post Mar 13 2013, 10:21 AM, updated 13y ago

121 posts

Any sifu can enlighten.... thanks
TSMPK
post Mar 14 2013, 08:59 AM

121 posts

the requirement mainly more on file (different file format like microsoft office, pdf, jpeg, etc) sharing (store & retrieve) among PCs within the same network. No need very high spec. but lately NAS become hot topics in the market so just wondering is NAS able to do the same job or home server still the best in term of versatility and most importantly cost effectiveness.

Many thanks for the replies and hope to gather more specification info and recommendation....have a great day ahead guys....cheers
TSMPK
post Mar 14 2013, 11:36 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 14 2013, 09:55 AM)
Based on what you have just said, NAS can do the job just fine.
can recommend brand/model/price in the market ?
TSMPK
post Mar 14 2013, 09:42 PM

121 posts

Thanks guys for the replies again. When files are getting more and more, it is difficult to manage on pc or hard disk alone. A simple file server is definitely help besides cloud like google or Dropbox.

For a sme business like us, it serve our purpose whereby everyone can share the file simultaneously and do not need to invest a server that cost a bomb to us.

If NAS is the right solution, any particular cons that we need to take note. Thanks for the advices again
TSMPK
post Mar 20 2013, 10:12 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Mar 16 2013, 11:39 PM)
In my opinion

NAS = File server, including Backup services.
Easy to setup, easy to maintain. Minimal upgrade potential

Home Server = File server + any other server service you need, like WAMP, etc etc...
Harder to setup. Harder to maintain. Plenty of upgrade potential.

Reliability =>
NAS > Home server
Thanks rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

TSMPK
post Mar 20 2013, 10:15 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(fluotone @ Mar 17 2013, 04:38 AM)
Also just a suggestion, for business use try to get a nas which supports RAID. You don't want your disk to fail and realize you don't have backups smile.gif
Thanks for enlighten.

I will get below spec....will it sufficient for start up ? and if let say would like to expand it in 3-4 years later, should I need to buy a new NAS ?

ShareCenter® 2-Bay Cloud Storage 2000
DNS-320L
D-Link® ShareCenter 2-Bay Cloud Storage 2000 (DNS-320L) is the perfect way to store, safeguard, share and remotely access or stream your digital documents, music, videos, and photos from anywhere in the world.
Simple and secure Cloud access via mydlink.com and mobile app
Transfer files and media between your ShareCenter, PCs, Smartphones and tablets
Remotely stream and upload/download media to your mobile devices
Four RAID configurations to protect your data in the event of a hard drive failure
Intuitive web-based user interface for easy file access and management
TSMPK
post Mar 20 2013, 11:00 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(clnetsolution @ Mar 20 2013, 10:23 AM)
want cheap have to go Dlink, if wan good go for synology
noted...but synology is very pricey, almost triple leh...thanks anyway
TSMPK
post Mar 21 2013, 08:51 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(fluotone @ Mar 20 2013, 08:04 PM)
yes this look good for start up, but in future if you need more space better get a 4 bay nas wink.gif
Got it thumbup.gif
TSMPK
post Mar 21 2013, 08:52 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(fluotone @ Mar 20 2013, 08:04 PM)
yes this look good for start up, but in future if you need more space better get a 4 bay nas wink.gif
Thanks for the info nod.gif

0.0158sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:28 AM