LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

nxtpg
post Mar 24 2013, 10:25 AM

601 posts

which place is recommended in penang? or is it better to do it at ipoh (Heard Lee eye is pretty good and has the latest tech.)
nxtpg
post Mar 26 2013, 03:33 PM

601 posts

thanks jialat. So do i have to request for Dr Lee when i go to optimax penang? Is the price similar?

nxtpg
post Mar 26 2013, 03:52 PM

601 posts

will discuss with wife and see

need to do it for both of us.
nxtpg
post Apr 16 2013, 10:28 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Apr 6 2013, 07:22 PM)
yes, of course.

pls pm me the details below

full name
birth date
hp number
email

mailing address
can i get the letter from you? for 2 ppl?

plan to check with dr. lee at optimax penang. but is she the only one incharge? do i have to personally request for her?

can the eye test detect any eye problems or glaucoma? sometimes feel a bit blurrish after long distance driving or after wake up

This post has been edited by nxtpg: Apr 16 2013, 10:30 AM
nxtpg
post May 31 2013, 03:39 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ May 30 2013, 10:11 PM)
Update!

Did my IntraLASIK Tuesday at OPTIMAX TDDI

1pm checkup etc
3:30pm Lasik Treament
By 4:30pm im out of Optimax

Experience: 3sec right eye, 11sec left eye, no pain at all. Did not even realized it was over.
However the next 4-6hours: pretty bad for me. Crying eye, stingy eye,, Nose block +headache. Just exactly like crying the whole nite.

The next morning wow, i can see KLCC twin tower from my hotel room!

My point of view regarding OPTIMAX: service could be better, i was left to wait for 1hr before checkup, after checkup waitied another hour. Thye are all too very very very busy. Too many customers. Everything has to be done in a rush IMHO.

My 2nd day after lasik. My right eye = perfect vision. However my left eye, i feel im still having 50-100degree. Not as clear as my right eye. Is that normal?

Btw cost is 4000rm per eye, with Darren's referral get rm500 off. Thanks JialAt!
Total i paid rm7675. Inclusive of eye examination fee
u did it all in one day? no pre check up(suitability for lasik) done earlier?

i & wife have yet to do mine. received the referal letter fr jialat too. waiting for the proper time.

most prob my wife will do it in 3 weeks time and me later on. one person needs to drive... so the time gap....

is the eye very sensitive to light after surgery?
they dont give free shades ride ? have yet to go shopping for sunglasses....
nxtpg
post May 31 2013, 09:15 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ May 31 2013, 06:58 PM)
Yea, since im from brunei. Yup did it all in one day.
The pre eye examination was done at 1pm. Give & take 1-2hrs, then lasik at 3+pm.
The idea was: if my cornea arent suitable after the eye examination then ili abort the plan.
Lucky I was good to go smile.gif

Not really sensitive though, just use a sunglass right after.
No free shades; maybe there is, but they r all too busy as i said.
ic
thanks for the update.
must plan mine all done the same day too... less thinking then.
nxtpg
post Jun 14 2013, 06:48 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ May 31 2013, 06:58 PM)
Yea, since im from brunei. Yup did it all in one day.
The pre eye examination was done at 1pm. Give & take 1-2hrs, then lasik at 3+pm.
The idea was: if my cornea arent suitable after the eye examination then ili abort the plan.
Lucky I was good to go smile.gif

Not really sensitive though, just use a sunglass right after.
No free shades; maybe there is, but they r all too busy as i said.
i dropped by optimax penang today. dropped by sometime last 2 weeks but they were closed...
Quite surprised they cannot do it all in one day.!

Need to go 4 the eye examination (3 hrs) first and schedule the lasik on another day.
Planning to do the eye test sometimes in 2 weeks. Then the lasik.

According to the person there, after the eye test still can drive. Anyone can confirm this?

What about after the lasik?

nxtpg
post Jun 17 2013, 08:51 PM

601 posts

why cant optimax penang do the checking n surgery in one day? i saw their FB states otherwise
nxtpg
post Jun 19 2013, 10:16 PM

601 posts

cant seem to plan the time to for check up one day n surgery another

maybe wait for some long holidays first. traffic in penang is also havoc at bayan lepas after the bridge collapse....
nxtpg
post Jun 20 2013, 07:19 PM

601 posts

i will hold on any treatment until after the haze

eye examination rm135 only? i tot they told me rm175?

nxtpg
post Jun 20 2013, 08:34 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(farr86 @ Jun 20 2013, 08:19 PM)
Because I have *jialat's friend* referal letter i guess..

Ya, Im aware about the haze... I wish the haze at least would not reach KL next month  ~_~!

I bought the airplane ticket already.. I guess I'll still do it next month..
i also have his letter

i guess the staff there is not well informed...

nxtpg
post Jun 20 2013, 09:01 PM

601 posts

ic thanks for the clarification

hope noting else collapse in penang first before can do the lasik
nxtpg
post Jul 24 2013, 08:19 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jul 19 2013, 03:24 PM)
Full eye examination is available in optimax klang, you save rm 20 with my referral letter, cheaper than their in house promotion eye check price.

pls provide details if u need, pm me. thanks
yes, you can try Lee Eye Center if you want lasik in Ipoh, they have the best machine there.
buying sunglasses is another headache ohmy.gif never wore one except clip ons

anyway was going around looking for some and realised got 2 options... one is polarized and another is uv protection

major branded ones dont have polarized. But the cheaper range has it. Pretty funny

which one to use after lasik? need polarised lenses?
nxtpg
post Jul 25 2013, 08:00 PM

601 posts

i was looking for some the other day

my wife likes the coach sunglasses but the shop said coach does not come with polarized lense. They said designer sunglasses only have uv block.

only got in brands like sub, arinko (i think) and cyber ... i am not familiar with this brands so did not get it.

btw how long r we suppose to wear the sunglasses after lasik. is it advisable to keep wearing it? can not wear it afters ay 2-3 months? or better to wear?

i have never worn outdoor and not used to it... only use clip on for highway driving.

nxtpg
post Jul 25 2013, 08:16 PM

601 posts

oic.. thanks... stupid me... never protected my eyes sad.gif

so what brand for ladies? pls suggest.

for myself i might go look for rayban but at the same time also get a rm48 one being sold by a lowyatian here smile.gif can keep spare in car

there r a lot of raya sales at optical shops in penang. england optical also massive sale
nxtpg
post Jul 25 2013, 08:26 PM

601 posts

ic thanks

got any website can see the design... maybe can choose from ws
nxtpg
post Jul 25 2013, 08:32 PM

601 posts

not time to go yet

because got some holiday plans and i need my eyes smile.gif

plan after national day
nxtpg
post Aug 26 2013, 01:02 PM

601 posts

Jialat.... i need your advise..

will schedule the eye test next month for me n my wife. there after suppose to do the lasik if suitable...

however today optimax posted the launch of relex smile and got promo too

18th Anniversary- Relex Smile , the 1st 180 patients Rm5,750 per eye
after it will be Rm6,500 per eye.

so how?

now relex or lasik???????... pening pening... rclxub.gif
nxtpg
post Sep 15 2013, 11:13 AM

601 posts

jialat,

at last got my eye examination done

my power is pretty low 200 and 175
after dilation it is 100 and 75

why is there a huge difference or is it normal?

the test was done by the optometrist and is now awaiting the doctors review on the report this tuesday. the dr is not there on saturdays.

will optimax give me the report on the eye test?

acc, to the optometrist, i am suitable with good corner thickness. Its just that the power suitability since there is a huge difference of power before n after dilation. (if i remember correctly)

if all is ok, will get the correction done asap. no more waiting thumbup.gif

as for my wife, her power is lower, 50 and 100

after dilation, 25 and 75 ...i think...

anyway, they recommended only one eye to be done instead of both., the higher power one of course.
so would the vision be clear by doing one eye only?

will be doing a lot of travelling and water activities so we need clear vision! biggrin.gif

nxtpg
post Sep 17 2013, 01:32 PM

601 posts

optimax called me this morning to schedule another eye test. i went there just now for the check up and was also advised by the dr.

it seems i have been using an over prescribed lenses....a higher power than my actual power

there were 2 options given to me, which i chose the 2nd... to use the new lower prescribe lenses for a month or 2 to see if i can see well and get used to it. something to do with the eye muscles since i have been wearing glasses for ages...+ over prescribed lenses...

so now i have to get a new pair of glasses or lenses fitted... the power is pretty much lower....

if it is fine, then i can proceed with the lasik

i wonder how come the opticians at the specs shop over prescribed my power? or is it a common practice?

btw, how much is the cheapest lenses i can get since it is just for a trial use? my power is 150 R and 125 L as given by the dr.

This post has been edited by nxtpg: Sep 17 2013, 01:41 PM

0.0221sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:01 AM