10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

SUSedge85
post Oct 1 2008, 05:37 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Oct 1 2008, 12:44 AM)
Stethoscope highly recommended by clinical lecturers and doctors would be the 3M Littman classic SE II. Price would be around 200 plus. Well, in terms of qualities it does vary. Sound would be better amplified and less noises if you're getting the more expensive stets. Our lecturer used to advice us to invest in a good stet, which can be used even after your studies. wink.gif
so you recommend against buying a RM30 one lah?
SUSedge85
post Oct 3 2008, 07:41 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Oct 3 2008, 09:41 AM)
Cause of cow dunks and the pig farms beside the campus. I freaking hate flies. Especially during their mating season. Disgusting.
The Student Council had brought this matter forward, and they MAY BE sealing up the cafeteria, ie it's gonna be glassed up....

csrulez, u missed out the landfill...
SUSedge85
post Oct 12 2008, 02:42 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ Oct 12 2008, 01:36 PM)
hi guys. Anybody here?? New aimst student here .
hello there, what are u studying?
SUSedge85
post Oct 12 2008, 05:32 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ Oct 12 2008, 04:31 PM)
dentistry, u?
bds year 3.....u year 1?
SUSedge85
post Oct 12 2008, 09:13 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

i was late too, and now i'm already in my third year.....so i guess you'll do fine....
SUSedge85
post Oct 13 2008, 07:54 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

i moved out....for an improved quality of life =)

it's also cheaper if you move out.....let's say RM100 for a room, RM10x30 days for food....that totals to about RM400.

This post has been edited by edge85: Oct 13 2008, 07:55 AM
SUSedge85
post Oct 13 2008, 08:08 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

Yeah, with batchmates...it's much more convenient that way....plus they got cars.....easy to move around.....
SUSedge85
post Oct 15 2008, 08:06 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

anybody attended the convo? i heard dato sammy was there...
SUSedge85
post Oct 20 2008, 11:27 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

USM has MSC biotechnology by research rite....3 of my friends are there now.

Eh, have u even got your BSc?
SUSedge85
post Nov 17 2008, 09:39 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ Nov 17 2008, 06:31 PM)
Do u guys realized that the internet speed her is super fast? Sometimes my download could reach around 700+kb/s .
what downloader do you use?
SUSedge85
post Dec 2 2008, 02:25 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

from hostel, can i download torrents or not?
SUSedge85
post Jan 3 2009, 07:28 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

i wonder how AIMST is going to show the LAN officers when they come...heard that they're running short of lecturers...knowing that many good lecturers are all running away due to internal politics...

UM lecturer also run to ACMS, and they turned him into a dean...what's AIMST doing?

curious here, why don't they hire more local lecturers? cut cost ah..
SUSedge85
post Jan 3 2009, 08:21 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jan 3 2009, 08:15 PM)
biotech department now hv few new lecturers, for pharm and physiotherapy now really short of lecturers.
having said that, LAN should not recognise the AIMST degree...let the management figure a way out on how to improve the situation first....

hopefully all the new applicants will reconsider before applying into this university...
SUSedge85
post Jan 4 2009, 06:52 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Jan 3 2009, 11:18 PM)
hey bro! the problem of edge85 say will affect MBBS or not?one year foundation leh...i dont want to take a risk...i dont mean i dont trust AIMST but i just worry my future!!!! But i think that is no problem for MBBS isn it?cos mmc already recognised that should be no problem is it???????
don't care lah, i was just scaring you off...even if it's derecognised, why worry? firstly, if you really like what you're doing, then just go ahead and take any qualifying exams...secondly, this university has got connections with important people, maybe they can pull strings around...

QUOTE(csrulez @ Jan 3 2009, 11:55 PM)
AIMST did quite abit in holding our lecturers actually, in fact few weeks ago IMU was about to grab away 2 of our very best microbiologist and pathologist by offering a much higher salary compared to AIMST. So what the school did was to promote both of them straightaway and thank god they'll be now staying with us. We can't afford to lose them. In fact, lecturers are okay and quite sufficient for the school of medicine. Am not sure of other schools. Therefore, i'm sure that we're currently up to the standard. Yshiuan will clarify on the school of biotech while edge85 on the school of dentistry i guess.

And cedricgordon, there are no pre-med. Only the foundation programme, once you've achieved the minimum marks to enroll they you'll be offered to read medicine.
What I said holds true, word of mouth from your seniors...they're underpaid....they were told lies before they left here from India...they were told they can have patient care while teaching in the hospital etc etc....AIMST got hospital? no....since they were conned, not happy, of coz la ask for more money...some who think that they were conned just went back to India without notice....

aimst they bring in husband and wives...it's cheaper that way...nth bad about that tho...just mentioning it here...

why don't they hire local lecturers? they know better about our local diseases and demographics...cannot, coz they'll surely demand higher salary...

but then again since you're just paying only RM230k, can't ask for too much also.....and those are just rumors...don't believe also nvm lol....

anyways, there are no problems in the school of dentistry as far as i know....

QUOTE(CedricGordon @ Jan 4 2009, 12:01 AM)
Oops. Sorry . It's called Foundation of Science. Directly after SPM.

http://www.aimst.edu.my/aimst_web/courses/..._education.html

Can I know more about it ? As in the comparison between college's A levels and this course.
A levels: the recognition is wider...if you get good results, you can study anywhere else too...if you screw up, you can always take another course...however, if you're an A levels student, you MIGHT not be guaranteed a place in AIMST (as they give priority to that few hundred foundation students)

Foundation of Science: only AIMST recognises it (well, some indonesian and russian/ukrainian universities still do), if you get good results, you may get a place into AIMST MBBS programme...if you screw up, then you have to look at other places who will want to take you in...

A levels should technically be more difficult than Foundation of Science...

This post has been edited by edge85: Jan 4 2009, 06:57 AM
SUSedge85
post Jan 5 2009, 02:45 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Jan 4 2009, 01:35 PM)
And building a teaching hospital aren't as easy as establishing a dental hospital, many fields of specialty are involved. smile.gif
People don't build a teaching hospital to cater your need. Hospitals are built to cater the need of patients. There's already HSAH and HSB near AIMST.

MBBS (AIMST) is going to be of 2nd class (relative to aussie/uk and indon/russia in my opinion)....but I guess it'll work as long as there're people who are desperate to be called a doctor...think wisely before you regret in your 5th year...

i can imagine if this trend continues, how many doctors will there be in malaysia by 2020...
SUSedge85
post Jan 6 2009, 01:07 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

Uh, reading back the previous posts it was you who brought the hospital up. Do you think it's lecturers who build hospitals? I don't think so la...

I didn't boast about BDS (AIMST). It's gonna be lower class anyhow....so sorry that i've missed that out...

No, I don't have anything against doctors. But from the students who enrol into medicine nowadays, it makes the profession look cheap. You must agree with me here. 130 students per intake. Particularly with the ones who enter via the foundation of science programme....

I'm not sure if PIDC, IMU, MAHSA offers foundation courses for their dental students...but AIMST definitely has one...
SUSedge85
post Jan 12 2009, 07:41 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Jan 6 2009, 12:48 PM)
come on bro...you are from same university is no point for arguing the quality of school....like csrulez say...AIMST is just a young university you should give it some times to prove the quality....the doctor graduate from AIMST is recognised that mean they are qualified...the(]MBBS degree is second class relative to aussie/uk and indon/russia !!!
BDS (AIMST) It's gonna be lower class anyhow.))
[I]

Hey dont comment the quality of any degree although that is your own school...you comment it base on what?actually nothing...only base on what you think...your responsibility is to prove AIMST is good by get a good result and pratise the good skill when you are graduate...not just keep on arguing and criticise..what for?you are just lower down yourself everyone will keep one look down on AIMST....!!!!!oh!!!!!haiz.....Hospital???HaHa....edge85 can you behave more mature and think before you say something...Do you know to built up a hospital how hard is it?It cost a lot of money...and it need a lot of high tech devices and it required a lot of expertise?or you think it just like a LEGO can simply built up?

But from the students who enrol into medicine nowadays, it makes the profession look cheap.  Particularly with the ones who enter via the foundation of science programme....[I]
hey UM also set up a foundation what!!!The standard of local matriculation  is not much differences from the foundation as my friend told me the standard is almost the same....The local U also do the same in order to make it easier!!!is this mean the student quality will be low...no definitely no...actually STPM or A level study very much and yes it has the high standard of course but so what!!!!actually a lot of rubbish we study such as(ecosystem,variation that kind of rubbish is not use isn it?) is not required when doing  medicine or dentistry!!!so i think foundation or matriculation is actually aim for the target
accurately!!!! in addition,the priority given to the foundation student is nothing wrong...of course la...if not their study for what...it is not the same as A level or STPM which is recognised by any higher education institute...so that is reasonable!!!dont you think so?
so cheap????i don think so.....

STOP ARGUING for anything again...that is no advantages to the AIMST ...others will keep on look down on you all....dont make this seem like a kindergarden..be mature edge85...how old are you?still do that kind of silly things...you should give AIMST even more time to prove good point since it is still new and not always criticise....haiz.......... sweat.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif

Added on January 6, 2009, 12:50 pm
i agree with your point..especially dont base on the skin...
1. Many grads from Indonesia also qualified. Will you let him, or let a UM grad treat your family (touch wood)?

2. What is wrong with commenting on my own school? I think the school's own students are the best ones to do so. If not, who else?

3. Never did I mentioned anything a hospital. I was saying Indian teachers were fooled into thinking AIMST has it's own hospital. If you can't read English, please don't take up MBBS. Do google up on paragraphing too.

Fine, here are a few good points of AIMST amongst others.
1. We have Nepalese security guards to look after the campus grounds. It's especially nice to see them camping on the hill facing the girl's hostel at night.

2. We still have too many excellent lecturers around, despite some who has left.

3. Food is relatively edible. However, I'm not comfortable with the number of flies in the cafeteria, no thanks to a nearby pig farm and landfill.

4. The swimming pool is well-maintained.

5. Students and staff should have no problem obtaining excellent oral health care.

6. We have a clinic, who's doctor needs to read the manual (several times, in front of you) on how to administer Hep B vaccine.

QUOTE(jayelleenelial @ Jan 7 2009, 11:42 PM)
i think the few of us lurkers here better set up an AIMST FAQ page.

First thing any prospective AIMST student should do if they want to enquire about the course, is to call the university.

If you have anymore questions, the students in this forum are more than happy to answer the less obvious questions.

eh edge85, i bet both of us will be more active again since it's EXAM SEASON again. arrrrggghghghghghghghg..

We've got a clinical paper that covers stuff from year2-4... die lah like that=(
I got dental public health. It's way gayer than Elton John.

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Jan 9 2009, 04:07 PM)
Semeling is a city?? sweat.gif
Well yeah. Mac Donald's opening soon.

This post has been edited by edge85: Jan 12 2009, 07:45 AM
SUSedge85
post Jan 12 2009, 12:48 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Jan 12 2009, 11:53 AM)
Yup, indonesian and russian grads are often looked down by even consultants in m'sian govt hospitals. However, this should not happen untill his/her competency is graded below doctors who are graduated from non-indon/russian university. I think.

Oh btw, limeuu. Would like to know more about USMLE, do one has to take step 1, 2 CK CS and step 3 to obtain a medical licence in order to work in US? I've heard from my friend in IMU that upon passing step 1, one can actually do their residency in US already. Is that true? And are there any chances to do our residency in US upon graduation by escaping the 2 years housemanship and 3 years compulsory govt service? If yes, what are the procedures? Thanks a million for answering.

Edge85, McD is opening? Are you serious?
no, i wasn't serious.
SUSedge85
post Jan 28 2009, 09:25 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 28 2009, 04:34 PM)
not entirely sure.....said he didn't like the atmosphere, the course......he was certainly a bright student in school.......been straight a's student, spm 9a1, 2a2 failed to get jpa scholarship.....

parents have limited finances, decided not to repeat a proper pre-u, would not have afforded imu or pmc anyway, so opted for physiotherapy instead at a ipts twinned with a 3rd tier oz uni......i think he would make a very good physiotherapist, enjoying the course now.......

case in point here, he would have been more qualified to enter medical school than a lot of others with more money........imagine taking in people with ter<80.........

i think they may have been mislead by promises of assured place in aimst......was a very sudden decision.......never asked me for my opinion......
if he can fail in the aimst foundation, what better chances for other proper pre-Us?
SUSedge85
post Jan 29 2009, 04:26 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Jan 29 2009, 04:08 PM)
If i go for AIMST...Can i get the hostel for one student/room? so i no need to share with others!!!! hmm.gif :is that possible?
can, but depends on availability...quite expensive, coz comes it's air conditioned...

those stealing cases happen everywhere...really depends on how u bring yourself...

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0476sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:14 PM