QUOTE(Icehart @ Apr 11 2013, 10:56 AM)
Flying and met angels, in dreamland already... STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V129, All time high!
STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V129, All time high!
Apr 11 2013, 11:05 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Apr 12 2013, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(Icehart @ Apr 12 2013, 10:48 AM) I think the main objective is to get those who did not pay income taxes to pay for taxes. The only way one can save more with GST is goods price is not being raised, which is unlikely.Based on 2011 statistics, only 10% of the working population pays tax. That means 9 out of 10 people working outside don't pay tax. (referring to income tax) That is unfair, to me and to you, who are paying for income taxes. Those who has been paying income taxes will see a reduction on taxes payable (from savings on income tax reduction) and those who didn't will see an increase their spending amount (due to GST). That's how the concept works. But I am with you since I don't see much savings from GST implementation and on reduction in income tax. And the 4% probably is a sugarcoating rate. They'll probably increase it to 7% or 10% sooner anyway. Money must come from somewhere. Money will no be born on its own. If gov can raise more tax through GST, means someone need to pay more than current situation, as simple as that. If it is come from those not paying tax one, then they will have less disposal income. Less disposal income, if they are employee, they will demand employers for a payrise to cover loss of disposal income. Payrise occur, employers will seek way to raise price of goods. If it is come from employer, then they will seek way to raise goods price. So whether essential items are excluded from GST or not, doesn't means there will no inflation pressure. If gov managed to raise revenue through GST, then it must come from somewhere. For eg. if gov managed to get extra 20 billion from GST implementation, someone needs to pay for those tax. Either company profit margin reduce, people has less disposal income or goods price being raise, wages being raised to compensate back. Yes, GST seems fairer as you pay tax when you buy, (even I viewed there is needs for gov to implement as gov may have difficulty to run with continous high deficit and huge civil servant payroll) But at the moment, the poor and lower middle class people are not being taxed. But after implementation of GST, even though essential are exempted, but they can be hit indirectly through inflation. You can have sugar, rice price remains the same, but you can't stop mixed rice, roti canai, teh tarik price being raised due to cost of running it become higher. Recent implementation of min wages already give us example, many hawker, mixed rice stall raised price because of it. |
Apr 15 2013, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Apr 15 2013, 11:38 AM) Im using the same OS too, windows 8.. I guess you are having the same issue here? cause same buttons are missing I think.. It is very common newer software facing problem of proper loading, as broker side may not update their software, or may have compatibility issue (minor loading problem sometimes).I had experience before with Java as well. Update to the latest java, cannot load properly, need to revert back to the oldest version, then run perfectly. |
Apr 17 2013, 04:48 PM
Apr 18 2013, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 18 2013, 10:17 AM) What is next next One of major root of problem of 1997 AFC, was about unsustainable high external short debt.The falling yen coupled with a fall-off in Chinese investment inflows "increasingly resembles" the run-up to the 1997 currency crisis, said Albert Edwards, Societe Generale's ultra-bearish strategist. "It seems investors may have forgotten that yen weakness was one of the immediate causes of the 1997 Asian currency crisis and Asia's subsequent economic collapse," Edwards wrote in a global strategy note on Wednesday. Edwards, who recently returned from meeting clients in Hong Kong and Singapore, forecast the Bank of Japan will lose control of its recently launched program of aggressive monetary easing, leading to spiraling inflation and an increasingly unsustainable debt position. As at that time, due to red hot economy in Asean countries, many go for external borrowing to fund the needs of money. (as USD and Yen is cheap due to rising currency of those countries) Yen weakness is not the culprit of AFC. Why link Yen weakness to AFC? |
Apr 18 2013, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 18 2013, 10:59 AM) Further explanations as below :- The ultimate question, did/does the JGB bond yield rise above 2 percent? If the market really believes the Bank of Japan is committed to the 2 percent inflation target (and I certainly do), then Japanese bond yields will quickly attempt a move above 2 percent," he said. "If the Japanese government bond yield begins to rise, then an unsustainable debt position becomes even more obviously unsustainable and the government will be obliged to ramp up its quantitative easing operations to pin yields at low levels." "I certainly expect accelerating quantitative easing to undermine the yen further, and the market to anticipate this," he added. Edwards warned investors they should expect money to pour out of Japan in the same way it did after the BoJ's foreign exchange intervention in 2004. "Who will be a beneficiary of this carry trade ? Probably high yield GIIPS [Greece, Italy, Ireland, Portugal and Spain] bond yields and the euro . And hence the periphery will appear to have been 'fixed'. Who will suffer? Germany, as the euro soars," he said (Read More: Audacious BOJ Policy Sends Dollar, Euro Soaring ) A weak yen combined with deteriorating balance of payments situations in China and other major emerging markets is reminiscent of the mid-1990s, said Edwards. "When I see a sharp rise in China' s real exchange rate and deteriorating Balance of Payment, it rings alarm bells. China is not the most vulnerable of the emerging markets currencies to a weak yen, but this conjunction could easily trigger a currency crisis as growth is crushed. High levels of foreign exchange reserves are no protection," Edwards added. It is almost identical to article saying US debt is too high and unsustainable, treasuries is too low yield, USD is going to crash etc (didn't we heard this many many time already?). it has been talked for years, and now US economy is way better than most countries, stock market making new high. USD is not crashing either. Those bet against treasuries one has been in losing money position for many years. In reality or so far from my own experience, economy, market a lot of time do not behave like text book saying. |
Apr 18 2013, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(jy1905 @ Apr 18 2013, 11:38 AM) sorry, this one i am not sure Normally, when new fund mushrooming on certain sector or region time, peak may not far away...that's why i was checking about individual acc but if you wait some more until japan economy is showing some good results, maybe some funds will appear out of nowhere just like those china funds Last time, small cap fund (when 2nd board and third liners were hot time) Then property (global/region) funds were mushrooming before 2006~2007. After that China theme funds. So when many funds appearing and concentrate on certain theme, better be wary. Just like recently many like Reit and properties investing, make me concern about this sector. Crowded trade is always a warning sign. Gold was the latest crowded trade investment target just not too long ago. |
Apr 19 2013, 05:18 PM
Apr 20 2013, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(asambuffett @ Apr 20 2013, 12:24 PM) http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...51&sec=business Isn' it nose dive provide opportunity for retailers... short 3.93% to make it unconditional offer... looks like its gonna nose dive this monday.. Buy at nose dive then wait another 6 months... |
Apr 22 2013, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:13 AM) I thought all Petronas gas bulk shipped through MISC. or should be the other way round, ie. bulk of MISC business come from Petronas?MISC was once spent a fortune on land haulage traffic , but failed . Gas can be transport via pipe, not all gas must be necessary must be using ship. In fact, in my working industrial area, gas pipe are lay across the industrial area that supply the factories for industrial usage around. It is always good that company does not venture big into business or sector outside their core strength of business Just remind me Sime bank |
Apr 22 2013, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(Icehart @ Apr 22 2013, 08:28 PM) Yeah, around that price. Somehow physical gold fetch better price than paper gold. This is something that I don't understand. It is buried in most people mind already aka being educated since childhood that gold is something valuable.Maybe all got scared from Geneva liao Paper gold, cannot be touched, hold on , feel, see its shinning yellowish colour, but physical gold can. So need to pay a premium price for those "feeling". |
Apr 22 2013, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(davidcch07 @ Apr 22 2013, 07:22 PM) The problem is old stocks or inventory that previously bought at high price may suffer loss in value. I do not know how gold shop accountant value their gold inventory, so I do not know how it is affecting its account. |
| Change to: | 0.0226sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:19 AM |