How does heat affect performance?

TSclemong_888
post Apr 6 2006, 07:36 AM, updated 20y ago

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

my notebook was inside a scorching room(fire din get to my notebook) yet my notebook seems somewhat fine.i would hav thought extreme heat would destroy it\?
radioactive
post Apr 6 2006, 08:48 AM

1,857 posts

Is ur laptop on or not?
TSclemong_888
post Apr 6 2006, 02:02 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

its still working surprisingly.
Wolfgard
post Apr 6 2006, 02:34 PM

Real life Orc in Australia, rawr
892 posts

If the casing wasn't damaged, I'd say your notebook should be fine. The internal components should be able to withstand the heat from a nearby fire, assuming they were designed to run at very high temperatures. The first sign of damage should be from the casing and the LCD IF there was damage done to your lappie.
Yowzer
post Apr 6 2006, 02:35 PM

315 posts

Well... lucky you... Tot the plastic would have melted....
soul_project
post Apr 6 2006, 02:38 PM

Stars for sell. Pls PM !
4,358 posts

wow lucky u ..
yeah i suppose the outer casing shld hv metled ..
u put it inside the drawer or what ?
cos the fire you say was scorching .. n yet ur notebook survive ..
big WOW here ..
TSclemong_888
post Apr 6 2006, 03:26 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

lotsa other things got burnt but thru it all my com was still on tht time dling stuff:P lucky i guess
mengsuan
post Apr 9 2006, 05:44 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Woots... Perhaps we should rate you laptop as the most durable laptop in the world.. Can withstand fire! Btw, what's your laptop brand and model? Maybe I should buy a laptop of your brand laugh.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Apr 9 2006, 06:10 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wow, that's amazing... Your lappie can actually withstand the intense heat from the fire! Where did the fire happen, btw?

Oh ya, and another thing, even if the fire didn't get your lappie, the water from the fire brigade's hose could have damaged it (knowing the sensitivity of electronic components to H2O)... You were lucky that this did not happen also!

This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Apr 9 2006, 06:10 PM
TSclemong_888
post Apr 9 2006, 06:56 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Apr 9 2006, 05:44 PM)
Woots... Perhaps we should rate you laptop as the most durable laptop in the world.. Can withstand fire! Btw, what's your laptop brand and model? Maybe I should buy a laptop of your brand laugh.gif
acer 5542. it aint la. just lucky. did notice a dip in performance though..

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Apr 9 2006, 06:10 PM)
Wow, that's amazing... Your lappie can actually withstand the intense heat from the fire! Where did the fire happen, btw?

Oh ya, and another thing, even if the fire didn't get your lappie, the water from the fire brigade's hose could have damaged it (knowing the sensitivity of electronic components to H2O)... You were lucky that this did not happen also!
lucky i guess? my roommate was din share d same fate as me
mengsuan
post Apr 9 2006, 07:12 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Apr 9 2006, 06:56 PM)
acer 5542. it aint la. just lucky. did notice a dip in performance though..
A dip in performance? Maybe your HDD cannot tahan the heat previously?

0.0138sec    1.11    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:19 PM