post Mar 13 2013, 10:23 AM

441 posts

interested in this too.
mhchan2002
post Mar 13 2013, 11:56 AM

290 posts

home server good...but need maintanance cost..
kaffra
post Mar 13 2013, 11:26 PM

636 posts

depends on what do you want the server/nas to do
UserU
post Mar 14 2013, 12:59 AM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,013 posts

If its more than just file storage, go for home server as it has multi-uses; monitor network health, centralize backups and provide remote access to other home/ networked PCs.
bytheway
post Mar 14 2013, 06:38 AM

NAS is base on Linux, shld be more consistent than any others
TSMPK
post Mar 14 2013, 08:59 AM

116 posts

the requirement mainly more on file (different file format like microsoft office, pdf, jpeg, etc) sharing (store & retrieve) among PCs within the same network. No need very high spec. but lately NAS become hot topics in the market so just wondering is NAS able to do the same job or home server still the best in term of versatility and most importantly cost effectiveness.

Many thanks for the replies and hope to gather more specification info and recommendation....have a great day ahead guys....cheers
ALeUNe
post Mar 14 2013, 09:55 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(MPK @ Mar 14 2013, 08:59 AM)
the requirement mainly more on file (different file format like microsoft office, pdf, jpeg, etc) sharing (store & retrieve) among PCs within the same network. No need very high spec. but lately NAS become hot topics in the market so just wondering is NAS able to do the same job or home server still the best in term of versatility and most importantly cost effectiveness. 

Many thanks for the replies and hope to gather more specification info and recommendation....have a great day ahead guys....cheers
Based on what you have just said, NAS can do the job just fine.
TSMPK
post Mar 14 2013, 11:36 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 14 2013, 09:55 AM)
Based on what you have just said, NAS can do the job just fine.
can recommend brand/model/price in the market ?
ALeUNe
post Mar 14 2013, 11:46 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(MPK @ Mar 14 2013, 11:36 AM)
can recommend brand/model/price in the market ?
Cheap one, Dlink NAS should do the job.
Axalter
post Mar 14 2013, 02:17 PM

333 posts

A NAS is generally more cost effective than a full-blown server not to mention most of them are so consumer friendly on the market these days to setup, configure and maintain for long-term network storage and sharing which would be more than adequate for any mainstream needs.

And I second D-Link. Their NAS are priced economically, you can find one for about 500-600 bucks depending on specification.
netmatrix
post Mar 14 2013, 04:13 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,491 posts

D-Link DNS-320 can get for about RM300 for 2 bay unit. I have installed an older D-link 323 unit with 2 x 2TB Western D drive. It runs without problem for 3 years already. U can set up the drive from the included CD. Its very easy. Until u come to the part where u want to allow which user to access which folder that it becomes a little bit complex. But still managable.

Most NAS units are like servers already. Can become print server, can even add in additional USB hdd or flash drive for emergency use. Some allows for torrent usage where u just turn on the unit, drop the torrent link in the page and it will d/l the stuff without having the pc to run whole day. The HDD can be run combined storage size or mirror.

I saw 1 unit that has external LCD to monitor space, heat and a bunch of information.

TSMPK
post Mar 14 2013, 09:42 PM

116 posts

Thanks guys for the replies again. When files are getting more and more, it is difficult to manage on pc or hard disk alone. A simple file server is definitely help besides cloud like google or Dropbox.

For a sme business like us, it serve our purpose whereby everyone can share the file simultaneously and do not need to invest a server that cost a bomb to us.

If NAS is the right solution, any particular cons that we need to take note. Thanks for the advices again
eric_tan
post Mar 16 2013, 11:39 PM

264 posts

In my opinion

NAS = File server, including Backup services.
Easy to setup, easy to maintain. Minimal upgrade potential

Home Server = File server + any other server service you need, like WAMP, etc etc...
Harder to setup. Harder to maintain. Plenty of upgrade potential.

Reliability =>
NAS > Home server

fluotone
post Mar 17 2013, 04:38 AM

street.cat.tales
2,623 posts

Also just a suggestion, for business use try to get a nas which supports RAID. You don't want your disk to fail and realize you don't have backups smile.gif
TSMPK
post Mar 20 2013, 10:12 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Mar 16 2013, 11:39 PM)
In my opinion

NAS = File server, including Backup services.
Easy to setup, easy to maintain. Minimal upgrade potential

Home Server = File server + any other server service you need, like WAMP, etc etc...
Harder to setup. Harder to maintain. Plenty of upgrade potential.

Reliability =>
NAS > Home server
Thanks rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

TSMPK
post Mar 20 2013, 10:15 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(fluotone @ Mar 17 2013, 04:38 AM)
Also just a suggestion, for business use try to get a nas which supports RAID. You don't want your disk to fail and realize you don't have backups smile.gif
Thanks for enlighten.

I will get below spec....will it sufficient for start up ? and if let say would like to expand it in 3-4 years later, should I need to buy a new NAS ?

ShareCenter® 2-Bay Cloud Storage 2000
DNS-320L
D-Link® ShareCenter 2-Bay Cloud Storage 2000 (DNS-320L) is the perfect way to store, safeguard, share and remotely access or stream your digital documents, music, videos, and photos from anywhere in the world.
Simple and secure Cloud access via mydlink.com and mobile app
Transfer files and media between your ShareCenter, PCs, Smartphones and tablets
Remotely stream and upload/download media to your mobile devices
Four RAID configurations to protect your data in the event of a hard drive failure
Intuitive web-based user interface for easy file access and management
clnetsolution
post Mar 20 2013, 10:23 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(MPK @ Mar 13 2013, 10:21 AM)
Any sifu can enlighten.... thanks
want cheap have to go Dlink, if wan good go for synology
nate_nightroad
post Mar 20 2013, 10:29 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,537 posts

been using NAS since like forever...got 2 NAS - dns 323 and dns320

very solid performance,file sharing(movies),centralized backup(but not much use),downloads and torrents...

highly recommended..
TSMPK
post Mar 20 2013, 11:00 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(clnetsolution @ Mar 20 2013, 10:23 AM)
want cheap have to go Dlink, if wan good go for synology
noted...but synology is very pricey, almost triple leh...thanks anyway

0.0202sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:23 PM