Kebarangkalian Mudah? Help needed!., Please explain what tf is this all about

TSffrulz
post Apr 6 2006, 09:11 PM, updated 20y ago

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

Hi guys , I think most of you don't know that I'm 17 and sitting for SPM this year. Just my luck that I'm taking both science and maths in BM as I am the last batch. Now some of you who is taking SPM with me and those of you who already took SPM please elaborate what is Kebarangkalian mudah in english please. I can't understand a thing reading the text book or workbooks as a matter of fact. What's kebarangkalian mudah in english called? How do you know which one is bersandar and which 1 is not? I might understand better if I knew the english term for it so I can google for sources. I really want to study maths in english. Sigh.

This post has been edited by ffrulz: Apr 6 2006, 09:12 PM
jason18689
post Apr 6 2006, 09:13 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

i suggest you to go for a tuition ....
mayb a professional tuition teacher will help you better...

felixwhoals
post Apr 6 2006, 09:14 PM

455 posts

It is kind of weird when you need to study something in English but most of the materials that you learn are Malay. Hmm.. maybe you should get tuition.
TSffrulz
post Apr 6 2006, 09:19 PM

995 posts

I prefer learning in english because I practically have a better understanding in english than malay. And it helps me get rid of my boredom since my malay isn't exactly what you can call Form 5 standards and most of the words they use I cannot even know the meaning.My malay is something you can say as a passing grade but not the A or B standards. I might consider tuition but I don't think it will help me much anyway I just need somebody to explain this in english.

This post has been edited by ffrulz: Apr 6 2006, 09:20 PM
washabushi
post Apr 6 2006, 09:20 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

i tot spm paper haf 2 language in it?
erm...
kebarangkalian = probability
mudah = simple
kebarangkalian mudah = probability simple
should be...
LWRNCH6550
post Apr 6 2006, 09:22 PM

614 posts

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Apr 6 2006, 09:11 PM)
Hi guys , I think most of you don't know that I'm 17 and sitting for SPM this year. Just my luck that I'm taking both science and maths in BM as I am the last batch. Now some of you who is taking SPM with me and those of you who already took SPM please elaborate what is Kebarangkalian mudah in english please. I can't understand a thing reading the text book or workbooks as a matter of fact. What's kebarangkalian mudah in english called? How do you know which one is bersandar and which 1 is not? I might understand better if I knew the english term for it so I can google for sources. I really want to study maths in english. Sigh.
if not mistaken , in SPM , there will be questions in english and malay . i really wished the teachings in school uses english , my english wasn't good but it's more better compare to BM . sad.gif
SUSDavid83
post Apr 6 2006, 09:22 PM

52,874 posts

Kebarangkalian mudah should be simple probability in English?
TSffrulz
post Apr 6 2006, 09:25 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(LWRNCH6550 @ Apr 6 2006, 09:22 PM)
if not mistaken , in SPM , there will be questions in english and malay . i really wished the teachings in school uses english , my english wasn't good but it's more better compare to BM .  sad.gif
Yeah has two languages for every paper in SPM. But the problem is , at the mo I am being taught in Malay so I can't study in english unless I study on my own but in this case I can't find out the terms of the main topics in the syllabus in english. If I knew I would't have posted here.
LWRNCH6550
post Apr 6 2006, 09:25 PM

614 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Apr 6 2006, 09:20 PM)
i tot spm paper haf 2 language in it?
erm...
kebarangkalian = probability
mudah = simple
kebarangkalian mudah = probability simple
should be...
isn't kebarangkalian means " odds ? " correct me i am wrong . tongue.gif
TSffrulz
post Apr 6 2006, 09:26 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(LWRNCH6550 @ Apr 6 2006, 09:25 PM)
isn't kebarangkalian means " odds ? " correct me i am wrong .  tongue.gif
Nope, just checked. Simple probability is correct. Thanks guys for the replies. Now to get on reading.

This post has been edited by ffrulz: Apr 6 2006, 09:27 PM
ballistix89
post Apr 6 2006, 09:27 PM

lurker
353 posts

what chapter do you found this kebarangkalian mudah?
TSffrulz
post Apr 6 2006, 09:33 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(ballistix89 @ Apr 6 2006, 09:27 PM)
what chapter do you found this kebarangkalian mudah?
Chap 7 Form 5
iZuDeeN
post Apr 6 2006, 09:34 PM

3,466 posts

I dont know what is keberangkalian mudah but are you refering to Statistic & Probability subject?

Perhaps u can google for Elementary Probability/Statistic

SUSDavid83
post Apr 6 2006, 09:34 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 6 2006, 09:34 PM)
I dont know what is keberangkalian mudah but are you refering to Statistic & Probability subject?
Perhaps u can google for Elementary Probability/Statistic
I think should be the basic of probability.
SUSDavid83
post Apr 6 2006, 09:35 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Apr 6 2006, 09:33 PM)
Chap 7 Form 5
Which subject? Modern or Add Maths?
washabushi
post Apr 6 2006, 09:38 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

modern math...
should be...
those sigma sigma stuff izzit?
SUSDavid83
post Apr 6 2006, 09:39 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Apr 6 2006, 09:38 PM)
modern math...
should be...
those sigma sigma stuff izzit?
Basic probability got equation that employs sigma? Discrete Probability?
xenon
post Apr 6 2006, 09:41 PM

502 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Probability

But your case is "mudah", so a big portion of the wiki article is not what you'll be tested in exams. Just scan through the article, Wikipedia helped me to understand many scientific, mathematic and engineering concepts because the way it presents. Many scientific articles are written for people with almost no background on the matter. Explanations are simple and clear to get you over the learning threshold.

Speaking about mathematics, it is actually a universal language especially for scientist, engineers, and of course mathematicians. Only very few people that I've met are proficient in mathematics. Mathematics require the rigor, and reasoning, starting from axioms and definitions. And typical school students do not achieve the level they supposed to be. By looking at how students write in mathematics, I see that we are not taught the mathematical language. I myself am not very good at it, but after reading a lot, I slowly gain the knowledge to think mathematics, and speak mathematics. However, still a far distance from the mathematicians style.

If you are a good student, interested in learning, I suggest you to find a deeper meaning in mathematics. Read the wikipedia article: Mathematics. Hopefully, tomorrow's students can grasp the concepts better.

This post has been edited by xenon: Apr 6 2006, 09:44 PM
AaronZe
post Apr 6 2006, 09:47 PM

135 posts

If you have 3 red marbles and 4 blue marbles in a bag...what is the probability of getting a red marble when you pick one from the bag randomly without looking? The probability is 3/7
Guess that's kebarangkalian mudah.....

SUSDavid83
post Apr 6 2006, 09:49 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(AaronZe @ Apr 6 2006, 09:47 PM)
If you have 3 red marbles and 4 blue marbles in a bag...what is the probability of getting a red marble when you pick one from the bag randomly without looking? The probability is 3/7
Guess that's kebarangkalian mudah.....
I have the same idea as you. The permutation and combination thingy can be also grouped under the same category.
TSffrulz
post Apr 6 2006, 09:52 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 6 2006, 09:35 PM)
Which subject? Modern or Add Maths?
Additional

To xenon : Thanks for the link. Will find a time to browse through the site. I myself use wikipedia for researching too.

This post has been edited by ffrulz: Apr 6 2006, 09:53 PM
LWRNCH6550
post Apr 6 2006, 09:54 PM

614 posts

ohh man , i phail ! blush.gif

This post has been edited by LWRNCH6550: Apr 6 2006, 10:08 PM
misao
post Apr 6 2006, 09:57 PM

324 posts

I think the mod maths one mainly is not the permutation and combination... dun la confuse the fella further XD

It's usually when you have like a bag of 20 balls : 8 red, 6 blue, and 6 green. And you have 5 chances to reach into the bag and take out a ball.

Kebarangkalian bersandar (dependent probability) is the one where the probability of getting a red ball in your second, third, etc tries are dependent on the result of the previous tries. Meaning at first the chance of taking out a red ball is 8/20. if you take out a red ball in the first try, the chance of getting a red ball in the second try is 7/19 because there are 7 red balls left and 19 balls left in total.

The one that is not bersandar is if you replace the ball into the bag each time you take one out. Then, if you get a red ball in your first try, the chance of getting red ball in your second try is the same: 8/20.

Hope that helped. biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Apr 6 2006, 10:01 PM

52,874 posts

The example that you gave is just for the case of simple probability with and without replacement (putting back in other words).
TSffrulz
post Apr 6 2006, 10:01 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(misao @ Apr 6 2006, 09:57 PM)
I think the mod maths one mainly is not the permutation and combination... dun la confuse the fella further XD

It's usually when you have like a bag of 20 balls : 8 red, 6 blue, and 6 green. And you have 5 chances to reach into the bag and take out a ball.

Kebarangkalian bersandar (dependent probability) is the one where the probability of getting a red ball in your second, third, etc tries are dependent on the result of the previous tries. Meaning at first the chance of taking out a red ball is 8/20.  if you take out a red ball in the first try, the chance of getting a red ball in the second try is 7/19 because there are 7 red balls left and 19 balls left in total.

The one that is not bersandar is if you replace the ball into the bag each time you take one out. Then, if you get a red ball in your first try, the chance of getting red ball in your second try is the same: 8/20.

Hope that helped. biggrin.gif
It did a little. Finally understanding a little bit about this bersandar and tidak bersandar thing. Thanks for the info.
Ne0z
post Apr 6 2006, 10:13 PM

44 posts

remember that dependance and independance in probability is very important.
Independance for instance : 2 events , event A and event B

If knowing that an event A occurs does not alter the probability that event B occurs, then we refer them as independant events.
octopuss
post Apr 6 2006, 11:06 PM

297 posts

urm..if im not mistaken..
there's a malay to english terminology book sold at bookshops nationwide le..
so..
u can go n bu ythose book le..
since u know it in BM...u jus search from the book its meanign in english la..
urm...
i kinda hate kebarangkalian too..
there;s both la..
mod maths n add maths..
both oso have kebarangkalian..
but both have different ways to solve it...

0.0137sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:49 AM