Proton PrevĂ© V18, more and more on da roads!

allenultra
post May 28 2013, 10:04 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(edwinkbs @ May 28 2013, 12:23 AM)
What about FC? I'm getting like 380km for a full tank of rm85. Need find something to improve my FC already. lol
I'm using 15w40 i think.
My FC?

320km to 340km for RM75 fuel.
Average speed of 24km/h, everywhere in Ipoh is near...
allenultra
post May 29 2013, 09:12 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(fionachin @ May 29 2013, 01:48 AM)
just got my preve executive!  rclxms.gif

question 101 / noob question from a new driver like me  biggrin.gif .

what is the best tyre pressure for preve? SA told me to pump 300 for all 4 tyres (city drive). but i noticed the sticker at the door stated 220. he told me not correct.

all preve sifu, please enlighten me.

Recommended cold tyre pressure is front 32psi, rear 30psi.
Somehow I found 32/30 pretty soft, I usually pump 34/32 or 34/33 instead.

300kpa certainly too much for Preve, u will lose grip when the tyre get too hard. Dangerous especially in raining day
allenultra
post Jun 5 2013, 03:11 PM

9,027 posts

stargate8

just rear side bumper.
allenultra
post Jun 24 2013, 12:05 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(kinkeet @ Jun 23 2013, 10:13 PM)
i read that from the proton edar website that fc for 1.6 executive auto is 5.8L/100km while manual is 6.2L/100km.. isit true? unsure.gif auto cvt saves petrol more than manual..
It might be possible, perhaps as CVT with lower gear ratio at 90km/h (6 gears instead of 5 gears on manual variant)?

Those data obtained by constantly driving the car at 90km/h (perhaps downhill, cannot be uphill), almost none start stop.

To get 7.5l/100km on CFE is already very good, to get near 7l/100km on iafm+ consider as awesome mileage if you ask me.

allenultra
post Jul 11 2013, 11:36 PM

9,027 posts

I'm getting 350km with RM78 fuel. Average speed of 24km/h in Ipoh town.

Preve CFE, fully synthetic 5w30, goodyear f1d5 tyre (lower rolling resistance than bax2)
allenultra
post Aug 7 2013, 10:01 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(Arndt @ Aug 6 2013, 08:49 PM)
the p3-22a reportedly is going to have remapped ecu and tcu and the cvt is allegedly quieter.

anybody knows whether the remap is going to be conveyed to the sedan as well?
Preve hatchback with a revised gearbox, CVT3+, hence the lower CVT noise. Not just the mapping alone.
allenultra
post Aug 7 2013, 10:03 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(Zenfyre @ Aug 6 2013, 11:45 PM)
Erm.. Preve CFE do have a turbo timer installed, so if the turbo is currently hot, especially after driving hard, the turbo intercooler will continue running by itself even though the engine turned off. This is to protect the turbo from premature wear. So not to worry if you hear the intercooler sound coming from front left side. Also you will also feel a draft of hot air blowing from under the car.
Its not the intercooler and also no turbo timer in Preve CFE.

All Campro engine variant are operating in high temperature, thus when the car stop and the engine is not cool enough, the cooling fan motor will continue to operate thill the engine reach below certain temperature.

Intercooler does not have a fan blade on it, it just a cooling fins.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by allenultra: Aug 7 2013, 10:08 AM
allenultra
post Aug 7 2013, 10:04 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(f4hmi88 @ Aug 6 2013, 10:47 PM)
hello..i  bought preve cfe last week..i found that i need to press the start button twice to start the engine..is that normal?

then this morning when i wanted to start the engine, the hazard lights were on..i din press the button at all..!

anyone who have the same prob as mine?or any advise?
Try this way to start the engine.
Insert key, press the push start twice. Press brake, press the push start button for the third time to start the engine.

Its a measurement by Proton Engineer till they come out with a method to fully overcome fault codes in ABCM module.
allenultra
post Aug 7 2013, 10:06 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 7 2013, 10:04 AM)
where u get this news? shit man.. we all became white mice again lol..
Some Proton salesman went for the training and informed us in PREVOC FB wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
allenultra
post Aug 8 2013, 04:45 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(lthium2 @ Aug 7 2013, 06:25 PM)
Just got my Preve this afternoon. noticed it also done the "hazard light blinking" and "wiper wipe once" when the start button being depressed.
Hmm.. wonder it some unsolved bugs in the BCM unit.

Selamat Hari Raya to all Muslim friends.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Is the wiper set to auto wiper? Try off it and try again.
Hazard light blinking, I think if u close all the doors before ignite the engine, there should be no hazard light blinking.
allenultra
post Aug 8 2013, 06:18 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 8 2013, 05:23 PM)
Hi guys,

Rattling sound for a new car which is less than a week old is close to nil, touch wood, though some minor electronics problems whereby the hazard light(both left and right signal lights blink together) sometimes will go on by itself, and the Turbo engine sometimes will still continue running although the Start/Stop button is already pushed and the Smart key taken out from the slot. All these minor anomalies which I think are caused by the electronics of the car can be easily rectified by the service centre. Also, the long piece of plastic at the driver's side where the controls of the winding up and down of windscreen lie is currently a bit loose - hopefully this can be sorted out as well.

The fabric seats are a bit thin and hard if compared to other type of fabric/leather seats offered by other vehicles, but this is a minor issue. Perhaps this is one reason why the Preve can be sold at below RM70k.

My BIGGEST gripe or complaint on the Preve Turbo is on the loudness of the Turbo engine and CVT gear in the cabin. Even when traveling at low speeds of say 80km/h to 110km/h, the low frequency sound of the Turbo engine is quite audible, which spoils the comfort of the ride a bit. The PReve Turbo is not a very quiet car. Perhaps I am used to quieter cars, but anyway I guess this is a trait of vehicles that come with Turbo engines. Either the Turbo engine is not very well designed, or the sound insulation of the car is insufficient or of low quality. I am aware that some vehicles with Turbo engine can still be very quiet. One example is the Volkswagen Jetta which comes with a 1.4-litre Turbo engine. Not exactly a fair comparison though as the Jetta is almost twice the price of the Preve Turbo. One(1) VW Jetta can buy two(2) Proton Preve Turbo.

Anyway, to sum it up, the Preve Turbo still represents good value for money for those on a budget, those who want to use a vehicle to commute to work everyday with high standards of safety and good power and handling. However if comfort and quietness are your priority, I'd suggest you to look elsewhere. The Turbo engine is pretty noisy.
Its not the turbo engine that continue to run, its the cooling fan motor. It will continue to spin if the engine isn't cool enough. Its normal feature on all Campro variant. You just need to get used to it, its NORMAL.

About the engine and gearbox noise, do report back after one or two regular service. It should be quieter.
allenultra
post Aug 8 2013, 06:36 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 8 2013, 06:04 PM)
Thanks. For me, personally I don't believe it doing soundproofing for vehicles, both new or used. Others may have a different viewpoint. When I was young, several years ago I did upgrade my front speakers in the car and did some soundproofing to all the doors. That's it. After thinking about it, I personally feel it is a waste of money. The differences are not tangible. Of course, if one chooses to spend few thousand ringgit to do the soundproofing, then perhaps the improvements will be significant. But then again, I believe it is a matter of one's willingness to spend that amount of money to achieve certain level of quietness in the cabin.

Several reasons. For me it is a waste of money as one day, the vehicle will eventually be sold, and the few thousand $$ will not be recovered. Secondly, The differences in doing the sound insulation may not be as great as one may have expected. I didn't spend a lot of money in my first attempt in soundproofing my old car. Just below RM1k, though I think it has gone to the drain. I don't perceive any improvement in quietness level. And thirdly, in most cases, the door panel, dashboard or other parts of the car will be opened up when doing the soundproofing. In my experience, the more the panels of the car are opened up, the higher the chances of rattlings sound will appear.

Others will have a different viewpoint on this, but for me, I would always prefer to have the vehicle in its original state. Of course, no harm to try soundproofing the Preve Turbo if one truly loves the car and values quietness in the cabin. Although it is highly unlikely that I will soundproof the Preve Turbo, I would be interested to know if anyone has succesfully soundpoofed the car to Lexus levels. If the quietness of the Preve Turbo is close to some of the better Japanese models, I think it would be quite perfect (that if rattling sound does not pop up further down the road).
I'm not here to change your mind but if u do think that soundproof will not have any effect to the audio system, it have to be your have low sensitivity to audio quality.

Help a friend (also Preve) to put the soundproof on the car. Done with the left door before proceed with the right. Ask everyone to go up the car and notice much more better sound quality from the left speaker than the right speaker.

You can access to PrevoC FB and look for Kok Wai Chan. His car did all front doors, floor panel and roof panel. Same like mine.
allenultra
post Aug 9 2013, 12:01 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 8 2013, 07:24 PM)
No problem. I am not denying that soundproofing won't improve the sound effect of an audio system. I am suggesting that the effects may not be as significant or appreciable as one might have expected. FWIW I am not only referring to soundproofing but the upgrade of the speakers too. I upgraded the original stock front speakers to an aftermarket one, and the difference is marginal. The soundproofing did improve the sound quality to a certain extent, mainly in smoother bass response, but the differences to my ears are marginal. The primary purpose of the soundproofing, to me, is to improve the quietness levels of the cabin first and foremost. Improvement of audio quality with soundproofing is of secondary importance. In my case, the soundproofing to the four door panels brought negligible impact to my vehicle, the Nissan Sylphy. Another Sylphy owner also felt the same when he tried the same soundproofing material from the same shop on his car. Perhaps the Sylphy is already quiet in the first place, so the soundproofing exercise did not bring any tangible or appreciable results. With the Preve Turbo the differences may be more perceptible.

One thing that is for sure - I will not be soundproofing the Preve Turbo. On the other hand, I hope the sound of the Turbo engine and CVT will be slightly softer after the 1st 1000km service. Even if it doesn't, I would still live with it for at least 5 years.

Cheers.
On the audio part, tell me what you have upgraded to.
The stock speaker worth RM15 each, so I want to know what have you upgraded to as a comparison.
Bad soundproofing will make the sound even worse.

Preve floor carpet is thin to begin with, so floor panel soundproof will eliminate road noise for sure, also water splashing noise when tyre go over it.

I have a friend who upgraded his stock speaker to a budget 2way component speaker around RM400 and 2nd hand amp, the sound is just better for sure. I had mine upgraded to active setup and I feel the huge different before and after STP soundproof material being done on the front doors.

So if soundproof works? I do think it will, but it have to be done in the correct way. Not all people know how to do it properly.
allenultra
post Aug 9 2013, 12:54 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(edwinkbs @ Aug 9 2013, 12:36 AM)
I also looking for good soundproofing shop. cause some shop make the sound even worst than stock. So far didn't found one yet. Not sure how to do it myself also  sad.gif
I bought the material and do it with the help of my workers during Sunday off day.
As long as you buy the correct material and know what you are doing, you will be amazed with the quality.
allenultra
post Aug 9 2013, 10:27 AM

9,027 posts

A stock PReve CFE, the noise can be from engine, CVT gearbox, tyre, road noise.

Front doors soundproofing (more to vibration damping consisted of 3 layers, [door skin, door frame, door trimboard]) will greatly enhance the audio quality and also reduce road noise.

Engine and gearbox noise, will reduce by a bit after some oil change. Let the engine runs in for a while. Else consider firewall, wheel arch and floor soundproof (I consider this expensive, I only do the floor panel)

In a Preve, to let it get quiet the fastest way will be change the lousy BAX2. It is one of the noisiest type u can get in the market.

Again, a component speaker that worth around RM900 will require an amp to drive it up. The stock HU is pretty useless as it does not come with any built-in amplifier. The upgrade can be quite worthless if you ask me, you dun get the actual performance that you should be hearing at.

This post has been edited by allenultra: Aug 9 2013, 04:25 PM
allenultra
post Aug 9 2013, 04:27 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(diadokmai @ Aug 9 2013, 02:49 PM)
JUST go grap the michelin PS3 or michelin primacy HP. much more comfort. plus the price not much diff than bax2.
top up a bit only. afford to buy a preve why not buy a good ttyre too..
BAX2 RM280 per piece.
Primacy3 ST around RM430 to RM440 per piece
PS3 will be RM500 per piece or more.

You sure just top up a bit?

I would strictly recommend Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5, around RM360 per piece for 205/55/R16.

allenultra
post Aug 13 2013, 09:38 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(sparcov @ Aug 12 2013, 04:21 PM)
I did my 10k service with syntium 1000 at SC.

I also do tyre balancing, alignment and rotation for the first time.

I noticed, after that my steering vibrate after 100km/h, i went again do the balancing, again it also vibrate...why ar?? Is that because of the tyre rotation or because of the tyre inbalance. Everything stock.

Also the SC told me there is a recall on the power window coil spring on driver site. waiting the parts now.

also was told to top up engine treatment for better protection but i refuse.

Can we just order the hood insulation from SC? to reduce the engine noise? will that help? my car does not come with insulation iafm+ CVT
If the steering vibration appear after 100km/h even with good tyre balancing/alignment (rotation doesn't matter, its about evenly out the wear and tear), it most likely have to be uneven wear of the tyre. Try visual inspect the tyre yourself, if the uneven wear is serious, u can easily notice it.

When was the last time you had tyre balancing and wheel alignment?
To get more confirmation, get someone who are good in spotting it out and check for you. Else, snap a photo and upload here.

Hood insulation? Surely you can but I would go for third party sound/heat insulation instead. Cheaper and should be more effective.
Eg, something like this. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2262458&hl=

* I would go for Syntium 3000 is budget allow. Its much better than Syntium 1000 in term of performance.
allenultra
post Aug 13 2013, 09:38 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(wongth7 @ Aug 12 2013, 11:27 PM)
there's a recall on driver side power window coil spring???...different than the previous power window regulator right?..
Yes, you are right. Totally solve all the power window kruk kruk sound.
allenultra
post Aug 13 2013, 04:17 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(sparcov @ Aug 13 2013, 01:18 PM)
Yes, this is my first time do the alignment, balancing and tyre rotation. I have no idea of the petronas oil as it was recommended by the SC. In fact they also did sell Shell helix range oil. I should go for helix ultra instead of syntium but not realize it until I saw there are empty bottles there.

I did twice the balancing. but still vibrate. Is that because of too much air the pump in? I did not check the pressure yet. previously i pump in 32.
Ask for 2nd opinion.
Send to another shop for wheel balancing, see what they comment on your tyre.

I want to know if u have tyre uneven wear issue, if u have, vibration is NORMAL.
allenultra
post Aug 14 2013, 09:48 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(JJTam @ Aug 13 2013, 10:20 PM)
Hi. Guys, any way to make the steering lighter? Like changing to a lightweight rim?
Play with tyre pressure. Do not over deflate or inflate, you may find a sweet spot for yourself

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0504sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:58 PM