Proton Prevé V18, more and more on da roads!
sanadi
Aug 17 2013, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 17 2013, 09:43 AM) Yes, I agree. Those who don't want to look at Proton and keep bashing Proton are a bunch of losers. The Preve Turbo offers so much more in terms of performance and driving dynamics. Quite a comfortable car with good stability on the highways. At RM70k+/- it is worth it compared to overpriced Vios, City and the new Kia Cerato model. It may not be as fuel efficient as Vios or Almera but that is the trait of more powerful and solid cars that emphasize on safety with a heavy body and firm doors. Handling is satisfactory whilst suspension is good. Only minor complaint is engine, CVT and road noise but it's not that serious. Most of them have only owned Proton, Perodua or 2nd hand 90's Japs. They have no point of reference for current non national cars. Those who own current non national cars know that for 70K what you get in the Preve is value for money. If I am not mistaken, you yourself also own Slyphy 2.0 right. Preve is good, just not as refined as current C-segment Japs. But it is value for money.
sanadi
Aug 19 2013, 12:52 AM
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Aug 19 2013, 12:12 AM) Is CVT really so sensitive? Like manual and conventional AT, it is fine with abuses. Throttle all you want. Stock, just throttle all you want. But with RaceChip you increase torque from 205NM to 242NM. That's ALOT. Almost 2.5L level of torque. For reference, Accord 2.4 has 222NM or torque. Just like a manual, AT or CVT, they are all designed for a specific output. CVT in Preve is designed until 215NM. That's why RaceChipping may cause premature wear on the CVT. Just like in 1.6L AT. You increase then engine power and torque to 2.5L level the gearbox to will not take it.
sanadi
Aug 22 2013, 07:58 AM
QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 22 2013, 07:50 AM) For those driving Preve Turbo, when going downhill a steep slope, do you realise that the car's rpm will shoot up high up to 3,000rpm as if the engine braking is automatically applied? I experienced this several times on a relatively steep slope on an overhead bridge. If doing downhill Genting Highlands, I guess we will need to switch to manual mode and use the Paddle shifters to change gear instead, as I suppose the car will go into high rpm and move relatively slowly on the steep slope. I am guessing the car will stick to the 2nd or 3rd gear when going down a steep slope in Automatic, unwilling to engage into higher gears thus causing the car to move slowly down the slope at high rpm. Not a very fuel efficient way of driving. Yes it is engine braking. No, it actually is FUEL EFFICIENT doing that. Above certain RPM, usually 1000 RPM, no load, no throttle input, the ECU will cut fuel injection into the engine. Therefore in the above downhill case, even at 3000 RPM, no fuel is being fed into the cylinders. This is also know as Decel Fuel Cut-Off. All electronic fuel injected engine has this feature since at least the 90s. To cancel this feature, either use manual mode of press the throttle slightly. That way the ECU detects throttle input (3% instead of 0%) and cancel engine braking. For further explanation, browse to 1st Post, Page 1 in this thread, CVT Section.
sanadi
Aug 22 2013, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 22 2013, 08:03 AM) I just heard somewhere in others forum, they will comeout with a launch of proton preve r3 as well as new preve. new preve will comeout with all features that comes with suprima s (like a new fog light design, honeycomb radiator grill, radio unit). That is why now they have offer up to 6k for old batch of preve. Not sure when it will comeout New Year 2014 Sales? My guess is around Nov or Dec.
sanadi
Aug 26 2013, 09:26 PM
I've personally tested this in Preve HU: * can play MP3, WMA in thumb drives * can play playlist, and manually select songs in playlist (.m3u) * can stream bluetooth audio from smartphones. On my Samsung S Advance (Android 4.X) I can pause, play next, play previous, mute the music in my smartphone using the steering controls
sanadi
Aug 27 2013, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(skindred @ Aug 27 2013, 01:57 AM) Noted on the USB . This one plug through the USB port below at beside the 12v socket area, right? I was hoping mp3 CD files can be played, through USB / bluetooth, audio quality sure drop. No, I was trying through a mp3 CD. Will try through a thumbdrive with mp3 in it. I've been thinking, may be the MP3 CD needs to be: * single session * finalized (in Windows, untick the option where "Allow files to be added later" or something like that. Why not try it?
sanadi
Sep 3 2013, 11:22 PM
If you use a smartphone with a somewhat cheap data plan, install TuneIn radio, and stream via Aux cable or bluetooth to Preve HU. Good sound quality, and you get worldwide coverage or radio.
For me, I only listen to LiteFM and the reception seems good enough. The rest, MixFM etc don't sound so good.
This post has been edited by sanadi: Sep 3 2013, 11:22 PM
sanadi
Sep 8 2013, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(jnjstreet @ Sep 8 2013, 10:28 AM) Gotten my preve CFE last week, wish to check with all sifus here if the follows scenario are normal? - need to press the remote key 2 times to the key slot, only it will clicks. - when the front light turned on, either auto or manually, the brightness of the HU will reduce? TQVM. You need to press only once. Why yours need to click 2 times? I think I know. To take out the key, you need to *press* the key, not pull it. It is like SD card in your camera. Press to insert, and press again to pop out the card. About the brightness, yes. There are 3 settings, AUTO, DAY and NIGHT. Yours is in AUTO. To change, press the MOON icon (left of the CD slot). You will switch between the 3 settings.
sanadi
Sep 9 2013, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(vikneswaranc_17 @ Sep 9 2013, 09:11 AM) airbag included in warranty?? how do you test if its working or not? airbag will only deploy in the event of crash with a certain amount of speed which triggers the sensor.. there are alot of people that already using leather seat or PU seats. This is a picture of a deployed side airbag.  If the leather seat installer is inexperienced, the airbag may not deploy properly (not enough inflation, not enough speed, too slow inflation, etc..). That I think is what the SA was talking about. However, nowadays many installers are already well versed with side airbags. Many Euro cars have also changed their leather seats to aftermarket ones. Don't go for the cheapest leather or installer. Good product and service cost money. There's no point saving RM300 for a cheaper installer if your side airbag don't work properly when you need it. This post has been edited by sanadi: Sep 9 2013, 09:38 AM
sanadi
Sep 16 2013, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(preveverp @ Sep 16 2013, 01:46 PM) My slip didn't say barrel or container, just says 'Syntiun 800 SM 10w/40 - 4L' .. So I'm guessing it's 4Litres container. But I didn't get back my remainder, so I have no idea whether it was really changed. He didn't really ask me about the magnetrap, but he didn't force it either. Its ok, I'll let that slip for now.. Will see if they try to sell it again next time. - Anyone have any experience with jalan227 branch? Will it be better than Seksyen 13 or same? Preve (CFE) uses 4L of oil if you changed the filter too. I watched them (not at Sec 13 though) change the oil and poured all the contents of bottle. I checked the dip stick and it barely touches the max level.
sanadi
Sep 24 2013, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 24 2013, 09:23 PM) What is the best android based HU can install in Preve? Can find a similar unit like the new HU unit used in VW polo sedan? This perhaps: http://www.lowyat.net/2013/09/12/12682/cla...d-availability/well known brand, therefore you know after sales service will be good
sanadi
Sep 24 2013, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 24 2013, 09:44 PM) Thanks. Has anyone tried this clarion? From the website, it seems like this clarion is a closed unit. Cannot install waze/google maps/ I've been in the new VW polo sedan. The car has a better android system which allows you to use google play store. Also allows you to install any apps. Any ideas which one it is? It is still for "pre-order". Don't think it is available in retail outlets yet. Looking at current android head units, I think I'd pass. They have potential, but not yet a matured product. For me, the Preve head unit suits me enough for a while. The only thing I don't like about it is the GPS using outdated map. In 1 to 3 years, the Android head unit will have better processors, better UI and better features, I'll upgrade. Android head unit is on my list of things to do, just not yet.
sanadi
Sep 28 2013, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(duke_of_doom @ Sep 28 2013, 11:56 AM) My Preve is not even 1 week old but oredi starts making sounds (like crick crick crick...) when driving over uneven roads. Is that common? Noob here. From the rear of the car? Check that you seats are firmly latched. They can be folded down. When you fold them back up, check that the seats are securely latched.