Credit Cards Hong Leong Bank Wise Credit Card V2, 10% Cashback , Up to RM100 per month

HJebat
post Jul 24 2013, 09:04 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Apr 29 2013, 12:47 PM)
i am from sarawak. here got many small supermarket like farley sdn bhd, singkwong sdn bhd, tai kiong supermarket, ngiukee supermarkat. this all are the small local supermarket which accept credit card. i get rebate from this.
Are you from Sibu?

You received rebates from all those small supermarkets that you mentioned by using HLB Wise credit card?
HJebat
post Jul 24 2013, 09:10 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Jul 24 2013, 03:24 PM)
i am from mukah. i get the rebate from this small supermarket as long as they accept credit card. however, beware of there departmental store, like daesco, i buy at their deasco supermarket and i get 10 percent rebate even they say egg need 2 percent charge, i oso use creidt card. i alr get the rebate for two month. however, when i use at daesim at market there, no 10 percent rebate due to they register under mcc 5311.
Thanks for the reply.

Did you call CS to ask for the MCC of each supermarket before using the card or it's just trial & error?

I'm more inclined towards this card since it's widely accepted here than mbb2 amex.
HJebat
post Jul 25 2013, 02:34 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Jul 25 2013, 08:43 AM)
you cannot ask for the mcc code before you use the card. after i swipe the card, i confirm with hongleong cs that singkwong, farley, tai kiong, nguiekee mukah, daesco hypermarket, gaint super/hypermarket, medan mall supermarket, delta mall underground supermarket is under groccery mcc code and i get the rebate for it since i get the rebate for three month alr. i didnt try at everwin supermarket since they need speng rm100 for using credit card.

since you r using mbb amex also, i share with you that the place at sibu, sarawak which can use AMEX.
1. digital camera shop at the entrance of sanyan,
2. toy and baby equipment shop besides ngiukee or yamyam cafe,
3.water dispenser and acceceries shop at bus station,
4. gaint,
5. all petrol station,
6. parkson,
7. premier departmental store,
8. tanamas hotel and restaurant,
9. wetrac auto service in front of farley food court(2 percent charge and u may ask him to offset it),
10. sengheng, court, guardian besides tai kiong and medan mall only(gaint and sanyan guardian didnt accept it), all watson
11. some brand shop like vincci,
sorry RONNIE to post mbb 2 card here. just want to share something with my sibu sarawak guy. can you pls update it at you mbb website for sibu sarawak. thanks.
Wow, you really did some homework there rclxms.gif

I didn't know that we can't ask for the MCC from the CS before using the card (so, it's really trial & error la). Well, at least I know which merchant is under grocery now, thanks to you. I'm going to apply for this card by next week. Hopefully will be approved.

HJebat
post Aug 4 2013, 12:31 PM

1,035 posts

Guys, what is the minimum income required to apply for this card?

Can't seem to find the criteria here or on HLB website.
HJebat
post Aug 7 2013, 08:33 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 6 2013, 10:07 PM)
Not too sure. 24k (for gold) if my memory serves me well.
QUOTE(fly126 @ Aug 6 2013, 10:15 PM)
RM 24,000 p.a for Gold & $36,000 p.a for Plat. card
Thanks for the info.

Where do HLB states the minimum annual income? I can't seem to find it.
HJebat
post Aug 11 2013, 07:52 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Aug 10 2013, 10:23 AM)
i lost my wise card yesterday. i call to cancel the card. they say will penalty rm50, how can i waive this rm 50?

normally, when i can get the card? i ask them send to HL branchs.
Aiyo, what happened? Awfully sorry to know that. Misplaced the card or was stolen? If I'm not mistaken, there is a HLB branch in Mukah, am I correct? So, at least you don't need to travel all the way to Sibu to collect your replacement card.
HJebat
post Aug 12 2013, 01:08 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Aug 12 2013, 08:56 AM)
thanks for your advice eddievh. i will do also if i lost the card again. this month, i think i cant do 10 transition to get 10 percent rebate. nw only can use my ocbc and amex.

Hjebat, sibu open a new kedai 1 malaysia, it under grocery i check alr. i think they also accept amex but i didnt use it yet.
Wow, you have so many CB CC drool.gif

Would like to know, for your Wise + OCBC Ti + AMEX, do you change your statement date to have:
(1) due date falls at month end just after your payday to make full payment?

or

(2) move due date based on available cash rebates round the month to max up the cash back for each card?
HJebat
post Aug 14 2013, 03:29 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Aug 13 2013, 07:39 AM)
All my cards (Wise,MB2Kard,OCBC Ti,Watami,etc) due at month end to optimize my cash flow.
Though a bit inconvenient to calculate monthly expense and monthly CB according to calendar month, but I figured the cash flow outweigh the convenience. Just keep in spreadsheet to monitor CB utilized. I am tracking all my transactions anyway. icon_rolleyes.gif
It does make sense to me.

But what do you mean by cash flow outweigh the convenience?

Cash flow = nett income?

Meaning that you prefer the flexibility to manoeuvre your nett income rather than put it in the SA to pay for your CC?
HJebat
post Aug 14 2013, 10:16 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Aug 14 2013, 04:42 PM)
This is crazy...I went to three branches of HL and experienced unsatisfied services.
I've obtained the credit card application form and it's so thick!! May I ask if the normal way of applying is through branches? Is that how you guys did yours?

Do you know whether there's any free gift that they can give for new application? I wanna wait for roadshows but no idea when there would be one.
How thick is your "thick"?

Last week, I went to a HLB branch to apply for Wise CC & the application form only consists of 2 A4 paper with 4 pages of infos & details.

On my application form, top left side, stated it is version 009 (January 2013). How about yours?

HJebat
post Aug 16 2013, 08:53 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Aug 14 2013, 10:37 PM)
Mine seems to be the same one as yours, but it's 6 pages of application form and additional 8 pages of infos.
This is thick to me because I didn't have to fill in so many things compared with OCBC, Citibank, SC.

Did you get any gift with your application? =) And have you heard from them on your status yet?

Thanks!
Nope, no gift at all & no new info yet regarding my application.

Do you know your application status?
HJebat
post Sep 3 2013, 07:41 PM

1,035 posts

pinksapphire Applied this card in the early month of August. Yesterday checked with CS, my application status was "cancelled" grumble.gif How about yours?
HJebat
post Oct 22 2013, 09:38 PM

1,035 posts

jkngo2003 Do you earn 10% cash back when you use wise cc on the upper floor (departmental store) of ngiu kee & everrise? (I'm assuming that you have opted groceries as one of your cash back category).
HJebat
post Oct 25 2013, 08:36 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Oct 23 2013, 02:05 PM)
take care on the departmental store. sorry, i never go to departmental store at supermarket like ngiu kee & everrise. normally i go parkson and sibu priemer for departmental store and use maybank amex to pay it. it will be entitled 5 percent and 5x point.

dont choose departmental store category, i use at medan mall supermarket departmental store once and it didnt get rebate under groccery. i call cs and it mention it is under departmental store. even i choose departmental store category, it oso no use. departmental store category onli for big company like jusco , parkson and so on, not rebate according merchant code.

So, wise person use the wise card. in sarawak, the best category is petrol and groccery plus mobile. you can buy at any supermarket which accept credit card, pump petrol at automated petrol pump to get rebate. for mobile, i use digi line, i pay bill and reload my prepaid line at digi website before and get 10 percent rebate. if you buy the phone at digi website, u will get 10 percent rebate oso.

hope this info can help all sarawakian.
Nope, I didn't choose departmental. Instead, mine are petrol & groceries icon_rolleyes.gif Was just curious if I swipe at the upper floor of ngiu kee & medan mall's everrise will be entitled for the cash back or not. So, now I know...thanks for the reply rclxms.gif
HJebat
post Nov 11 2013, 08:05 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 11 2013, 12:54 PM)
The disadvantages of dining category are:

Other CC get better discount than 10%
Some outlets MCC code may not entitle to CB and you can only find out in your next statement.
Must "eat" at least RM50 if you haven't qualify 10x >RM50 in a calender month. ( your makan buddy sure happy liao)
Too many dining bills larger than RM100 each bill also disadvantage to you as it will reduced the 10% CB effective rate.

Anyway, since you don't do grocery, otherwise grocery category actually covers pharmacy and mobile prepaid too.
Can you explain further on the red statement? I can't comprehend that part.
HJebat
post Nov 12 2013, 09:29 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 12 2013, 12:25 AM)
Say you have 4 dining bills at rm250 each ( total spent already rm1000), but you still need to fulfill the balance 6 x > rm50 in order to qualify for CB. So your total spent for the calendar month is rm1300 but the CB max at rm100. In this case, your CB is 7.69%
Aikkkss, never thought of that. Thanks for pointing it out. So to fully utilize the 10% CB, the most practical way is to spend exactly RM1000 per calendar month. Only 2 ways to achieve that, either spend RM100 x 10 or RM50 x 10 + misc payment to make up to RM1000 spending, am I correct?
HJebat
post Nov 13 2013, 07:43 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 12 2013, 11:04 AM)
This is how HLB trap the card members and reduce the effective CB pay out %.  The only way to achieve 10% rebate is to spend rm1k spread to more then 10 transactions in the selected category. But how many of us can do that ? Only LYN WISE card thread forumers can.  Not all card members bother to calculate the actual effective CB and think HLB giving 10% is 'true' 10% and may not be sustainable.

On average, it should be far less than 10% due to non fulfillment of 10 x >Rm50 condition and card member spend more than rm1k.
Notes taken. Thanks. Now I need to reevaluate my spending pattern. Just wondering, were you able to maximise your 10% CB every month? After you max out your WISE, what CC is next in line for you to earn more CB?
HJebat
post Nov 14 2013, 10:51 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 13 2013, 09:30 AM)
No problem maxing out the CB with the current inflation rate in Malaysia. sad.gif
Next in line is Mbb Amex @ 5%+2% then Citibank CB Plat @ 5% or 2% then OCBC Ti @ 1%.
I've recalculated my spendings & figured out that the best option for me is to swipe RM50 x 10 times first. Then, dump all other eligible transactions to make it RM1k transaction amount per month. Sometimes can't get exactly 10% CB, but still close enough to my liking. Thanks for your fedbacks... rclxms.gif
HJebat
post Nov 16 2013, 12:58 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 12 2013, 11:21 AM)
You can actually achieve >10% net by spending less than RM1000 and get RM100 cash back.
This is because HLB uses round up to the nearest RM, and breakdown per category chosen
Eg.
Mobile Bill : RM205 (gets RM21 cash back)
Petrol Bill : RM505 (gets RM51  cash back)
Grocery Bill : RM275 (gets RM28 cash back)
Total Spend : RM985, Cash Back received : RM100
Nett Cashback = 10.15%
Sorry for the late response. I reexamined my expenses based on some pointers posted by aeiou228, then came back for your post. You have posted very useful info too, which I need some time to grasp & ascertain.

From my previous transactions & based on your example, I'm confident that I can control my mobile & grocery bills to spend less than RM1k but achieve 10% CB. However, the petrol bill is a bit difficult to deal with. Happened to me more than once, the self service card terminal/petrol pump is out of service. So, no choice but to swipe card at the counter. Really messed up my minimum 10 swipes doh.gif

I've learned something new from you, thanks! From now on, have to keep track on the amount that I swipe to exploit & maximise "profit".

Wise spending! icon_rolleyes.gif

HJebat
post Nov 16 2013, 09:13 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Nov 16 2013, 09:37 AM)
Yes, getting >10% effective return is very possible. I achieved 10.09% in Sept; 10.05% in Oct (projected), aiming for 10.15% in Nov.  tongue.gif
All other months I got between 9.91% to 10.00% effective returns.
But, you got to know what, when, how much you are using this card to max out the benefits.
As pointed out by ronnie, 10.15% would be the highest effective return.
I noticed from my transactions that the easiest way to achieve 10% CB is to make sure that my expenses do not exceed RM1K per month. Not possible to hit exactly RM1k & gain 10%, unless the swipes are RM100 x 10.

Next time must have an eye on detail & implement the strategy to exceed 10% CB flex.gif

tbheng, ronnie, aeiou228 Was wondering, if it is possible to share how you guys keep track on your spending...coz I'm pretty sure that you guys possess more than 1 CC. May I learn how you guys set up record keeping and filing systems? If it's not convenient to post here publicly, can just give rough examples or tips? I can figure out the rest myself.

HJebat
post Nov 18 2013, 08:26 PM

1,035 posts

guy3288 aeiou228 tbheng

Thanks guys! Appreciate it nod.gif

0.0741sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:22 AM