Is this kind of overclocking worth it?, HTT312 Divider 9/10 DDR560

TSjoylay83
post Apr 7 2006, 03:28 AM, updated 20y ago

854 posts

Hi everybody, I managed to push my ram to the max and this is what i get. plz comment.....

first of all, my specs:
Sansun 500w Psu
Opty 165 @ 1.53v @2808Mhz @312HTT
Thermalright SI-120 @ 120mm fan
OCZ Gold PC4000 (DDR500) UCCC @DDR 560 @ 3-7-7-12 @ 9/10 @ 2.95v
Passive cooling for the ram.
DFI NF4 Lanparty Ultra-D @ 704 BTA bios.
80GB and 250GB WD sata II hdd, 200GB pata hdd
dvd rom, cd burner (dvd burner power supply plugged off to save power)
normal graphic card, audigy 4 sound card

Main use: multimedia content creation (wavelab and pinnacle studio)

What I get:
MEMTEST V1.6 ---> 2048 errors on test 5 first round.
Fail super pi 1M but pass 512k at 13 secs.
General use: very stable and fast. Do not crash.
Full load add 10 Celcius to CPU temp.

Plz advise notworthy.gif Proc and ram and PSU from Dinster.

This post has been edited by joylay83: Apr 7 2006, 03:33 AM
e-jump
post Apr 7 2006, 03:33 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

try more ram tweaking until u can run "at least" 8M superPi
32M would be best

fails 1M = unstable

i see the ram suffer bandwidth loss.. as my ddr530 ram sandra score near 6900
try lower speed and better timings
Yapmy
post Apr 7 2006, 03:33 AM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

too many errors...not advisable..
TSjoylay83
post Apr 7 2006, 03:38 AM

854 posts

where do you think i should stop?? i can get 265Mhz memtest 0 errors 32m super pi stable.

bound to get errors when reach 270. but i dunno how to 'tweak away those errors'. UCCC supposed to be able to reach 285..... laugh.gif but not all the time lah....

my main fear now is not that the system will crash, but i fear data corruption..... sad.gif

This post has been edited by joylay83: Apr 7 2006, 03:39 AM
low yat 82
post Apr 7 2006, 04:07 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

im not sure abthis ram timing... but from my experience, tweakin d ram will help.. u ask around wats d best timing for ur ram?

btw, ur cpu temp kau kau low...
e-jump
post Apr 7 2006, 04:21 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(joylay83 @ Apr 7 2006, 03:38 AM)
where do you think i should stop?? i can get 265Mhz memtest 0 errors 32m super pi stable.

bound to get errors when reach 270. but i dunno how to 'tweak away those errors'. UCCC supposed to be able to reach 285..... laugh.gif but not all the time lah....

my main fear now is not that the system will crash, but i fear data corruption.....  sad.gif
u have ultra D, so its best go around XS forum n check out their timing
with correct tweaking, uccc can even go near 300, but thats rare
messing with ram timing is a pain and challenging,
so try reducing errors at 270 1st by tweaking the timings
oh, x-7-7-x is juz overkill.. even x-5-5-x should best be avoided

as for me, i still dont give up at 265, and still tweaking when i got dree time
p/s: im on epox nforce3 mobo, with only half timing options available of DFi, which makes things harder =__=;

This post has been edited by e-jump: Apr 7 2006, 04:24 AM
PCcrazy
post Apr 7 2006, 04:56 AM

Milanista
3,224 posts

I voted wow'drool just to encouraged you my friend. e-jump is right about the timing, 7 is much a drawback to your performance. The latency response time is going to kill you. I'd be better of with DDR500 3-3-3-x instead of DDR600 with 3-7-7-x.

There are ways to find which is the best among setups. My first initial indication of actual performance will be the snynthetic benchmark to be followed by real application benchmark. That way not only you know which setup is better, but you will notice a trend and basically manage to form a conclusion on the basis of your findings.

Btw, nice job bro on the opty.

This post has been edited by PCcrazy: Apr 7 2006, 04:57 AM
KidsCode
post Apr 7 2006, 06:23 AM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

is this deja-vu for me or what...

joylay83@ im also just start to o/c my opteron and got the same thing as you do, as my processor unable to get very high core speed and my ram also reaching at that speed...

but my ram can go at tigher timing, think your ram can do that too, and your machine will be faster too...

im still burning in, hopefully can get more and better o/c... all the best... smile.gif
e-jump
post Apr 7 2006, 08:31 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

UCCC?

this is what u need wink.gif
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=94973
TSjoylay83
post Apr 7 2006, 02:12 PM

854 posts

@ PC crazy
thanks for ur encouragement... but i agree that this timing is thumbs down... in windows its kinda fastm but in memtest it is snail speed. my ram is default 3-4-4-8.

@ KidsCode
no my problem is opposite. my proc can go very high smile.gif , not maxed yet. my ram is causing problems. sad.gif

@ e-jump
THANK YOU!!!!!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
antonio
post Apr 7 2006, 02:54 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

Why must 3-7-7-12???DDR2 ker???

btw tighten tighming is better on AMD....dismiss high HTT value...no point on getting high HTT but timing is not that relevant...hell even a Hynix D43 can get 300 with 3-5-4-14 last time i test...but bandwidth so ciput i dump the project....

Ever wonder 250 on 2-2-2-5 can get high scores (BH)???
TSjoylay83
post Apr 8 2006, 01:16 AM

854 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Apr 7 2006, 02:54 PM)
Why must 3-7-7-12???DDR2 ker???

btw tighten tighming is better on AMD....dismiss high HTT value...no point on getting high HTT but timing is not that relevant...hell even a Hynix D43 can get 300 with 3-5-4-14 last time i test...but bandwidth so ciput i dump the project....

Ever wonder 250 on 2-2-2-5 can get high scores (BH)???
no its ddr1 sad.gifsad.gif if not i wouldn't have started this thread since ddr2 is meant to do high latency biggrin.gif

ya the higher htt i go, my ram loose bandwidth. at 265 i can get 7000mb/s. rclxub.gif i juz sold 1 set of my old skool Bh-5 coz dun like to pump voltage biggrin.gif

wat say you if i put like 320HTT with divider 5/6?? that'll leave my ram at 266Mhz. 5/6 can run well on my mobo but bandwidth and performance i am not sure...
KidsCode
post Apr 8 2006, 03:05 AM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

joylay83@ er, change ram ??? as think your ram holding back your processor...

anyway dont remember UCCC rams that bad doing such low fsb with so lose timing too...
TSjoylay83
post Apr 8 2006, 05:55 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Apr 8 2006, 03:05 AM)
joylay83@ er, change ram ??? as think your ram holding back your processor...

anyway dont remember UCCC rams that bad doing such low fsb with so lose timing too...
i need 2gb of ram. if not i would have gone tccd sweat.gif

ya.. uccc should be able to do about 280. i think my fine tunings are not right. sad.gif will meddle with it asap with the link above tongue.gif
TSjoylay83
post Apr 9 2006, 04:51 AM

854 posts

Added one xtra cap ayam 400w PSU to power all the other things. my 500w PSU now only power mobo, proc, ram, gc, pci card, and 2 sata HDD.

Hopefully get better power in that case. last time kenot over 2.8 coz of PSU limitation. 2nd attempt clocking 2molo nite biggrin.gif
TSjoylay83
post Apr 17 2006, 12:58 AM

854 posts

hmm... my cpu seems to hit a wall at 218HTT which is around 2.83Ghz coz it requires more than 1.60v to achieve more. temp full load is around 37C without air con. (add 10C to smart guardian reading while idle).

anyways, i decided to settle with 2.6Ghz 9/10. memtest and super pi 32m stable. i loss cpu bandwidth though.... conclusion? ram is limiting me again sad.gif however, after tweaking windows, it seems to compensate a bit for the speed loss.

note: pic shows superpi 1M.

This post has been edited by joylay83: Apr 17 2006, 01:03 AM
e-jump
post Apr 17 2006, 04:13 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

hmm, thats average speed a uccc can go
most ppl at XS have good/handpicked ones, as they ordered straight from the company representative there
well, at least u can do 3-4-3-x 1T @267
mine 3-4-4-8 1T @265 2.6v 32m stable
not memtest stable as i cant control the DS n DDS in bios >__>

mind posting ur a64 tweaker?
TSjoylay83
post Apr 17 2006, 09:32 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Apr 17 2006, 04:13 PM)
hmm, thats average speed a uccc can go
most ppl at XS have good/handpicked ones, as they ordered straight from the company representative there
well, at least u can do 3-4-3-x 1T @267
mine 3-4-4-8 1T @265 2.6v 32m stable
not memtest stable as i cant control the DS n DDS in bios >__>

mind posting ur a64 tweaker?

blush.gif wat's DS and DDS?? dun find it in my dfi board also??? :S

This post has been edited by joylay83: Apr 18 2006, 01:42 PM
jarofclay
post Apr 17 2006, 09:55 PM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

UCCC should be able to do 3-4-4-8 until 280MHz AFAIK. The only hold back for my rig here is the E4 core...otherwise could go higher than the current 270 that I am using.

e-jump
post Apr 18 2006, 06:52 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

Drive Strenght n Drive Data Strenght
DFi must have those
this 2 settings do play major role to go high speed
Epox dont have these, so i cant get any higher

try playing with Odd numbers for both, as it will result Drive Strenght in a64 tweaker to display weak
the available numbers represent the level of strenghts

cant help more, coz im on epox =___="
Darkmage12
post Apr 18 2006, 11:45 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

nice proc thumbup.gif
TSjoylay83
post Apr 18 2006, 01:35 PM

854 posts

@jarofclay
afaik 3800 need to mod the pod on the motherboard then oni can clock higher. i think babyelf has a thread on that. i dun dare to mod it.. laugh.gif

@e-jump
Oh... icic.. i tried those. level 1 or level 8 also same... strong or weak drive also level 3 or level 1.... no matter what i do i kenot reach 270Mhz 3-4-4-8 cry.gif 3-5-5-8 can.... doh.gif doh.gif

@Darkmage12
biggrin.gif thanks.

btw, any 1 dare to pump more than 1.6v into a dually?? blink.gif

This post has been edited by joylay83: Apr 18 2006, 01:36 PM
e-jump
post Apr 18 2006, 07:46 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

oh well, probably thats ur ram limit..
cant do anything thou~
well, i only take XS results as reference n guide...
not all rams are equal anyway...

hope u r happy with the tweaking...
but hey, at least u tried all possible settings thumbup.gif
TSjoylay83
post Apr 19 2006, 01:04 AM

854 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Apr 18 2006, 07:46 PM)
oh well, probably thats ur ram limit..
cant do anything thou~
well, i only take XS results as reference n guide...
not all rams are equal anyway...

hope u r happy with the tweaking...
but hey, at least u tried all possible settings thumbup.gif
sad.gif sad.gif what to do..... haih maybe wait till warranty over then try pod mod tongue.gif then can run 7/10 divider or maybe ram can naik a bit (susally dun happen). wink.gif or change to crossfire and run 4x1gb rclxm9.gif

but now its really rock stable man...... can do anything and its real fast. oni thing is that i loose cpu bandwidth la....

the funny thing is that e.g. steinberg wavelab: whether my clock is 1.8, 2.4, 2.6, 2.8Ghz, it still uses 50% of my proc speed (probably a software limitation). hence, clocking the cpu higher actually increases its speed. from 1.8 to 2.6, my job time of a rendering change from 5 mins to 2 mins. shocking.gif
TSjoylay83
post May 3 2006, 05:13 PM

854 posts

any1 dare to pump more than 1.6v into this proc? opty 165? what is the max that i can pump????? unsure.gif
charge-n-go
post May 3 2006, 07:25 PM

4,060 posts

Dude, no doubt it is a good overclocking result, except the RAM timing part tongue.gif

I'm not sure if you are going to use this PC for long hours and yr lifespan expectancy (must be workable for 2-3 yrs or wat). Let's assume u r concerned about hardware stability and lifespan, here are some suggestions:

1. CPU vcore no more than 10% from original Vcore, or for even safer play, AMD recommends about +0.05V from default. Well, this is only if u wanna use tat PC for 8-10 years, so IMHO, 10% is good enough bcoz it gives u about 0.12V increment from default.

2. Tighten the RAM timing. Run it at DDR450 / DDR466 using fine tuned tight timing might give u much better results than 3-4-4-x or even 3-7-7-x @ DDR560.

3. Make sure yr system is stable, bcoz multimedia content creation software is as stressful as SuperPI. I am sure u dont want any error in yr results, or yr software suddenly auto close / BSOD when the encoding process is near the end tongue.gif

TSjoylay83
post May 6 2006, 11:39 PM

854 posts

ya... i very scared render half way then BSOD.... laugh.gif

i think i will settle with HTT297@2.67Ghz@1.5v DDR534@3-4-3-8 superPI 32M stable...

see if i can do more with the coming Gskill or not.

one strange thing is.... after i OC from 1.8 to 2.6, pinnacle CPU usage drop from 50% to 20%. this change does not happen when i migrate from Athlon XP to Opteron. Maybe its due to software limitation... i am no programmer so can't do anything bout it icon_question.gif
magiara
post May 7 2006, 02:06 AM

Legend
1,599 posts

what does burning in means? tongue.gif
TSjoylay83
post May 21 2006, 12:02 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ May 7 2006, 02:06 AM)
what does burning in means?  tongue.gif
can you eleborate?? burning as in???

in overclocking, burning-in means you run stressful program e.g. sp2004 or prime95 to see if your system is stable or not.

or it can also mean burning a cd tongue.gif
ichiban
post May 21 2006, 01:19 PM

24 posts

joylay83, you have such a sweet ram thumbup.gif , my Gskill only can do 260 3-4-4-8 (pass memtest #5 about 5hrs) dont have any idea how to go further. now I only run at 245mhz @ 3-4-3-8
TSjoylay83
post May 21 2006, 07:55 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(ichiban @ May 21 2006, 01:19 PM)
joylay83, you have such a sweet ram thumbup.gif , my Gskill only can do 260 3-4-4-8 (pass memtest #5 about 5hrs) dont have any idea how to go further. now I only run at 245mhz @ 3-4-3-8
but mine is pc4000 woh.. not pc 3200...

edit.. juz noticed that your ram is also pc4000. maybe your cooling not enough.... or voltage not enough. i running mine at 2.8v

omg.. i am ordering another set of gskill ram for my the other rig.. sweat.gif i tot gskill supposed to go quite high woh... blink.gif blink.gif

This post has been edited by joylay83: May 21 2006, 07:56 PM
lichyetan
post May 22 2006, 10:51 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(joylay83 @ May 21 2006, 07:55 PM)
but mine is pc4000 woh.. not pc 3200...

edit.. juz noticed that your ram is also pc4000. maybe your cooling not enough.... or voltage not enough. i running mine at 2.8v

omg.. i am ordering another set of gskill ram for my the other rig.. sweat.gif i tot gskill supposed to go quite high woh...  blink.gif  blink.gif
agree, although i am not using uccc, but last time my samsung tccd cannot run ddr600 even at 2.9v, after i added an 8cm fan blowing directly to it, it passed every burn in test... maybe ur ram overheated in ur case...
TSjoylay83
post May 23 2006, 11:57 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ May 22 2006, 10:51 PM)
agree, although i am not using uccc, but last time my samsung tccd cannot run ddr600 even at 2.9v, after i added an 8cm fan blowing directly to it, it passed every burn in test... maybe ur ram overheated in ur case...
it is a possible cause. but i touched the ram heatsink it is really cool. it has the processor fan blowing on it. now my question is, is the contact between the heatsink and the ram chips good? and if i open take out the heatsink means warranty void blink.gif

ichiban might be having a overheating problem.....

This post has been edited by joylay83: May 23 2006, 11:59 PM

0.0590sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:15 PM