Photography Tips: Upgrading lens or Camera?, New lens? New camera?

LegendLee
post Apr 8 2013, 06:08 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 8 2013, 03:42 PM)
Recently i got a problem , after owning 10-22mm for quite sometime , really rarely bring it out to shoot , feel wan to sell it off and fund for other lens. But i scare later sell of regret pulak argg...
Just sell it off if you can get a good price.
If feel regret, can always repurchase it lol.
LegendLee
post Apr 9 2013, 01:31 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Apr 8 2013, 06:59 PM)
But sometime when u wan it again, it hard to repurchase a used unit
My 1022mm is used unit too haha, just scare next time after sell, cant get back this price le @@"
Nvm, I will try let go see got ppl interesting or not, I dun wan wasted something that sleep in my drybox, I rather buy something that I will be use always
Well, lens price are usually quite stable.
As long as you're not ganjiong wanna sell cheap cheap to get rid of it quickly or impatient to purchase another at high price and you should be fine.
LegendLee
post Apr 9 2013, 10:58 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 9 2013, 10:41 AM)
Well I'm disappointed with the 700D coming out.  Just got a 650D not so long ago and now feel outdated already.  And I'm pretty sure they did it to fix live view AF.  Even some articles on the net says 650D's live view AF is the worst in the entire camera world along with EOS M (And EOS M can't do viewfinder focus so its completely screwed)!  I remember just getting my 650D.  I was about to cry that I just spent so much money and the damn thing can't focus properly.  And that servo continuous AF was damn annoying too.  I slowly learn the camera and found out that this camera just is that lousy at live view and must use Quick AF thought view finder for best results.  Lucky for me video uses mainly manual focus and the bright clear screen is great to get things in focus easily. 

This 650D is so not user friendly for the noob.  So much for it being entry level.
I always thought that the 650D is user friendly.
Not to mention live view af on DSLR is just a very minor add on to most.
I agree that the sensor is outdated. Correct if I'm wrong but they have been using the same exact sensor since 550D. A camera released 3 years ago.

LegendLee
post Apr 10 2013, 12:52 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 9 2013, 11:30 PM)
Not photos.  Shooting photos can shoot dark scenes at ISO 100 just by expsoing it for several seconds.  You can't do that for video. 
So yeah the high ISO is used for video.  I like to shoot it live indoor at dark scenes.  And quite a lot of times already at F2.8, ISO 6400, 1/30 . 

Can't exactly tell people to brighten their venue/performance up or annoy people with bright LED lights. 

My only current solutions are my F1.4 30mm and F1.8 50mm primes which nicely does the job at 1600 ISO.  Or continue shooting at ISO 6400 and then Sepia/Blank&White the footage.
IMO, if you need to bump up your ISO till 6400/3200 for video... it's not that nice (noise or not).
Poor lighting is usually from weak light source which are very unflattering.

If it's a performance, most performance will make use of really intense spot lights which wouldn't require ultra high ISO. (Concerts, choir, play, dance)

LegendLee
post Nov 8 2013, 12:46 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(enmavel @ Nov 8 2013, 12:38 AM)
i m using 18-55mm 3.5-5.6 kit lens and since i need to shoot in low light conditions (christmas is coming rclxm9.gif ), im thinking to get a 50mm f1.8G.

What i have in mind: bokeh of christmas tree lightings, candle lights, romantic dinner, night scenery, etc

Comments? unsure.gif
The 50mm is pretty inexpensive and you can't go wrong with that.

If you really look for the shallow depth of field and larger aperture(more light), go for it.
Just a warning though, lots and lots of bokeh =/= auto awesome pics that everyone loves.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Nov 8 2013, 12:46 AM

0.0141sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:45 AM