Engineering Can females survive in civil engineering?, Studying civil engineering

JohnJon82
post Apr 8 2013, 12:01 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Apr 7 2013, 11:28 PM)
SAFETY CANNOT BE COMPROMISE!

READ the guidelines. " to discharge duties DILIGENTLY ". and dun try to push to God.  thumbup.gif
I know bah. I was curious about the creativity pic mentioned. First feeling is just whack any value to make it pass.

Very hard to find someone so on now. Chop and sign one a lot, like a pure business like that.

Man those diligent value get stronger with age, maybe appreciate meaning of life more when I grow older.
picfantasia
post Apr 8 2013, 12:03 AM

277 posts

BTW. I think I am out of topic. So TS, if you really interest in civil engineering and have passion then enroll into the course. Gender discrimination will have in these traditional jobs. But it is not so serious when you deal with higher education people as they hide them well. When you deal with some layman, then sometimes they tend to scare you with some vulgar words etc. I am not trying to scare you, but this is what happens in the industry. My old classmates also have ladies. Some become a good engineer through hardworking and some give up in the middle. Going to site is unavoidable, but not need to worry as sometimes it could be a great experience too.
subangman
post Apr 8 2013, 12:12 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ Apr 7 2013, 11:38 PM)
- Stringent specification could lead to unnecessary requirements that need to be met.
- Very obvious you are not working in Malaysia consultant. A lot of kiasu engineer out there who will not teach or guide even you ask. Not everyone is lucky. Luckily i am not one of them.
- Very obvious you are not in geotechnical field. And I am saying in geotechnical field. When you are dealing with KL limestone, there are no statistic. This is due to karstic formation of Limestone.
- Just my 0.02. No offence. But almost all consultant feel the same way as I do. The only motivation is passion.
- My profession fee is 5% of the project fees. This is quite standard fees for geotechnical consultant in KL. And my projects are not small scale project. But compare with contractor.....
- As I mentioned, the only motivation is passion... A good engineer should have integrity, this part I agree fully.
aaaAAAAHHHHHH.. Siew Mei ! Let UNKEL enlighten you. I am not here to show stripes.

From the what you wrote you have not seen the global picture rather than just a tiny specialist trade angle.

Time to take on the high seas if you are not happy.

5% from the scope of work is the norm for geotech engineers. What else you expect 2% from the total contract ?!!!

Normally the specialist consultant will envy the lead consultant and the lead will jealous over the main contractor and main contractor will try to be the developer.

Let me enlighten you. Can you stomach what you swallow? Every level have their risk and can you handle the risk?

FYI; I've been working in kampungKUL for near to 20yrs aldiri + overseas.

From a climbing the corporate ladder to partnering a design office; main contractor, designer and contractor.

Completed and commissioned near to MYR 2 Billion worth projects; Mega/Big/Mid and small; Prvt/individual and government; conventional / design & build as well. hmm.gif

At the end of the day ... I still need to work and face the music for any mistake.

I used to tell lots of keyboard warriors .. wan a good pay profession... try politics.

subangman
post Apr 8 2013, 12:16 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ Apr 7 2013, 11:53 PM)
If your fundamental is good, nothing can beat you. Your example is an easy question too. Just check whether the extra moment due to deviation can be taken by the column. Of course, I understand this is just an example. tongue.gif
this is what a typical design engineer will answer not from a site engineer.

picfantasia
post Apr 8 2013, 12:24 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Apr 8 2013, 01:12 AM)
aaaAAAAHHHHHH.. Siew Mei ! Let UNKEL enlighten you. I am not here to show stripes.

From the what you wrote you have not seen the global picture rather than just a tiny specialist trade angle.

Time to take on the high seas if you are not happy.

5% from the scope of work is the norm for geotech engineers. What else you expect 2% from the total contract ?!!!

Normally the specialist consultant will envy the lead consultant and the lead will jealous over the main contractor and main contractor will try to be the developer.

Let me enlighten you. Can you stomach what you swallow?  Every level have their risk and can you handle the risk?

FYI; I've been working in kampungKUL for near to 20yrs aldiri + overseas.

From a climbing the corporate ladder to partnering a design office; main contractor, designer and contractor.

Completed and commissioned near to MYR 2 Billion worth projects; Mega/Big/Mid and small; Prvt/individual and government; conventional / design & build as well.  hmm.gif

At the end of the day ... I still need to work and face the music for any mistake.

I used to tell lots of keyboard warriors  .. wan a good pay profession... try politics.
Seem like you are younger than me..... I just trying to show you a bigger picture. If want talk about experience, then I have more than 30 years. I may not working in overseas, but I take overseas project and do locally. I am not talking about jealousy or anything. I just talking about facts. Fact hurt, I know. 2 billion MYR is not big project. We have project 10 time more than that too. Consultant overhead is high too. Local consultant growth have been limited due to a law where consultant cannot be public listed. BTW, I would like to stop argument as this is out of topic. If I hurt your feelings, I am sorry for that.
JohnJon82
post Apr 8 2013, 12:32 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ Apr 7 2013, 11:25 PM)
Creativity means design something that not publish in any text books or standard. As an engineer, you should not modify parameter to make a thing pass unless the modification is based on publish standard or any qualified publish journal that suit the condition. I doubt your qualification as a PE if you don't know this.
There are a lot of geotechnical design require very strong basic knowledge in order for you to design something that are extra ordinary new to the industry. There are a lot of engineers does not have strong fundamental, thus they cannot do something new. Especially something that not in the standard. For example, design pile cap using bending theory I thought beam theory is the quite standard for pile cap and well documented, bending theory is?, lateral force from the structure should end inside the soil not pile cap This one also norm and text booked, even in school... Your basement wall and piles transferring the lateral load to the soil... Pile cap is too small, you need a big passive force if you consider pile cap alone, joint between retaining wall with slab is pin joint not fixed joint if only dowel bar is used If the dowel bars have sufficient tension anchorage into the wall and bond length to the beam rebar its rigid. However you can design it as pin, top rebar no sufficient no problem, just crack and moment restribution to your already designed bottom bar for assuming it be pin, what does M/z means in BS code Mz is defined clearly in BS5950 and 8110..., etc. Lack of creativity means lack of competency.
- My profession fee is 5% of the project fees. This is quite standard fees for geotechnical consultant in KL. And my projects are not small scale project. But compare with contractor.....

When you said this, you are a PE? Sure ah or trolling?

This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Apr 8 2013, 12:32 AM
subangman
post Apr 8 2013, 12:34 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ Apr 8 2013, 12:24 AM)
Seem like you are younger than me..... I just trying to show you a bigger picture. If want talk about experience, then I have more than 30 years. I may not working in overseas, but I take overseas project and do locally. I am not talking about jealousy or anything. I just talking about facts. Fact hurt, I know. 2 billion MYR is not big project. We have project 10 time more than that too. Consultant overhead is high too. Local consultant growth have been limited due to a law where consultant cannot be public listed. BTW, I would like to stop argument as this is out of topic. If I hurt your feelings, I am sorry for that.
I am fine for there is also another mountain higher than one... old cina ah pek saying.

Wonder are the (10*2billion) worth projects under your scope of work or its the total project value?

May be I am too naive not knowing any foundation project worth MYR 20billion; may i know what's that state of art project?

TQ.

subangman
post Apr 8 2013, 12:41 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 8 2013, 12:32 AM)

Another keyboard warrior.... 30yrs experience as Geotech engineer in KL and a lady.

Nobody fits in the circle for all SR Geotech gurus in town are MALES and I personally know few of them as
this is a very limited area. Wasting time what another lawyer buruk !
JohnJon82
post Apr 8 2013, 12:42 AM

716 posts

Lol I also very curious of the 20 billion project...

And 30 years exp... Assuming you grad 20+ You around 55? Seems very good in computer for that age...
picfantasia
post Apr 8 2013, 12:45 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 8 2013, 01:32 AM)

Bending theory is a structural analysis for pile cap to obtain maximum moment and shear same as beam theory. I have seen structural engineer is not aware of the lateral load thing. If you are a "design standard" based, then you can't use passive resistance in your pile group analysis. It is stated clearly in BS. You are right about the dowel bar. But sadly, there are a lot who don't know. M/z is not Mz....If you have doubt about me then I also cannot do anything about it. But I have 0 trolling post in this forum so statistically I am clean.
picfantasia
post Apr 8 2013, 12:46 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Apr 8 2013, 01:34 AM)
I am fine for there is also another mountain higher than one... old cina ah pek saying.

Wonder are the (10*2billion) worth projects under your scope of work or its the total project value?

May be I am too naive not knowing any foundation project worth MYR 20billion; may i know what's that state of art project?

TQ.
I mean total project value.
picfantasia
post Apr 8 2013, 12:47 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Apr 8 2013, 01:41 AM)
Another keyboard warrior.... 30yrs experience as Geotech engineer in KL and a lady.

Nobody fits in the circle for all SR Geotech gurus in town are MALES and I personally know few of them as
this is a very limited area. Wasting time what another lawyer buruk !
I never said I am a lady...did I?
subangman
post Apr 8 2013, 12:49 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 8 2013, 12:42 AM)
Seems very good in computer for that age...
YES indeed ... all my peers dun be bother to get involve in forum as waste of time and effort.

They may be few very good in but IT no way they into forum as none payable for knowledge exchange
and the worst is our BP getting higher from each reply.

I normally dun be bother to answer any unless I see a pls and thank you in their posting but i love to take
head on any fighter after my postings.

JohnJon82
post Apr 8 2013, 12:54 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ Apr 8 2013, 12:45 AM)
Bending theory is a structural analysis for pile cap to obtain maximum moment and shear same as beam theory. I have seen structural engineer is not aware of the lateral load thing. If you are a "design standard" based, then you can't use passive resistance in your pile group analysis. It is stated clearly in BS. You are right about the dowel bar. But sadly, there are a lot who don't know. M/z is not Mz....If you have doubt about me then I also cannot do anything about it. But I have 0 trolling post in this forum so statistically I am clean.
The lateral forces must be resisted by passive resistance offer from the soil... just have to consider the pile group effect of the overlapping stress bulb... Where the lateral force go then my senior fellow engineer if can't use the passive resistance? Btw, BS which clause say cannot? Where you see this M/z, which clause?
littlejimmy
post Apr 8 2013, 12:59 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(Mindy93 @ Mar 30 2013, 07:56 PM)
Is civil engineering a tough major? What do civil engineers do in reality? Do they need to be under scorching sun that often? I'm about to choose this major but I'm not sure whether I can survive throughout the whole course. I'm a moderate student who happens to be lucky enough to get straight A's in the recent A-level exam. And I'm a female, so I quite care about beauty, hence the sun can be an interference, but once in a while staying under the hot sun can be forgiven, just not too often. I happen to be interested in studying civil engineering because I like building structures, and I plan to major in structural civil engineering. I don't want to regret my life. So any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.  smile.gif
not all civil engineer need to go work with bangla. u can involve with design team tat only stay in office do design/ procurements etc. only apply when u managed to get into international company... so far many local company require u go site lor.. haha
Pliskin
post Apr 8 2013, 01:12 AM

424 posts

my gawd! TS is just asking a general question on whether civil engineering field is suitable for her or not...and some of u guys are giving horror stories and untruths when u don't even know what a civil engineer do...and also some who just wanna tunjuk pandai to talk technical stuff and BS shit rclxub.gif

civil engineers generally either work on the site or office based....it's actually ur choice which u would wanna pursue...although in general the lady engineers tend to be office based, doing design either in structure or infra works....being office-based, there will be times when u will have to go site either for meetings, or inspections...and that is actually good for u....there are things that u can only learn from site, and not from doing design in the office.

TS, if u have the passion to pursue civil engineering, it's actually quite a rewarding career....but u must be strong-willed and hardworking to succeed, just like any other profession out there...being a lady does not put u in any disadvantage compared to the men civil engineers, from what i see anyway....there are many capable lady engineers that i've come across smile.gif dun be frightened by the thought of having to stand under the hot sun everyday for long hours....in reality, u will more often be under the sun when playing sports than when u'r at the site...good luck in whatever u choose icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Pliskin: Apr 8 2013, 01:14 AM
JohnJon82
post Apr 8 2013, 01:20 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Apr 8 2013, 12:49 AM)
YES indeed ... all my peers dun be bother to get involve in forum as waste of time and effort.

They may be few very good in but IT no way they into forum as none payable for knowledge exchange
and the worst is our BP getting higher from each reply.

I normally dun be bother to answer any unless I see a pls and thank you in their posting but i love to take
head on any fighter after my postings.
Eh you know any Malaysia civil / geotech engineering forum or not? Those with good knowledge people inside, not like this self claimed 30+ years exp 20 billion project senior here. The things he said sounds like blowing water, at first its like a graduate engineer, then suddenly become 30+ years exp... no comment on his fundamentals...
spunkberry
post Apr 8 2013, 02:13 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

females can survive in whatever field they choose.
Fiona Chin
post Apr 8 2013, 11:02 AM

1,172 posts

Don't talk nonsense and scare her away, picfantasia. What you said is very insulting for female. I am not an engineer but I have close family friends who are that work with my dad for his projects. They are very respectable man, they don't talk like that. What you said here made engineers sounds sexism to the public. You want to give your name? I will like to file a complain to the engineers board about you disgracing them if you are a PE. Even I know a PE is bound by his/her code of conduct by the board, and you of 30 years exp don't? Claiming to be a PE when you are not is very serious and illegal by law. Either way you have conducted fraud. I will pass this thread to my uncle and see what can they do about you.

For the others, subangman and johnjon, good for you two for defending your and the other engineers' reputation but your effort can be better spent else where.
TSMindy93
post Apr 8 2013, 07:21 PM

45 posts

Thanks for all the replies, although I don't really understand some of them, as they are quite detailed. Lols blink.gif
Thanks for the good advice and your time. I appreciate them very much. smile.gif
I think I will most probably pursue this course, as it is what I have always wanted, if I'm not mistaken. wink.gif
It's just that I am not too confident about this decision and my future life if I was one.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0197sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:51 AM