Mac os x problem, Please help with some info, thanks!

TSsamuelttb
post Apr 11 2006, 11:47 PM, updated 20y ago

26 posts

Hi there,

I'm a complete noob to apple pc.... well my problem is, just recently I update my powerbook g4 mac os x 10.4.4 to 10.4.5. Well, after that I ran a "verify disk" check and "verify permission" check, it seem like it found 1 error. cry.gif Actually I fix the problem already but somewhere deep in my heart I just need to know is it normal for this problem to occur after a major update. I mean the "1" error that the "verify disk" has found. Do you guys out also encounter problem after you update your system to 10.4.5, after the update, did you guys run the "verify disk" in disk utility?did you guys encounter any permission or disk error? Hope you guys can help me and provide me with some info. I'm just recently a switcher.

Actually, currently I'm running 10.4.6 and after I run the 10.4.6 update, check the "verify disk" + "verify permission".... found no problem at all. This is why I'm so curious why the 10.4.5 update could cause problem.

I didn't install any third party sofware except ClamXav antivirus. And all the software on my hard drive is included when I bought this powerbook.

Best regards,

sam
prasys
post Apr 12 2006, 03:18 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Nothing to worry , the permissons error will be fixed for you , once you upgrade your OS automaticly. Dont have to worry

If you still ...wanna to play safe , PM me , and I will host Tiger 911 CD , which is a Live Tiger CD [just like Knoppix , etc , BartPE , but this is for Mac] and then you can repair your HDD from there , got some tools as well
R-K-F
post Apr 14 2006, 06:12 PM

94 posts

Just for the record.. you should be clicking the _repair disk permissions_ button, NOT verify.. as it does.. nothing. To fix permissions, that is.
wei
post Apr 14 2006, 06:20 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

It's pretty normal to have permission error. It's a simple error that the access to certain files or programme are set to wrong/ incorrect user rights. Problem might occur when OS X trying to alter the file/ programme, but it doesnt have sufficient user rights.

You can use "Disk Utility" found inside your Applications/Utility/ folder to repair permission.
TSsamuelttb
post Apr 15 2006, 09:56 PM

26 posts

Hi Prysys, R-K-F & wei..... thanks guys for your reply, I'm feeling much better now..... kind of worried at first, thought it might cause problem in future but anyway, appreciated that you guys giving me the detail fact about my problem. This is my 1st mac, love it so much. Thanks guys! :-)

0.1246sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:55 AM