Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V20, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMC3

arslow
post Mar 30 2013, 12:05 AM

3,544 posts

Digi is always good at making jokes among all the telcos we have, too bad their 3G coverage sucks....
arslow
post Apr 4 2013, 11:22 AM

3,544 posts

10 app updates today! Gonna be a fun day tongue.gif
Since no android updates for note 2,app updates are so much more fun than before lol. Especially when there is a redesign to conform to android's holo design, like the official twitter app smile.gif
arslow
post Apr 4 2013, 12:02 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 4 2013, 11:46 AM)
oh

i always though TW power savings will let those awesome greedy power apps to use 1,600

looks like i made a mistake, paiseh..

please drop by my office today, i'll give you some rainbow to eat courtesy of my unicorn

however, i noted that 4.2.2 isn't really power efficient. it loses too much power for no apparent reason. idling consumes more battery than me using the phone in real life..

changing kernel to Redpill 1.45 AOSP doesn't do any help, it was as bad or worse in battery life.
its not 4.2.2's fault, but its just AOSP and exynos based devices are not good friends =/
TW 4.2.2 will "magically" have better batt life for sure when compared t the 4.2.2 you have now
arslow
post Apr 5 2013, 05:14 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Apr 5 2013, 04:52 PM)
just to get some advice from you all regarding the charging rate of my N2. i used the original usb cable and when i check with GCC , the current_avg shows 900 mah, but when i tried to use another usb cable , current_avg shows 1700 mah. just wondering am i reading the correct current? cos the current_now for both usb cables are showing the same reading but not the current_avg and current_max. if this is the case, guess my usb cable is defect and is it included in the warranty?
the original usb cable seems to be prone to getting defective so its best to just use some alternative cable smile.gif
arslow
post Apr 5 2013, 08:12 PM

3,544 posts

couldnt believe my eyes when I saw directd selling s3 black AP for 1199 shocking.gif
even s2 is more expensive shocking.gif shocking.gif
arslow
post Apr 6 2013, 02:32 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Apr 6 2013, 01:46 PM)
About the reviews from Anandtech on 3DMark and HTC
3DMark
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6876/microso...vices-in-3dmark

In the 3DMark test, it is strange that the Mali400 in the Note2 does extremely well in the physics test, and fairly well in the pixel test, while it sucks in the polygon/geometry test. I wonder what kind of design tradeoff did ARM or Samsung make to end up with this result?

Or else, as pointed out in the comments, it could be due to the activation of less than all graphics/cpu cores. It doesn't make sense to have such low polygon counts, as modern games spit out more polygons and textures than physics calculations, and the chip designers know this.

I also suspect that, since 3DMark has a DirectX heritage, that may explain why the Surface Pro scores extremely well since it runs on DirectX.

hmm.gif  any sifus want to chime in?
and the HTC one numbers:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6747/htc-one-review

I get the feeling there is some selective benchmarking here  hmm.gif coz you see the Note 2 in a few tests, while it is nowhere to be seen elsewhere, especially in the battery test charts. Brian Klug is obsessed enough to indicate that there is a barely visible (ie under high magnification only) gap at the speaker grille. He seems to ooze "I'm a fanboi" unashamedly.

Otherwise, it is a pretty good writeup as expected of an Anandtech article.
there's rumor going around that Qualcomm has been "working" with futuremark with this 3Dmark release
arslow
post Apr 6 2013, 11:47 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 6 2013, 11:31 PM)
Installed Monx UBDMC1 rom today. Past 7+ hours phone heavily used. On 3g 80% of time with browsing 50%, 30% on email, Facebook, tweeter, newsfeed
Battery life good hitting nearly 5 hours screen on time at 50% battery usage

[attachmentid=3380536][attachmentid=3380537]
im sure it feels great to be able to get great usage time again from a droid right? wink.gif remember you saying way back in october "once you go Note you can never go back!!" tongue.gif
arslow
post Apr 8 2013, 12:55 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 8 2013, 12:48 AM)
how to check whether the router is 5ghz ??

I know normal router got 2.4ghz
as above how to check ?
easiest would be to google your router model...lol
I find it hard to believe our phone doesn't support dual band, though I cant actually check since Im on the crappy TMnet router. It has the BCM4334 right? BCM 4334 definitely supports dual band a/b/g/n. and yes, A supports 5 GHz, but im sure when they say a phone as recent as ours supports 5 GHz, they are talking about N tongue.gif

btw, s4 supports 802.11ac thumbup.gif
arslow
post Apr 9 2013, 11:53 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 9 2013, 11:45 AM)
Nice! We've been stuck with the same changelist since DLL4 lol. Can't wait for wanamlite. But wanam is on a holiday right? sad.gif

This post has been edited by arslow: Apr 9 2013, 11:53 AM
arslow
post Apr 9 2013, 12:51 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 9 2013, 11:54 AM)
actually i think wanam and dualnote gives me the best battery life, wanam eeking out dualnote slightly but dualnote comes with rixtas excellent theming so ...

LOL

hopefully they will have super amazing underlying changes to reduce wakelocks, add features and be the last rom before 4.2.2!!

and not to forget KLP 5.0 in June!
waa, u sure dualnote's batt life comparable to wanam? I usually avoid themed ROM as they might have worse batt life compared to stock. Might try that ROM one day hmm.gif

Would be nice if we can get back the idle batt life of 4.1.1 laugh.gif
arslow
post Apr 9 2013, 12:52 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 9 2013, 11:55 AM)
Hah! He on holiday ah?  doh.gif  doh.gif
Malaysia still the same. The latest update is Poland only so far.
yeah, if you check his sig, its says he is aon a vacation till april 16!! sad.gif
arslow
post Apr 9 2013, 12:52 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 9 2013, 11:55 AM)
Hah! He on holiday ah?  doh.gif  doh.gif
Malaysia still the same. The latest update is Poland only so far.
yeah, if you check his sig, its says he is on a vacation till april 16!! sad.gif

This post has been edited by arslow: Apr 9 2013, 12:53 PM
arslow
post Apr 9 2013, 01:05 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 9 2013, 12:55 PM)
i dunno but i feel so LOL

you should try his roms out.. pretty nice! especially the all white ones
QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 9 2013, 01:03 PM)
Dual note is a good rom. Use it before but forgot the battery life good or not oledi.
looking around now, kinda like the black theme hmm.gif lets see how fast dualcore updates his ROM to devil may cry 3 thumbup.gif
arslow
post Apr 9 2013, 02:07 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(nehalem176 @ Apr 9 2013, 01:32 PM)
when u mention devil may cry 3, my head keep distracting by angry joe review for devil may cry. lol, funny video anyway tongue.gif how did you find theme might affected battery life? just curious here.

EDIT: is it because of the color brightness?
simply put, I had a bad experience with themed ROMs on the s2, where the themers just themed without bothering about the fact that there were a lot of .9 errors, you can see the logcat moving like a credit roll after a movie tongue.gif

those errors did not only cause bad batt life, but the phone easily gets hot too, but hten again, we can actually fry an egg with an s2 while 3g browsing tongue.gif

but thats on the s2, I guess it should be better on note 2, as we have quite a lot of experienced ROM themers working on this phone smile.gif

arslow
post Apr 9 2013, 02:08 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(noelneb @ Apr 9 2013, 02:06 PM)
I realised the folders i have created on my screen, the moment i tap on it to open the list of apps, it's quite lagging on different home screen. But the folders in the main screen is quite smooth. I tested on my nexus 7 and it was super smooth.

Wonder is it because of the its touchwiz?
smoothness on this phone can be weird sometimes. For example, swiping through the normal homescreen and the music page buddy was so laggy two days ago, after a restart(flashed the new redpilll) things were back to normal~
arslow
post Apr 9 2013, 11:32 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Apr 9 2013, 11:25 PM)
Google Play Store 4.0 rolling out from today onwards! New design smile.gif

Source (Engadget)
awaiting an APK leak!! biggrin.gif
arslow
post Apr 9 2013, 11:49 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 9 2013, 11:46 PM)
woots follow iOS app store trend
free apps ??

*btw I bought temple run brave, perry and water before =.=
spam looking xda developer forum biggrin.gif
yup, doing that now tongue.gif
and also android authority, phandroid and android central tongue.gif
arslow
post Apr 10 2013, 12:40 AM

3,544 posts

ladies and gentlemen, behold, the new Play Store biggrin.gif

http://www.mediafire.com/?h669cym6yzp1fth
arslow
post Apr 10 2013, 12:44 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Apr 10 2013, 12:43 AM)
Nice. Downloading.

Add your survey response to the Kernel Usage Survey.  icon_idea.gif
was about to, but redpill 1.47 is not available in the dropdown menu sad.gif
(awesome survey interface btw, kudos to you notworthy.gif)
arslow
post Apr 10 2013, 01:02 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Apr 10 2013, 12:52 AM)
Wokeh, updated.

Damn, Google Forms makes it so easy now !!!!
done smile.gif
and the new play store is full of....cards

0.0379sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:21 PM