TScalvinator
post Apr 13 2006, 04:59 PM, updated 20y ago

313 posts

Cooling sifoos....pls help...

Ive just got my new system housed in a Centurion 5...quited pleased with it except for the relatively warm temperatures on stock cooling. The amd 3200 cpu is kinda ok, idling/loading at 38/44 like that...which i suppose is acceptable. BUT:

1) the 7900gt idles at 54, and can go up to 75 when playing oblivion or doing 3dmark05. i think this is hotter than many ppl would like it...
2) got 2 HDDs, according to smartfan, HDD#1 a 200gb sata is usually at 60(!), with the little fire icon next to it haha (whereas HDD#2 120gb pata normally at 30)

should i be worried with either 1) or 2)?

im looking to improve the airflow in the case as cheap as possible, will replacing the stock 8cm intake and 12cm exhaust fans improve the temps? or shall i add more/better fans in the case? i think the cabling kinda sucky too...might do something about it.

how about hard disk cooler..i saw one here selling for 7 bux, will this work?

if a pic of my case helps i will post it tonite...thx for any help!!
TScalvinator
post Apr 13 2006, 06:05 PM

313 posts

no one can help ah...
ikan_semilang
post Apr 13 2006, 06:09 PM

4,504 posts

I have casing like yours. Still using Coolermaster fan 120mm and 80mm. I'm also using WD 200GB sata2 but temp below 40c. I don't know why yours have been 60c. For 7900GT i think u must replace stock cooler with any cooler at market like Zalman. Just my humble opinion. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ikan_semilang: Apr 13 2006, 06:10 PM
ikan_semilang
post Apr 13 2006, 06:14 PM

4,504 posts

Here some screenshot from soft Everest. Currently replace my WD 200GB sata to Seagate 120GB and Samsung Spinpoint 40GB. Look at temp when using case Centurion 5. tongue.gif

TScalvinator
post Apr 13 2006, 06:54 PM

313 posts

man im jeles...makes me wonder whether im living in the sahara or not. come to think of it, my room temperature kinda hot...really cant tahan spending time in the room during the day, cos i'll sweat like mad and stuffy also. but at nite, its ok...but since i spend most of my time at nite, kinda makes me wonder too about the case temp...

got a question, u have both your HDD directly next to each other in the 3.5 bays? i got mine separated, cos i thought it'd be cooler. the 8cm fan, like no power only.

could it be a defective thermal sensor on the HDD?? maybe i'll take it out and see if the temp changes...

PeowYong
post Apr 13 2006, 07:02 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

try opening ur side panel and blow ur hardisk with table fan and see if the temp drop or not....
if the temp didnt change means the temp sensor have problem...
and try to touch ur hardisk and see if its burning ur hand or not....
Mavik
post Apr 13 2006, 07:09 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I think those cheap HDD coolers really do the job well. Even though it has small fans but it does push away the hot air away from the HDD. At least some sort of cooling is better than no cooling right?
TScalvinator
post Apr 13 2006, 08:26 PM

313 posts

thx for the tips..i'll go home later and take it out cos i read somewhere 60 is kinda high for HDD...dun want no corrupted/fried HDD haha. if got chance, i'll post up the case pic, let u all kutuk abit lol

oi mavik...long time no see. u got experience with those hdd cooler before? kinda hard to believe they're so cheap, sure got catch wan!?
2uk3y
post Apr 13 2006, 09:36 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

for me u must take care of ur hdd coz its to hot la..... sweat.gif
for normal temp i think around 30-40c........ wink.gif
about the gc, i think its normal coz u r using air cooling right....
so normal if 75c full load...... if reach 100+ then u can worry about it....... sweat.gif
that my experience lor..... icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSHaM7
post May 3 2006, 07:52 PM

Team Eclipse = Geng Team!!
39 posts

use cooler master uv silent 120 mm it will be oh right
shumaky
post May 4 2006, 08:46 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

How do you check temps on the HDD..? If thru a proggie, but dont have a physical sensor to actually sense the heat then its false reading right..?
Whats the cheapest solution for Temp readings, be it HDD or case area.?
mADmAN
post May 4 2006, 10:21 AM

10,530 posts

@shumaky
u can download speedfan.... it has hdd temp monitors provided ur hdd supports it.... otherwise u can just use an external temp sensor. allngap used to sell them...u can try pm him and see if he still has anymore
Mavik
post May 4 2006, 01:11 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I think there is a bulk order for Cooler Master Cooldrive 3 and 4. You might want to get a couple from moderno.

lichyetan
post May 4 2006, 02:35 PM

2,295 posts

i think the wd hdd is temp sensor problem, mine almost same, 58 idle, but i ask wd tech support, after i run their diaganostic program and pass all test, they told me it's a temp sensor problem, i touch my hdd after use and it is just warm, not like very hot, so i think it's ok, not too hot...
shumaky
post May 4 2006, 03:07 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

^Aight all.. will try the speedfan thingy..
Cooldrive 3 or 7.. maybe get it next month.. now kinda dry
neoxz
post May 6 2006, 01:55 AM

1,098 posts

There is no need to another cooler as the hdd is defective, if not mistaken. The temp sensors are off by 20 degres celcius. U can refer here at the WDC forum.

http://websupport.wdc.com/forum/topic.asp?...003&whichpage=8
TScalvinator
post May 10 2006, 01:53 PM

313 posts

yeah i actually posted in that forum quite some time ago...forgotten to follow up. but thx anyway.

my WD sata is actually noticeably warmer than the other WD pata...which can probably be confirmed in speedfan after offsetting 20 degrees from the sata considering the firmware bug...

but can anyone confirm sata normally runs hotter than pata?
j05h
post May 10 2006, 02:23 PM

340 posts

Get a iCage, or stick a fan in the 5 1/4" bay like I did.

The 5 1/4" bay intake 120mm fan, the 9500 and the extraction 120mm fan all line up nicely, so there's cool air going straight through the case. Most of the cables are hidden behind the mobo tray, so airflow is not impeded. All fans running at 80% of max, though, according to the BIOS. Noise is not an issue, cos my old aircon drowns out anything else...

My room's usually airconditioned to around 24C, my CPU's idling at about 24ish degrees, the case interior about 32C. That's what the Abit motherboard diagnostic tool's telling me.

The nVidia properties page said my 7900gt was idling at 45C on stock cooling, but now it's 35ish with the VF700CU.

I'll get some new pics later when I get home.
sniper on the roof
post May 10 2006, 02:40 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(calvinator @ May 10 2006, 01:53 PM)
yeah i actually posted in that forum quite some time ago...forgotten to follow up. but thx anyway.

my WD sata is actually noticeably warmer than the other WD pata...which can probably be confirmed in speedfan after offsetting 20 degrees from the sata considering the firmware bug...

but can anyone confirm sata normally runs hotter than pata?
I measured and compared the skin temps between:

WD 200GB PATA
Hitachi 160GB PATA
2 different batch of WD2500KS ( reported 42C and 60C respectively)

Temps are within a couple degrees only between the models.
shumaky
post May 10 2006, 03:49 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Got my cooldrive 3 oredi.. looks like my WD200GB Sata is faulty firmware.. its still saying temp at 56deg.

0.0379sec    1.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:16 PM