QUOTE(summerdazed @ Nov 26 2014, 09:19 PM)
Hi all sifus,
Good day to you all! I want to apply joint home loan with hubby, details as follows:
Double storey house, first property, under construction, RM293,800.
Combined net salary is RM5,500 per month, after epf, pcb, socso.
Loan commitment is RM514 per month (one car).
I have savings and credit card in MBB, savings and FD in PBB, salary goes into RHB but I will transfer to MBB/PBB every month.
I have never defaulted in car or credit card payment.
Only problem is, we were overseas last year (only came back this year), so 2013 EA form no money one.
Which bank can get the best interest rate based on this? I only want flexi loan. Any bankers can help are very welcome to PM or reply me here.
Also, is it true that developer panel bankers will give less competitive interest rates? My developer bankers are MBB, PBB, HLBB, RHB.
And my friends told me that for home loan, should take as long as possible, and then pay as much as possible to reduce interest. This is actually flexi loan, right?
Thank you so much!

Hello, I am Faiz Azmi, a mortgage broker. My services are free, I get my commissions from the banks. I have
MBB, OCBC,
HLBB, AMBank, and Alliance under my wing.
1. I have calculated your maximum loan amount in the chart below. Please take a look
2. Savings are fine, but without generating too much interest we will overlook them unless the case is very marginal, but based on the information you gave me, it seems like you are in a good financial state and shouldnt have any trouble applying for the loan.
3. Good to know that you are a good paymaster.
4. It's fine, not all banks require EF forms, for most, the 3 months payslip backed by tallying bank statement should do
5. Bank interest rates would depend on your credit profile and I would only know once you get your letter offers.
6. Not necessarily. If this is an under-construction project I also recommend that you go for developer banks (not necessarily their bankers, just the banks) since by going with these listed banks you can enjoy the benefits like free legals fees and everything else that may not be extended to non-developer banks.
Note that I mentioned banks and not bankers/brokers. That means it is fine if you go for the banker/brokers other than the ones that the developer may have referred to you
7. Yes, for housing loans, since it is based on reducing balance and the interest is calculated based on a daily basis, it is imperative that you take it for as long as possible. However when ever you have extra cash you could dump it into the housing loan account and enjoy savings EQUAL to the interest the bank is charging you.
For example, you have a housing loan balance of RM400k, your interest for that month is calculated based on RM400k. This year you get a bonus for RM50k, and decide to dump it onto your housing loan account. Your current housing loan balance is now RM350k, and your interest for that month is calculated based on RM350k!
Let me know if you need further clarifications!
This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Nov 27 2014, 12:27 PM