[WTA] Is it legal to buy singapore scrap cars?, Need some serious advice here

SonnyCooL
post Aug 2 2018, 05:46 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Mar 27 2013, 05:56 PM)
can i buy, and use it as a track car? wil kastam come and confiscate it?
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Mar 29 2013, 07:56 PM)
Track car should be ok
On the road no way legally
QUOTE(Wangan @ Jun 25 2013, 10:38 AM)
For track car its legal. For personal use illegal. They can only know by checking ur chassis. How do they do that? They got informer. Almost 90 percent of those scrap car seller are from kastam. They sell the car to u, then in few months ur car kena tarik from kastam and u wondering who made the report. Welll, usually the seller will report to kastam abt ur car because they will get 10% of lelong price everytime they inform. So they untung twice lo by selling u the car and by tarik the car. Many cases dy.
since when and who told u is legal on track ? even a race car must have record and Motorsport permit .....
go enter race pls.
SleeplessEyes
post Aug 3 2018, 08:42 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(Shynn @ Aug 2 2018, 04:38 PM)
hi, this is going to be my opinion.
yes u may buy Singapore scrap car, I have seen some selling them with cloned number plates and even road tax sticker, all this for a fraction of the cost of the car. BUT, if u think sensibly, its not worth the risk, why I say so? INSURANCE. its going to be a big deal when u involve in any kind of accidents
Lately i saw this FB page called ScrapCar Singapore. Tempting. Example: 2008 BMW 320i for Rm 7800.

Our Bolehland used car dealers sell the same car for RM38-43K.
Imagine. RM 7k and a BMW is yours.

Not that i am going to buy. But it created a curiosity.
If one were to just drive without changing the SG plates and drive in Malaysia for lobg term isnt it almost the same risk as cloning a Malaysian plate. And how is JPJ gonna know if this SG car is a scrap car or just a Singaporean visiting Malaysia.

Im sure someone is willing to take risks. Otherwise why there is a supply & demand for these cars.

(Please dont flame me. Im just curious )

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Aug 3 2018, 09:05 PM
Shynn
post Aug 3 2018, 09:03 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Aug 3 2018, 08:42 PM)
Lately i saw this FB page called ScrapCar Singapore. Tempting. Example: 2008 BMW 320i for Rm 7800.

If one were to just drive without changing the SG plates and drive in Malaysia for lobg term isnt it almost the same risk as cloning a Malaysian plate. And how is JPJ gonna know if this SG car is a scrap car or just a Singaporean visiting Malaysia.

Im sure someone is willing to take risks. Otherwise why there is a supply & demand for these cars.

Not sure about west Malaysia, but here in east Malaysia, that certainly not possible lol U cant use Singapore plate number here, sure kena block haha I met one and asked him why the car so damn cheap, he say its not legal, they take fake number plate and road tax sticker from west Malaysia and use it here. and rarely caught. yes its cheap, but the risk is high, not worth it. unless of course, u drive off road or kampung road where there is little police patrol. but, if u buy expensive looking car on those road, who is gonna notice? and I said.. insurance is another big problem
kirakun
post Aug 4 2018, 04:09 PM

697 posts

True, with 7k the bmw is yours. However it all boil down your logic. When u drive that car out, will you be restless and always at your edge due to fear of being stopped by police/JPJ patrol, or road blocks? Worry of accident? U do know that if u do get caught, u may end up in court don’t you? Not to mention your 7k gone, car impounded. Forgot to mention, accident, touch wood. No insurance coverage, an accident means u may end up getting caught driving illegal car or even get sued by other party. So if your logic says “I’m fine with those risk” then u are good to go and buy your dream scrap car lol.

mushigen
post Aug 4 2018, 09:50 PM

4,952 posts

1. No road tax as this car is deregistered liao and no insurance. JPJ just need to ask for road tax at roadblocks. Also, you langgar anyone how?

2. Do you have Singapore license? If not, polis will definitely suspect something amiss during road block. Msia license holder driving Sin car will raise red flag.

3. The demand for such cars can come from workshops looking for spare parts, or change whole engine/chassis and then illegally make it legal.

4. Avoid buying durians when driving that car. Sure kena ketuk kawkaw.

Eternalgl0ry
post Aug 4 2018, 10:53 PM

463 posts

confirm not legal

It will never be your name from what i recall. All these cars are either stolen or left in malaysia for too long and most likely you know who tow then sell to black market.

Just few days ago i saw someone sell a 2014 golf r at 29k at facebook
Eternalgl0ry
post Aug 4 2018, 10:55 PM

463 posts

Lol if police found out the car is stolen and you are drinving it. Prepare to go court if you have proof

Otherwise go enjoy massage in jail. They will say you are one of the thieves that stole the car
Eternalgl0ry
post Aug 4 2018, 10:58 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(Wangan @ Jun 25 2013, 10:38 AM)
For track car its legal. For personal use illegal. They can only know by checking ur chassis. How do they do that? They got informer. Almost 90 percent of those scrap car seller are from kastam. They sell the car to u, then in few months ur car kena tarik from kastam and u wondering who made the report. Welll, usually the seller will report to kastam abt ur car because they will get 10% of lelong price everytime they inform. So they untung twice lo by selling u the car and by tarik the car. Many cases dy.
LOL obviously you never enter track. That is for sure 100%

Best troll ever rclxms.gif

SonnyCooL
post Aug 5 2018, 11:58 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(gotodienow @ Aug 5 2018, 11:41 AM)
Track car doesn't mean race car. track car means a car which is trailers from home to sepang, run a few laps on sepang track, then trailer back home. no race involved.
u make me laugh and serious doubt abt ur knowledge, btw u think u can tow trail a car from point A to Point B without DOC ?
thanks for GREAT LAUGH ...
SonnyCooL
post Aug 5 2018, 12:07 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(gotodienow @ Aug 5 2018, 12:03 PM)
lots of people have been doing it for years without any problem. are you laughing at yourself?
hhahhhahahhahahha ....
there tons of robber out there.
there tons of theft out there.
there tons of clone car owner out there (u also wanna be one them).
for u nothing wrong, what can we said, can't afford but still want to show off, that normal for most (no brain, but ) user around ....
SonnyCooL
post Aug 5 2018, 12:24 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(gotodienow @ Aug 5 2018, 12:10 PM)
what talking you? Singapore scrap car also got docs right. the docs will prove that the car is from Singapore, not stolen.
aiks .... hahahahhaahah
try to find those sg scrap with scrap doc pls.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0159sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:21 AM