Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V19, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMB4

syNzoR
post Mar 18 2013, 11:53 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Mar 18 2013, 11:46 AM)
You know what? I just might do that. TQ.
if you plan to buy one, im not sure where you can find high quality ones, i bought one from Giant but its not sharp enough.

If you have friends working in Fashion retail store, especially those like AX, Zara all those, they have good quality ones because they also afraid to damage the belts.

syNzoR
post Mar 18 2013, 02:22 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Vad3r @ Mar 18 2013, 02:15 PM)
May I ask if there's any difference in AP set vs SME? Anyone willing to share experience? Or all depends on luck whichever set you get?

TQ.
SME set is from Samsung Malaysia

AP set is from other country

Malaysia Telco and samsung shop will definitely sell SME set.

Other shop may sell both.

The difference is who provides the warranty
syNzoR
post Mar 18 2013, 02:28 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Mar 18 2013, 02:22 PM)
the difference mainly on the pricing. you may save RM200 for ap set bought. Warranty wise, very depends. some say SME gives you hassle free and they honor all the warranty. Again, ap warranty also considered good if you buy from the trustable ap dealer.

I have both ap and sme set before. In fact, i found ap is much better than sme set in terms of battery life....too bad i sold my ap set already...else i can show you the comparison. AP doesnt mean mediocre but a lot of times some percentage of luck when you buy ap or sme.

IF you want to save RM200 go for ap set but you are kind of people who worry this worry that about warranty, then sme set lor...

1899 sme set is very tempting and also a good buy.... nod.gif
I really doubt there AP has better battery life than SME set. Unless you comparing both with the Exactly Same usage and same apps installed.

SME set is 1899 now?
syNzoR
post Mar 18 2013, 04:47 PM

369 posts

someones posted regarding this voucher before, better not to discuss about it unless you are buying books
syNzoR
post Mar 19 2013, 01:26 AM

369 posts

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...&postcount=1312

Wow,

Check out his bettery life

syNzoR
post Mar 19 2013, 10:30 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 19 2013, 07:14 AM)
He didn't use his phone for anything or what..? rclxub.gif
Since what apps in use shows nothing..i'm sure we can do better than that. Atleast we have done some browsing which surely use the most in battery juice.
Sometimes the apps there will show nothing, even his Android OS and Android system is not there. He did mention his usage in that post.

Im guessing what he did was undervolt his phone, i've seen other people doing that in the battery stat thread in XDA, most of them can get more that 8 hours of SOT with moderate usage
syNzoR
post Mar 19 2013, 06:41 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 19 2013, 05:13 PM)
Note 3 to be only 5.9" ?
http://www.androidauthority.com/5-9-inch-g...e-3-att-173886/

Another site posts about bad Sandisk 32Gb and 64Gb cards
http://www.phonearena.com/news/SanDisk-say...D-cards_id40986
Means that only a few batches have manufacturing defect?

I've been using 32gb for 3 months+ but so far no issue, maybe its because I dont transfer huge files.

syNzoR
post Mar 20 2013, 02:10 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 20 2013, 12:16 PM)
There's an app called Disable Increasing Ring but you need to be rooted to use it IINM.

May I suggest, as mydragoon has pointed out, please keep your questions in the S3 mini thread. You can even become a top poster there smile.gif
No need to be rooted, posted it back in V18
syNzoR
post Mar 20 2013, 07:09 PM

369 posts

I see that few pages back some people are talking about glass protectors. I guess the most well known brand is the Spigen SGP Glas.t but if im not mistaken, they don't produce glass protectors for note 2 at the moment, not sure why.

I've seen some websites selling it but not sure if they really have it or they selling fakes, even spigen official site also doesnt have it.

I tried another clone brand from china called Glass-M, will write a review soon

Glass-M Screen Protector
Overall the product comes in a good quality packaging with proper tools for you to apply the Glass SP. The package includes an alcohol swab to clean your phone, an anti dust film (like normal SP) to remove the dust, a plastic thing (dont know what they call it) to press the air bubble out, and lastly the Glass Protector Itself.

Its pretty easy to install but the troublesome part is there will be air bubbles which you need to use the plastic thing to force it out.

After installing it, I would say im pretty satisfied with the product, the product is a bit thick (0.4mm) but it won't affect the touch responsiveness and neither the S-pen's function.

I would say the finger print resistance is not as good as my previous protector which is Benks HDR or sth. As for the scratch resistance, i won't purposely test it buy using a knife or scissors, so i guess i can only see the result overtime.

In my opinion.

Pros:
Easy application
Seems very good scratch resistance
Good Shape and coverage (covers the menu and back button)
Product Quality is good
Re-usable
Price is cheap (80 RMB+-)

Cons:
Little bit thich (0.4mm)
Finger Print resistance not really that good
Alot Air Bubbles after application (This is the most troublesome one)

The picture shows a different casing from the previous one i mentioned.
This one is from a more famous brand Melkco, it is also same as the one i was using earlier which can stand both horizontal and vertically. I Purchased this from CarryMobile for about RM80.

This case is made of Soft TPU and covers 100% of the bezel but the kickstand is much softer doesnt seem very high quality to me.

Really nothing special compared to the budget one which cost around RM35 and the built is made of Harder Plastic, the kickstand is much harder and feels more sturdier but the case does not cover the top and bottom part of the Bezel. which is the only advantage the Melkco case has over the China Brand Casing.

Pardon me for the long review Hahaha tongue.gif

This post has been edited by syNzoR: Mar 20 2013, 08:09 PM
syNzoR
post Mar 20 2013, 09:47 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 20 2013, 08:29 PM)
Wow... Nice review...  thumbup.gif

Jz wondering how is the screen quality and clarity after u have installed the Glass SP...
And screen clarity comparison between Glass SP& Benks HDR...

1 more question, how u rate Benks HDR SP, cause im thinking to get 1...
I think for clear SPs, the clarity is the same as not having an SP, except for matte ones which make the screen slightly darker.

Comparing glass-m and benks hdr, I would say the clarity is the same. In terms of durability, I have only used benks hdr for 3 months but im satisfied with the result (few minor scratches). I believe glass-m will be more durable.

If you want me to rate benks hdr, I would give it a 9.5/10.

syNzoR
post Mar 21 2013, 02:35 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 20 2013, 09:56 PM)
Thanks for your replies... I think i will replace my SGP OLEO with Benks HDR very soon...
The fingerprint on my SGP Oleo SP is too terrible...  doh.gif
Actually it also depends on the user, some ppl tend to have a more oily face and fingers, even using benks I still can see finger prints sometimes, its just that the finger print resistance is much better than those rm10 screen protector. It could have the same results as your SGP oleo since its a good quality SP as well.

But you can give it a try, even when there is much finger prints on my benks sp, it is easy to wipe it off.

I think forummer sakurazz or something sells it here, price is also reasonable. You can find his link on page 1 if not mistaken.
syNzoR
post Mar 21 2013, 02:29 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 21 2013, 02:08 PM)
why both of you say like this? T____T

someone's phone must be getting all my downloads then LOL

anyways here's something for you SD Card worry warts.

[attachmentid=3357089]

my new 32GB Samsung MicroSD UHS-1 plus Card (different from the non plus, this is faster than gandalf's shadowfax)

my purchase link
http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=22707756101

at Y$159
nice, its even cheaper than sandisk.

thumbup.gif
syNzoR
post Mar 26 2013, 10:55 PM

369 posts

In the phone app, select the right side contact icon, hit your menu key, the select accounts, if you tick the auto sync app data and select your gmail account, you can see the checkbox to sync individual stuff such as contacts, calanders etc..

Note that if your auto sync app data is untick, you will not see any checkbox after you click your email account.

Note sure if this works, maybe you can remove your account from your sis phone and delete 1 by 1 from your phone
syNzoR
post Mar 26 2013, 11:16 PM

369 posts

Actually note 2 can easily achieve 5 hours+ SOT even with 1-2 hours of gaming (gun bros2).

Except today kena the bug usbstorage wakelock caused by the OTG cable =(

syNzoR
post Mar 27 2013, 12:47 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Mar 27 2013, 11:46 AM)
my note 2 only dropped 4% in 8hrs sleep time with 3g data 24/7 switched on....anyone knows what causes PowerMAnagerService wakelock?
Its already very good, mine dropped 5% in 7hours+ with 3g on.

Use dsbs if you really so concerned. I can get 1% drop in 8 hours sleep. You wont need the data on when you sleep unless you expect to be woken up by social messaging apps.
syNzoR
post Mar 27 2013, 03:56 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Mar 27 2013, 12:59 PM)
yes you are right. At first i was using dsbs but later i found it doesnt feasible to social messaging apps to work while screen off each time....at the end, i uninstall it.

I have M9 papago which i bought recently. However, i suspect it still run in the background eventhough i already close it. Any idea?

If i have powermanagerservice wakelock which have long hours time....what could be the problem here?
Why you need those social messages app to work when you sleep? You only need to be woken up by emergency calls.. no one will whatsapp you when they in trouble and you also wont be woken up by notification ringtone, unless you set a super long and lound one.

Theres a widget to on and off it, you can just on it when you sleep and off it when you wake up.. in fact I think you can schedule it.. not sure though...

Maybe you can try to freeze your papago if you suspect it.. see how it goes. If its the cause that sucks your battery juice, you can greenify it if you are rooted.
syNzoR
post Mar 28 2013, 12:10 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Mar 28 2013, 12:08 PM)
I would say SME price is very attractive compare to AP set where you only save 100-200. The situation now is totally different compared when it first launched months ago.

I first bought an ap set at 1950 and sold it. Later i bought back a SME set at RM2299....after looking at current RRP at RM1999...of coz a bit sad and upset but have to accept on the depreciation cost and opportunity cost of having it early.

Sometimes, i will cheat myself that i bought it at RM1999....just to ease my sorrow....haha tongue.gif
i thought you won your note 2 from some lucky draw? rclxub.gif
syNzoR
post Mar 28 2013, 01:28 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 28 2013, 12:14 PM)
Do you want to user posted image that laugh.gif
well i have nothing against him.. just don't understand why people so concern about the price drop or whatsoever..

not like note 2 is made of Gold.. although the specs and performance is gold class thumbup.gif
syNzoR
post Mar 28 2013, 05:04 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 28 2013, 04:23 PM)
Don't try. It sucks. I hate it so much, too many bloatwares.

Side note: I hope I still can sell my phone for RM 1k when Note III comes out. sweat.gif
Don't worry, I sold my note 1 last year december for 900, im sure if you sell it when note 3 just come out, you can fetch 1100+ depending on condition
syNzoR
post Mar 28 2013, 05:10 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 28 2013, 04:53 PM)
Note 2 got android 4.2.2 already..
tongue.gif
http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/1/?mode...code=0#firmware

mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

You mean custom roms? drool.gif brows.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top