Proton PrevĂ© V18, more and more on da roads!

ropaisoft
post May 24 2013, 07:06 AM

QUOTE(hbgoh57 @ May 23 2013, 10:06 PM)
So moral of the story if want to speed go above 180 brows.gif
at least if kena summon, it's worth it tongue.gif
ropaisoft
post May 24 2013, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(gkl83 @ May 24 2013, 10:00 AM)
possible to override the gear shifting fr gear 5 and manual paddle shift to gear 7 for fuel saving mode during high speed? Thought preve have 7 speed...
he said UPHILL in gear 5 at 110kmh, read the post again.
ropaisoft
post May 25 2013, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(gkl83 @ May 25 2013, 02:01 PM)
erm... CFE no able to deliver power to 6-7th gear?
so u means that in real facts the CVT wont shift to 6-7th gear at all?
i think you need to read more on CVT.
Flat road with light throttle can already reach 7th gear at around 70kmh.
keep in mind that the 7th "gear" is simulated when using manual mode, CVT has variable ratios.
when in D-mode it's always adjusting the "gears" based on load and speed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCEvBGT8twM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kNtFu9kbEY

This post has been edited by ropaisoft: May 25 2013, 05:19 PM
ropaisoft
post May 29 2013, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(diadokmai @ May 29 2013, 09:04 PM)
look what they have done changes to my car.haha

[attachmentid=3462240]

i feel no confident with that clip..after i arrive at my home and i wait about 3 hours to make the engine cool, i see still abit of green liquid came out..aiya..hard laa like this.

plus i just ask them about the rusty part on that turbo thingy

[attachmentid=3462246]

he claim it normal, just like the brake disc? u all CFE guys same like me? haha
it normal rite.. sad.gif
found this: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2294865
ropaisoft
post Jun 5 2013, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Jun 5 2013, 12:00 PM)
i suspecting the wood like material dashboard that produce the noise.

[attachmentid=3472286]

why not design like inspira..the wood like material come in one piece, less noise...my preve got many clicking panel noise too sad.gif

[attachmentid=3472284]
look carefully at the inspira pic, beside the aircond vents.
also got split line there... similar design.
ropaisoft
post Jun 7 2013, 10:34 PM

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Jun 6 2013, 06:58 AM)
ya ha. it is true..but that splitted material at the aricond vent is not like the preve. i mean that is the base cover..
preve use entirely the wood-like cover that possibly the material producing the noise.
simple google search - same issue: Inspira Dashboard Sound

ropaisoft
post Jul 15 2013, 07:48 PM

QUOTE(riezzien @ Jul 15 2013, 03:46 PM)
Planning to sell my saga and getting the CFE.
But looking at the fuel consumption, its demotivating. and just learned that the gross weight of the car is a heavy 1665kg. @_@"
If only proton could reduce to 1300 ish,sure the FC will improve by lot.
If only proton cars is sold more throughout the world ..zzz
which C-segment sedan has a GROSS weight of 1300kg?
people normally look at kerb weight, which for Preve CFE is 1340 kg.

http://www.livelifedrive.com/malaysia/news...-segment-rivals

gross weight = car + maximum load.

This post has been edited by ropaisoft: Jul 15 2013, 07:49 PM
ropaisoft
post Jul 17 2013, 08:30 PM

QUOTE(putera7 @ Jul 17 2013, 09:30 AM)
rm7k discount? does this cfe comes with bodykit.. im looking for that version.

Just wondering why centre lock button is not place at driver side window? so worried the kids with play around with it.

Any impact if cfe using iridium spark plugs?
- kids shouldn't sit in front
- CFE is already using NGK iridium spark plugs

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Jul 17 2013, 07:52 PM)
Preve isn't a sporty car unlike Civic, it's more like Altis. I think 17" is just nice.
- only civic 2.0 uses 17", altis 2.0 use 16", lancer GT 18"
ropaisoft
post Jul 19 2013, 06:55 PM

QUOTE(putera7 @ Jul 19 2013, 11:04 AM)
its true easy for rear passenger, but at least put it under ESC button. thats ok..easy to look if any child try to main2.....

hmm and i suppose to give my car tomrrow (sold to used car) and booking cfe model.. sweat.gif
still don't understand why you want to put children in the front passenger seat.
put them in the back, with child lock ON, and seatbelts ON.
ropaisoft
post Jul 23 2013, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(Gigabit @ Jul 22 2013, 02:43 PM)
This response should come from EA Autoworks....we cannot comment on the claim made.
i thought drexchan is the owner of EA?
ropaisoft
post Aug 5 2013, 11:43 AM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 5 2013, 07:53 AM)
Hi there,

SOrry, Not too sure what is the feeling of "reverse thrust" during low gear. I presume the car does a short distance acceleration and not a gliding type of acceleration to cover a longer distance when you mention "reverse thrust"?

Right now, when accelerating from idle, all I can say is the acceleration is very powerful. Just a small light step on the accelerator and the car lunges/jumps forward as if it wants to go into racing mode. Unlike the Nissan Almera that I tested which the car doesn't seem to want to move forward even when I exert moderate force on the pedal. Such opposite character.
i think by "reverse thrust" he means engine braking.
going downhill will activate this at low speed.

that "too powerful" feeling might be the CVT clutch, can be jerky in traffic jam.
get SC to check on 1st service - ECU/TCU/clutch adaptation.
ropaisoft
post Aug 14 2013, 08:32 PM

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Aug 14 2013, 07:10 PM)
Err... Suprima S interior... I don't dig it, I still prefer Preve's interior, it looks more classy compared to the sporty interior of Suprima.
DAT NAME... "SUB-PRIME" doh.gif
ropaisoft
post Aug 17 2013, 09:21 PM

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Aug 17 2013, 05:16 PM)
suprima s actually should name as preve s...

look alike ma. only rear is different.
why not done like ford fiesta and ford fiesta s.
Gen2 and Persona. Wira and Satria.
ropaisoft
post Sep 11 2013, 09:17 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Sep 11 2013, 07:47 AM)
Yes, the Preve Turbo truly represents value for money at RM69k. If it comes with soft leather seats and a less noisier Turbo engine/better soundproofing at critical areas, to me it is unbeatable in its class up to RM100k sedan category. Anyway for the price, there is not much you can complain. Certainly value for money.

I have owned the Nissan Sylphy 2.0(RM115k+) for nearly 6 years(just sold off recently) and a Ford Focus Titanium on the way. The Preve Turbo's ride and handling are better than the Nissan Sylphy - the vehicle is more firm and stable, and the steering isn't as light as the Sylphy. Performance on the highways and especially taking sharp corners, the Preve Turbo is more stable. The areas where the Preve Turbo lost to the Nissan Sylphy is in comfort levels - the latter is much quieter(mainly quiet engine) in all driving conditions and more comfortable in having thick and plush leather seats. Comfort-wise the Nissan is king, but in areas of driving dynamics, the Preve Turbo has the advantage. In the end it depends on what the person is looking for in a vehicle.

I've just had a short test driving session of the Ford Focus, and in my mind as good as the driving dynamics of the Preve Turbo gets, the steering feel and handling of the Ford Focus are a notch higher. More precise steering feedback and firmer but still comfortable suspension setup of the Focus.

Bottomline, in my mind the Preve Turbo competes very well with vehicles up to RM100k in areas of handling and driving dynamics. It usually loses out slightly in areas of refinement in the (slightly) noisier Turbo engine and less comfortable fabric seats. However, it gives much more in areas of performance, features and safety. Really solid car. When you shut the doors you just feel a solid thud and firmness to the vehicle. You try closing the doors of an Almera or Vios. You feel a certain lightness, a feel of vulnerability(sorry for the lack of better term). The heavier weight of the car contributes to higher fuel consumption, but that is what that is expected from "better" cars. In summary, the strengths outweight the weaknesses.

I would definitely take the Preve Turbo over the bread and butter models in the similar (or higher) price range if FC is not an issue - Toyota Vios, Honda City etc. I am not a fan of Korean cars, and to me, the Preve Turbo represents much greater value than the Kia Cerato too.
FYI, Preve is not that heavy. it's on par with the rest of the C-segment.
it FEELS heavy due to clutch+CVT setup+drive by wire lag+turbo lag.

Ford Focus has torque vectoring, look it up.
Suspension design of Preve is quite similar to Focus.
ropaisoft
post Sep 16 2013, 10:40 AM

QUOTE(preveverp @ Sep 15 2013, 10:44 PM)
Anybody did their servicing at Proton Seksyen 13 before?

I got a feeling i may have been cheated.

Do you get back the remaining engine oil container after your service at Seksyen 13?

I did my first service there. The person in charge 'Zul'  tried to bluff me by saying it is a MUST to buy the 'magnetrap' product for the oil filter for 1st service. I declined. He did not seem happy.

I told him about my car problems. He said will check.

Here's the thing.. I forgot to mark my oil filter before sending it in. When I got back my car he said everything was checked n done. (Later I check those parts, some not even adjusted, they just tell me it's adjusted.)

I did not not get back my remaining engine oil container.

1week later now I check my engine oil, it is already starting to turn brown-ish ..

Should I be concerned that they did not even change my engine oil and oil filter? How do I even know if they did not change anything? Maybe this brownish oil is actually my old oil? New oil shouldn't turn light brown so fast, right?

I'm just worried, as I know engine may have metal pieces after run in , and engine oil needs to be changed in 1st service to clear those pieces.. If they did not change, and my engine keeps running with this old engine oil until 10,000km??? Sure have problem right? Really regret going there. Should have gone to jln227 branch instead.
large SC normally use oil from barrels.
ropaisoft
post Sep 22 2013, 12:49 PM

QUOTE(GGSC27 @ Sep 22 2013, 11:55 AM)
how much does it cost for a battery? is just 3month old plus i can start my car like normal now..
if 3 months old go claim warranty at SC.

0.0511sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:49 PM