19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Travel Scuba Diving Thread V2, Come explore the underwater world!

juniorkirk
post May 29 2013, 04:16 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ May 29 2013, 04:09 PM)
You contact Charlotte by phone or email at the first place?
I contact her by email. laugh.gif I only deal with email. So i can keep track of the price and stuff.

This post has been edited by juniorkirk: May 29 2013, 04:18 PM
juniorkirk
post May 29 2013, 04:47 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(ayanozomireon @ May 29 2013, 04:11 PM)
thanks, i hv been trying to get into diving for years, but due to work, it has been set aside.
mide is good idea, but i think better to do it now rather to delay further.
perhentian is considered as i have never been there.
what is the advantages of doing confined water/theroy and open water separately besides the reason of more relaxing ?
Are you going alone or you are going with friends??

If you doing your confine/course here

Advantage of Taking OW in the city
- You might not have to pay for single occupancy (if you are alone)
- You have plenty of time to read/study/exam
- You don't need to pay more for extra dive eg : confined lesson (so air buffet)
- You don't have to do your swimming test in open sea (some might be rough)
- You will feel more comfortable water before you heading to island (so safety first)
- You will learn more stuff here. (instead of compact everything within 4 days)
- You can always buy/get anything you think you need (if you dont feel comfortable with their eq)
- You will always entitle to special discount price for trips/equipment

tongue.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(imran85 @ May 29 2013, 04:11 PM)
My previous two times was with Quiver on Perhentian Kecil... Larger boat but also difficult to climb back into as u have to climb over the ladder and move into the boat with your gear.. I always worry about falling down with my wet booties touching the floor...

They have a whole big deck for gearing up and their team is quite ok.. mostly matsallehs who sometimes seems cold though.. but I dont complain much.. As long as they give priority to safety I am ok.
Quiver Team is one of the best operator in Perhentian too... Just that they charge around 6% for credit card if i not mistaken... hmm.gif

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ May 29 2013, 04:13 PM)
megan was halfway up the boat like a dugong stucked at the edge.... Leong helped her by pulling her HEAD!!!!!!!! hahahahhahaa.....
Head or leg? haahahaha... hmm.gif

QUOTE(snipervictim @ May 29 2013, 04:25 PM)
LOL this is funny.
I dived with Matahari on Perhentian Kecil and their boats also have no ladder.
but it's a small boat and it's a good practice to try and climb the boat..makes ur arm stronger.
i started like dugong and got lots of bruises from climbing like that and by the 2nd day getting good at it and more graceful.
yeah, have to pratice more... you will need to rescue us next time whistling.gif
juniorkirk
post May 30 2013, 06:48 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(ayanozomireon @ May 30 2013, 03:45 PM)
can you recommend any1 that doing this with perhentian as the open water course. ( i only came across those with tioman as the open water place). thx

Most of the dive center can arrange perhentian as your certification trip. just ask call and tell them you want to go perhentian for certification trip.

This post has been edited by juniorkirk: May 30 2013, 06:50 PM
juniorkirk
post May 31 2013, 09:44 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(danial92 @ May 31 2013, 12:46 AM)
Hi guys, I need some guidance and advice here.

I'm been Google around for searching a dive center around in KL/Selangor area for signing up OWD course, but still I can't decide which dive center to select. Do you guys have any advice or recommended dive center based around KL/Selangor area that I could start my OWD course? Thanks.  smile.gif
5-7 July PWTC - Malaysian International Dive Expo laugh.gif
juniorkirk
post Jun 3 2013, 09:30 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Jun 3 2013, 06:17 AM)
For cressi can probably wait for the AL&L warehouse sale time or during Mide
Yeah, should wait for A&L during MIDE. but i heard they dont really carry much of cressi products already.

QUOTE(orentakumi @ Jun 3 2013, 07:57 AM)
i got my license from scubatex... my sifu is there...haha.. yes... currently their office is somewhere empty.. told me they will replenish the stock in this month..
They are preparing for war in MIDE... flex.gif

QUOTE(orentakumi @ Jun 3 2013, 07:59 AM)
wanted to join but going sipadan with friends..
haha.. normally how you guys handle transportation? driving?
It's already full. We drove all the way to Kuala besut for our previous perhentian trip. In the future we will charter a bus/van depending on number of pax.
juniorkirk
post Jun 3 2013, 10:35 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(yaniee @ Jun 3 2013, 09:54 AM)
Scubatex and scubastation is the main distributor for cressi.  Now all stock gone dy. Have to wait  huhu
all preparing for war...

QUOTE(orentakumi @ Jun 3 2013, 09:58 AM)
just curious, how many of you are divemaster/AOW/OW diver?

me myself is just a freshie OW diver.. wanted to get AOW this year if my boss let me take leave... haha
why you need to take leave for AOW? you can finish AOW in 2 days..

We all here freshie and newbie also... we are here to learn... tongue.gif

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 3 2013, 10:14 AM)
scubatex and scubastation => abang adik
Aiks... i didn't know that... hmm.gif
juniorkirk
post Jun 3 2013, 02:47 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(orentakumi @ Jun 3 2013, 02:14 PM)
want to go take AOW together? haha
drool.gif i would love too... but too bad i'm back to DSD aftter perhentian trip... cry.gif

QUOTE(tantalus @ Jun 3 2013, 02:25 PM)
Juniorkirk just took AOW on perhentian trip.. he do the jump leap forward from bubblemaker to AOW directly whistling.gif
hmm... since when i bubblemaker? i'm DSD, leong is bubblemaker
juniorkirk
post Jun 3 2013, 07:06 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 03:21 PM)
hello there sifu2 otai2 divers LYN!!! biggrin.gif

i just got my diving license like a month ago, did it at turtle bay divers perhentian. (my DM is joe) and i will go for another diving trip in two weeks time.

Anyone here has any experience diving in lang tengah? any experience with the dcoconut dive operator?

Mind to share?

There's no otai otai or sifu sifu here... only divers biggrin.gif anyway welcome to u/w world.

I personally love diving in lang tengah. Super relax + peaceful... there are only a few resort in the island, which are really quite far away from each other... Marine life in lang tengah is thumbup.gif , leopard shark are often spotted there... what else would you like to know? hmm.gif
juniorkirk
post Jun 3 2013, 09:04 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 07:39 PM)
Thanks juniorkirk for the valuable information. During my last dive, I had problems with the standard mouth piece provided by the dive operator.the bite space was too small so it made my dive really uncomfortable as I had to readjust the reg all the time. Luckily my DM gave me a diff mouth piece that is bigger easier to bite haha.
Question here, is coconut dive operator ada banyak variety of equipments? I don't know if I say this right but if they have limited choices I have to buy the mouth piece first then haha.
What do you mean dive operator ada banyak equipment? Most of the dive center equipment for rental only. and most of their equipment are those super basic type. If you would like better reg/bcd you have to buy your own. But don't spend your money investing in equipment you are unsure about. gain experiences thru more dive first. If you would like to buy the mouth piece, let me just tell you where to get and how much it cost and how to pasang. some mouthpiece will cost you RM 5-100. Depending on how comfortable you want it to be brows.gif

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 3 2013, 08:10 PM)
Haha. Its okay juniorkirk. Let's wait for others.

Anyway, during my OW license recently, I almost failed. In one of compulsory dives (12m), I had problems with my mask. The water kept leaking in and I had to clear my mask almost all the time. I got very uncomfortable and finally when I reached the bottom and kneeled down they asked me to do the regulator recovery drill exercise. I was not too comfortable with the idea because I was feeling uncomfortable with the whole thing but I did it anyway. I threw the regulator but I could not recovered it. I got panicked and quickly signalled out of air. He tried to give me his alternative reg but I was so panicked I pushed the reg away. In my mind all I wanted was to swim up and resurface. So I quickly swam up and as soon as I reached to the top, I felt alive and relieved. Near death experience, not pretty. I didn't continue my dive.

I resumed my dive the next day and luckily this time I managed to wash away my trauma and got it done. All the drills. But it wasn't easy.

Things I learnt from my dive license

1. My face can only fits cressi big eye mask ( tried scuba pro and few other masks my DM gave me but cress I works the best. No leak whatsoever haha )
2. I have to use bigger mouth piece. Bigger space to bite. Peace of mind haha.
Don't worry. We have experienced this as well, Next time try to calm down and take a second of your time to think/recall what have you been taught. But for student i do not encourage them to surface. Try to solve any/all the problem underwater. I'm not trying to scare you, it is very dangerous for you to swim up like that... it might caused lung expansion, or when you ascent on the surface, you might hit the boat laugh.gif

From this, i can assume that you took your open water course in island within 3-4 days? Just an advise for you, don't stop practicing your mask recovery/reg recovery and 20+ skills you learnt after you got your open water certification. Master all the skills and get familiarize with the equipment you use.

Equipment are important too, there are different kind of mask out there for different type of faces. if you are getting your own mask, maybe you can read on the first page. how to get your own mask. If you are renting your own equipment, don't have this thinking in your mind you will be getting the same type/brand of equipment every time you dive.

Well, Welcome to the diving world. If you need more information about diving, feel free to post here anytime.

juniorkirk
post Jun 4 2013, 10:02 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(sgojita4 @ Jun 3 2013, 10:14 PM)
i want a mouthpiece also juniorkirk!! tongue.gif
i can mould my mouthpiece on your body if you want... brows.gif

QUOTE(billygunny @ Jun 3 2013, 11:45 PM)
erm.. he gonna just only gonna start learning diving.. so is it feasible for us to get the computer so soon?? and if diving watches any recommendations?
the first thing we recommend is dive comp... laugh.gif

QUOTE(tantalus @ Jun 4 2013, 12:01 AM)
I think better to buy dive computer directly..

At first also i was thinking to buy dive watches.. So I bought it but I never use it when diving as it's not practical..

and dive comp is really important (from my point of view) especially if you want to do deep dive and multiple dives per day. So i bought the simplest dive comp which is zoop
10 dives a day... whistling.gif

QUOTE(billygunny @ Jun 4 2013, 08:51 AM)
ic.. any ideas where to get a good yet cheap ones?? haha in Klang or PJ area..
maybe you can wait until MIDE? most of them will have around 10-30% discount.

QUOTE(812799 @ Jun 4 2013, 09:03 AM)
nothing is cheap when comes to diving ... life is priceless  whistling.gif
breathing air from cylinder is cheaper than breathing air in hospital... whistling.gif

QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 09:23 AM)
Just got my OW license.
hmmm...donno why i'm not happy.
maybe to much focus on breathing, equalize, and buoyancy.
sorry, noob reporting in biggrin.gif
Welcome... why are you not happy? you went alone? dive alone? anyway welcome, feel free to join us if you want to feel happy.. hahaha whistling.gif

QUOTE(812799 @ Jun 4 2013, 09:52 AM)
Suunto Zoop - RM720
Suunto D4i - RM1650
you can get lower price for D4i
juniorkirk
post Jun 4 2013, 10:03 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jun 4 2013, 09:57 AM)
When getting your license is like that 1.. if you dive with friends its more fun.. unless u lose the DM..
When I was getting my OW few months back also feel more tense and not that fun.. but I did extra fun dives and it was good.. specially fighting current and laughing about it after the dive.. cry.gif
who say lose dm you wont have fun? try to tell that to choco...
juniorkirk
post Jun 4 2013, 10:45 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jun 4 2013, 10:21 AM)
Me n Choco play until DM hilang.. lol
drool.gif drool.gif main apa? riding on each other? drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(812799 @ Jun 4 2013, 10:23 AM)
woahhhh ... what u all play LOL ... DM hilang or u hilangkan diri ?  whistling.gif
they playing bollywood hide and seek with DM underwater...

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 4 2013, 10:43 AM)
wow... luckily you din blow your lungs out.... never force yourself to dive if you feel uncomfortable.... I always skip dives on the first day if I drove overnite.....
that day you didnt skip leh... whistling.gif
juniorkirk
post Jun 4 2013, 10:50 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jun 4 2013, 10:48 AM)
Yeah i was lucky. Probably because i was at 12m depth. Panic attack all i wanted to do was to resurface. Hopefully it will never happen again.
yeah, thank god that you are safe... just remember what have you learnt and try to solve everything uw.

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 4 2013, 10:48 AM)
first day I skipped 9am and 2pm dive wat..... I did noon dive only...
2pm got skip ah? notworthy.gif didnt know laaa... hahaha
juniorkirk
post Jun 4 2013, 03:45 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ Jun 4 2013, 11:50 AM)
wahh sini pun spam. Get suunto D4i with transmitter from germany. 1.6k
today very active tak tau for what cause... flex.gif

QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 12:20 PM)
I found that doing in the actual location was hard for me
it was a lesson for me after all. at least i can remember mistakes that i've done.
i've done this.
Well, learn from your mistake and try not to make it again... whistling.gif btw, who you took your ow license with?

QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 12:25 PM)
agreeeeeddd~~ lol
will ask for female instructor if i wanna go for advance license.. but not for the time being tongue.gif
Later guys cannot pay attention/learn if female instructor... like Evan soon's sayang
juniorkirk
post Jun 4 2013, 04:37 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jun 4 2013, 04:13 PM)
I pay attention 1.. specially when she removing wetsuit  drool.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif now you guys know what i mean
juniorkirk
post Jun 5 2013, 11:28 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ Jun 5 2013, 10:07 AM)
Yesterday was a bit free.

Back to work today........... sooo lazy!!
what a peaceful day today... whistling.gif
juniorkirk
post Jun 5 2013, 02:11 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 5 2013, 01:17 PM)
Yay, got approval from the lifeguard to use fins in the pool biggrin.gif
dont fin too hard, later kena saman brows.gif
juniorkirk
post Jun 5 2013, 03:01 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ Jun 5 2013, 02:14 PM)
Ohh.. can try fins! I wanna buy new finsssss........

This one?? drool.gif drool.gif
juniorkirk
post Jun 5 2013, 05:03 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jun 5 2013, 03:06 PM)
This is nice fins. But orange is their limited edition, is it?
Last year limited edition, this year no more... but this year is gorilla version...

This year limited edition kaler

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 5 2013, 03:51 PM)
Yaaaaa. I think I go there at least once a year. tongue.gif
Somehow diving with them is still loads of fun for me, other than walking to DC.
i want to go unsure.gif
juniorkirk
post Jun 5 2013, 05:21 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ Jun 5 2013, 05:19 PM)
Soo pretty....... wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
go Pre Order... brows.gif

19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0502sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled