Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL offcial thread V4, now selling
kucuboy
Mar 20 2013, 04:11 AM
So has anyone else who bought their phone on Saturday and registered for nfc speaker received their email from Sony? I purchased mine at 11.30am and managed to fill up the form but have yet to receive any email from Sony.
Oh btw, is there any bumper or cover that can still be used on the charging dock without removing it? Mine's XZ.
kucuboy
Mar 20 2013, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(YOYLOD @ Mar 20 2013, 07:41 AM) i got mine at Sony Curve on Friday. Registered and filled-in the FB/ NFC thingi but no feedback till now. Read some past post that that was valid for online purchases only. God knows wat the heck is going on now....Sony (M) is only giving PWP (less 10% for those mobile battery) whilst distributors & Telco r throwing-in free SP, NFC speakers n etc. but thinkin back, same like Proton(where i work). branches have limited discounts whilst dealers can throw margin as they see fit. Aiya stupid la then. I was hoping to rush buy the phone so tat can get the speaker but still never get. Makes me feel I should have waited for Maxis package plan. I memang would have taken up their most expensive plan cos of my high usage. Oh well, buy already, no point complaining now.
kucuboy
Mar 20 2013, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(Dyson Jin @ Mar 20 2013, 05:03 PM) and of course... White look so sexy...omg [attachmentid=3355614] [attachmentid=3355615] [attachmentid=3355621] Free gifts!!!!!!! Tickets only 100pcs!!!LIMITED [attachmentid=3355624] [attachmentid=3355628] What is that item in square silver box with the word Xperia on it. What is inside it? Nice free gifts btw
kucuboy
Mar 20 2013, 06:17 PM
Can any of the bumpers or casings still work with this dock Derrickmoo is selling? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2737267&hl= Malas want to remove it everytime want to charge at the docking station.
kucuboy
Mar 20 2013, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Mar 20 2013, 06:20 PM) some forumer suggested a few brands that can be used..  Oh, I may have missed that posting. Where ah? I really want to buy one to protect my black beauty after the torture I inflicted on my Blackberry Torch (paint peeling on the front after numerous drops and scratches)
kucuboy
Mar 20 2013, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Mar 20 2013, 06:49 PM) quite a pages back.. @benny888 suggested a few last time.. Never found it. Mr Google also no help
kucuboy
Mar 20 2013, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(refnulf @ Mar 20 2013, 10:19 PM) I want the speakers, looks like they're giving it away all over the place. Next time wait a few days before we buy! Yea la. feel like bodoh being an early adopter
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 12:28 AM
junshengOh just realised I've not been added to the list yet. Xperia Z BLCK here. Btw, any1 know where to buy the TourMate translucent silicon casing. Translucent TourMate casing
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 12:30 AM
Gratz, damn jeles seeing your NFC speaker. Where did u pre order it from
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 21 2013, 02:01 AM) dont use landyard, after ppl snatch... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thats a sexy lanyard
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 11:06 AM
Is it safe to use my Blackberry Torch charger to charge my XZ? Or how about the micro USB cable I got from BB to charge or transfer files from XZ to PC?
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 21 2013, 12:12 PM) Go ahead . It is very safe . I even charge it with my ipad a higher 2.1A charger n using a HTC cable Thx Benny, btw do u know which casing or bumper can use with the charging dock without removing the case/bumper? Some1 on forum said you would know
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 21 2013, 07:35 PM) I have absolutely no idea But my commonsense will tell me none of the cases will fit. Firstly any casing will increase the width and the phone will not fit into the tight fit dock ( lengthwise ) . Look up those youtube videos and you will see is a perfect fit. Secondly assuming you can force it into the dock, the connectors will be another issue. Notice the connectors are recessed in and any casing will increase the depth of the recess. Might be Possible only with those extremely tin rubber /gel like cases. Haven't seen any of these so far I don't know why so many of you guys are so concerned about this - just take off the casing - is it so difficult or one's time is so precious that we cannot afford the few seconds to take off the casing ?? Those who have the docks do feedback the tightness of the fit ? I guess you are right. I did some research of my own last night and looks like the bumper/ casing does not leave much space to fit in the dock. The only casing I saw which allows the phone to charge in the dock unhindered is a leather casing which can fold at the back and comes with a front cover as well. I'm away from comp so can't link tat casing but I think in UK it's about 30pounds. It's not that I'm too hardpressed that I must get a casing that fits into the dock but if there is, it definitely makes things a lot easier and convenient.
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 09:01 PM
Tested Maxis LTE near Sri Hartamas Finnegan's pub. Full network bar - download speed 32.97 Mb / upload 20.56mb / ping 111ms.
Repeated the test again at same spot with same signal level and got diff results as follows - dl 20.17mb / upload 19.23mb / 59ms.
When I drove near the entrance of Bukit Aman police headquarters I saw 1 bar of LTE. When I checked with speedtest.net it said I was connected to tmnet cyberjaya server. Well anyways here is the test results - dl 14.37mb / upload 0.96mb / ping 150ms.
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 09:09 PM
Really impressive download speeds. Can easily use phone as modem to connect laptop to torrent to download. But to play online games like black ops or etc on comp/ lappie, the high ping would be an issue. Sadly Maxis doesn't have unlimited data plan like before. Instead they cap it at 5gb and if u exceed it no extra charges but the speed is throttled down. Well at least that is what the Maxis center staff at TTDI said.
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(benny0908 @ Mar 21 2013, 09:21 PM) For maxis LTE need to do any setting at apn? I changed new micro sim card from Maxis today, ONLY because my old sim cannot be cut to small size. I didn't need to tell Maxis staff at TTDI I want a LTE enabled sim or etc. Its automatic provided your micro sim card is quite recent (some forumer said at least 2 months old can use LTE). Didn't need to call cust svc as well. Settings > More...> Mobile Networks > Network Mode > select "LTE (preferred)/WCDMA/GSM"
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 10:17 PM
I didn't pay very close attention but later after doing my three LTE speedtest.net tests and being logged onto LTE network for about 5-8mins, I noticed my battery had dropped about 15-20%. I have read somewhere the LTE networks drain a lot of battery power but this is insane. I can imagine future phones may need at least 3,500 Mah rating batteries and above to effectively last at least half a day for LTE usage.
kucuboy
Mar 21 2013, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(refnulf @ Mar 21 2013, 10:21 PM) Cannot be, I use LTE quite often around my work area. It doesn't drain as much. Hmm, then I surely need to pay attention to the battery the next time i do that test. What is the dl speed and ping u get at your office? Has Maxis began throttling your speed yet?
kucuboy
Mar 22 2013, 12:17 AM
Wah jeff10012003 you yourself came and flooded this thread with your mulitple postings. Glad u are feeling better now.
kucuboy
Mar 22 2013, 12:27 AM
when using speedtest.net I managed to get 20mbps download speed despite not being on LTE network. When I checked back in the results it says I used "Cell" network. What is that? I'm using Maxis btw.