Photography [WTA]Compact Camera for LOW LIGHT INDOOR, can you give me some advice and help?

TSOrangeCubes
post Mar 11 2013, 07:53 PM, updated 13y ago

83 posts

hi guys, i'm looking for a compact camera that focus on indoor, low light shooting.
it's actually for an association, they will mostly use the camera to shoot some event/group photos in their small hall, which is not very bright.

so i think they will need a camera that good at
- low light
- indoor
- dont need too much fancy programs, easy to use is also important as sometimes the people who use it might be uncle or aunty.
- budget around RM1000

i don't know much about camera even though i went to photography class during college ><
so can someone help by suggesting any camera model?
since the budget is RM1k i think there will be a lot of good choices, but i don't know how to pick..

i did some searching on google and i find out someone recommended Nikon COOLPIX P300, any idea?

thanks in advance! wub.gif

This post has been edited by OrangeCubes: Mar 11 2013, 07:53 PM
hidden830726
post Mar 11 2013, 11:34 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

1k can buy Nikon J1 with kit
mumeichan
post Mar 12 2013, 05:38 AM

4,152 posts

LX5 or LX7. Proven to be a reliable night shooter
newtoapple
post Mar 12 2013, 09:31 AM

56 posts

if uncle n aunty is using it, mostly prefer with large LCD screen and built in flash.
Rice_Owl84
post Mar 12 2013, 12:11 PM

603 posts

Actually not much choices that have that wide aperture for low light for that budget.

Under 1K - Nikon Coolpix P310

The rest from Canon, Panasonic etc. go above your budget by few hundred RM.

Just go for the Nikon P310 as it has all the latest update features like full HD 1080 video.
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 12 2013, 12:58 PM

24,193 posts

Perhaps a Canon S100? hmm.gif

C.P.U
post Mar 12 2013, 03:45 PM

------------------------------
2,280 posts

Nikon Coolpix P310 .. My office auntie just brought one too..
sniper on the roof
post Mar 12 2013, 03:50 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Mar 11 2013, 11:34 PM)
1k can buy Nikon J1 with kit
The kit's not gonna cut it for indoors/lowlight
Blue_Blood
post Mar 12 2013, 10:00 PM

493 posts

X100
sniper on the roof
post Mar 13 2013, 09:36 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Blue_Blood @ Mar 12 2013, 10:00 PM)
X100
Budget 1K la
yanstudio
post Mar 13 2013, 10:46 AM

37 posts

Agree with Canon S100, I use it myself and the low light is great. or even S95 if budget not meet
wailup
post Mar 13 2013, 11:07 AM

97 posts

im not sure about the casio exilim price now.. but i have experience with it.. easy to use and nice picture.
TSOrangeCubes
post Mar 13 2013, 01:50 PM

83 posts

Thanks for all replies.
Seems like the only one that match my budget + good in low light is Nikon P310?

Hmm at least I have a camera in mind to compare if I found any new camera choices, thanks guys! smile.gif
little ice
post Mar 14 2013, 12:50 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 12 2013, 03:50 PM)
The kit's not gonna cut it for indoors/lowlight
i disagree, i use V1 and it focuses just fine under low light condition. in fact, most camera in that price range should perform pretty similarly.moreover if the lighting isn't very dim, the phase detection AF will still work which focuses like a DSLR.

i suggest TS to get the v1 instead, simply for better spec, which going for rm11xx, although you have to buy the add on flash if you need it.

or stick to what others suggested on the compacts.
TSOrangeCubes
post Mar 14 2013, 01:24 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Mar 14 2013, 12:50 PM)
i disagree, i use V1 and it focuses just fine under low light condition. in fact, most camera in that price range should perform pretty similarly.moreover if the lighting isn't very dim, the phase detection AF will still work which focuses like a DSLR.

i suggest TS to get the v1 instead, simply for better spec, which going for rm11xx, although you have to buy the add on flash if you need it.

or stick to what others suggested on the compacts.
If i'm buying it for myself I might consider raising my budget and buying better spec,
but I'm just helping an association to buy it, usually uncle and aunty will use it, i don't want to confuse them with those add on flash or too much settings happy.gif

which is why i have to choose compact ><
Thanks for your suggestion anyway~ smile.gif
b5n111
post Mar 14 2013, 02:00 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(OrangeCubes @ Mar 14 2013, 02:24 PM)
If i'm buying it for myself I might consider raising my budget and buying better spec,
but I'm just helping an association to buy it, usually uncle and aunty will use it, i don't want to confuse them with those add on flash or too much settings happy.gif

which is why i have to choose compact ><
Thanks for your suggestion anyway~ smile.gif
ysp, better to keep it simple and straight forward, uncle n aunty leh rclxms.gif
cranx
post Aug 1 2013, 11:36 PM

1,360 posts

didnt want to create new thread.
if budget is not a concern what is the best low light compact camera at this moment?
sniper on the roof
post Aug 2 2013, 09:13 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(cranx @ Aug 1 2013, 11:36 PM)
didnt want to create new thread.
if budget is not a concern what is the best low light compact camera at this moment?
RX100 mk2

0.0135sec    1.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:59 PM