4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Photography Tips: Upgrading lens or Camera?, New lens? New camera?

LegendLee
post Apr 8 2013, 06:08 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 8 2013, 03:42 PM)
Recently i got a problem , after owning 10-22mm for quite sometime , really rarely bring it out to shoot , feel wan to sell it off and fund for other lens. But i scare later sell of regret pulak argg...
Just sell it off if you can get a good price.
If feel regret, can always repurchase it lol.
-kytz-
post Apr 8 2013, 06:15 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 8 2013, 03:42 PM)
Recently i got a problem , after owning 10-22mm for quite sometime , really rarely bring it out to shoot , feel wan to sell it off and fund for other lens. But i scare later sell of regret pulak argg...
One of the main reasons why I usually buy 2nd hand lenses laugh.gif
chongkiatz
post Apr 8 2013, 06:59 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Apr 8 2013, 06:08 PM)
Just sell it off if you can get a good price.
If feel regret, can always repurchase it lol.
But sometime when u wan it again, it hard to repurchase a used unit

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 8 2013, 06:15 PM)
One of the main reasons why I usually buy 2nd hand lenses laugh.gif
My 1022mm is used unit too haha, just scare next time after sell, cant get back this price le @@"

Nvm, I will try let go see got ppl interesting or not, I dun wan wasted something that sleep in my drybox, I rather buy something that I will be use always

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Apr 8 2013, 07:04 PM
-kytz-
post Apr 8 2013, 07:23 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 8 2013, 06:59 PM)
My 1022mm is used unit too haha, just scare next time after sell, cant get back this price le @@"
Nvm, I will try let go see got ppl interesting or not, I dun wan wasted something that sleep in my drybox, I rather buy something that I will be use always
How much you buy? Sell to me lah brows.gif
chongkiatz
post Apr 8 2013, 11:02 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 8 2013, 07:23 PM)
How much you buy? Sell to me lah brows.gif
Are u serious?
LegendLee
post Apr 9 2013, 01:31 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 8 2013, 06:59 PM)
Well, lens price are usually quite stable.
As long as you're not ganjiong wanna sell cheap cheap to get rid of it quickly or impatient to purchase another at high price and you should be fine.
Rice_Owl84
post Apr 9 2013, 09:54 AM

603 posts

Let's say I want to make an upgrade of buying a second body. But I'm interested mainly on ISO performance. Especially for crop sensor body since my lenses are mainly for crop bodies.

I saw some videos of 650Dv60Dv7D has almost identical ISO performance for low light. Basically video should be at max 1600 ISO or it gets too noisy.

7D not really handling ISO and low light better than 650D feels like there's not much I can upgrade to for video.

Now I have to wait and see if the future 70D or 7Dmk2 will have that ISO performance upgrade. Not too keen on upgrading to 6D and the FF system extra expensive world.

I'm in no hurry to upgrade yet but its just nice to know that there is something I can upgrade to in the future. Rather than have a dead end and require to change the system I invested in.
chongkiatz
post Apr 9 2013, 10:16 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 9 2013, 09:54 AM)
Let's say I want to make an upgrade of buying a second body.  But I'm interested mainly on ISO performance.  Especially for crop sensor body since my lenses are mainly for crop bodies. 

I saw some videos of 650Dv60Dv7D has almost identical ISO performance for low light.  Basically video should be at max 1600 ISO or it gets too noisy. 

7D not really handling ISO and low light better than 650D feels like there's not much I can upgrade to for video. 

Now I have to wait and see if the future 70D or 7Dmk2 will have that ISO performance upgrade.  Not too keen on upgrading to 6D and the FF system extra expensive world. 

I'm in no hurry to upgrade yet but its just nice to know that there is something I can upgrade to in the future.  Rather than have a dead end and require to change the system I invested in.
Actually alot of canon fan boy waiting the 70d or 7dmark2 to be announce, but not sure why 70d stil haven came out, alot of fanboy disappointed haha
Rice_Owl84
post Apr 9 2013, 10:41 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 9 2013, 10:16 AM)
Actually alot of canon fan boy waiting the 70d or 7dmark2 to be announce, but not sure why 70d stil haven came out, alot of fanboy disappointed haha
Well I'm disappointed with the 700D coming out. Just got a 650D not so long ago and now feel outdated already. And I'm pretty sure they did it to fix live view AF. Even some articles on the net says 650D's live view AF is the worst in the entire camera world along with EOS M (And EOS M can't do viewfinder focus so its completely screwed)! I remember just getting my 650D. I was about to cry that I just spent so much money and the damn thing can't focus properly. And that servo continuous AF was damn annoying too. I slowly learn the camera and found out that this camera just is that lousy at live view and must use Quick AF thought view finder for best results. Lucky for me video uses mainly manual focus and the bright clear screen is great to get things in focus easily.

This 650D is so not user friendly for the noob. So much for it being entry level.
LegendLee
post Apr 9 2013, 10:58 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 9 2013, 10:41 AM)
Well I'm disappointed with the 700D coming out.  Just got a 650D not so long ago and now feel outdated already.  And I'm pretty sure they did it to fix live view AF.  Even some articles on the net says 650D's live view AF is the worst in the entire camera world along with EOS M (And EOS M can't do viewfinder focus so its completely screwed)!  I remember just getting my 650D.  I was about to cry that I just spent so much money and the damn thing can't focus properly.  And that servo continuous AF was damn annoying too.  I slowly learn the camera and found out that this camera just is that lousy at live view and must use Quick AF thought view finder for best results.  Lucky for me video uses mainly manual focus and the bright clear screen is great to get things in focus easily. 

This 650D is so not user friendly for the noob.  So much for it being entry level.
I always thought that the 650D is user friendly.
Not to mention live view af on DSLR is just a very minor add on to most.
I agree that the sensor is outdated. Correct if I'm wrong but they have been using the same exact sensor since 550D. A camera released 3 years ago.

chongkiatz
post Apr 9 2013, 12:27 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Apr 9 2013, 10:58 AM)
I always thought that the 650D is user friendly.
Not to mention live view af on DSLR is just a very minor add on to most.
I agree that the sensor is outdated. Correct if I'm wrong but they have been using the same exact sensor since 550D. A camera released 3 years ago.
Actually 650d using more advan sensor than 550d,it call hybrid sensor with digic5, and alot of user test that 650d at iso 6400 is better than 550, 60, 7d at 6400. But this is base on jpeg compare, so far havent see RAW comparison, because not interesting on 650d so didnt research it tongue.gif

Also dunno y canon announced 700d @@" 100d stil got the point as the world smaller dslr body

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Apr 9 2013, 12:27 PM
sniper on the roof
post Apr 9 2013, 01:41 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 9 2013, 12:27 PM)
Actually 650d using more advan sensor than 550d,it call hybrid sensor with digic5,  and alot of user test that 650d at iso 6400 is better than 550, 60, 7d at 6400. But this is base on jpeg compare, so far havent see RAW comparison,  because not interesting on 650d so didnt research it tongue.gif
Also dunno y canon announced 700d @@" 100d stil got the point as the world smaller dslr body
Same la... just add on-sensor PDAF and new processor (digic5) niah. Which is a major bummer cos the liveview still slow like hell and new processor no use for raw shooters.
goldfries
post Apr 9 2013, 04:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 9 2013, 09:54 AM)
Let's say I want to make an upgrade of buying a second body.  But I'm interested mainly on ISO performance.  Especially for crop sensor body since my lenses are mainly for crop bodies. 
what ISO do you use that makes you concern about ISO performance?

in fact, what kind of photo do you shoot that makes you concern about ISO performance?

I photograph professionally and I find that noise control of Canon cameras has been no issue for the past 3 - 4 years, starting from 500D days.

so it actually puzzles me how people are still overly concerned about noise control.
chongkiatz
post Apr 9 2013, 04:13 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 9 2013, 01:41 PM)
Same la... just add on-sensor PDAF and new processor (digic5) niah. Which is a major bummer cos the liveview still slow like hell and new processor no use for raw shooters.
Omg , i never know that it got no different on RAW file sweat.gif because i just see they compare JPEG at 6400 which 650D look clean than 550/60/7d sweat.gif Even nikon entry level have better iso handling sad.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Apr 9 2013, 04:14 PM
sniper on the roof
post Apr 9 2013, 05:58 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 9 2013, 04:13 PM)
Omg , i never know that it got no different on RAW file sweat.gif  because i just see they compare JPEG at 6400 which 650D look clean than 550/60/7d  sweat.gif  Even nikon entry level have better iso handling  sad.gif
Like Legend said... 3 year old sensor no change. Then again good also la... at least no temptation to upgrade body. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Since u mention Nikon.. the best-est vs the worst current market APS-C sensor "ISO handling" is only around half stop. Nothing much to blah blah over.

Just that there's many other options available now... how time flies..

I remember some time back when I first got into cameras... I was struggling shooting something similar with a 550D and 30mm f1.4

Now I can shoot this with just a compact camera

DSC04766 by vmwt, on Flickr

DSC04757 by vmwt, on Flickr

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Apr 9 2013, 06:04 PM
Rice_Owl84
post Apr 9 2013, 11:30 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 9 2013, 04:13 PM)
what ISO do you use that makes you concern about ISO performance?

in fact, what kind of photo do you shoot that makes you concern about ISO performance?

I photograph professionally and I find that noise control of Canon cameras has been no issue for the past 3 - 4 years, starting from 500D days.

so it actually puzzles me how people are still overly concerned about noise control.
Not photos. Shooting photos can shoot dark scenes at ISO 100 just by expsoing it for several seconds. You can't do that for video.
So yeah the high ISO is used for video. I like to shoot it live indoor at dark scenes. And quite a lot of times already at F2.8, ISO 6400, 1/30 .

Can't exactly tell people to brighten their venue/performance up or annoy people with bright LED lights.

My only current solutions are my F1.4 30mm and F1.8 50mm primes which nicely does the job at 1600 ISO. Or continue shooting at ISO 6400 and then Sepia/Blank&White the footage.
LegendLee
post Apr 10 2013, 12:52 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 9 2013, 11:30 PM)
Not photos.  Shooting photos can shoot dark scenes at ISO 100 just by expsoing it for several seconds.  You can't do that for video. 
So yeah the high ISO is used for video.  I like to shoot it live indoor at dark scenes.  And quite a lot of times already at F2.8, ISO 6400, 1/30 . 

Can't exactly tell people to brighten their venue/performance up or annoy people with bright LED lights. 

My only current solutions are my F1.4 30mm and F1.8 50mm primes which nicely does the job at 1600 ISO.  Or continue shooting at ISO 6400 and then Sepia/Blank&White the footage.
IMO, if you need to bump up your ISO till 6400/3200 for video... it's not that nice (noise or not).
Poor lighting is usually from weak light source which are very unflattering.

If it's a performance, most performance will make use of really intense spot lights which wouldn't require ultra high ISO. (Concerts, choir, play, dance)

goldfries
post Apr 10 2013, 02:19 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

well, some places are really too dark for video purpose to begin with. sad.gif

FF sensor bodies will have a stop or 2 better noise control i suppose.
sp6068
post Apr 12 2013, 05:16 PM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,699 posts

Good read! Bookmarked. thumbup.gif smile.gif
darrenkho
post Apr 12 2013, 11:07 PM

60 posts

hi all

what nikon lenses should i go after if i wanna shoot scenery and people

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top