QUOTE(jinxiang @ Apr 19 2013, 02:16 PM)
Dear All Sifus,
I need your advice on similar issues. I have a simple LAN (without "Domain", don't know what this is) in my office, connecting about 8 pcs. All major files are shared in my PC running Win 7. Very often other PC cannot connect to my PC (turned on 24hr) and we both have to restart windows. Sounds stupid, right?
I was recently told NAS can save me a lot of trouble. My requirement is quite simple:
1) To share data among different users thru LAN
2) Different users are allowed for different folders
3) Realtime data backup
4) Virus protection
5) To allow access of data over internet from home (boss want us to work from home mah)
6) Can download bit torrent (personal without boss's knowledge....)
I don't really need big storage. Most of the data are MS Excel, word, drawings, etc. Not even up to 2TB yet. (of course exclude my downloaded movies which is > 2 TB, haha).
I've gone thru the previous posts. Can I just go for
1) DLink DNS320L RM269
2) HDD WD AV DRIVE (NAS certify) 2TB RM309
Are the above 2 items enough to do the work? Do I need a 2nd HDD as backup?
Currently I'm using 5M unifi with the modem and router come together with it.
Since the company is paying, budget of +/- RM1000 is not an issue if I can get something much better by paying slightly more.
Also, any guidelines for installation? (I can setup monitor, keyboard, mouse....but NAS?.....sigh....
)
Thanking for your advice!!
please don't use office's server for torrent download. Cause when something happen you will be in deep shit.I need your advice on similar issues. I have a simple LAN (without "Domain", don't know what this is) in my office, connecting about 8 pcs. All major files are shared in my PC running Win 7. Very often other PC cannot connect to my PC (turned on 24hr) and we both have to restart windows. Sounds stupid, right?
I was recently told NAS can save me a lot of trouble. My requirement is quite simple:
1) To share data among different users thru LAN
2) Different users are allowed for different folders
3) Realtime data backup
4) Virus protection
5) To allow access of data over internet from home (boss want us to work from home mah)
6) Can download bit torrent (personal without boss's knowledge....)
I don't really need big storage. Most of the data are MS Excel, word, drawings, etc. Not even up to 2TB yet. (of course exclude my downloaded movies which is > 2 TB, haha).
I've gone thru the previous posts. Can I just go for
1) DLink DNS320L RM269
2) HDD WD AV DRIVE (NAS certify) 2TB RM309
Are the above 2 items enough to do the work? Do I need a 2nd HDD as backup?
Currently I'm using 5M unifi with the modem and router come together with it.
Since the company is paying, budget of +/- RM1000 is not an issue if I can get something much better by paying slightly more.
Also, any guidelines for installation? (I can setup monitor, keyboard, mouse....but NAS?.....sigh....
Thanking for your advice!!
Apr 19 2013, 03:37 PM

0.0155sec