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 21 2013, 05:02 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Ridt_Henshin @ Apr 21 2013, 12:15 PM)
how much a piece bro? btw i thought s-drive is also using soft compound ? smile.gif
prices can vary a lot between sizes because it is a high end flagship tire.

can refer to previous pages for pricing between 15" and 17" (38x to 5xx+)
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 23 2013, 02:23 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Apr 23 2013, 12:55 PM)
damn, just changed to AD08 last month.... Overall i can whack sharp corners with higher speed than usual. I wanna know how much it cost for AD08R for 225/40R18?
dont have the actual pricing for 18" yet, however ad08r overall cost much cheaper than ad08 sweat.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 23 2013, 03:43 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(carlosnest @ Apr 23 2013, 03:23 PM)
How much per piece for this AD08r? I'm using AD07 and think to change new tire soon. My tire size is 215/45/17 (Honda Civic).

Thanks!
as per http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=59663054

RM58x normal price, i've already created a bulk thread for this tire and we should be able to get a much lower price smile.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 23 2013, 05:09 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 23 2013, 04:18 PM)
Seems like the AD08R price just slighly more than UHP tires...which is good news...

But i wonder, which part they cut cost? Is it still Made in Japan?
it isnt just slightly more than uhp lol, its a LOT more and priced very closely to semi slicks.

im guessing the compound is much cheaper (orange oil), and yes it is still made in japan. All advan tires are made in Japan AFAIK since it IS their flagship tires after all
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 23 2013, 05:26 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(carlosnest @ Apr 23 2013, 05:16 PM)
Bulk order, roughly when it will be available? smile.gif
ETA expecting around late june or late july
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 28 2013, 04:10 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Apr 24 2013, 12:18 AM)
tempting tempting. expecting late June means x sempat for my early June track day sad.gif
due to the nature of bulk and to provide ourselves some buffer on the timing/deadline, ETA will be on late july/early august, info along with full price list (and bulk pricing) updated: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2781201
TSQuazacolt
post Apr 29 2013, 12:42 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Apr 28 2013, 08:53 PM)
This tire superior on dry.... But how u guys feel when driving on heavy rain?
these are not semi slicks, wet performance has been reviewed/bench marked to be rather good
TSQuazacolt
post May 2 2013, 12:18 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Apr 29 2013, 11:40 AM)
still not poisoned enough to grab a set? (spare tire to simpan also boleh, since the pricing is very reasonable thanks to the bulk icon_idea.gif )
TSQuazacolt
post May 3 2013, 04:50 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ May 3 2013, 04:33 PM)
haha poisoned enough, need to sort out my budget 1st. but i'm sure you'll hear from me  nod.gif
hehe you got the whole month of may to sort out tongue.gif
bulk closing on first week of june
TSQuazacolt
post May 9 2013, 12:00 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

anyone else used ad07/08 curious on the new ad08r compound? now with attractive cheaper (compared with ad08), and bulk price to top it off thumbup.gif
TSQuazacolt
post May 9 2013, 03:08 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(jam3s88 @ May 9 2013, 03:05 PM)
Newbie here, im wondering how long it can last? =)
tread wear rating iinm is between 140-160
racing compound tires, they aren't meant to last very long smile.gif

interested? laugh.gif
TSQuazacolt
post May 10 2013, 01:27 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(jam3s88 @ May 9 2013, 09:48 PM)
any sifu used this tire before? i got 1 newbie question, if street use how many KM it can last. Rough figure also can Thank you =)
from feedbacks around the internet, it can be between 10k to 30k km

some even less if they frequently attend tracks or even touge session
TSQuazacolt
post Jul 17 2013, 07:28 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Jul 16 2013, 01:49 AM)
Not sure if I am right, I do experience the AD07 before, amazing as it is... But it is no where near RE070.
check this out:

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?ti...DVAN+Neova+AD08

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?ti...l=Potenza+RE070

and click on survey/review from each pages

not much on the 07's though http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?ti...DVAN+Neova+AD07
TSQuazacolt
post Aug 6 2013, 03:51 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

some intropoison pictures:
And finally, some extreme performance overkill as f*** tires on my slow stock ride XD http://www.twitpic.com/d6jsgl

Products used for this shot: Meguiar endurance tire gel, Meguiar ultimate quick detailer http://www.twitpic.com/d6kxm1

Early words/intro on the review:
I'm a car enthusiast that just gotten interested in cars in the past 4-5 ish years, and only started taking car tires seriously around 1-2 years ago, in which early 2012 i just gotten my first set of sport rims, and with it Yokohama C drive 2 that i will be replacing them as soon as i gotten the cash as they've worn down to maybe between 30-40% ish htreads and they are getting a bit dangerous for my regular aggressive driving especially in the wet, and hey they even started to wheel spin when i launch my cars time to time just for the heck of it. Anyways this is about the advan Neova ad08r, so we can talk about the c drive 2 either in person or next time.

With my rims/c drive 2 that i've gotten from nestum , from there begins my exploration of tires/suspension/braking and me/Kent (nestum) have gone through a lot of information exchanges in which i am grateful for. Also big shout out to him for all the info he's provided, great service/pricing, and most importantly, making the ad08r bulk possible and for myself to be equipping them at very reasonable prices thumbup.gif

What makes me choose this set of tire despite the insane premium price (especially the previous/older AD08) and even more (as surprising as it may sound) negative feedback from the local motor sport enthusiasts (mainly price vs performance, how much the ad08 cost that other much cheaper UHP/EHP/semi slicks can perform on par, if not better), is that overseas responses/feedback are VERY positive and it is after all Yokohama's Advan lineup, in which even in our local ahbeng/rempitmotorsport scene has people having decals/vinyl/windscreen stickers sticking Advan all over their vehicle despite not running on Advan tires anyways.

So, this tire, must mean something despite the negativity behind it, right?
then of course there's this that pushes me to that buying edge even more:
What We Liked: Laser-sharp steering response and balance of dry and wet traction
What We'd Improve: A modest reduction in tire impact noise
Conclusion: Race tire-like handling and traction for the street

noise? who gives a shit about NVH when it comes to motor sports eh? whistling.gif
and laser sharp steering response, race tire-like handling... now that's a tire i absolutely MUST experience! drool.gif

source: http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?ti...reMake=Yokohama
new test video and results out for the R http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tests/testDisplay.jsp?ttid=172
Conclusion: This tire is just one notch away from being the best at everything
brows.gif

last thing to note before we finally begin the quick review is that as the tires haven't even reach American market, it is not officially UTQG rated and as such we'll be using AD08 previous rating with source from http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?ti...AN+Neova+AD08+R as well which is 180 tread wear, AA traction A temperature.
To my knowledge ALL of Advan tires are Made in Japan smile.gif

Also as the only "serious" tires i've own would be the Yokohama C Drive 2, and Achilles 123 Semi-slick tires, a LOT of comparison will be made against these 2 tires.

Dry Grip:
For normal cornering between 120-140km/h, grip is very firm, and so far i am unable to produce tire screams even at those speeds. While the compound is damn soft to the point you can dig your finger nails in, the overall build is very stiff, even more so than the 123's i've owned. Shoulder block/sidewalls also seemed much firmer/thicker than the 123, despite having the same 195/50 tire at 6.5"j 15" rims, the ad08r looks considerable much wider than the c drive 2 (and of course slightly wider than the 123) that makes the entire tires jutting out of the wheel house and yes, REALLY HARD cornering will cause fender rubbing while the c drive 2 on 195/55 i've never experienced it; Harder to compare with the 123 as i was on different suspension setup and that setup bottoms out way to easily

So far i've barely even pushed the tires anywhere near to their limits, this is after all fitted on cars WAAAAY more powerful than my stock car. If anything, the high speed twists on mahameru - duta road would do a decent test for this, especially if you're on the furthest right lane where there will be badly paved manholes/covers where your tires will leave the ground for a very short while and it'll have to have damn good grip to regain traction else you'll face a brief slide (or if you're too fast, you're gonna crash the divider laugh.gif) and yes i've slided plentiful with the c drive 2. for the 123, no such case however it didn't inspire me the confidence that the ad08r did for some reason. i'm going to take a good guess that it could be the harder 123 compound against the way softer ad08r, the temporary shift was barely noticed in the ad08r which made the cornering rather effortless and barely any correction was required after passing the cover.

Dry traction:
As mentioned above on some of the high speed cornering, traction is plentiful even when grip is temporarily lost due to bad road conditions. a better testament to this is the increased acceleration i am experiencing - at 3rd gear, my speed seems to climb faster than my rpm at 3rd (and last gear of my 3 speed auto) until around 80km/h x ~3.5k rpm where the rpm starts to catch up a bit.
Never happened before on my c drive 2 or even the achilles123 (hard to compare cuz back then i was on steel rims)

That said, the rolling resistance (that the likes of Michelin XM2/Yokohama C drive 2 like to market/boast about) is definitely in the shitter (maybe due to much better traction/grip?) as my speedo drops faster upon release of the accelerator almost scarily about the speed of my rpm meter as opposed to previously it's able to cruise very easily at over 80km/h with my C drive 2.
Needless to say FC may very likely take a hit running on these performance tires.

Wet grip:
no comment as it haven't rained significantly since i installed the tires

Wet traction:
same as above, no comment so far.

Handling/Road feedback/Progressiveness:
Just. phenomenal. I've never experience something to be so responsive and it certainly lived up its expectations of "laser sharp steering response". Hell if i were to add my own exaggeration, i'd say it turned my car controls into something akin of a video game/arcade simulation, what you input is what you get - every minor steering input is reflected in my car and it just BEGS for more. I've never ever thought my year 1999 Proton Iswara with pretty standard/old hydraulic power steering can handle as it does now thanks to the new tires.

Road feedback is quite good, as you can almost literally feel the road condition at the tip of your fingers from your steering wheel. That said, comfort is going to take a huge nose dive because of this no thanks to our Malaysian road condition - you ARE going to feel every yellow line/pot hole etc right up your back/head very harshly.

Can't comment too much on progression as i barely pushed the tires at all; Best to just leave this for the track experience to tell biggrin.gif

Tire/tread wear:
no comment as these are new tires. if anything, i have to say that some minor fender rubbing does leave a rather noticeable mark despite it being a brand new tire. thankfully no new added grooves unlike my c drive 2 sweat.gif

Comfort/NVH (Noise vibration harshness):
Comfort wise, yes as mentioned earlier on the road feedback, this is going to be a very uncomfortable tire especially coming from comfort tire usage (eg: c drive 2). If you're however used to standard UHP/semi slicks, then i suppose this would not be an issue to you, more so if you're reading up on the NVH review below.

To be honest, why would one even bother with NVH on these kinda tire is one would normally think. I have however came across this comment from bro xpress_lw https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=61958030
i'm like, "what the better than cc5?" lol
sure enough i was skeptical, until i got these rubbers fitted and drove around, damn they are a LOT quieter than i expected.

Granted they are new, and if you're going over 80-100km/h, it is still a LOT noisier than my c drive 2.
One thing to note though, as these tires are rather sticky, they DO pickup road debris much easier and as such if you're going over rocky/sandy roads, you're going to be hearing a lot of harsh stone/rock like sounds going through your vehicle cabin

Phew! Didn't think i'd be writing this long. This basically concludes the review for now.
Thanks for taking the time to read guys, will further do a follow up review after speedfest track day on the 18th August

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 8 2013, 08:29 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Aug 8 2013, 06:53 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

continuation on previous review: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=62289305

8th August 2013:

Weather was raining in the morning between 9am-10am ish. good chance to do some test/update on the review. That said, we weren't driving at really fast speeds, it's supposed to be a leisure drive after all.

speeds were not exceeding 80-100km/h during wet conditions so i wonder if it's much of a real test or not, so take it with a pinch of salt ya sweat.gif

Wet grip:
This has to come off as a surprise especially after the latest tirerack review video. Considering the tread pattern, these tires do NOT look like something that would excel on wet conditions. I mean, simple concept of water channeling has to be there to be resistant of aquaplaning. However comparatively with the Achilles123 that seems to have more tread pattern/water channeling grooves, the 123 did VERY POORLY in wet conditions compared to the AD08R. During the run, there were some water puddle that are estimate as deep as 1/4 wheel, considering the splash wave did came up as high as the car window; There was just no signs of losing grip or whatsoever and road feedback on when i hit the water puddle/leaving the water puddle was just as excellent.

To people that are used to semi slick tires in wet conditions or even as daily ride - you guys would know very well during water puddles, your car will be temporarily out of control/slide/skid and the moment the tires leave the water puddle they would just regain whatever was lost almost immediately. These tires were similar to that, minus out the losing grip part. however again, so far so good although the speed wasn't all that fast and despite the efforts to go through as many water puddles as i can find.

Wet traction:
Pretty amazing as well as i am still able to accelerate/brake within the water puddles/wet surface almost effortlessly. Cornering was very stable, no drama/slide/skid whatsoever. Which is rather a surprising considering i had pretty good experience on the C drive 2, and that had WAY MORE water channeling grooves/tread pattern, even though it isn't exactly a performance based tire nor it is directional tread pattern which typically excels on wet conditions more so than asymmetric; And yeah, this definitely out performs the c drive 2 in wet traction in any way possible.

Given the chance i'd like to push it further in wet conditions, especially track day + rain. On regular roads, there's still a lot of reserve/cautions as the risk is just too high and obviously i wouldn't want to endanger other motorists/pedestrians (There's a lot of cyclists at sempah sweat.gif )

Handling/Road feedback/Progressiveness:
Hair pins, S corners, quick/rapid left right back to back, anything. Whatever you throw at it, the steering > car > tire obeys and and executes. Like i said previously, it's very arcade/computer game like, what you input is what you get. The feeling is just phenomenal!

Road feedback is as awesome as always - every bit of road surface condition you can almost feel it as if your ass/hands are touching on the ground. the rough parts of Genting before first guard house/gohtong jaya was easily felt and every minor "slips" that you may encounter due to pot holes/uneven road surface you will immediately get feedback and you can immediately apply any corrections as needed. Even the leaf/twigs/broken branches at Genting sempah roads were well felt while going over them and considering the road conditions were wet, everything is being fed towards me and if needed, i can apply the necessary correction (which considering my speed, there was no correction needed at all.)

Progression wise, now this is where today's karak highway down hill gave valueble feedback/experience on -
As we sped down the highway (2 of our crazy members were chasing a forte at around/excess of 200km/h sweat.gif ) i was going around 170+km/h, at around 6.5k rpm, really pushing the hell out of my car already. People who are familiar with Karak highway downhills (genting going towards KL direction) will know of their cambered high speed cornering. And this is where the warning signs/intuition comes in - just like any hobby/upgrades, as you upgrade a certain component/part, you WILL reveal yet another weakest link in your setup. Prior the AD08R is obviously my comfort/low nvh C drive 2 tires, and post upgrade the link is clearly the chassis/rear torsion beam or even myself as a driver.

See, as I tackle the downhill cornering at speeds between 140-170+km/h, the tires were not showing any traction lost, or any signs of losing grip. However there is this gut feeling or intuition that my rears are giving out i kept feeling as it is going to slide/at it's threshold/limit. The awesome thing about installing the rear anti roll bar previously is that it allows me to gauge the rear's limits much better than before and i am able to control it somewhat. With the tires' very linear progressiveness in grip/feedback i tend to get a lot of "warning signs" on my rear however the tires are not having any symptom of losing grip/squealing whatsoever, so the obvious conclusion is either i'm just a little paranoid, or the weak link has to be my chassis/torsion beam.

Considering Iswara's infamous reputation of fishtailing/losing its rear and my own experiences as an iswara driver for many long years, the final conclusion is still the torsion beam.

Tire/tread wear:
Tire surface start to show rough/ugly marks - you know, the kind you ALWAYS see on semi slick tires. however the tread pattern is still very deep, and the "tire hairs" (compound/rubber injection points left overs/nips basically) are still clearly visible, so not much of a concern i suppose.

Thanks for reading guys, will most likely do another update after speed-fest track day on the 18th August smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 8 2013, 08:29 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Aug 10 2013, 03:50 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(nikazwaa @ Aug 9 2013, 11:55 AM)
Thanks again Quazacolt for organizing the group buy, and nestum for providing great service.
glad you enjoyed them bro thumbup.gif

i'm barely even pushing the tires at all, it's more of the tires trying to compensate whatever flaws my car/myself as a driver has sweat.gif

however thanks to davidke20 pointers i've got a lot of things figured out and hopefully can get it sorted out before this weekend's track day to give the tires a proper setup it very much deserve nod.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:42 AM