13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Travel Scuba Diving Thread V2, Come explore the underwater world!

TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 23 2013, 04:10 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

What is a family without arguments.... laugh.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 23 2013, 04:30 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

What to do. The industry is growing and getting more competitive, online shops that ship internationally are easily available and accessible. Hence, people tend to resort to those kinda tricks.

QUOTE(chastise @ Jul 23 2013, 04:15 PM)
You are right bro..
Brooooo vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 23 2013, 04:33 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Erictdl @ Jul 23 2013, 04:32 PM)
Anybody interested to go Coral Redang for Project aware, you may PM me your email address. I'll fwd you the detail. Date is on 19-22 Sep, its a nice hotel.
Coral Redang is that hotel that is quite new right?
Might wanna give it a try some time. Would you be able to PM me the details? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jul 23 2013, 04:32 PM)
oppps... she beat me to it....
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 23 2013, 04:42 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Erictdl @ Jul 23 2013, 04:38 PM)
Its not new its been around more than 10 years, they just refurbish/renovated.
Hm. Is it the one where they have chalets with doors opening towards the beach? And the lobby entrance quite grand wan. I heard this one was an abandon project and now bought over.

Or is it another one? Which hotels are it's direct neighbour?
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 23 2013, 04:55 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Talking about warranty. I bought my dive comp from one of the dive shops in Malaysia. Use less than a year, the display suddenly blank out. Did not show any signs of low battery previously before it blank out.

Call up dive shop, was directed to the authorized reseller for Malaysia. Call up the authorized reseller, was directed to another dive shop to 'check'. After sending my dive comp to 'check', they straight change my battery and I had to pay. What kind of warranty is this...
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 23 2013, 06:27 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Hm, I did go for beach clean up at Berjaya Tioman in 2010. Paid less than RM570+ for 3D2N full board twin sharing with 3 clean up dives. Can't remember how much was the additional dives already.

For Laguna, I was quoted RM558 for 3D2N full board twin sharing without dives. Dives are priced at RM200 for 4 boat dives. smile.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 23 2013, 06:44 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(kimseng @ Jul 23 2013, 06:35 PM)
Most dive computer manufacturer excludes batteries as part of their limited warranty.

Eg: Suunto Suunto Warranty conditions

As for not informing you of the cost of repair, you can always bring it up with the shop. The should quote you the "repair" charge.
Your instructor is Dolphin Lee correct? I trust he can help, he's a good chap.
I needed the DC urgently. What to do. Anyways, not worth fighting with the dive shop about it. I just hope it's not the battery sensor malfunctioning not showing low battery when it's suppose to.

I'm not attached to any instructor and I doubt he will be able to help since it's really nothing to do with him. I didn't buy the DC from him nor did he help me to purchase it. Nothing much can be done since you also said they don't cover batteries under their warranty.
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 24 2013, 10:14 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Darkcursed @ Jul 24 2013, 09:43 AM)
morning guys.

just came back from perhentian and back straight to work sad.gif .anyway,finally got my open water licence.so excited!

thou i got some blister and cuts from stupid fins and got some scratches from coral,everything was great!
Congrats! And welcome back biggrin.gif
That's very common among first timers. Wear socks next time or buy your own booties. For now, just get it to heal as quickly as possible.
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 24 2013, 11:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Darkcursed @ Jul 24 2013, 10:48 PM)
Buoyancy was bad in the 1st dive,then getting well after all the dive.loving it! hope got more chance to 'practice'  tongue.gif
yeah,wearing slipper to work,colleague was joking, are you working in office now or still at the beach?  tongue.gif 
,that is my plan now,gonna buy my own booties.any recommended place for a start?
haha ok,will remember your advice wear socks tongue.gif
Hmm booties eh..
Basically there are 2 major type of booties, low or high cut.
Low cut will be easier to wear but sand may go in when you walk on the shore. Low cut booties also tend to be made of thinner material.
High cut comes with the zip and is usually thicker than low cut.
Bare and Seapro are the more common brands, easily available at most dive shops and are some of the cheaper booties out there. You can also check Scubatex for IST or Cressi booties.
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 25 2013, 01:22 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Pulau Weh vis is sooooooo awesome...
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 25 2013, 02:24 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jul 25 2013, 01:38 PM)
Bro!! I want to go also  cry.gif
You call me bro, I dowan bring you go weh next time. vmad.gif

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 25 2013, 01:39 PM)
JEALOUS drool.gif
Come come! We need to make a trip to weh for lyn.
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 27 2013, 09:30 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Jul 27 2013, 02:00 AM)
my mat salleh instructor only had me 3 hrs in pool confining and then next morning dump us into the sea alrdy
I learn my skills directly in the sea when I did my OW course. Yours still got pool leh! biggrin.gif

From experience, generally matsalleh DMs and instructors are more strict and 'follow the book/rules' when it comes to diving.

TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 27 2013, 09:35 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jul 26 2013, 10:37 PM)
I think there r quite a few good places but to have 30 students would be hell. And the dive site would be hell too.
Most definitely need to separate them into few groups. I've seen one instructor (and 1 DMT assistant) to 8 students underwater, and it was really hell! laugh.gif
I think a good size would probably be 1 instructor to around 3-4 students.
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 28 2013, 01:09 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ Jul 28 2013, 09:57 AM)
My friend and me want to try to dive.can I post here?we got no experience.21,23 years old :-)hope can get guidance from you pros
Evan has already given you the best possible option for your need. Age doesn't really matter in this case. As long as you have the budget, and go to the right place, you'll be able to get what you want.

Any island or city dive center will be able to let you try out diving. Where's your location? Maybe we can suggest a suitable place for you.
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 29 2013, 11:45 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(demetrius @ Jul 29 2013, 08:18 AM)
The reason for the rush in certification is to effectively unbar the depth restriction. i firmly believe that skills and experience, all through hunger for improvement, are more important than the title itself. the AOW license is more of an obstacle than an achievement to me.

But inferring from your reply, its possible to get the license myself? i mean,i figured i would need a group or at least more than myself to proceed with the course, as it was for the OW licensing.

Thx for the reply btw..
You can do OW alone. You don't need a group.

In our September redang laguna trip, one of us is doing AOW as well. If you are interested, you can come join us. It'll be quite a big group of leisure divers though. And the price may be a little higher than budget accommodation.
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 29 2013, 03:24 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Darkcursed @ Jul 29 2013, 01:45 PM)
haha.i think probably i will go for fins and own mask 1st  biggrin.gif  anywhere i can find this 2? i heard of rainbow runner,anywhere else can recommend?
A bit weird that you only heard of rainbow runners. IMO, people go there mainly for the underwater camera accessories.

Check the first page 2nd post for a not-so-complete list of dive shops, rough location and what they usually carry. Most people will start with scubatex.

Fins, mask, booties. Good to get your own set. Happy shopping! smile.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 29 2013, 03:26 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Go deeper to get high lust.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 29 2013, 03:29 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(demetrius @ Jul 29 2013, 02:41 PM)
i see...cost effectiveness was the actual reason for doing it in groups. that is indeed good news then.

well i suppose i have the same reasons as everyone else for wanting to go deeper. more potential diving sites, and to not want my OW to be the limiting factor on my future dive trips.

that being said, what are the 'incorrect' reasons for going deeper? i'm pretty curious, if you don't mind sharing.

thx bro for taking time to reply me. your input is much appreciated.
and thx munkeyflo, i definitely will consider the invitation..
If you're interested, do let me know ASAP as it'll be quite a last minute thin and you'll have to pay full for the accommodation. Not much of a group discount with us. If you're not in a rush, best to look around and see which place suits you better. Did you go to MIDE to check the prices?
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 30 2013, 11:52 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(BroJason @ Jul 30 2013, 11:47 AM)
I do not recommend that...

even if you are good or so-called born to be diver, it makes senses to have more dive experience before moving up the ladder...

just my 2 cents.

no point rushing through the certifications... find this rather dangerous in most cases when the diver is not well-prepared and certified (depending on who the dive instructor is teaching you and his level of 'leniency')  rclxub.gif
Very true.
I know of a friend who did OW straight to DM. One day we were casually talking about dive equipments and he told me "dive comp not important wan la, so expensive no need to buy". shakehead.gif
TSmunkeyflo
post Jul 30 2013, 12:28 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(tantalus @ Jul 30 2013, 11:59 AM)
OW can dive to 25m?? you're not legally permitted to dive that deep with only OW, unless you take adventure course.. (in the end it's all money)
Sometimes after a few dives, if the instructor/DM is confident in your skills. They will bring you to certain dive sites that are over the depth limit for OW divers. Just like our recent dive to Sophie Rickmer's Wreck at Pulau Weh which is 40-50m deep. The dive center require us to have a minimum of rescue with 150 dives or DM with 100 dives. They didn't really check our certifications and log book but they did a deep check dive at 45m a day before to test if we really know what we are doing, before going for the wreck dive.

Again, this depends on how strict the dive center is. Certain dive centers strictly follow the rules while some are a bit more flexible if they see that you are experienced.

Anyhow, AOW is not much of a big step from OW. I would recommend most to just go ahead and do AOW after getting their OW if they find that they enjoy diving and are pretty much comfortable with their buoyancy underwater. Don't see it as an achievement, you can see it as gaining new knowledge to dive safer. Rescue and DM on the other hand, is quite a big step upwards and you'll really need to have some experience before jumping into it. It's very good though, you will learn a lot on how to handle emergency situations and so on.

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0521sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:15 PM