The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v4, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM148

andrekua2
post Jan 20 2014, 05:36 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(jl_eleven @ Jan 20 2014, 03:24 PM)
Can both of you help me to test download from Amazon cloud? I will provide you the FTP details if you agree.
I already test for you. Upload very fast, 700kB/s but download back the file from Amazon Cloud, 6~30kB/s nia... Not sure why upload so fast, download so slow.
andrekua2
post Jan 22 2014, 06:50 AM

13,460 posts

How do you view that? I didn't see any option for home broadband when I clicked to sign up. I'm using my sister's name for home fiber and she don't have any mobile plan.
andrekua2
post Jan 22 2014, 07:02 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 22 2014, 10:58 AM)
Where do I get the VoIP no? My home fibre no is invalid.
andrekua2
post Jan 23 2014, 10:13 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 23 2014, 02:06 PM)
if u p2p in between 8pm to 2am... u oni get 50kbps download speed sweat.gif
nonsense... not all are throttled...
andrekua2
post Jan 23 2014, 10:27 PM

13,460 posts

I think the possibility of being throttled to 5mbps is low unless you are a heavy user. I used to be a heavy user too, but ever since Astro start promoting 2nd/3rd decoder for RM50, my torrenting is quite low unless when I get too free and start going crazy again (due to the fact I stopped going to cinema ever since my first son was born 5 years ago). Even so, my torrent for each month is about 100GB at best (I'm pretty sure I didnt download that much but somehow my utorrent stats seem to differs from what my memory told me).

andrekua2
post Jan 26 2014, 11:06 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(jl_eleven @ Jan 26 2014, 08:42 PM)
Download speed from amazon clouds still super damn slow. Already more than 2 weeks still couldn't rectify the problem.
Yup. Still getting 10-30kB/s.

On a side note, I have changed my router to 12U HP and I gotta said better than stock router. Hopefully can get my 14U HP on Monday/Tuesday to compare. Range is better and seem like transfer speed more stable when using WiFi.
andrekua2
post Feb 7 2014, 01:58 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 6 2014, 04:42 PM)
So far I have only filed complaint through Maxis and CFM, haven't file it through SKMM yet. Will try it if there's no progresses.
You should report via SKMM instead of CFM. CFM is actually under SKMM, therefore you should know who has the bigger authority.

Personally, I have positive feedbacks regarding SKMM.

1. Maxis mobile internet user having problem accessing Clash of Clans game. It was blocked by Maxis out of the blue. After almost 1month++ of rage through Maxis forum, SKMM report by a group of users, it was rectified.

2. OKU discount for Home Fibre. Signed up for Maxis Home but before installation, Maxis already removed it. Waiting for more than a month before the installation commence. After that, they billed me the normal price. They did not rectify it after 2-3 trips to Maxis Center, and I went straight with SKMM. Took just a week to get it done

The thing is that once you go the SKMM route, your case will be handled by another department in Maxis, specialized for SKMM or high priority customer service (My guess since the person in charge of your case will keep calling back to update from time to time). They will call you back in few days time after the first email confirmation from SKMM staff.

If you asked me, I think Maxis throttle the connection is very likely. I noticed that I have no problem accessing the sites which load up pretty fast. Even when uploading to Youtube or Amazon Cloud itself, it is pretty good. Just the downloading sucks. I cant think of anything other than an evil handbrake.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Feb 7 2014, 02:00 PM
andrekua2
post Feb 22 2014, 07:21 AM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(Eazy @ Feb 21 2014, 10:38 PM)
Hey guys, just got my new Maxis Fibre 10mbps plan here, (and before you say anything about making a big mistake, its because I have no other ISP at my area besides streamyx at 1mbps, since unifi rejected my application due to 'full port')

So far download speed is okay (1st day only I know), I get mt 1.2mbps download speed, no Dc or anything.

But torrent speed is throttled (as expected) at 10-50kbps. Anyone knows how to enable P2P on Maxis Fibre?

Searched the forums and couldn't find a way to speed up torrenting, although some users have reported stable torrenting speed, so I reckon it may hold true for everybody (being optimistic here...)
No, you need to request for public ip. By default, its private ip and port forwarding dont works which explained the slow speed. So far only Xunlei works without public ip.

andrekua2
post Feb 22 2014, 12:15 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(Eazy @ Feb 22 2014, 11:15 AM)
Ahh, I see. Thanks for the info =D
I'll try xun lei first, if that doesn't work I'll see how i'll be able to obtain a public ip =)
Call Maxis to ask for public ip.
andrekua2
post Feb 25 2014, 08:21 AM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(Eazy @ Feb 22 2014, 02:39 PM)
Hmm, Xun lei works a lot better than tixati or utorrent, I'll give it that XD
Although there are some pretty sudden speed fluctuations, like from 800kbps suddenly drop to 12kbps for a few mins... then resume back to full speed again...
and if total torrent speed is over 1MBps, the speed will faaaallllll...... until I pause one torrent...
There is only one problem with Xunlei. It uses port 80. No doubt its easily the fastest client but it also render other users unable to use the internet by hogging the bandwidth.
andrekua2
post Mar 19 2014, 10:16 AM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Mar 19 2014, 09:50 AM)
bought the Asus RT-N12HP .. with the 9dBi antenna .
using it as a repeater to existing Maxis Technicolor router.

Now can download from the room up to 20MB .. still missing "10mb" of internet..

maybe i just downgrade to 20mb ..
Why not use the Asus router as main? Do you use the VOIP?

I replaced mine with the Asus RT-N14UHP. Almost same with N12HP but with 3x 9dBi and USB port. Like how they QoS work. Also try to set N mode only.

The only limitation of these Broadcom powered router (RT-N12/14 HP) is that it is still 2x2 only. If you really want even better speed when serving multiple devices, get one with 3x3 like Asus RT-N66U, but you might not get the range you wanted.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Mar 19 2014, 10:17 AM
andrekua2
post Mar 19 2014, 12:49 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Mar 19 2014, 10:38 AM)
I don't want to replace the existing Technicolor router because I won't have much coverage inside the rooms. Fiber modem is downstairs in the living room.
The only reason I use the 9dBi router is to penetrate the thick room walls . but also seem quite futile .

Connected a homeplug to the asus router and a wifi homeplug in the room still can't get max speed.

Last resort = LAN Cabling .. Will wait to see if my parents will upgrade their CCTV system .. then ask the cable man to pull one cable for me smile.gif
Actually I think 2.4GHz wont penetrate walls lor, despite people kept saying its possible. After I upgraded to RT-N12HP (for office) and RT-N14UHP (for home), I find that it does provide better coverage overall, but if you are stuck in a room with 4 walls, no windows with a single door, it either wont reach or very slow response. The only area I cant cover was the toilet downstair.
andrekua2
post May 12 2014, 08:55 AM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(yltan @ May 11 2014, 12:18 PM)
Hi all,

I just converted from Unifi to Maxis Fiber yesterday but have many issues with Maxis Router/Fiber and would like to seek some advise if anyone encounter any of issue below and might have solutions to it. Calling Maxis helpline is hopeless...

• Test speed ok but download speed is <10kbps while torrent download hover around 300kbps. The test was done separately.
• No DHCP reservation on MAC address based on IP address.
• Some port forwarding does retain the setting after saving the configuration.
• Devices having the same IP address(wired and wireless).
• Some wireless devices(wireless printer) connected(test print successfully) to the router but the router does not show the connected devices on local devices.
Torrent? You need ask Maxis for public IP. Once you get it, then can torrent easily.
andrekua2
post Sep 27 2014, 03:15 AM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Sep 27 2014, 03:04 AM)
i won't change my astro to iptv, not in a million years i guess... malaysia internet speed and connection is downright unreliable

what if something wrong with your internet connection? no internet, no tv to watch!

if the disruption happened during weekends,  you've to wait until tuesday before someone come and fix it for you... can't live without internet and tv at the same time!
I think its okay if just streaming locally. My wife been using Astro on the go everyday and not suffering from any speed issue, even though I suffer some slowdown due to the broken submarine cable.
andrekua2
post Sep 27 2014, 03:21 AM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Sep 27 2014, 03:19 AM)
What I meant is if there is no internet connection, you can watch astro ah if you change to astro iptv?

I kena once saturday suddenly no internet connection, maxis support only come to fix on Tuesday!
RM25 discount every month is worth it.
andrekua2
post Nov 1 2014, 07:52 PM

13,460 posts

Updating from my previous post while ter-using my bro account.

I have attached a screenshot. I think my usage still okok... not too heavy. Torrent is definitely not a problem, except for video streaming and file sharing sites (except for mediasharemediafire).

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Nov 2 2014, 10:18 AM

andrekua2
post Nov 2 2014, 10:18 AM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 31 2014, 09:47 AM)
Is Maxis cap the speed for direct download from shared hosting like netload.in, uploaded.to, etc??
Personally I think yes.

How do I check? I will download via my pc using Maxis and usually somewhere around 50-70kB/s. Even with Streamyx, I managed 120kB/s.

So what I did is download the same file via Maxis 3G. True enough Im getting somewhere between 90-100kB/s. I used to download samsung firmware a lot from Sammobile who host them via Hotfiles. Strangely though, only mediafire (now I recalled correctly, I named them mediashare wrongly in the previous post) was not affected. It can reach few hundreds kB/s easily.
andrekua2
post Nov 2 2014, 08:08 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(asamalikum @ Nov 2 2014, 01:00 PM)
i'm using rapidgator to perform download daily since last week while got maxis fiber installed. speed was optimum as advertised by maxis. i noticed two scenario:
A) 7am-7pm: for each individual file, speed is as fast as your dedicated subscription, in my case is 1.1-1.2mb.
B) 7pm-7am: speed is slow to 100-200k per file. As such, i simultaneously download 5-8 files at the same time. This will max out at 1.1-1.2mb combine speed.

* i am indeed subscribing to rapidgator premium account. got myself a very good rate for it.  tongue.gif
I cant really comment on Rapidgator since I never used it before.
andrekua2
post Nov 10 2014, 10:29 AM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Nov 8 2014, 03:17 PM)
If you mean 1.2MegaBytes per second then..... drool.gif
But really, where does it say it has 100GB cap? 
How did this rumor start?
The sales person said no cap.
All fibre optic started with a quota package but not implemented because TM encouraging the switch from StreamyX to UniFi.

Maxis FTTH 10MBPS has a quota of 100GB but not implemented. I think some people screenshot before that Maxis is already tracking their usage somewhat. I think in near future, it may really start to cap when number of users increase.
andrekua2
post Nov 21 2014, 12:44 AM

13,460 posts

I wonder if Maxis is secretly capping us.

I switched to Asus router few months ago without any problem. I didnt even suspect anything when my torrent max out at 5mbps a month or two ago. I only realized it when I accidentally bumped into another forumer's post regarding speed being halved when using non Maxis router.

I went ahead and test it myself. I get 5mbps speedtest now with Asus router, while I still consistently get 10mbps with Maxis router. Im surprised by the finding. Capping by router model? First time heard.

OK... finally found the culprit.

Apparently the culprit is Asus own software... Smart QOS on Asus router crippled half of the available bandwidth.

Maybe Asus should do a guide on how to set this up properly.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Nov 21 2014, 01:38 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0481sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:01 AM