OpenELEC Raspberry Pi, XBMC + Raspberry Pi; using Windows

TSexkaizen
post Mar 19 2013, 10:16 AM, updated 12y ago

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

A simple guide to share after successfully setup OpenELEC Raspberry Pi.
I've searched in Home Entertainment subforum and not able to find detailed guide.

Step 1: Format the Memory Card
- Install SDformatter.
- Run SDformatter > Select the SDHC drive (make sure SDHC card has been inserted)> click ‘format’.
- Confirm the format > click OK to continue.
- Click OK.
- Click OK > click ‘Exit’ to close SDformatter.

Step 2: Install OpenELEC to SDHC card
- Extract downloaded Win32diskimager and OpenELEC zip file downloaded earlier.
- Run/open Win32diskimager and browse to OpenELEC image you have extracted previously.
- Device must be selected to the SDHC drive (make sure SDHC card has been formatted and inserted).
- Click ‘Write’.
- Click OK or Yes to continue.
- The image will be writing to the SDHC card.
- Writing complete with ‘Write Successful’ box popup.
- Click OK to finish.

Step 3: Raspberry Pi Setup
- Connect HDMI cable to Raspberry Pi & TV with HDMI.
- Connect phone/tablet charger to Raspberry Pi.
- Connect Ethernet cable / compatible Wifi adapter@dongle to Raspberry Pi.
- Insert OpenELEC flashed SDHC to Raspberry Pi.
- Turn on Raspberry Pi & choose HDMI input at TV*.
- You will see a splash screen OpenELEC and it booting to OpenELEC XBMC.
*If the TV is HDMI-CEC compatible, it might show HDMI-CEC as the TV source and need to choose this input to enable OpenELEC control using TV remote.

Step 4: Sharing Libraries *OPTIONAL*
http://www.robvanhamersveld.nl/2012/03/02/...s-or-other-nas/

This post has been edited by exkaizen: Mar 25 2013, 07:06 PM
toytoy
post Mar 20 2013, 02:31 PM

875 posts

Thanks for the useful info bro. I m interested to get an RPi and test this out.

Some questions regarding RPi and OpenELEC.

OpenELEC is an OS running XBMC?

Can this setup support all major video formats i.e. mkv, rmvb, etc? how about 10bit Anime?

Can audio format like DD5.1, DTS 5.1 be supported? I read up a bit online and i think RPi itself is not able to decode but able to bitstream to AV Receiver?

If i plug it to the TV, can i use an USB Cable and connect to TV USB port to power up RPi instead of external power adaptor?

Thanks again for the instructions smile.gif
lwk523
post Mar 20 2013, 02:33 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 20 2013, 02:31 PM)

Can this setup support all major video formats i.e. mkv, rmvb, etc? how about 10bit Anime?

Can audio format like DD5.1, DTS 5.1 be supported? I read up a bit online and i think RPi itself is not able to decode but able to bitstream to AV Receiver?

If i plug it to the TV, can i use an USB Cable and connect to TV USB port to power up RPi instead of external power adaptor?

I dont think it can support DD5.1, DTS 5.1 and that's why I give up and go for HTPC lolx.. shakehead.gif
TSexkaizen
post Mar 21 2013, 08:10 AM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 20 2013, 02:31 PM)

yes... you will boot directly to OpenELEC (although the kernel I believe is from Linux)

tried 1080P 15GB... running flawlessly... only those unpopular codec/container such as mpeg2 & VC-1 required license... oh yeah... 10bit Anime not supported.
Recommended to use ethernet cable to avoid loading in the middle of movies

RP1 itself not able to decode and transcode... if you set the audio to HDMI and LED TV able to process shouldn't be any problem... my TV able to do that so no problem...

hrmm... its depend whether the TV USB port able to supply power... you can use smartphone/tablet adaptor as alternative
toytoy
post Mar 21 2013, 02:08 PM

875 posts

Thanks for the info. Anyone with rPi wanna try out the "Frodo" custom built form this link? It supports HD Audio and also Hi10P anime. smile.gif

http://tandrepires.wordpress.com/2013/01/2...rry-pi-support/

But funny official XBMC website stated that Hi10P anime is not supported on Frodo 12.1

Dunno which is true...

This post has been edited by toytoy: Mar 21 2013, 02:10 PM
TSexkaizen
post Mar 21 2013, 02:58 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 21 2013, 02:08 PM)
Thanks for the info. Anyone with rPi wanna try out the "Frodo" custom built form this link? It supports HD Audio and also Hi10P anime. smile.gif

http://tandrepires.wordpress.com/2013/01/2...rry-pi-support/

But funny official XBMC website stated that Hi10P anime is not supported on Frodo 12.1

Dunno which is true...
if not mistaken Frodo for Windows support HD Audio & Hi10P for anime... only for rPi Hi10P not supported
toytoy
post Mar 21 2013, 03:47 PM

875 posts

Same as what i read from their wiki. So there no way we can play hi10p then.

For AC3 and DTS should be supported using passthrough/bitstream. Since decoding is not done using RPi.

I am gonna place an order for RPi today. Will try it out once i get my hands on it smile.gif
TSexkaizen
post Mar 21 2013, 04:02 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 21 2013, 03:47 PM)
Same as what i read from their wiki. So there no way we can play hi10p then.

For AC3 and DTS should be supported using passthrough/bitstream. Since decoding is not done using RPi.

I am gonna place an order for RPi today. Will try it out once i get my hands on it smile.gif
there are alternative box that received fully support from XBMC development team but its more expensive from rPI.

Its Pivos XIOS DS - price: USD114.98 (if from Amazon/newegg) & USD139 (if from official distribution in singapore)

You can use the XBMC using the Android (.APK) or using the XBMC Linux port.

I'm currently try to get a workaround for smooth scrolling in the library for rPi by changing the storage to USB and try to overclock it.

If both doesn't give a lot different, I'm thinking to get the Pivox XIOS DS box.

UPDATE:

Seems I do not need to get Pivos or Jynxbox...

The menu scroll smoothly and quite responsive...

What I did:

- got myself Sandisk Extreme class 10 & Sandisk Extreme Usbstick
- Install OpenElec & change disk=/dev/mmcblk0p2 to disk=/dev/sda1 in the cmdline.txt
- overclock to 'medium' mode
- using Confluence-Mod v2 as the skin

Currently happy with the smoothness rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by exkaizen: Mar 25 2013, 07:08 PM
toytoy
post Mar 22 2013, 01:48 PM

875 posts

Bro did you try any IPTV or Live Streaming TV?

I read from xbmc wiki and under the addon section we can actually add a lot of livestreaming medias.

I m gonna try it out when i get my RPi next week. Currently i m using Himeida media player and the live stream speed is very slow and full of china channels.

if xbmc works, then a lot of international channels are available. Hope the speed is ok and there are no geo-locks. Wanted to watch sports channel for a long time smile.gif

P.S. element14 just restocked the RPi. They have more than 1000 units in stock right now. Go grab yours now. smile.gif

This post has been edited by toytoy: Mar 22 2013, 01:51 PM
TSexkaizen
post Mar 22 2013, 02:27 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

no not yet... just got my rPi stable and smooth...

will try it on the weekend rclxm9.gif

btw... if you have a NAS... you could share your library with multiple devices that running xbmc... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by exkaizen: Mar 22 2013, 02:28 PM
toytoy
post Mar 22 2013, 02:31 PM

875 posts

Yaya, thanks for the info bro biggrin.gif
mintgadget
post Mar 23 2013, 07:27 AM

328 posts

Go ahead and give Rasplex a try, is a truly amazing.
joeyboy88
post Mar 23 2013, 07:41 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Mar 21 2013, 04:02 PM)
there are alternative box that received fully support from XBMC development team but its more expensive from rPI.

Its Pivos XIOS DS - price: USD114.98 (if from Amazon/newegg) & USD139 (if from official distribution in singapore)

You can use the XBMC using the Android (.APK) or using the XBMC Linux port.

I'm currently try to get a workaround for smooth scrolling in the library for rPi by changing the storage to USB and try to overclock it.

If both doesn't give a lot different, I'm thinking to get the Pivox XIOS DS box.

UPDATE:

Seems I do not need to get Pivos or Jynxbox...

The menu scroll smoothly and quite responsive...

What I did:

- got myself Sandisk Extreme class 10 & Sandisk Extreme Usbstick
- Install OpenElec & set disk=/dev/sda1 in the config.txt
- overclock to 'medium' mode
- using Confluence-Mod v2 as the skin

Currently happy with the smoothness rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif
Bro, how do u chg the storage to USB. Can you update it in yr first post. Tq
TSexkaizen
post Mar 25 2013, 10:18 AM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(joeyboy88 @ Mar 23 2013, 07:41 AM)
Bro, how do u chg the storage to USB. Can you update it in yr first post. Tq
Access your SDHC card from your laptop/pc.

Open files cmdline.txt and change disk=/dev/mmcblk0p2 value to disk=/dev/sda1

This post has been edited by exkaizen: Mar 25 2013, 07:07 PM
toytoy
post Mar 29 2013, 09:59 AM

875 posts

Finally got my RPi setup and running. It's very nice. HDMI-CEC works out of the box for my Samsung TV however I m not able to control XMBC using my Sony HTPC. Somehow Bravis Sync is not working.

Regarding using USB Drive to speed up the system, OpenElec and XBMC is still installed in SDHC like normal, but we just change the cmdline.txt file to make use of USB drive and it will be faster?? Or do we need to install OpenElec in the USB Drive?

For overclocking we just add config.txt file in the SDHC root and type arm_freq=xxx?

I am watching live streaming now and it's great.

Finally able to get PPS working. Also tried alot of sport channel last night. SkySport 1,2,3,4 some in HD, EPSN etc.

Luckily didn't sign up for dreambox hehehe.
TSexkaizen
post Mar 29 2013, 02:45 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 29 2013, 09:59 AM)
Finally got my RPi setup and running. It's very nice. HDMI-CEC works out of the box for my Samsung TV however I m not able to control XMBC using my Sony HTPC. Somehow Bravis Sync is not working.

Regarding using USB Drive to speed up the system, OpenElec and XBMC is still installed in SDHC like normal, but we just change the cmdline.txt file to make use of USB drive and it will be faster?? Or do we need to install OpenElec in the USB Drive?Yup... just change the cmdline.txt

For overclocking we just add config.txt file in the SDHC root and type arm_freq=xxx?
removed # from the line and change the value. they have provide the recommended OC value

I am watching live streaming now and it's great.

Finally able to get PPS working. Also tried alot of sport channel last night. SkySport 1,2,3,4 some in HD, EPSN etc.
can give a guide how to setup this... smile.gif

Luckily didn't sign up for dreambox hehehe.
toytoy
post Mar 29 2013, 04:37 PM

875 posts

There are 2 usb ports, i can choose any of them or disk=/dev/sda1 means port 1 and if port 2 need to use sda2?

Are you using any powered USB hub?

For adding PPS to XBMC,

1). Go to https://code.google.com/p/xbmc-addons-hinese/downloads/list
2). Download "repository.googlecode.xbmc-addons-chinese-eden.zip"
3). Copy the file above to a USB drive and plug into RPi
4). in XBMC, go to SYSTEM --> SETTINGS --> ADD-ONS --> INSTALL FROM ZIP FILE
5). Next browse to your USB Drive and select the file download earlier and click OK
6). Next you will go back to the ADD-ONS page but this time choose GET ADD-ONS
7). Next you will see the a list of Repositories but choose the name of the one installed from file above.
8). Next Select VIDEO ADD-ONS and you will see a list of links. Select PPS from the list and click INSTALL
9). Once that's done, go back to Main Menu and seleck VIDEOS --> ADD-ONS and you will see PPS there.

Hope this helps smile.gif

toytoy
post Mar 29 2013, 05:34 PM

875 posts

Bro, ask u, need to format the USB Drive to ext 4 partition?
TSexkaizen
post Mar 29 2013, 08:01 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 29 2013, 05:34 PM)
Bro, ask u, need to format the USB Drive to ext 4 partition?
not sure regarding port.... I think both sda1 unless you have two usbstick... i think...

yup need to format to ext 4
toytoy
post Mar 30 2013, 08:54 PM

875 posts

Tried USB stick last night. It works. Boot up is faster and whole system seems speedier.

One thing once the storage has been moved all settings will be gone.

I had to make a backup of the config, then change storage to usb then restore the config files. All Addons are restored except xbmc settings.

Also tried overclocking to medium settings and system seems stable enough.

TSexkaizen
post Mar 30 2013, 09:30 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 29 2013, 04:37 PM)
There are 2 usb ports, i can choose any of them or disk=/dev/sda1 means port 1 and if port 2 need to use sda2?

Are you using any powered USB hub?

For adding PPS to XBMC,

1). Go to https://code.google.com/p/xbmc-addons-hinese/downloads/list
2). Download "repository.googlecode.xbmc-addons-chinese-eden.zip"
3). Copy the file above to a USB drive and plug into RPi
4). in XBMC, go to SYSTEM --> SETTINGS --> ADD-ONS --> INSTALL FROM ZIP FILE
5). Next browse to your USB Drive and select the file download earlier and click OK
6). Next you will go back to the ADD-ONS page but this time choose GET ADD-ONS
7). Next you will see the a list of Repositories but choose the name of the one installed from file above.
8). Next Select VIDEO ADD-ONS and you will see a list of links. Select PPS from the list and click INSTALL
9). Once that's done, go back to Main Menu and seleck VIDEOS --> ADD-ONS and you will see PPS there.

Hope this helps smile.gif
I've managed to install PPS... but when try to execute... it show script failed...

toytoy
post Mar 30 2013, 09:44 PM

875 posts

U try go SKIN Setting under appearance and change the font to arial.
rootlinux
post Apr 1 2013, 02:50 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Mar 30 2013, 09:30 PM)
I've managed to install PPS... but when try to execute... it show script failed...
If u installed only PPSTREAM it will not work, try install PPTV as well and load the PPSTREAM again smile.gif
TSexkaizen
post Apr 1 2013, 09:09 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(rootlinux @ Apr 1 2013, 02:50 PM)
If u installed only PPSTREAM it will not work, try install PPTV as well and load the PPSTREAM again  smile.gif
hey it works... thanx bro... now... searching for sports channel...
rootlinux
post Apr 1 2013, 11:30 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Apr 1 2013, 09:09 PM)
hey it works... thanx bro... now... searching for sports channel...
pls share once you found good sports channel, thanks smile.gif

shadow111
post Apr 2 2013, 02:50 PM

3,140 posts

Plan to get Raspberry Pi from http://my.element14.com/raspberry-pi/rpi-b...ased/dp/2217158 . It's showing as below.
Does this means it's available for Msia? What other peripheral that I need to purchase along?

Availability: SG 393 , UK 32
Price For: 1 Each
Minimum Order Quantity: 1
Order Multiple Quantity: 1
Unit Price: RM150.00
toytoy
post Apr 2 2013, 04:23 PM

875 posts

If it shows in stock in SG means in stock in M'sia.

You can buy RPi only for RM111 and add another case separately for RM28.70. Cheaper than RM150.

Most if the things you need are stated in the first post by exkaizen smile.gif

---------

i never knew have to install both PPS and PPTV. Althogh i had both of them installed but PPTV won't work. sad.gif

Also, when i first installed PPS last week i can get the latest TVB Drama, last few days i tried browsing again and it's been taken down ady.

Any idea how to get it back? tongue.gif
rootlinux
post Apr 2 2013, 06:01 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Apr 2 2013, 04:23 PM)
If it shows in stock in SG means in stock in M'sia.

You can buy RPi only for RM111 and add another case separately for RM28.70. Cheaper than RM150.

Most if the things you need are stated in the first post by exkaizen smile.gif

---------

i never knew have to install both PPS and PPTV. Althogh i had both of them installed but PPTV won't work. sad.gif

Also, when i first installed PPS last week i can get the latest TVB Drama, last few days i tried browsing again and it's been taken down ady.

Any idea how to get it back? tongue.gif
I can confirm PPStream need PPTV. I have both OpenELEC and Raspbmc on different SD card. At first I also dunno...I installed PPS first then PPTV on my Raspbmc.

Then, I install new OpenELEC 3.0.0 with just Youtube, Vimeo and PPStream. Try on PPStream but don't work. Finally, I installed PPTV and try on PPStream...it work like charm for PPStream.

I also notice PPStream don't have latest TVB drama like A Great Way to Care 2 - 仁心解碼 II.

I suggest you try Dknlght International Addons and you can watch latest TVB dramas from azdrama [dot] net

toytoy
post Apr 2 2013, 06:15 PM

875 posts

Thanks for the great info. I saw A great way to care 2 last week. I was so happy. It comes with Mandarin and Cantonese with SD and HD quality.

But few days back i check again no more ady. That's the prob with PPS, always changing.

I will try out DKnight tonight. Thanks biggrin.gif
toytoy
post Apr 3 2013, 12:42 AM

875 posts

Azdrama is great. Speed is good and there are 720p hk dramas. Thanks for the link bro!!!
rootlinux
post Apr 3 2013, 03:14 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Apr 3 2013, 12:42 AM)
Azdrama is great. Speed is good and there are 720p hk dramas. Thanks for the link bro!!!
Cool, can u share ur sports channel repo? thanks.
toytoy
post Apr 3 2013, 04:46 PM

875 posts

http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Unofficial_add-on_repositories

I m using MaxMustermann's Add-ons from this site and installed SportsDevil

It's not very good and i m looking for better ones. Will share here once i find one smile.gif

TSexkaizen
post Apr 3 2013, 06:28 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Apr 3 2013, 04:46 PM)
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Unofficial_add-on_repositories

I m using MaxMustermann's Add-ons from this site and installed SportsDevil

It's not very good and i m looking for better ones. Will share here once i find one smile.gif
nice....
shadow111
post Apr 3 2013, 09:15 PM

3,140 posts

Need some helps...
Just receive this mail.. how come we cannot purchase online for personal use?
Anyone face the same issue? Any other place to buy? thundermatch charge RM25 for delivery.. rclxub.gif

Thank you for ordering with us.

Please note that due to some licence issue, we are unable to sell the Raspberry PI to customers who purchase it for personal use.

Kindly please log in to the following website to purchase directly from my retailer

http://farnell.com/raspberrypi-consumer/ap...php?region=apac

Do note that we are still able to proceed the 2nd item (2113799). Please let me know if you want us to proceed?
TSexkaizen
post Apr 4 2013, 08:23 AM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Apr 3 2013, 09:15 PM)
Need some helps...
Just receive this mail.. how come we cannot purchase online for personal use?
Anyone face the same issue? Any other place to buy? thundermatch charge RM25 for delivery.. rclxub.gif

Thank you for ordering with us.

Please note that due to some licence issue, we are unable to sell the Raspberry PI to customers who purchase it for personal use.

Kindly please log in to the following website to purchase directly from my retailer

http://farnell.com/raspberrypi-consumer/ap...php?region=apac

Do note that we are still able to proceed the 2nd item (2113799). Please let me know if you want us to proceed?
I'm using my office name & address
shadow111
post Apr 4 2013, 08:55 AM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Apr 4 2013, 08:23 AM)
I'm using my office name & address
i retry and putting my company name with my hse add..
if still cannot go thru, will send to my office dy..
weikee
post Apr 25 2013, 02:28 PM

12,019 posts

Bump this up.

Got my Pi today smile.gif
Kelv
post Apr 25 2013, 03:19 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 25 2013, 02:28 PM)
Bump this up.

Got my Pi today smile.gif
Going to setup as HTPC?
I found the more active thread here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2247098
weikee
post Apr 25 2013, 03:52 PM

12,019 posts

Will do HTPC first, and buy few more units to do others things after I get familiar with this chili padi.
ggfairy
post Jun 19 2013, 04:32 AM

27 posts

Anyone here streams pps or China TV(CTV) channels without lag? Hmm.. Got my raspi running with pptv & pps installed. Tried using pptv to stream CTV but its very laggy. eden add-on does not stream CTV though :/ Also for HK drama I use AZdrama add-on. I was not able to run sports channeln addon(script failed). Trying to search high and low only to find this thread useful. How are you sifus doing? Any project to show/update? tongue.gif Im very new to Raspi
CocoMonGo
post Aug 15 2013, 10:09 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

guys i need some help. So I have the raspberry with openelec and i got it working fine with HDMI output. Now I was trying to use Pi to play MP3 using the 3.5mm analog output but the sound is too soft (output through RCA to my JVC CD player AUX-input). After a lot of research its a hardware problem, and the only way I can figure out to solving this is to use some form of an amp. Since I am a noob in this, what kind of amp should I be looking for? can a headphone amp work? what sort of output should I be looking for?
TSexkaizen
post Aug 16 2013, 03:14 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Aug 15 2013, 10:09 PM)
guys i need some help. So I have the raspberry with openelec and i got it working fine with HDMI output. Now I was trying to use Pi to play MP3 using the 3.5mm analog output but the sound is too soft (output through RCA to my JVC CD player AUX-input). After a lot of research its a hardware problem, and the only way I can figure out to solving this is to use some form of an amp. Since I am a noob in this, what kind of amp should I be looking for? can a headphone amp work? what sort of output should I be looking for?
have you tried using RCA from your TV to your JVC CD Player?
CocoMonGo
post Aug 18 2013, 01:33 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Aug 16 2013, 03:14 PM)
have you tried using RCA from your TV to your JVC CD Player?
Never tried before because the TV and the player is very far away. plus I dont have a RCA to RCA but 3.5mm to RCA cables only smile.gif
TSexkaizen
post Aug 19 2013, 08:19 AM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Aug 18 2013, 01:33 PM)
Never tried before because the TV and the player is very far away. plus I dont have a RCA to RCA but 3.5mm to RCA cables only  smile.gif
you could use converter 3.5mm to RCA and connect it to the cables or you need to buy RCA to RCA
CocoMonGo
post Aug 20 2013, 10:32 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Aug 19 2013, 08:19 AM)
you could use converter 3.5mm to RCA and connect it to the cables or you need to buy RCA to RCA
really thanks for answering my questions but i dont really see how your suggested solution would help though. My original question was actually what kind of amp should I used for the Raspberry pi before I connect to my Hifi through the Aux in. Should I use only pre-amps or can I use headphone amps.
TSexkaizen
post Aug 20 2013, 10:33 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Aug 20 2013, 10:32 PM)
really thanks for answering my questions but i dont really see how your suggested solution would help though. My original question was actually what kind of amp should I used for the Raspberry pi before I connect to my Hifi through the Aux in. Should I use only pre-amps or can I use headphone amps.
ahhh... ok I thought you asking the connection to your Hifi... not sure since I am not using any amp

This post has been edited by exkaizen: Aug 20 2013, 10:34 PM
valensi
post Aug 23 2013, 04:28 PM

166 posts

I got my RPi yesterday and installed Openelec. Also bought the MPEG2 license key.

Pro
- stream & play all my 1080p mkv smoothly
- support hdmi-cec
- play 1080p mkv with DTS 5.1 with no problem

Con
- cant play BDISO smoothly
- cant handle DVDISO
- got issue with hdmi-cec. Sometimes it will not woks
- bad deinterlace filter for mpeg2

Overall im quite impressed with its performace, juz a bit disappointed it cant play BDISO properly
dosnx
post Aug 26 2013, 03:02 PM

insaflah
697 posts

received Rpi last week.
just try playing movies only.
will try live tv later.
i connect Rpi to pioneer home theater to philips tv
r4g3
post Aug 26 2013, 05:23 PM

44 posts

How do I enable turbo mode on OpenELEC Rpi?
valensi
post Aug 27 2013, 11:20 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(r4g3 @ Aug 26 2013, 05:23 PM)
How do I enable turbo mode on OpenELEC Rpi?
Add these entry in config.txt

arm_freq=1000
core_freq=500
sdram_freq=500
over_voltage=6

This post has been edited by valensi: Aug 27 2013, 11:20 PM
Elanges
post Aug 28 2013, 11:21 PM

706 posts

Ok im planing to give a rpi a try. Main usage to play movies from server on my other room. Mostly 1080p movie, no bdiso . So which rpi I should buy? Any selling locally ?

valensi
post Aug 29 2013, 11:20 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Aug 28 2013, 11:21 PM)
Ok im planing to give a rpi a try. Main usage to play movies from server on my other room. Mostly 1080p movie, no bdiso . So which rpi I should buy? Any selling locally ?
Buy the Model B (512mb, 2 USB port, Ethernet Port). U can buy online at Element14 or RS Component. Choose for business use and put ur company name in the order form. U can also buy @ thundermatch but the price a bit higher. I personally recommend to get from element14. Very fast shipping.

Any movie file below 30Mbps should play smoothly via network (SMB/NFS/UPnP)
Elanges
post Aug 29 2013, 11:30 AM

706 posts

QUOTE(valensi @ Aug 29 2013, 11:20 AM)
Buy the Model B (512mb, 2 USB port, Ethernet Port). U can buy online at Element14 or RS Component. Choose for business use and put ur company name in the order form. U can also buy @ thundermatch but the price a bit higher. I personally recommend to get from element14. Very fast shipping.

Any movie file below 30Mbps should play smoothly via network (SMB/NFS/UPnP)
thanks for reply, for playing mkv movies. do i need to purchase the licenses ?
valensi
post Aug 29 2013, 11:45 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Aug 29 2013, 11:30 AM)
thanks for reply, for playing mkv movies. do i need to purchase the licenses ?
Nope, unless the mkv contains MPEG2 or VC-1 encoded video. The license will cost around rm10 for MPEG2 & rm5 for VC-1
jianwei87
post Sep 29 2013, 12:11 PM

481 posts

Is possible to put astro on-the-go on xmbc?
valensi
post Oct 14 2013, 01:45 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Sep 29 2013, 12:11 PM)
Is possible to put astro on-the-go on xmbc?
Theres no astro on-the-go add-on for xbmc so its not possible

This post has been edited by valensi: Oct 14 2013, 01:45 PM
jianwei87
post Oct 14 2013, 04:47 PM

481 posts

Possible to stream hulu, netflix, bbc or itv? As now I can stream China site like youku, tudou and etc. But how about the UK or US base website?
cikalakacikaci
post Oct 15 2013, 09:50 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Oct 14 2013, 05:47 PM)
Possible to stream hulu, netflix, bbc or itv? As now I can stream China site like youku, tudou and etc. But how about the UK or US base website?
all possible bro. pm me for more info n for chepest netflix in town.lol
post Oct 22 2013, 08:45 AM

648 posts

Nvm, all working now, updated to 3.2.2. thx.

This post has been edited by 266K: Oct 23 2013, 09:09 PM
noolrak
post Oct 24 2013, 07:00 PM

Hi all sifus here,

Can I check whether it is possible to install & use PPStv? And how can I do it?

many thanks.
Mushwashan
post Nov 20 2013, 06:34 AM

64 posts

watch live tv link to astro (astro byond subscribed) on raspberry pi using xbmc or something else ,,,any idea???

something like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Za5KDS-arKY

or any simple setup
post Nov 21 2013, 02:36 PM

648 posts

all here.. read

http://www.xbmchub.com/forums/forum.php
wshen6
post Nov 29 2013, 03:57 PM

72 posts

Hi, I was wondering if this setup able to stream 1080p live stream from internet with unifi 5mbps? Thank you.
nyunyu
post Dec 1 2013, 06:35 PM

His Royal Highness
1,394 posts

QUOTE(noolrak @ Oct 24 2013, 07:00 PM)
Hi all sifus here,

Can I check whether it is possible to install & use PPStv? And how can I do it?

many thanks.
I think there are some instructions here.
amad_maui
post Apr 10 2014, 02:59 PM

86 posts

i have a question.
i have 500gb external hdd formatted with ntfs
every time i connect it to the raspberry pi usb port it will restart everything. and after restart while the external hdd is still connected it will restart again after xbmc interface load.

does OpenELEC support ntfs or do i need to configure anything?
weikee
post Apr 10 2014, 08:05 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(amad_maui @ Apr 10 2014, 02:59 PM)
i have a question.
i have 500gb external hdd formatted with ntfs
every time i  connect it to the raspberry pi usb port it will restart everything.  and after restart while the external hdd is still connected it will restart again after xbmc interface load.

does OpenELEC support ntfs or do i need to configure anything?
I think your input power not sufficient. Try bigger current power input. If can't try external power for your h.disk.
SUSkawaii87
post Apr 22 2014, 04:54 PM

257 posts

so whats the use beside watching xbmc? heard lots of difference use but not sure what it is
TSexkaizen
post Apr 22 2014, 05:13 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

QUOTE(kawaii87 @ Apr 22 2014, 04:54 PM)
so whats the use beside watching xbmc? heard lots of difference use but not sure what it is
what do you mean by beside watching xbmc?
SUSkawaii87
post Apr 22 2014, 05:16 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Apr 22 2014, 05:13 PM)
what do you mean by beside watching xbmc?
someone said proudly in fb group... you google la raspberry PI boleh buat apa lagi instead watching xbmc... i did google but nothing comes out
TSexkaizen
post Apr 22 2014, 05:20 PM

An Area No Kishi !!!
1,555 posts

ah... you mean raspberry PI?
This is some of the things you can do with Raspberry Pi
http://www.cnet.com/how-to/25-fun-things-t...a-raspberry-pi/
SUSkawaii87
post Apr 23 2014, 11:05 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Apr 22 2014, 05:20 PM)
ah... you mean raspberry PI?
This is some of the things you can do with Raspberry Pi
http://www.cnet.com/how-to/25-fun-things-t...a-raspberry-pi/
got whatsapp? i might need help later
SUSkawaii87
post Apr 23 2014, 06:12 PM

257 posts

kenapa LED hijau dengan kuning aku tak menyala ni???
Ghoisdo
post Apr 23 2014, 06:32 PM

67 posts

Any idea RTl8192cu vs Ralink 5370 which one is better for RPI?
amad_maui
post Nov 5 2014, 11:06 AM

86 posts

anyone try play bd iso?
mine pause a few sec after playing few minutes.
already overclock to medium.

but im only using class4 sd.. if using better sd card will help?
paskal
post Nov 5 2014, 09:50 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(amad_maui @ Nov 5 2014, 11:06 AM)
anyone try play bd iso?
mine pause a few sec after playing few minutes.
already overclock to medium.

but im only using class4 sd.. if using better sd card will help?
there's a few reason. one of which, is because you don't have hardware acceleration license enabled.
or the bitrate is just too high for the raspi.

some bd format plays fine on mine, some stutter. try and run them from a USB hdd. needs a powered hub though.
amad_maui
post Dec 18 2014, 11:41 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(valensi @ Aug 29 2013, 11:45 AM)
Nope, unless the mkv contains MPEG2 or VC-1 encoded video. The license will cost around rm10 for MPEG2 & rm5 for VC-1
you buy the licence from where?
valensi
post Dec 18 2014, 02:31 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(amad_maui @ Dec 18 2014, 11:41 AM)
you buy the licence from where?
I bought from here http://www.raspberrypi.com/license-keys/

0.0512sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:15 AM