yeah they're making quite some noise in the support forum..maybe we should do it here too to pressure WD??
because some of the ppl contend that the reason why WD sorta keeping mum about this is because not many ppl are complaining, either they dun realize the problem or simply not bothered. and obvoiusly it'd be bad PR for WD if they have to recall hundreds if not thousands of defective harddisks plagued with the socalled firmware bug. so now WD is telling ppl (including me) that 'our team is working on the issue bla bla' but didnt give any possible solutions nor the ETA.
so if your temp reading is always anywhere in the high 50s and 60s, u oughta make noise because the max operational temp for hard disks is 55 degrees, thats what i recall but u can simply check on the WD site. seems that hard disks are really sensitive to heat, so if indeed your harddisk is really running at 60, be prepared for armageddon!
mine's reading 60 on average, but didnt feel that hot. WD will tell u "as long as it doenst feel too hot to the touch, it should be alright, just run the few diagnostic tests and if everything OK u have no problem". i think thats bollocks, a faulty temp reading IS a problem!!
i cant foresee any possible solution save for RMA-ing it, as WD is not known to release firmware updates on their harddisk, regardless of whether its even possible to fix the problem with a firmware update. then again, i read somewhere that someone still had the same problem even after RMA-ing the harddisk. yeah, a big WTF.
no more WD for me in future...in the mean time im hoping and praying my current WD dun die and fry on me...
Case cooling help, n00b needs some suggestions
May 10 2006, 04:27 PM

0.0112sec
5 queries